BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are You the Business Owner of Environmental Reclamation Services?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This Business is not BBB accredited

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Environmental Reclamation Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 28, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1990 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Sean Michaels, President Mr. Michael Welton, President Mr. Michael Ryan, Program Coordinator Ms. Leslie Spoden, Customer Service Supervisor
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sean Michaels, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Leslie Spoden, Customer Service Supervisor
Principal: Mr. Michael Welton, President
Business Category

RECYCLING SERVICES RECYCLING - COMPUTERS & OTHER ELECTRONICS WHOLESALERS & DISTRIBUTORS ENVIRONMENTAL & ECOLOGICAL SERVICES FUND RAISING COUNSELORS & ORGANIZATIONS TONER CARTRIDGES

Alternate Business Names
Easy Parcel Ship Program eCycle Collection Program Funding Factory Green School Project Program Maxback Recycle For Chapters Program Recycle for Competition Program Recycle Rewards Program
Industry Tips
Charitable Giving – Via Mail, Phone, Door to Door, etc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    380 E Bayfront Pkwy

    Erie, PA 16507

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (814) 464-1800(Phone)
  • (888) 883-8237(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This Business is Running under a website that does not show there real Business name and www.Ecyclegroup.com also I'm having trouble getting them to pay me and I send in 254 inkjet Cartridges and they claim that only 28 are worth money, and what I don't like is that my list does not match there list also there top paying inkjet Cartridges like I had 6 working HP #27 Black all was "Damaged" but what about my New HP 61 Black & 61 Colorin the box is not even on the list. What about my 10 HP 57 Tri color and16 HP 78 Tri color all "Damaged" It looking like a scam, The Business has that if your under $25.00 you will not get a check. I want Better BusinessBureau to pull my account #****** and I feel that you should also do a report on all there accounts and look in to www.maxback.com,Fundingfactory.com,RecycleRewards.com, we the people have a right to know where there head office is and who to contact on a hiding email that is found on www.Ecyclegroup.com there is no contact names. Its been 2 weeks and no payment, And why is Environmental Reclamation Services not on there websites? There phone is ###-###-#### and also want to know why they keep resale "Damaged Inkjet Cartridges" but pay you $0.00, Please look in to there Business, Thank you

Desired Settlement: BROTHER LC103BK XL $0.25 BROTHER LC103C XL $0.25 BROTHER LC103M XL $0.25 BROTHER LC103Y XL $0.25 BROTHER LC105C XXL $0.25 BROTHER LC105M XXL $0.25 BROTHER LC105Y XXL $0.25 BROTHER LC107BK XXL $0.25 CANON CANON 0894B001 $1.00 CANON 0895B001 $1.00 CANON 0896B001 $1.00 CANON 0897B001 $1.00 CANON 0898B001 $1.00 CANON BC-02 / BX-2 (0881A003) $0.50 CANON BX-3 (0884A003) $0.50 CANON CL-211 COLOR (2976B001) $2.00 CANON CL-211XL COLOR (2975B001) $3.00 CANON CL-241 COLOR (5209B001) $3.50 CANON CL-241XL COLOR (5208B001) $4.00 CANON CL-246/8281B001 $3.50 CANON CL-246XL/8280B001 $4.00 CANON CL-31 COLOR (1900B002) $0.25 CANON CL-41 COLOR (0617B002) $0.75 CANON CLI-251BKXL BLACK (6448B001) $0.25 CANON CLI-251CXL CYAN (6449B001) $0.25 CANON CLI-251GYXL GRAY $0.25 CANON CLI-251MXL MAGENTA (6405B001 $0.25 CANON CLI-251YXL YELLOW (6451B001) $0.25 CANON CLI-36 COLOR (1511B002) $0.25 CANON PG-210BK BLACK (2974B001) $0.25 CANON PG-210XL BLACK (2

Business Response:

Wednesday, July 09, 2014

Dear BBB,

I have personally attempted to reach out to Mr. **** by email and telephone (left a voice message) regarding his most recent shipment to eCycle Group.  Mr. **** has not responded in order to resolve his complaint.  Unfortunately, we were not given the opportunity to communicate with Mr. **** after his shipment information was posted in his online account.   

In the complaint, he mentioned a question about our business name and what it truly is.  We clearly state on our website in the “About eCycle” section and the “Environmental Policy Statement” that our parent company is Environmental Reclamation Services and we are owned by Clover Technologies Group, the world’s largest inkjet and toner cartridge remanufacturer along with an explanation of what Clover is all about.  Clover runs several different fundraising programs depending on the participants’ needs, including eCycle Group, which is the program Mr. **** is registered.  He mentioned several other programs run by Clover, including, MaxBack (strictly smartphone and tablet recycling), FundingFactory (strictly for schools and non-profit organizations) and RecycleRewards (for businesses and individuals and/or anyone interested in recycling).  ERS bought programs that were for sale, namely, eCycle Group, and kept the name as to not confuse the participants.   

The eCycle Group has a strict “Price List” that is posted on the homepage of our website, ecyclegroup.com.  eCycle Group pays only for items that are on this list (this is clearly stated on the website)–if these items are broken/damaged or remanufactured, we cannot pay for them. Many of the cartridges Mr. **** sent were not on eCycle’s Price List, some he claimed he did not get paid, he actually did get paid for them, the HP 61.  The HP 27’s that were sent were visibly scratched, which may have happened during shipping as there were 254 cartridges shipped in one box.  When there are numerous cartridges shipped in one box, the best way to ship these cartridges is by facing the print heads all in the same direction and put paper in between the rows to prevent the cartridges from bumping into each other and causing damage during shipping.  We not only explain how to properly pack and ship your items on eCycle’s “Shipping Information” page, but we also explain how to tell if a cartridge is damaged on the “FAQ” page.

Any damaged cartridge collected we attempt to fix at our cost, which is why they have a zero value, since we have paid to ship them to our facility and the cost of fixing the damage.  If they are unable to be fixed, they are sent to a processing facility for disposal according to our certified standards that are stated on our website in the Environmental Certification, “About eCycle” section. 

Please see the attached shipment list.  Mr. **** was paid for all undamaged cartridges sent that were listed on our Price List.

 

4/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Item sent for payment was as Galaxy S4 i-9500 which was quoted as $240.This is an item they accept.Received this email:Hi ****!We just received your exchange XCH-26815. During the online quoting process you indicated this was the item being exchanged: #wrong item#, while it appears to actually be: OTHER (Model Not Accepted).We took a few extra minutes to inspect the device and unfortunately it has zero value. We will recycle it responsibly on your behalf. Please click the link below to let us know if youd like us to return the item to you or recycle it on your behalf. If we dont hear from you in the next 7 days, it will automatically be recycled.Now they claim it's something they don't accept that device.(Link to their site) http://www.maxback.com/sell/Samsung-Galaxy-S4-UnlockedA copy of my chat with them.You are now talking to Support SpecialistHow can I help you?Support Specialist: Hello, Thank you for contacting the MaxBack Live Chat. How may I assist you today?You said: XCH-26815 explanation as to failure to make paymentSupport Specialist: One moment while I view your exchange.Support Specialist: Am I chatting with ****?You said: yesSupport Specialist: You selected PayPal as your payment, the email address that was given is gwapnitsky@yahoo.com. You said: yesSupport Specialist: I'm not sure what you are asking me, sorry for my confusion. What do you need assistance with today?You said: which part don't you udnerstand?You said: forget it. just send me back my device.You said: your company is a scam'Support Specialist: You state failure to make payment, what does this mean, your pay pal account didn't receive the electronic payment?Support Specialist: We are not a scam and are a company that buys phones. I am trying to assist you with your exchange and happy to help you.You said: no, you're a scam.You said: send me my phone backSupport Specialist: One moment while I see what status your account is in. Support Specialist: Your status shows your re-quote was declined. Did you click this status on the email that you declined the re-quote?You said: there is no requoteYou said: you said it's worth $0You said: you're company is a scamYou said: just send me the phone backSupport Specialist: One moment, if the phone was declined the requote the phone will automatically be returned. Please wait on the chat so I can confirm this. You said: i want an email confirmation that the item in it's entirety will be shipped back to me.Support Specialist: I spoke with our Cell phone Supervisor, he said your phone re-quote was denied and your phone will be mailed back. Your exchange was finalized today. You said: too bad it's an item you do acceptYou said: an it's woth the price quoted.You said: again, your company is a scam and a complaint is being drawn up to the BBB with a copy of this transcript.Support Specialist: Yes, I' am sorry, you thought you had a Samsung Galaxy S4, however, the phone we received wasn't the same phone. You will be receiving your phone soon. You said: again, i want an email confirming the return of my item in it's complete state with all attahements sent with it.You said: it is an S-4 i-9500You said: it's clearly marked on the label insieYou said: insideSupport Specialist: Yes, that's correct, the phone you sent in is not one we purchase at this time.You said: SCAMYou said: just send it backYou said: and send an email confirmation.Support Specialist: As stated already in my chat, your phone will be sent back to you. You can copy this chat for your reference.You said: i want an email confirmationSupport Specialist: I'll be happy to send you an email to include the same sentence, is your email address ********************?You said: you asked that earlier.You said: and the answer has not changed.Support Specialist: I will send an email to you soon. thanks for chatting have a nice day

Desired Settlement: That they accept the phone as described and not claim they don't accept that phone. And to make the correct payment.

Business Response:

 
I am writing in response to case ******* regarding a claim filed against MaxBack.com by a Mr. ****
********** This is our formal response regarding this claim.
Mr. ********* made an exchange with MaxBack.com on 2/19/14 with the intention of selling what he
believed was a Galaxy 54 unlocked model cell phone for $240. MaxBack.com received this cell phone on
2/21/14. Upon inspection it was determined that the Galaxy 54 that Mr. ********* submitted to us was
a counterfeit reproduction of the Galaxy S4. At that time we sent Mr. ********* an automated email
that explained that the model phone he sold was an “other” version cell phone as not accepted by
MaxBack. The version “other” designation is used by MaxBack.com as a generic term forthe array of
models we do not purchase. Due to his phone being identified as a counterfeit version of the Galaxy 54
this “other” designation was assigned and a value of $0 offered for his device. Mr. ********* was also
given the option to have his device returned to him at no cost which he elected. We returned his device
to him on 2/25/14 via the United States Postal Service tracking ********************* completing
the exchange. We regret to hear that this transaction did not work out the way that Mr. *********
anticipated but MaxBack.com made good on all of its service promises and returned the item to Mr.
********* at no cost. It for this reason we request the Better Business Bureau to close this case as
resolved at this time.
Best regards,
******* ****
MaxBack.com Program Coordinator
380 East

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I find it interesting that a designation of "other" means that a phone is counterfeit. A generic email with such designation does not substantiate their claim.

The phone is marked as the Galaxy S4. All components match that as a Galaxy S4.

The phone has been brought to stores such as Verizon and T-Mobile and their customer service representatives have designated the phone as a Galaxy S4.


I have found in my experience that when these "cash-for-cell" companies don't feel they can make any money on the market from recycled phones, they completely undervalue they are now willing to pay. Their "guarantee" payment is now thrown out the window.

Unfortunately, too many customers have been denied substantial payment for their devices because of poor handling by their representatives.


When the phone was sent, it was packaged in individual components. The battery was in a small plastic bag. The back cover was off the phone and the case was off the phone.

If by looking at the phone, they can designate that it's an "other," why was it necessary for the to ship the phone back to me with the battery inserted into the phone and the phone now inserted into the case.

Obviously, someone was playing with the phone.





 

 

 

 

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

This is the response on behalf of MaxBack.com in regard to case ******* with the Better Business Bureau of Western Pennsylvania. The objective of this response is to provide clarification to the complainant and to request closing this case with the BBB as resolved.
 
The first issue in the complainant's response we would like to address is that he stated that "other" is used by MaxBack.com  to  designate a "counterfeit" device. This was addressed in our first response but it appears was misunderstood by the complainant as only pertaining to counterfeit versions. The designation " other", as used by MaxBack.com, is for any device that is outside of devices purchased by MaxBack.com. Since his phone was determined to be a counterfeit version of the Galaxy S4 this "other" designation was applied because counterfeit phones are outside of the devices that MaxBack.com purchases. Regretfully, incorrect identification of electronics on the part of the seller is a somewhat frequent issue for MaxBack.com. It is for this reason that we must use a generic term such as "other" as a designation to cover the broad spectrum of incorrectly identified devices we receive. This "other" designation is also used in the rare instance of counterfeit versions which was the case in this instance.
 
The next issue we would like to address is the verification of the model of the  phone. While I am certain of the complainant's due diligence to authenticate the version of the phone with Verizon and T-Mobile representatives, our electronics expert with over 20+ years of experience disagreed. When we are presented with a phone that we suspect may be counterfeit we go through great lengths to verify our suspicions before we contact the seller. Our inspector noted that this was a very good counterfeit version of the Galaxy S4 which may be why it was authenticated by Verizon and T-Mobile. There were defects that stood out on the manufacturer label as well as non-Samsung components beneath the battery cover, specifically plastic used in place of metal components, that brought us to the conclusion that this was a counterfeit phone.
 
The final issue we would like to address is the complainant's claim "that someone was playing with the phone" and he felt the phone was mishandled. The phone went through our standard inspection which would account for any handling or as referred to "playing". The device was returned, as promised, packaged safely in bubble wrap and shipped USPS Priority Mail to assure a fast, safe return which was fulfilled. 
 
In conclusion, MaxBack.com would like this case to be closed. The complainant's phone was safely returned at no cost as per our site's promise. We regret that this transaction did not work out and wish the complainant the best of luck in selling his device elsewhere.
 
Regards,
******* ****
MaxBack Program Manager
 

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent my gently used****** *** to maxback and they quoted me $47. They requoted me $20 because they said the phone was in poor condition. I disagreed with that and declined the quote. When I recieved my phone back in the mail it was completely destroyed. The screen is falling off and you can now see inside the phone. I was not informed that when my phone would be returned to me that it would be destroyed. This is just completely unacceptable. I have now lost out on the opportunity to try and sell the phone to someone else. I have tried contacting someone from the company, but I have yet to hear back from anyone.

Desired Settlement: I feel as if I should be paid the quote they origannly quoted me or give me a replacement phone. If they feel another way that would be appropriate I would be open to.

Business Response: Good afternoon,

This message is in response to a claim filed by a Ms. ****** ****** regarding MaxBack.com exchange XCH-20513. Ms. ****** created her exchange with MaxBack.com on 9/05/13. Her item arrived at MaxBack.com on 9/18/13. Upon receipt the ****** Ms. ****** sent to MaxBack was broken. The inspector noted that the ****** was falling apart, had a crack a the charging port and black line running up the middle of the front screen. Ms. ****** rated her phone as in "good" condition. Based on the condition we received it the ****** in it was then re-quoted to "poor" condition as she indicated. Ms. ****** requested her ****** back which we sent back to her on 9/20/13. Several days later she contacted MaxBack claiming that we broke her device and she wanted compensated for it. I investigated the issue at that time and determined that the device was damaged either prior to shipping or during shipping. There was no note by the inspector of damage to the parcel upon receipt that may have occurred in transit. It was at that time that I emailed Ms. ****** and we came to a resolution on the issue. Typically, per the sales agreement which Ms. ****** agreed to, MaxBack is not responsible for for an item during transit to or transit back to the seller. I made a special case in this instance for Ms. ****** on a customer service level. I instructed her to make a new exchange and I would award a promo code for $10 additional on the "poor" value assessment. I told her she would also receive an additional $5 for using her own box to ship to MaxBack. It was at that time that I was under the assumption that the issue was resolved (see email thread below). She mailed her ****** to MaxBack a second time which should act as evidence of her satisfaction with the resolution option she was presented with. We completed her exchange for her ****** and a check was mailed on 10/02/13 for $35. We have determined this issue to be resolved.
Thank you,
******* ****
MaxBack Program Coordinator

7/9/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Over two months ago, I sent Maxback 4 phones, all worth money and the lowest worth $25.00. I have tried on two separate occasions to contact them about my money owed and get no response. To be a company associated with our post office, this does not sit well with me. I have always trusted our post office, therefore I trusted this company.

Desired Settlement: I would like the money that I am owed and promptly! I would also like for someone at this company to figure out why I somehow seem lost in the shuffle, so that it doesn't happen to anyone else.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

Attached, you will find the correspondence between the complainant and our customer service representative.  This correspondence was sent to us on June 13, 2013 and we responded that same day.  She stated that she made a mistake and sent phones improperly.  She did not set up an account until after she mailed the phone.  We have no record of her shipment because she did not use our pre-paid labels or shipping box through the cell phone exchange program, MaxBack.  I do not know how she sent this phone, however, we do have a partnership with the post office for recycling inkjet cartridges and provide return poly bags in a kiosk that is clearly marked for inkjet returns only.    The kiosk does advertise our MaxBack cell phone program and how to contact us, but there was no exchange made with the complainant for her cell phone through this buyback program.

If you need any other information, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Customer Service Supervisor

MaxBack

10/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service