BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Dorrance Publishing Company Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dorrance Publishing Company Inc

Phone: (412) 288-4543 Fax: (412) 288-1786 View Additional Phone Numbers 701 Smithfield St Ste 301, Pittsburgh, PA 15222 http://www.dorrancepublishing.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Publishers - Book Publishing Services

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dorrance Publishing Company Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Dorrance Publishing Company Inc include:

  • 45 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Dorrance Publishing Company Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 45 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

45 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 38
Total Closed Complaints 45

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1989 Business started: 06/01/1989
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Jessica Stillwell, Author Service Manager Mr. David Zeolla, Managing Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Jessica Stillwell, Author Service Manager
Business Category

PUBLISHERS-BOOK

Alternate Business Names
I-Proclaim Books Red Lead Press Rose Dog Books Whitmore Publishing Company

Additional Locations

  • 701 Smithfield St Ste 301

    Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (412) 288-4543 (866) 380-0923 (800) 695-9599 (800) 834-1803

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 695-9599(Phone)
  • (800) 834-1803(Phone)
  • (866) 380-0923(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: was emailed by******** ****** jan 31, 2014 that if mailed direct deposit formwould receive 17.96 + other earnings jul 31 via dd. Received earnings statement jul29 via email that only reflected 5.04 and still did not receive that by aug 4. I amcomplaining more about principle, but still am entitled to money.

Desired Settlement: direct deposit 23.00 in bank account

Business Response: Mr. ***** is correct that he was owed an additional $17.96.  This $17.96 was accrued in January 2014, but not paid because we require a $25.00 minimum to accrue for a check to be issued (we did not have direct deposit information from Mr. ***** at that time).  Following the January 2014 statement, Mr. ***** did submit the proper information to us to receive upcoming payments via direct bank deposit.

 
His July 2014 earnings of $5.04 were correctly credited to his account.  However, we failed to also apply the $17/96 that had previously been held.  Mr. ***** contacted us about this last week and we have since rectified this issue.  The $17.96 has been deposited to Mr. ******* bank account.
 
Sincerely,
 
******* *********Author Services Director
Dorrance Publishing Co

7/11/2014 Delivery Issues
5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I WROTE A BOOK OF POEMS TITLED "***** ** *****". I CONTACTED ROSE DOG BOOKS ABOUT PUBLISHING IT FOR ME IN 2003. I PAID THEM AN EXTRA $600 TO MARKET IT FOR ME. IT'S BEEN 11 YEARS SO FAR THEY'VE SOLD NONE. I ORIGINALLY PAID THEM $4400 PLUS THE EXTRA $600 TO MARKET THE BOOK. THEY HAVE SOLD NONE & I WANT MY MONEY BACK. THE AMOUNT I WANT BACK IS AT LEAST $10,000 FOR MY ROYALITIES. IT'S 11 YEARS WASTED OF MY TIME & THEY DID NOTHING TO HELP SELL IT. SO I CONSIDER THIS FRAUD! ******** * *****

Desired Settlement: ORIGINAL AMT PAID $4400 PLUS $600 FOR MARKETING & ANOTHER & ANOTHER $5000 FOR ROYALITIES

Business Response: Mr. ***** does have a contract with us (signed October 2003) for the subsidy, print-on-demand publication of his book with our RoseDog Books imprint. We were surprised to receive notice that he had filed this complaint, as we have not been contacted by Mr. ***** since 2011.

 
We are sorry to hear that Mr. ***** has been disappointed with the sales of the book, but our contract specifically states that we cannot and do not guarantee any number of sales. We do perform a limited and specified promotion to generate exposure for the book (and this work was completed for Mr. *****'s book in July 2004 in accordance with the terms of the contract).  Unfortunately, we cannot predict how the marketplace will react to any particular book.
 
 
It is untrue that no copies of Mr. *****'s book were sold and untrue that he received no earnings for sales. Sales and earnings accrued as follows:
January 2005 earned $4.50 for the sale of one book to an individual
July 2005 earned $4.50 for the sale of one book to an individual
January 2008 earned $2.10 for the sale of one book to Amazon
January 2012 earned $8.00 for the sale of one ebook to an individual
 
He is incorrect about the amount he paid for our services.  The contract price was $2,400 (including the promotion plan).
 
As we have not breached our contract with him in any way, we cannot agree to refund the money he has paid for our services (nor offer him additional money that he believes should have been paid in royalties).
 
Sincerely,
 
******* *********Author Services Director

4/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/8/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Three weeks ago or longer, I ordered five copies of my book,******** ****** ** and I still have not recieved them. One week ago I called ******** ****** and she said that she made the mistake of sending my books to my previous address. I gave her my correct address, which they have had for a while, and she assured me that I would recieve them this past friday, 4-4-14 and I still have not. I paid them with my debit card and I have that on my bank statement as well. They screwed me on the first book I published with them years ago and now I'm wondering if this company is really up to par like they pretend to be.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back or the books I ordered.( With extra copies if possible for the head ache).

Business Response: As Mr. ****** stated, he placed the original book order for five book on March 13th.  Unfortunately, the order was accidentally directed to a previous address for Mr. ****** that we had in the computer. Once this came to our attention, we immediately ordered another set of five books and we told Mr. ****** we would try to have them there by April 4th.  Unfortunately, our manufacturer was not able to get them to him by that date (as this is a print-on-demand publication, the books must be printed before they are sent).

 
The books are already en route to him and our book order department contacted Mr. ****** yesterday with this update and the tracking number for the shipment.
 
We apologize for the address error which caused this delay.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  

3/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a Dorrance Author and have an contract agreement with Dorrance Publishing since July 13, 2012. I have a written arrangement of monthly payments ($200.00)each month to pay Dorrance every month for service. However, in the years of 2013 was very challenging for me and I struggled and struggled in making my payments because I want my book to come out and I want my book (product) in my hand. Nevertheless, in certain months I had gotten behind between Sept. through Nov. 2013. But Dorrance stated that they would continue to work with me per ****** ********* by several phone conversation and emails. I borrow against my college fund to pay for my book for Dorrance to complete and I made a huge payment to Dorrance in the month of Dec. 2013. So I paid $2114.00 and took care of all of my past due amount for the project to resume, and now leaving a balance of $2900.00 to pay off before July 2014. Although, my book has been through various hands such as **** *********** ****** **** and now currently ****** *******. Through several emails and phone calls, ****** ******* has never taken any of my calls. The staff claims that they can only take messages and that ****** ******* may not get back with every author because they are extremely busy. So I have to go through a list of ongoing names such as ****** ********* who is Dorrance's bookkeeper manager who collects my money. When I discuss with ****** ********* how much longer will I have to wait for my book to come out. ****** has no know ideas because she is not apart of the production process. ****** stated to me through emails that I would have my book(product)sometime in Feb or March 2014. I still have nothing in my hands. I have nothing to show for my public, family, and friends that wants to support me and buy my book. I have waited long enough and have struggle to pay Dorrance and still they will not send me nothing.Dorrance wants more money out of me and will not release my book or put in my hand.

Desired Settlement: I want to uphold my agreement and finish paying off Dorrance per our agreement. And I want Dorrance to put my book and my face in the public market everywhere as they promise me. Dorrance is charging me a total of $6500.00 for total package but they failed to give me my book and copies. How long does it take them to make a cover for my book? I have given them everything including most of my hard earned money. My attorney is on stand by if it comes to this. I want my book & copies printed.

Business Response: Ms. ******* ********** signed a contract with Dorrance Publishing in July 2012 for the print-on-demand, subsidy publication of her book, "All I Got Left."  While the cost of this service was $6,400, we agreed to allow Ms. ********** to make monthly payments of $256.  When Ms. ********** then requested that the payments be reduced to only $200, we agreed to this request.

 
However, Ms. ********** has not made the payments to which she agreed. After making the initial payment of $256 in July 2012, she did not pay us again until November 2012 (and only paid $150). After that, she did not pay again until January 2013 (again only $150).  While we attempt to accommodate our authors' financial needs through our interest-free payment plans, and allowed an initial grace period when she fell behind on payments, we cannot continue to service the contract when the author does not uphold her responsibilities to the contract.  Ms. ************ representative, ****** *******, explained this to her in January 2013.  The project had to be placed on hold and Ms. ******* discussed this with Ms. ********** by both phone and email at least ten times over the rest of the year (1/30/13, 2/25/13. 3/5/13, 8/26/13, 8/29/13, 9/3/13, 9/30/13, 11/22/13, 12/23/13, 12/26/13.
 
In late December 2013, Ms. ********** paid us approximately $2,000 to bring her account up to date, and we were able to resume work on her project. Ms. ******* let Ms. ********** know that we were working on her cover design.  On January 16, 2014, Ms. ******* emailed Ms. ********** that we would have the cover design ready for her review in late February or early March.  We never stated that she would have the completed book by then.  Once Ms. ********** has approved the cover, we can proceed to schedule the book for printing (the interior pages were already completed and approved last year).
 
After bringing her account current in December, Ms. ********** failed to make the next two regular monthly payments (due January 10th and February 10th).  Therefore, she received notification from us that she was once again past due.  While we understand Ms. ************ eagerness to have her book printed, we simply cannot continue to provide services for which we have not been paid.  The originally scheduled released date of November 2013, was based on her making consistent monthly payments.
 
I discussed all of this myself, at length, with Ms. **********, on Friday, February 21st, and I am hopeful that she now understands her commitment to the contract and what is necessary for us to move forward.  She informed me that she has mailed a double payment to cover the two missed payments, and while we have not yet received it, we are resuming work based on her promise.  While Ms. ********** does still owe us a remaining balance of $2,944.00, payment in full is not necessary at this time. We will of course continue fulfilling our obligations to the contract as long as she stays current with the agreed upon payments.
 
We have made every effort to accommodate Ms. ********** and have communicated with her throughout the process.  We look forward to being able to proceed with the publication of her book.
 
Sincerely,
******* *********
Author Services Director

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* **********

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I published my book through Dorrance back in March 2013. When I received my first royalty payment of $18,00 in July 2013, I thought it was because my book had not been out that long so that explained the few sales. I didn't question the royalty payment.Fast forward to my most recent royalty payment of $16.71 for sales from May 1 through October 31, 2013. I questioned this earnings statement because I sold 12 books alone at ****** * ***** which totaled approximately $72.00, not to mention the internet sales and book sales by family and friends, a few of which have my book for me to sign when I go up to Pennsylvania in the summer. I estimated a roaylty check of approximately $213.00 - a significant difference from $16.71.I can't get Dorrance to answer their telephone. I was given an ###-###-#### number to call for sales - no response. When I press zero for the operator, the phone just rings and rings, and ******* *****, the rep assigned to my account - well, I've never spoke to ******* because he will not return my calls. He just emails me and never gives me a definitive answer on ANYTHING. It's frustrating.

Desired Settlement: I want a complete accounting of what is due me. Period. I need for someone to return my calls and explain to me why I am supposed to get approximately $213.00 dollars but only got $16.00 - especially when I sold 12 books at the****** * ****** book signing far exceeding $16.00. This is ridiculous. I feel cheated.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that Ms. ********* was not able to immediately get in touch with us by phone.  The statement she is referring to was issued to her on Friday (January 31st).  Her author services representative Michael ***** did not receive a phone call or voicemail message from her between that time and when she filed the complaint this morning. Any calls to Mr. ***** that do not reach him live would go to either our answering service or a voice mail message.  He did receive an email from her at 6:40 pm last night, after our offices were closed for the day.

 
Ms. ********* did reach Mr. ***** by phone later this morning.  He responded to her concerns and followed up by sending her more detailed information via email. We have confirmed that the statement and earnings payment she received were correct.  While a number of copies of her book were ordered by ****** * *****, payment for those orders was not received prior to the October 31st cut-off date for earnings.  Therefore, earnings on those orders were not due to her at this time.  She will receive earnings for those orders in a future earnings payment, based on when the payment from ****** * ***** is received (per the terms of her contract).
 
We certainly would pay Ms. ********* any money that is due to her per the terms of our contract, and we are happy to report that we have confirmed with her that she was paid correctly.
 
Sincerely,
******* *********
Author Services Director
 
 

Consumer Response:

I want lines of communication open between myself and Dorrance Publishing.

******* is correct.  Today was the first time in almost one year that I have actually spoken with ******* *****. He has yet to return my calls or answer his phone in almost a year.  This is both frustrating and unacceptable. I have been forced to communicate with ******* solely through email.

See email below from ******* regarding my royalty payments.

Dear Ms. *********,

 

Please see below the detailed information that you had requested.

Previously, 3 individuals had ordered copies directly from RoseDog.  Payment for those orders was sent to you in July of 2013.

For the this earnings period, covering dates from 1 May 2013 through 31 October 2013, we show the following orders:

15 books, ****** * *****, ordered 10 September 2013, invoice paid January 2014

10 books, author, 1 October 2013, no earnings due

20 books, ****** * *****, 7 October 2013, invoice still open

21 books, ***** * ******, 10 October 2013, invoice still open

50 books, author, 11 December 2013, no earnings due

I have asked Dorrance to provide the clause in my contract that stipulates that I have to wait until they get paid before I get paid.  Keep in mind that these sales took place in October and Dorrance has yet to get paid.  If they don't ever get paid, am I out of luck.  Don't forget - they are selling my book.

If they can provide this clause in my contract, I will accept their response and hope to settle this by July, 2014. If they can't provide this clause in my contract, I want my money now.

Thank you.

 

 

Business Response: While it is impossible at this time to determine when Ms. ********* attempted to contact us by phone over the past year, our records do show that Mr. ***** communicated with Ms. ********* on 38 occasions since December 2012.  Often email is the most efficient means of communicating with our authors.

 
We have been in contact with Ms. ********* today about the current matter.  Her contract does, in fact, state that she is only to be paid earning on orders for which we have been paid.  Section VI (RETAIL PRICE AND AUTHOR'S PAYMENT ON SALES) states that " It is understood that no payments shall be made on books that...shipped but for which RoseDog has not yet received payment."  Mr. ***** is also sending her a copy of this section of the contract.
 
While we understand Ms.*********** frustration that she is not yet receiving earnings on these sales, we are acting in accordance to the terms of the contract to which she agreed.  Unfortunately, many of the larger book retailers pay on a slow schedule, but we continue to do business with them as we believe it is a benefit to our authors to have access to these establishments.
 
We have been responsive to Ms. *********s concerns and will continue to do so.  Again, we have acted in accordance with the terms of her contract with us and have paid her all money due to her at this time.
 
Sincerely,
******* *********
Author Services Director

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******.  I am accepting their resolution for now since ******* ***** has explained to me that all of my internet sales have not yet been reported and that on-line sales can take up to 90 days to report. I knew that the check in the amount of $16.71 wasn't all that I have made in sales and that it didn't reflect all of my on-line sales like ******, ********, etc. I know this to be fact because I know what sales have been made from family, colleagues, and friends and it wasn't adding up.

With the exception of yesterday, I have never had a phone conversation with ******* *****. I have made attempts to contact him via telephone at the ###-###-####, but would only get his voicemail. He never returned my calls, only responded via emails. If you dial the above number (a number given to me by ******* to reach him) and press zero for the operator, the phone just rings and rings.  There is no operator.  It's just frustrating. I feel like I'm doing business with a phantom.

Again - All I want is an accurate accounting of what is going on with my sales. I will give Dorrance/Rosedog publishing the benefit of the doubt on this last earnings statement and take them at their word that my on-line sales have not yet been reported and that they have not collected funds in order to pay me. However, it would truly scare me if there is no resolve come July, 2014. 

Thank you BBB for helping me with this matter.

Regards,

 

******* *********

 

 

 

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had an agreement for them to sell my book via their web site, Barnes and noble.com, amazon, and yahoo. The agreement stated that they would pay me for all books sold every 6 months. However they have taken my book and all the profits. They continue to sell my book without my consent .

Desired Settlement: Unspecified

Business Response: Ms. ******* has a contract with our Red Lead Press imprint for the subsidy, print-on-demand publication of her book.  That contract is dated October 2011 and the book was produced in February 2012.

 
Per the contract, we are to make the book available for sale and we have done so.  The contract specifically states that we do not guarantee any number of sales will result, and, unfortunately, in this case the only sales of the book have been directly to Ms. *******.
 
Per the contract, we are to send a statement of any qualifying sales, and earnings payment if applicable, each January 31st and July 31st for sales through the previous October 31st and April 30th, respectively.  In Ms. *******'s case, there have been no sales to report or earnings to be paid.
 
We are uncertain why Ms. ******* states that we are selling the books without her consent.  The contract remains active at this time and we will continue performing our obligations, including fulfilling orders should any be received.  If Ms. ******* does wish to terminate the contract, she is welcome to do so by notifying us of such in writing.
 
Please let us know if we can be of further assistance.
 
Sincerely,
******* *********
Author Services Director

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am ***** ******. i paid to have my book published bu Rose Dog books in Pittsburgh, PA.After receiving the book;I placed an ad in ********* magazine for the fall 2012 issue that was distributed amongst 450,000 members coast to coast.The timetable for a report of sales was due to me by July 2013(their rules)Rose Dog's response "NO SALES". 450,000 members and not one book sold?May I send you additional particulars?You can contact me at the following e mail address:************* Best regards and I look forward to your response.

Desired Settlement: please help to resolve this issue and confirm actual sales.

Business Response: We were surprised to receive this complaint from Mr. ******, as we had already addressed this issue with him in early September and believed it to be resolved.  We do not understand why he continues to state that we have told him there have been "no sales" when we have already provided him with specifics of the sales which occurred.


On September 11, 2013, we wrote to Mr. ****** to confirm that earnings for the sale of 5 books to ****** had been deposited directly to his bank account (per his instructions).  These sales were in addition to 5 previous sales to Amazon.  While these 10 book sales may not have been the number Mr. ****** was expecting, it is untrue to state that there have been no sales.

The ad that Mr. ****** placed in the ********* magazine was done entirely on his own with no involvement from RoseDog/Dorrance.  This was something he chose to do and we did not advise him or instruct him to do so. We are sorry that he has been disappointed with his decision to purchase this ad.  While it is clear that he believed the large readership of this magazine would be a good audience for his book, obviously there is no guarantee that any sales will result from this.

We have reported and paid earnings correctly to Mr. ****** and will continue to do so, in accordance with the terms of his contract.  Please let us know if we can be of additional assistance.

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid almost 2000.00 to have my book published with this company they have not full-filled several contract terms, first they never notified that my book was on the market, I never received my promotion package, had to pay for copies of my own book and did not receive the discount I was promised. I emailed several times for information on the release of my book did not get replies to several of the emails. I was suppose to receive a report and a portion of the sales in July and have not received it. This company has not honored any of the promises which are laid out in the contract. I did not even get to use my own book cover I designed for my book and there was numerous type errors which were published in my book. I am very dissatisfied with the way this company has handled my book publishing as well as the contract. All I ask for is either for them to make things right and not charge me, or to refund a portion of my payment I made to them. Rose Dog publishing was the company who did the publishing of my book.

Desired Settlement: I would like a portion of my costs returned back to me or to for them to make things right by doing what they said they would do, send my promotional package, give me my discounts on my book. I have chose after these problems with this company not to use them for my future publishing.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that Mr. ****** has been disappointed with the service he has received.  We certainly have fulfilled the terms of the services which he purchased from us, although it does appear there has been some confusion with communication.


Mr. ******'s book was completed in December 2012, at which time 3 copies of the book were mailed to him, along with some general information.  We proceeded to perform promotion of the book, as outlined in the contract, and reports about the promotion activities were emailed to him in February 2013.

At the end of March 2013, Mr. ****** contacted us and indicated that he had not received the copies of his book or any information regarding promotion.  We informed him we had sent the books to the address we had on record, and it was discovered that Mr. ****** had not updated us with his new address.  The promotion information had been sent via email, so we are uncertain why he did not receive that, but we sent it again on March 26th.  We also agreed to send another copy of the book to his new address, and instructed him as to how he could order additional copies of the book.  As we have not heard from him about this since early April, we assumed this matter was resolved.

Per the terms of the contract, Mr. ****** is to receive reports each January 31st and July 31st of any earnings accrued for his book (and be issued payment, if applicable).  These payments would be for any paid sales through the previous October 31st or April 30th, respectively.  Mr. ****** was not due any earnings payment on July 31, 2013, and was sent notification of such.  There were no copies of Mr. ******'s book sold prior to April 30th, so no earnings were due to him.

If Mr. ****** has identified what he believes to be errors in his book, he should certainly bring these to our attention. We ask that he please provide a list of these errors to his author services representative so that we may review them and discuss the best course of action.

We'd be happy to send Mr. ****** an additional three copies of his book at his new address, as well as another copy of the promotion information. We are sorry he has been dissatisfied, but we have performed in accordance with the terms of his contract and attempted to make right any concerns he has brought to our attention.  In light of this, we do not believe any refund is warranted, but we will continue to work with Mr. ****** to resolve any concerns he may have.

Sincerely,
******* *********
Author Services Director

8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/14/2011 I entered a contract to have my book **** **** *** ********* published and promoted by Dorrance Publishing. The contract states that the company would contact three hundred (300) media outlets appropriate for the sale of my work. I received an email stating that 817 contacts in the media had been made. Attempts were to be made for interviews, none were attained and no proof has been provided of anyone contacted. My work was to be offered on consignment and attempts were to be made to obtain autograph signings from book sellers. As of February 1st. of 2013 my book was labeled as non-returnable by****** *** ***** and ***** * ******* and unknown to all other book sellers that I have checked. Being labeled Print on demand and non-returnable banned my book from being sold in said stores and bars any autograph signings. I was provided with a list of book sellers that were inappropriate or unsuitable like *********** *********** Books which only sell used books, The **** **** isnt in business, ******** **** Company only sell ******** ************ ********** text books and The ****** ******* ** doesnt sell books but specializes in cigarettes, wine, and beer. All the ******** libraries listed to receive some form of promotion knew nothing of my book. During contract negotiations I was told by the contract rep, all sales would be handled by Dorrance. I was also the only thing required of me was to do the interviews and book signings that would be set up for me and return to return the tax information for payment of royalties. Interviews, book signings, consignment offers and sales amounted to zero while. Dorrance continues to place all blame to ****** * ***** for an ongoing issue between the two companies or the forgetfulness of all others involved.

Desired Settlement: Based upon non-performance of contract, I seek a return of monies paid in consideration of this contract ($8000) and reimbursement of the cost of the video ($600) that was recommended that I produce for advertisement.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that Mr. ********* continues to be unhappy about the sales and promotion of his book, as we have previously addressed these same issues both directly with him and with his attorney.  Our July 24, 2013, response to his attorney is attached.


As we have explained, we have performed the services which were specified in the contract.  We have promoted the book (in accordance with our detailed promotion plan) and have made it available for sale.  We cannot and do not guarantee how many sales will result from this.  As Mr. ********* states, we were to distribute information about his book to 300 media contacts and actually distributed information to a total of 817 contacts instead, going above and beyond our obligations.  While each media representative may not be the perfect fit for his book, to create the list we utilize a professional media database which sorts results based on the author's location as well as the subject matter of the book.  The contacts selected have indicated to this database that their coverage includes either newly published books, features on local authors, or matters related to the subject of your book.  We have found this to be a reliable source and method of compiling contact lists for promotion of our books.  In any publicity or promotion endeavor, one cannot guarantee the response which will be generated.  We did, as promised, offer your book on consignment and attempt to set up autograph signings; unfortunately, we found no stores which were interested at this time.

As we addressed previously, while your book is "print-on-demand", it is certainly returnable and we list it as such.  We cannot control the internal databases and processes of ****** * *****.

We are very sorry to hear you have been disappointed in the results of your publication, but we have performed the services which you purchased, in accordance with our agreement, and we cannot agree to refund the money you paid for these services.

Sincerely,
******* *********
Author Services Director

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* *********

 

 

8/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to have my ebook pay and know how much my Book *** ****** **** was sold for and how many were ordered. I sent in my direct deposit form twice to have my royalties sent to my ***** Bank Account.This was supposed to be for my earnings from the***** ****** and soft back book. I have had friend and organization say they bought both versions. Where is my money? what was made? What was ordered? Mr. ***** has emailed me, but Danced around this simple request Where is my money they sent $4.00 to an account at ******* Bank I never asked sent their. I do not know how they got that account information. I want my money sent to ***** as the agreed direct deposit stated it was to go. This is basic you pay a writer and make sure they get it.**** *** **** ******** ************* **** ***** ********* ***** **** ************* ************ ***** *** **** ***** ********* *** ********** **** ***** ******** * ******* ** *** ****** ************* ************ ** *** **** *********** ** ** **** ** ******************** *** **** **** ******* ***** ******** **** ************** *** ***** ********** ********* *** ********** ******* ** *** *********** ****** ******* ******* ********* **** ** **** ** ***** *** ******* **** *** *** **** **** *** *** ******** ***** ***** ******* ***** ** *** *** ******** ***** *************** ********* **** ******* ** ******** ****** ********* *** ********** ** *** **** ********* ** ** **** **** ***** ******* ** *** **** *** **** ******** *** ********** ** ******* ************* ***************** **** ****** ** **** ********* ************** *** *********** *** ******** ** ******************************************************************* ******* *** ********* ***** ******* ******** **** **** ******* ******* *** **** ********** ******* *** *** ******** ** ********** **** *** *** ******** *** **** ******* **** *** ******* ******* ******* *********** *********** ***** *** ******** *** **** ***** *** ***** ****** *** *** ***** ******* *** *** ******** **** **********

Desired Settlement: I would like to get paid for my ebook sales and soft cover book sales. I also would like to know how many of each were sold.

Business Response: We were surprised to receive this complaint from Mr. ****** as we have been in contact with him via phone and email on at least eight occasions over the past few weeks and have been answering any questions he has presented to us.


As we have explained to Mr. ******, he has been paid all money due to him.  He received earnings for one book sold to an individual.  We informed him that ******.com had also ordered 4 books, however, we had not received payment for those orders by the cut-off date (per his contract, earnings were to be paid to him on July 31st on orders for which Dorrance had received payment by April 30th).

Mr. ****** was surprised that there had not been ebook sales of his book through ******** ******.  We explained that, per ******** policies, ****** has up to 90 days to report and pay us for the sale of any ebooks.  Therefore, there may be transactions that occurred through ****** of which we are not yet aware (or there may still be none).  But we have reported to Mr. ****** any sales we have on record.  Again, we have reported all of our sales to him.

The $4.00 we owed him in earnings on July 31st was issued to him via direct deposit to his bank account.  Mr. ******, of course, provided us with the bank account information for this purpose.  There is simply no way we would have been able to make this deposit had he not provided us with the information.

The information Mr. ****** has included about the ********** ** ******* ***** *** **** ********* ****** is completely irrelevant, as Mr. ****** is not an employee of Dorrance Publishing.  Per our contract, we are to pay him earnings on sales in a clearly stated manner and we have done so.  We have paid him all earnings due and informed him of all of our sales of the book.

Sincerely,
******* *********
Author Services Director

Consumer Response: Thank you for your real work. Again over and over they have avoided giving how many orders on all categories.  I want how many orders of ebooks have been sold. When they get them. They are keeping record I hope.  Also better sales effort would be nice to. So far no real significant money in the thousands is mine yet.  I would like to see evidence of that kind. Thank you.
***** ****** ***

 

 

 

7/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service