Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Our Sons' Family Restaurant Inc

Phone: (814) 536-6554 Fax: (814) 536-4071 800 Broad St, Johnstown, PA 15906 http://www.eatatoursons.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Restaurant


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Our Sons' Family Restaurant Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Our Sons' Family Restaurant Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Our Sons' Family Restaurant Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 20, 2011 Business started: 01/01/1984 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture - Retail Food Facilities & Restaurants
2301 North Cameron Street , Harrisburg PA 17110
http://www.agriculture.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/gateway/PTARGS_0_2_24476_10297_0_43/agwebsite/ProgramDetail.aspx?name=Retail-Foods-Facilities-and-Restaurants&navid=12&parentnavid=0&palid=58&
Phone Number: (717) 787-4737
The number is In Compliance.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Fred Folta, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Fred Folta, Owner
Business Category

RESTAURANTS CATERERS FOODS-CARRY OUT


Additional Locations

  • 800 Broad St

    Johnstown, PA 15906 (814) 536-6554

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased (70) pieces of chicken (legs, thighs & breasts) in the amount of $95.00 for a funeral luncheon on 12/31/14 from Our Sons' Family Restaurant. As everyone was eating it, the closer they got to the bone it became bloody and was like rubber (uncooked). Everyone in the room stopped eating as I guess they were afraid of getting sick. We were made aware of this by the family of the deceased. We could not get in touch with the restaurant before 1/2/15 because of it being closed due to the holiday. On 1/2/15 my husband **** went to the restaurant and explained what happened to the manager. She became very hostile and said that "it was impossible that the chicken was not cooked". My husband asked "are you calling me a liar, she said no however the only pieces that may not have been cooked could have been the breasts and offered she him $20.00. **** said that was not satisfactory and he was going to report this and she said "she did not care what he did".

Desired Settlement: Since the chicken was not edible, I would like to be reimbursed for the total amount we paid of $95.00.

Business Response: 01/20/2015
To Whom It May Concern:
I am corresponding to the complaint filed with the BBB against on our restaurant on
01/05/2015. The complaint did order a 70 piece chicken for $95.00 on 12/31/2014. They came
to pick up their order approximately noon on that day. On 01/02/2015 complaint came to the
restaurant very angry and spoke with a waitress with his complaint. The waitress then went to
get the secretary to handle the complaint. The complaint was very upset and explained he
ordered the 70 piece chicken and it was bloody and they could not eat it. He demanded his
money back. The secretary tried to speak with him and asked if he had brought the product
back, taken pictures, or called that day so we could have fixed their concerns on the day It
happened. She tried explained that the chicken is always cooked the same way and the same
amount of time for 31 years now. He stated “are you calling me a liar” and said “I am a
customer and the customer is always right”. He also stated he did not bring It back or have
pictures that they threw It away and only wanted a full refund. The secretary did offer at the
time that he came to the restaurant a $25.00 refund but the complaint rudely stated he only
wanted a full refund. She told him that we could not give him a full refund considering that he
did not call that day, bring the product back or have pictures to show. The complaint stated that
he was going to report us and the secretary said she was sorry he felt that way but if thats what
he felt he needed to do she understood. The secretary did credit his card for $25.00 even
though he did refuse the refund. On 12/31/2014 our restaurant hours were until 6pm that day.
We were closed on 01/01/2015. On the day that the complaint ordered chicken we were open
unti! 6pm and they ordered the chicken as stated in their complaint for a luncheon. When they
noticed their chicken was bloody we were still open for 6 more hours that day and if they would
have call we would have made more chicken and delivered it to them. On that day we made
over 3000 pieces of chicken and had no calls about it being bloody or undercooked We take —
pride in or restaurant and reputation and would have handled it the moment they call. Our
céncerns are that we were opened until 6pm that day and they did not contact us until
01/02/2015. We felt we handled the situation the best we could giving a?efund considering the
circumstances and the time frame of the complaint and no product to go by.
Thank you