Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dorrance Publishing Company Inc

Phone: (412) 288-4543 Fax: (412) 288-1786 View Additional Phone Numbers 585 Alpha Dr Ste 103, Pittsburgh, PA 15238 http://www.dorrancepublishing.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Publishers - Book Publishing Services


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dorrance Publishing Company Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Dorrance Publishing Company Inc include:

  • 39 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Dorrance Publishing Company Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 39 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

39 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 32
Total Closed Complaints 39

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Dorrance Publishing Company Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1989 Business started: 06/01/1989
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Jessica Stillwell, Author Service Manager Mr. David Zeolla, Managing Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Jessica Stillwell, Author Service Manager
Business Category

PUBLISHERS-BOOK

Alternate Business Names
I-Proclaim Books Red Lead Press Rose Dog Books Whitmore Publishing Company

Additional Locations

  • 585 Alpha Dr Ste 103

    Pittsburgh, PA 15238

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The editing was garbage I was charged extra for it. I had an actual editor do it which cost me 400$ and he said the punctuation was wrong. Also something I noticed. I brought it up to the rep and she assured me it was done right. I have evidence on the poor level of chicago style editing provided. When I signed the contract I was told I could cancel anytime and get a refund or I would not have put such a large deposit. I'm not in the production stage and I'm still getting emails and voicemails that I owe them more money. I don't like how my file has been handled and the poor quality of customer service in returning emails and phone calls. The lady managing my account didn't even know I had paid extra for editing. I want my money back. This company is a scam! Thanks

Desired Settlement: I have supporting documents and emails about the poor quality of service and editing. I would like my money back. I shouldn't have to pay for the 3rd grade chicago style editing and besides that they have done nothing in my account but want to keep my money.

Consumer Response: On Wed, Aug 10, 2016 at 1:56 PM, **** ****** ************************> wrote:

Thank you, but this has been settled they agreed to give me a refund.

-- 
Sincerely,
**** **

7/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For 2 years no progress has been done on my Vignettes book. I haven't received any proof as DORRANCE promised. Had the staff followed my Dummy - mistakes, repeatitious e mails, sending back & forth pages for corrections will be prevented and save time. It has been a very stressful months, mentally & emotionally waited for the formatted covers, 129 pages was exasperating. So many ridiculous excuses, the sudden change of size of my book, messing up my back cover design & so many more but the limited space couldn't fully describe my complains. I'm asking for a refund of Joy's fully paid $4,900 .I asked it 4 times & Dorrance doesn't refund because- "the money you have paid goes to the cover designers, editors, to get this far in the production." What cover design? SHAME ! I did not use DORRANCE page designers. I am an art director for 25 yrs. DiID ALL THE LAYOUTS, 129 pages, both Covers. I requested only for copy editing for my *********** articles only.

Desired Settlement: DORRANCE art dept. can't claim theiir artists did my Vignettes both covers or any art work, layouts done in the book, that's. Plagiarism ! I thank the editors for editing my articles. Most important is to PLEASE RETURN ALL MATERIALS / VIGNETTES BOOK , BOTH FRONT COVER AND BACK COVERS & ALL COLOR PAGES. AND REFUND OF MY DAUGHTER & GRAND DAUGHTER's HARD EARNED MONEY FOR MY BIRTHDAY GIFT. to fulfill my dream .

Business Response:

We are sorry to hear that Ms. ***** is unhappy with the status of her book.  It is untrue that there has been no progress. We are working on the cover design and interior pages and have been in contact with her throughout this process.  We should have "page proofs" of the interior pages (which show exactly how the finished book will appear) for her review and approval within the next few days.

 

Regarding the cover design, we are stalled with this because we have been waiting for a response from Ms. ***** regarding clarification of her requested corrections. We have prompted her for this information a few times.  We certainly are not taking credit for any of her artwork.

 

Ms. ***** may terminate the contract if she does not wish to move forward, however, per the terms of the agreement no refund would be made.  We are working to produce the book and perform the services which she purchased.

5/4/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:
Mar. 28,2016
Dear B.B.B,
Will you please look into this matter for me, I feel that I have been scammed Out of $506.00 by this company, Dorrance publishing Co. / RoseDog, who. agreed To publish a book for me for a specific amount, instead price increased as the work Went on. Also they ended my contract without sending me any proof that they had Done any work on my book at all and did not return my $506.00 ,if they had done any work on my book I would like to have it mailed to me if they’re going to keep my $506.oo. There actions should not happen to another hopeful.
P.S. They have stopped answering my telephone calls, they can be reach at RoseDog/ Dorrance publishing**** ***** ***** ***** **** ********** *** ***** **** *** *** ****


Desired Settlement: if they had done any work on my book I would like to have it mailed to me

Business Response:

We are sorry to hear that Ms. ***** believes she was "scammed", as that was certainly not the case.  Ms. ***** signed a contract with us in October 2015 for publishing services.  The total cost of the contract was $2,025.00, however we had made arrangements with Ms. ***** to pay in installments.

Ms. ***** had made a down payment of $506.00 and we had begun work on the book.  The process was proceeding normally and we were acting in accordance with the terms of the contract, when Ms. ***** notified us in December 2015 that she wished to cancel the contract.  At this request, we sent her the necessary paperwork to end the contract.  She signed and returned this paperwork, which included an acknowledgement that no refund would be given.  Per the terms of the contract, should the author chose to end the contract, any money previously paid is forfeited.  We had begun work on the project and spent money on behalf of the project.  While she was not refunded the $506.00 down payment, the remaining balance of $1,519.00 was forgiven.

RoseDog and Dorrance Publishing has acted in accordance with the terms of our contract with Ms. *****, and it was Ms. ***** who chose to end the contract, signing paperwork acknowledging that this was her decision and that she was forfeiting the down payment.

 Jessica S********

Author Services Director

2/8/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to dorrance publishing company,to publish my manuscript, and I noticed ,that the company had a lot of complaints,so I asked them to refund my money and manuscript,on Dec 28, I have yet to receive anything, I think the company is a fraud, I would like my manuscript and $100,back,you said that it was in the mail, on dec 28, just lies,they don't even return my phone calls or email. ,lying company

Desired Settlement: I want my deposit and manuscript back, immediately,,because I mail to you insured priority mail. And you send something like this in the regular mail.

Business Response:

We are sorry that this author no longer wants to proceed with the signed contract.  We did already inform him that we would agree to end the contract and refund his money. However, there is some processing time involved with this.  The manuscript was sent back on January 12th and the refund check will be issued by the end of this week.

 

We are certainly not a fraud and we successfully publish books for hundreds of authors each year.  While we regret that he does not want to proceed with his publication, we are in the process of terminating the contract and refunding his money.

1/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I, ****** ******t signed a contract with Rose Dog Print, an imprint of Dorrance Publishing Co, Inc. with offices in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania on the 29th of May, 2015. It is now the 10th of January 2016 and the contract has not been completed. There have been many contacts with Ashley A******, Author Services Manager, but she has continued to make excuses as to why this book, *** ******** *** ***** ********** has not been reprinted, promising me many dates when the reprint will be finished, but those time promises have never been fulfilled. Thank. Audrey C******

Desired Settlement: Want this contract finished and the books promised sent to me.

Business Response:

The last step in the process before we can print Ms. *******'s book was to send her final "proofs" of the front and back covers of her book.  These were sent to her on January 8th, so they would have crossed with this correspondence. Once Ms. ******* verifies that those covers are correct, we will be ready to sent her book to print.

Please let me know if there are additional questions or concerns.

 

Sincerely,

Jessica S********

Author Services Director

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
Regards,

****** *******

Thanks so much to the BBB.  I did hear from Dorrance Publishing Co. and they have agreed to reprint my book.  I have had a contract with them since May 2014 with many excuses for not reprinting the book.  I am concerned that the reprint might still be putt off, so I want to keep in touch with the wonderful BBB until I have the reprint books in my possession as they have promised.  Thank You so much for your help.

****** *******

11/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This publishing company received their payment in full and has not fulfilled their contract obligations since that time. I have not received any statements for sales of my book nor have I received any proceeds.

Desired Settlement: Summary of sales report and payment according to contract.

Business Response:

Ms. ***** has a contract with Dorrance for the subsidy, print-on-demand publication of her book. The book was published in December 2014.  Per her contract, earnings on any sales are to be paid each January 31st and July 31st for sales paid for through the previous October 31st and April 30th, respectively.  Therefore, the first time Ms. *****'s book was eligible for earnings was July 2015.

 

However, there were no sales of her book prior to the April 30th deadline and therefore no payments were due to her in July 2015.  She will be due earnings in January 2016, for 3 sales completed in May and 21 sales completed in August (as well as any other sales which may be completed before October 31st).

We have no record of Ms. ***** inquiring about her earnings payments until receiving this complaint through your agency, otherwise, we would have gladly addressed her concerns directly. We have acted in accordance with the terms of her contract, and no payments are due to her at this time.

 

Sincerely,

Jessica S********

Author Services Director

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

**** *****

9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My publishing contract of 2011 with *** **** Press, an imprint of Dorrance Publishing, provides for me to end my relationship (contract) with them whenever I wish. I have been trying to do so since January 20, 2015 via the phone and email. I finally sent a letter of complaint to the attention of Michael K**** on May 11, 2015 all without any response.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to send me the forms or whatever is required to end my contract and pull the book off **********

Business Response: We apologize for any confusion regarding the status of Ms. *******'s contract with us.  The contract has now been terminated.  We have sent written confirmation of this to Ms. *******, and notified online retailers.  Please keep in mind, that while we would no longer be providing retailers with any new copies of the book, they may still be listing for sale copies that they obtained prior to the contract's termination.  Please let us know if we can be of further assistance.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *******

8/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sign a contract with Dorrance Publishing in 2013 and paid them over $6,000 to have my children's picture book published. It took months just to get the correct illustrations. They have presented me with three "final" proofs, all of which were either missing pictures, had the text in the wrong places or both. It seems that, whoever is putting my book together can't follow simple instructions or simply doesn't care. I suspect they use freelancers for illustrations and book design. The last time, they again wanted me to fill out a correction sheet, which I will not do as they already have my complete instructions. And I'm not paying them another nickle! I have an email stating that my book would be published in August of 2014. I'm still waiting.

Desired Settlement: I want either a full refund for the aggravation they have put me through so I can take my book elsewhere to be published, or my book, put together correctly and done within the next month. Dorrance already has clear instructions from me and enough is enough!

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that Ms. ********* is so unhappy with the service she is receiving.  These has been some confusion with her illustrations, but we have been attempting to work with her to resolve this.

On July 15th, our Author Services Manager responded to her email requesting clarification.  We have not yet received a response to that email.  The message was as follows: "Thank you for the email. I am very so to hear this. After
reviewing the proofs, however, I am confused. I am seeing 13 different
illustrations in the book. Can you please clarify what images are missing?
Please let me know via email, or I can call you to discuss—just let me know the
best time to do so."

We are certainly willing and eager to move forward with this project and complete the publication, however, we do need Ms. *********'s response to this email in order to proceed.

Sincerely,
Jessica *********

Consumer Response: In the first place, just because the correct number of pictures were included, doesn't mean that the RIGHT ones were. In fact, three of the illustrations that I fought so hard to get were left out altogether.  Also, the book is supposed to be set up so that there is an illustration followed by text on the facing page. There were two instances where two pictures were on facing pages. If my contact had looked at it more closely, she would have seen these mistakes.

I am willing to work with Dorrance to get my book published but all of this back and forth with correction sheets has got to stop. I have cobbled together a copy of what the book should look like from the three separate "final" proofs they sent me. I can send that to them but, other than that, I need assurances that no more of these very obvious mistakes will be made.

  

Regards,

******* *********

Business Response: Our Author Services Manager spoke with Ms. ********* yesterday and discussed the exact order of the the pages. We will be providing her with new page proofs for her review and approval reflecting this reordering.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, providing I receive satisfactory page proofs within 30 days. 

Regards,

******* *********

7/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I terminated my contract with Dorrance Publishing, aka, ******* Publishing back in April of 2015. To date, they are still promoting my book online through ****** * ***** and ****** and allowing purchases to go through without my consent. If you go online and enter, *** *** ** *** ******* by ******* *********, you will see first hand that it will allow you to order my book. How can that be when I no longer have a contract with Dorrance and they are no longer giving me royalties for my book???? It's inevitable that I will have to seek legal action if this problem is not resolved immediately. I have been more than patient with Dorrance Publishing and have accepted the fact that they have not paid me for past royalties. I will not accept that they can continue selling my book without a valid contract.

Desired Settlement: I want Dorrance Publishing, aka, ******* Publishing to remove my book from the ****** * ****** ******, and any other websites immediately, and give me an accounting of purchases made between my date of termination and now. Thank you.

Business Response: Ms. *********'s contract with us was terminated in April 2015, at her request.  At that time, *******/Dorrance ceased to be the publisher of this book -- we no longer print any copies of the book or fulfill any orders. However, as the book was previously published, there may still be information about the book available online.

We have followed up with ********** and ******************.  ****** now lists the book as "out of print."  ****** *** ***** has removed the listing.

Since this complaint was submitted, we have also been contacted directly by Ms. ********* and have discussed this matter with her.  We have assured her that her contract with us is indeed terminated and we have not fulfilled any orders for the book since that time.

Please let us know if there are additional questions.

7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Per the contract the book was supposed to be completed on Jan. 15th and they did not complete the project until April 17th! The staff is incredibly rude and does not return phone calls and emails in a timely manner missing every deadline they set up. Anytime I ask to speak to a manager they say they are the manager. I have called the main line several times trying to get to a higher up individual and have left messages but no return phone calls from someone from the Executive office. I have paid thousands of dollars for my book to be published and have never been treated so rude and disrespectful in my life! I am the customer and should never be told when they answer the phone that they are just too busy for me!

Desired Settlement: I would like for someone from the Executive Office to call me directly to hear my complaints (not another so called manager). I also want my promotion package to be completed in a timely manner (June 12th is the deadline in my contract and what was promised to me) and open communication with my contact person! I expect a phone call or email back within 24-48 hours at the most (which is what you promise) not a week or two later or when someone feels like it! I have people and school districts waiting for this product! I want to make sure when someone orders my book they can get it in a timely manner as when I ordered it was not delivered as promised in a timely manner!

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that Ms. ****** has not been satisfied with our service.  I have confirmed that her promotion postcards were mailed to her on May 28th.  The other portions of the promotion were completed in April, and she was sent detailed information about them on April 28th.  Our usual promotion schedule is to have these activities completed within 8 weeks of publication.  As Ms. ******'s book was first printed on April 17th, we were actually ahead of schedule with her promotion.

I have personally reached out to her to let her know she can contact me if she encounters any further issues with communication, but I am hopeful that her publication will move forward smoothly.

Sincerely,
******* *********
Author Services Director

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

THIS WAS MY RESPONSE TO JESSICA IN AN EMAIL I JUST SENT HER!  I HAVE LISTED OUT SPECIFIC THINGS IN MY CONTRACT THAT HAVE NOT BEEN COMPLETED!

Good morning Jessica,

I have attached my contract for
your review.  I purchased the $1,980 publishing agreement and have paid in
full!

The items I still have NOT
received are the following:

******** listing – There is no
picture available nor is there a Search inside feature nor a ****** version
posted. 

**Book listing and sample posted
to ****** book search

**Although listed on your
website there is no ****** preview available as said in my contract

**Not on ***** * *******
website

**Not sure if info. Was
submitted to ***** ** *****

**Not sure if ****** *********
Source received the submission of the book

**No publicity release has been
done, which I have been waiting for now for almost 8 weeks!

**No color enhance digital
interactive Press Kit has been distributed to approx. 300 media outlets!

**No distribution of the
publicity release to on-line news media has been done

**No New Book Project Summary, a
full-color marketing piece designed to pique bookseller’s interest has been
done

**No Phone calls to 12 selected
booksellers in the Author’s area making an offer for an appearance has been
done

**No emails to addresses that
are provided by me (NO ONE HAS ASKED ME FOR A LIST)!

 

The post cards have been
completed and sent to me but I have to tell you they are very poor quality that
I would not utilize them for sale of the book.  They are not professional
looking at all! 

I have had one (maybe 2)
conversations with Michael, which I had to initiate.  If you are a
promoter of a book (or anything) you need to work closely and have open communication
with the Author which he has not at all!

I have people waiting on me for
the publicity release and the press kit so I can move forward and assist with
promotions and I have NOTHING as you can tell by my list above!

 

The only things that have been
done is a listing on your website, ****** search capabilities and 150 crappy
post cards!  I have actually left a message for you once and attempted a
second time but your voicemail was full! 

In my complaint to the BBB I
requested a PHONE CALL from an authority at **** *** Books which I still have
not received!

I have tried over and over again
to communicate with your staff and the only one that would call me back and
assist me was Alexander ***** (he was very nice) but everyone else has treated
me with great disrespect and a complete and utter lack of caring about my
project!

None of your staff, other than
Alexander, would call me back or email me in a timely manner (sometimes it took
a week plus) and when I did talk to them they were acting like I was bothering
them!  The book order person actually said to me after I asked her if she
received both of my messages that “Well I’ve been busy!” 

I have paid a lot of money and
expect to get what I paid for in full!

I expected a phone call from you
not just an email!

My phone number is:

###-###-#### (office)

Cell – ###-###-####

Best,

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: Following up on this matter, these issues have been addressed and resolved directly with Ms. ******.  Please let us know if she has additional questions for you, but we believe this will close the matter.

7/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cannot get them to return my calls nor will they send me a financial statement from 2008. They have my address as I gave it to them on the phone. They were given the correct address. I completed a letter stating my mom died August 2008 and sent them her sheath certificate.

Desired Settlement: I want financial (invoice) from 2008 to 2015. IsN't to know what percentage Dorrance Publisher get for of off any book they sell because they might be cheating me. I will not settle for nothing less than what I have stated

Business Response: We had a contract with ***** ****'s mother, **** ****, for the publication of her book, "***** ** ******* Ages 4 through 6".  ***** **** did inform us in 2011 that her mother was deceased and that she was taking over the account.

Per **** ****'s contract, earnings on qualifying sales of the book are to be paid each January 31st and July 31st for sales paid by the previous October 31st and April 30th, respectively.

From 2008 to today, no money has been issued to Ms. ****.  The only earnings activity during that time is $9.60 accrued in January 2012.  However, if an author has elected paper check rather than direct deposit, we require a $25.00 minimum.  Therefore, the $9.60 was held until $25.00 has accrued.

We hope this information answers Ms. *****s questions.  Please let us know if additional information is needed.

Sincerely,
******* *********
Author Services Director

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** ****

Business Response: We would be happy to discuss this issue further if she is not satisfied with our response, however, she has not provided any indication of why our response was not adequate or what her further questions may be.  We believe we provided the factual information which was requested in the original complaint.  If she can provide specific additional questions, we'd be happy to answer them.

6/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a Dorrance Author and have an contract agreement with Dorrance Publishing since July 13, 2012. I have a written arrangement of monthly payments ($200.00)each month to pay Dorrance every month for service. However, in the years of 2013 was very challenging for me and I struggled and struggled in making my payments because I want my book to come out and I want my book (product) in my hand. Nevertheless, in certain months I had gotten behind between Sept. through Nov. 2013. But Dorrance stated that they would continue to work with me per ****** ********* by several phone conversation and emails. I borrow against my college fund to pay for my book for Dorrance to complete and I made a huge payment to Dorrance in the month of Dec. 2013. So I paid $2114.00 and took care of all of my past due amount for the project to resume, and now leaving a balance of $2900.00 to pay off before July 2014. Although, my book has been through various hands such as **** *********** ****** **** and now currently ****** *******. Through several emails and phone calls, ****** ******* has never taken any of my calls. The staff claims that they can only take messages and that ****** ******* may not get back with every author because they are extremely busy. So I have to go through a list of ongoing names such as ****** ********* who is Dorrance's bookkeeper manager who collects my money. When I discuss with ****** ********* how much longer will I have to wait for my book to come out. ****** has no know ideas because she is not apart of the production process. ****** stated to me through emails that I would have my book(product)sometime in Feb or March 2014. I still have nothing in my hands. I have nothing to show for my public, family, and friends that wants to support me and buy my book. I have waited long enough and have struggle to pay Dorrance and still they will not send me nothing.Dorrance wants more money out of me and will not release my book or put in my hand.

Desired Settlement: I want to uphold my agreement and finish paying off Dorrance per our agreement. And I want Dorrance to put my book and my face in the public market everywhere as they promise me. Dorrance is charging me a total of $6500.00 for total package but they failed to give me my book and copies. How long does it take them to make a cover for my book? I have given them everything including most of my hard earned money. My attorney is on stand by if it comes to this. I want my book & copies printed.

Business Response: Ms. ******* ********** signed a contract with Dorrance Publishing in July 2012 for the print-on-demand, subsidy publication of her book, "All I Got Left."  While the cost of this service was $6,400, we agreed to allow Ms. ********** to make monthly payments of $256.  When Ms. ********** then requested that the payments be reduced to only $200, we agreed to this request.

 
However, Ms. ********** has not made the payments to which she agreed. After making the initial payment of $256 in July 2012, she did not pay us again until November 2012 (and only paid $150). After that, she did not pay again until January 2013 (again only $150).  While we attempt to accommodate our authors' financial needs through our interest-free payment plans, and allowed an initial grace period when she fell behind on payments, we cannot continue to service the contract when the author does not uphold her responsibilities to the contract.  Ms. ************ representative, ****** *******, explained this to her in January 2013.  The project had to be placed on hold and Ms. ******* discussed this with Ms. ********** by both phone and email at least ten times over the rest of the year (1/30/13, 2/25/13. 3/5/13, 8/26/13, 8/29/13, 9/3/13, 9/30/13, 11/22/13, 12/23/13, 12/26/13.
 
In late December 2013, Ms. ********** paid us approximately $2,000 to bring her account up to date, and we were able to resume work on her project. Ms. ******* let Ms. ********** know that we were working on her cover design.  On January 16, 2014, Ms. ******* emailed Ms. ********** that we would have the cover design ready for her review in late February or early March.  We never stated that she would have the completed book by then.  Once Ms. ********** has approved the cover, we can proceed to schedule the book for printing (the interior pages were already completed and approved last year).
 
After bringing her account current in December, Ms. ********** failed to make the next two regular monthly payments (due January 10th and February 10th).  Therefore, she received notification from us that she was once again past due.  While we understand Ms. ************ eagerness to have her book printed, we simply cannot continue to provide services for which we have not been paid.  The originally scheduled released date of November 2013, was based on her making consistent monthly payments.
 
I discussed all of this myself, at length, with Ms. **********, on Friday, February 21st, and I am hopeful that she now understands her commitment to the contract and what is necessary for us to move forward.  She informed me that she has mailed a double payment to cover the two missed payments, and while we have not yet received it, we are resuming work based on her promise.  While Ms. ********** does still owe us a remaining balance of $2,944.00, payment in full is not necessary at this time. We will of course continue fulfilling our obligations to the contract as long as she stays current with the agreed upon payments.
 
We have made every effort to accommodate Ms. ********** and have communicated with her throughout the process.  We look forward to being able to proceed with the publication of her book.
 
Sincerely,
******* *********
Author Services Director

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* **********

5/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I submitted a copyrighted manuscript of a biology textbook to Dorrance. They contacted me both by e-mail and subsequent letter that my manuscript was accepted. I was assigned an associate that would guide me through the publishing process if I was interested. I then received an e-mail listing a number of 30 minute time periods from which I could choose as an appointment time to speak over the phone with this associate. The associate assigned to me was ******* *****. I selected a time. I even received an e-mail confirming the appointment time. The call never came. I contacted Dorrance Publishing two more times by phone. Each time I spoke to *****. He assured me that he would get the message to *** *****. It is now one whole week later and I still have heard nothing from Dorrance. This is not the way to run a successful business. I am still interested in what this company might be able to do for me. Is there anyway your organization can arrange this?

Desired Settlement: Can the BBB facilitate some response from Dorrance Publishing so that I may go forward with getting information about their product or services?

Business Response: ******** ***** spoke with *** ****** on Monday, May 11th, and *** ****** indicated that he was still interested in our services.  We are sending him a proposal for his review.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** ******

*** ***** did, indeed, contact me. Curiously, her response came within one hour of my being notified by BBB of the complaint being forwarded to Dorrance Publishing. Perhaps this is a coincidence and perhaps not. *** ***** explained to me that she had recently gotten married. I questioned her as to why someone else from the company couldn't at least have contacted me to explain why appointments weren't being honored. I am presently having Dorrance's proposal being reviewed by my attorney. 

5/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Seven years ago, I self-published two books with Dorrance (Rose Dog Books) when they were legit. ******** ***** & ***** * ****. Recently, I sent another manuscript with $3000 to have a children's book, ******* **** *** ********, plus $600 for books to give out to people I meet. Now they are jerking me around, and no one answers the phone, or returns calls. I want my money back, and I now know they are frauds!

Desired Settlement: I want to speak with someone ASAP to discuss a refund.

Business Response: Ms ******** signed a publishing contract with us in June 2014.  As she mentioned, she had successfully published 2 previous books with our company.  We were surprised to receive this complaint from her, as production of her book has been moving along and we have been in communication with her.

The original due date for her book was January 2015, however, Ms. ******** added additional materials to her book after work had begun and her approval of the cover took longer than usual when she did not inform us of a change in address.

Her most recent set of page proofs were sent to her on April 23rd.  Once we have her approval on these interior pages we can prepare the book for print.

We have been acting in accordance with the contract and have every intention of producing a book according to those terms.  Her representative here, ****** *******, has spoken with her on the phone several times in the past several weeks and has sent her materials as necessary.  As stated above, the production of her book is nearing completion.   Therefore, we cannot agree to a refund of her publishing fee and strongly deny her accusation that we are a "fraud."  We will continue the servicing of her contract and complete the project for which we have been paid.

Sincerely,

******* *********
Author Services Director

5/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had initial submitted a manuscript to this publisher, not realizing it was a self-publishing company. (They did not advertise as such.) when they replied, with a self-publishing offer, I declined, stating this was not what I was looking for.They repeatedly contacted me after my response, asking me when they could move "forward" with the manuscript. And I would continue to tell them that I was not interested, as I had previously told them, asking them to cease contacting me The last time they contacted me, I informed them that if they contacted me again, that they would be reported. Today I received another e-mail from them, for general publication, which I am including a copy of.***** ****** Today at 10:05 AMTome ******:You had once requested information from Dorrance about publishing your book. If you are now ready to become a published author you can click here to submit your book to Dorrance Publishing for our free review. After you submit your information you will be able to upload your book to us on the next page through our secure upload process. GET STARTED TODAY!Sincerely, ***** ******President

Desired Settlement: The company contacted to address the matter.

Business Response: We apologize that Ms. **** received an additional email.  We have now removed her contact information permanently from our system.

4/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ****** ***** from *********** ***** ********. I am a single mom of four. I submitted a transcript of my book *** ****** ***** to Dorrance Publishing for review that I have invested years in writing about my life story. I was bombarded with calls asking me when I was ready to begin my process. They gave me a quote of almost 7,000 to be able to publish this book for me. After the debit was done to my account an agreement was sent to me for me to sign of them to begin the process. This was never done before the transaction. The contract was never signed by me. I asked for a refund back due to that fact I had some very serious personal issues that had came up. They insisted that I think this over and told me that I could not get my money back only a credit. I also found out that another company had taken over which, I was never informed about this while speaking with them until after asking for my refund of $500.00. The person I spoke with name is **** ******.

Desired Settlement: I would like my refund of 500 returned to me due to the contract was never signed, and also my years of work either returned or discarded from their files. I am really upset about this.

Business Response: We apologize for any confusion regarding this payment.  The refund has now been posted to the author's credit card.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *****

4/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A Customer service rep answered my call, nice , very sharp toned, yet , rude, rushed me oof the phone very fast. took down my information said he would e-mail me his e-mail for my submission for 12 poems which is a manuscript. Haven't recieved a responce e-mail to send in my poems. Personally, I really was looking forward to my missed appointment with the original publisher that never called, I had 12 noon. no show no call. So I called Customer service and ended up talking to him. How can we work together to fix this?

Desired Settlement: A Published Poetry Book.

Business Response: We have spoken with Ms. ****** and she has informed us that she will be withdrawing her complaint from your agency.  Please let us know if we need to take further action.

Thank you,

******* *********
Author Services Director
Dorrance Publishing Co Inc

4/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: February 17, 2015, I received an invitation by e-mail from **** ******, Dorrance Publishing Services Consultant. The e-mail was an invitation to submit a manuscript (that I had recently had copyrighted) to Dorrance Publishing to evaluate possibility of Dorrance publishing it for me. The invitation requested that I submit the manuscript to the attention of ******* *****, Dorrance Publishing Services Consultant. The Dorrance proposal on the e-mail stated "You will be sent a statement of confidentiality once we have received your manuscript, and you will hear back from one of our Publishing Services Consultants a few days after your submission." I sent the manuscript by ***** Ground, Tracking number ************, and it was delivered to/received by ** ***** of Dorrance Publishing, February 19, 2015. at 10:37am. To date, Dorrance Publishing Consultants have not acknowledged receipt of the manuscript, nor have they contacted me. I have telephoned, e-mailed, and sent traditional USPS letters to Dorrance Publishing ******* ********* and both Pubishing Services Consultants, and to date I have received no response. I also was unable to verify that ******* ***** and **** ****** are really consultants for Dorrance Publishing. As such, I have not received a "statement of confidentiality," which is of great concern to me.

Desired Settlement: I want a "Statement of Confidentiality," along with written assurance that my manuscript has thus far been maintained confidential within Dorrance Publishing Company. I want Dorrance Publishing to clarify whether or not ******* ***** and **** ****** are truly Dorrance Publishing Consultants I want someone from Dorrance Publishing to contact me, preferably by USPS mail and by e-mail.

Business Response: Mr* ***** has been contacted by our Senior Publishing Services Consultant ******* *****.  She has provided him with a Statement of Confidentiality signed by our company president, and assure him that Mr. ******* and Ms. ***** are indeed employees of Dorrance Publishing.  We certainly would not share or distribute any manuscript which is submitted to us.

We consider this complaint to be resolved, as we have complied with the desired resolution requested by Mr. ***** in his complaint and we continue to be in contact with him regarding the possible publication of his manuscript.

Sincerely,

******* *********
Author Services Director

Consumer Response:

Complaint # ********

3-18-15 I rejected the business's complaint, but I did not understand where to explain the reason for my rejection. Please accept the following as the reason for the rejection: 
Dorrance's response states "Mr ******* and Ms ****** are employees of Dorrance Publishing.  My concern was whether or not **** ****** and ******* ***** are employees of Dorrance Publishing, so Dorrance failed to respond to the appropriate concerns.
In addition, to date, Dorrance has failed to provide an explanation as to why no one at Dorrance contacted me after the manuscript was received. This was requested directly through ******* ***** of Dorrance. 
My concern: During the time period Feb 19, 2015-March 4, 2015, whereabouts of the manuscript was unknown and no one at Dorrance responded to my communications regarding the whereabouts of the manuscript. For example: ******* ********* failed to reply to two usps letters mailed to her; **** ****** and ******* ***** failed to respond to multiple e-mails; and Dorrance failed to reply to multiple telephone messages that I left on Dorrance's voice mail. 
Without additional information and clarifications from Dorrance, the Statement of Confidentiality is not entirely meaningful. 
*** *****

Business Response: We have returned Mr. *****'s manuscript to him via overnight mail.  Our offer to work with him on his publication has been withdrawn, and we wish him the best of luck in his publishing endeavors.

Business Response: We fully acknowledge that Mr. ***** retains all rights to the work and would never use or distribute any author's work in an unauthorized way.  The manuscript never left Dorrance Publishing. Mr. ****** is indeed our employee.  The manuscript was never "missing" as Mr. ***** states.  We provided our standard statement of confidentiality and when Mr. ***** was not satisfied with that, we revised it to his liking.

We apologize that we were not able to respond to Mr. ***** as quickly as he would have liked, but this short delay in communication in no way indicates that Dorrance has violated Mr. *****'s copyright or performed inappropriately in any way.

Consumer Response: I am
rejecting the business response because it needs further clarifications. The
following wordage would be acceptable:


We fully acknowledge that Mr. ***** retains all rights to his copyrighted
manuscript; and Dorrance Publishing and it’s employees (including **** ******) have
not and never will, use or distribute Mr. ******s manuscript in an unauthorized
way.  The manuscript never left Dorrance Publishing and no one from
outside of Dorrance has read, reviewed, or copied Mr. *****’s manuscript.  Mr. ****** is indeed our employee.  The
manuscript was never "missing" as Mr. ***** states.  We provided
our standard statement of confidentiality and when Mr. ***** was not satisfied
with that, we revised it to his liking.

We apologize that we were not able to respond to Mr. ***** as quickly as he
would have liked, but this short delay in communication in no way indicates
that Dorrance has violated Mr* *****'s copyright or performed inappropriately
in any way.

Regards,

*** *****

10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: was emailed by******** ****** jan 31, 2014 that if mailed direct deposit formwould receive 17.96 + other earnings jul 31 via dd. Received earnings statement jul29 via email that only reflected 5.04 and still did not receive that by aug 4. I amcomplaining more about principle, but still am entitled to money.

Desired Settlement: direct deposit 23.00 in bank account

Business Response: Mr. ***** is correct that he was owed an additional $17.96.  This $17.96 was accrued in January 2014, but not paid because we require a $25.00 minimum to accrue for a check to be issued (we did not have direct deposit information from Mr. ***** at that time).  Following the January 2014 statement, Mr. ***** did submit the proper information to us to receive upcoming payments via direct bank deposit.

 
His July 2014 earnings of $5.04 were correctly credited to his account.  However, we failed to also apply the $17/96 that had previously been held.  Mr. ***** contacted us about this last week and we have since rectified this issue.  The $17.96 has been deposited to Mr. ******* bank account.
 
Sincerely,
 
******* *********Author Services Director
Dorrance Publishing Co

7/11/2014 Delivery Issues
5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I WROTE A BOOK OF POEMS TITLED "***** ** *****". I CONTACTED ROSE DOG BOOKS ABOUT PUBLISHING IT FOR ME IN 2003. I PAID THEM AN EXTRA $600 TO MARKET IT FOR ME. IT'S BEEN 11 YEARS SO FAR THEY'VE SOLD NONE. I ORIGINALLY PAID THEM $4400 PLUS THE EXTRA $600 TO MARKET THE BOOK. THEY HAVE SOLD NONE & I WANT MY MONEY BACK. THE AMOUNT I WANT BACK IS AT LEAST $10,000 FOR MY ROYALITIES. IT'S 11 YEARS WASTED OF MY TIME & THEY DID NOTHING TO HELP SELL IT. SO I CONSIDER THIS FRAUD! ******** * *****

Desired Settlement: ORIGINAL AMT PAID $4400 PLUS $600 FOR MARKETING & ANOTHER & ANOTHER $5000 FOR ROYALITIES

Business Response: Mr. ***** does have a contract with us (signed October 2003) for the subsidy, print-on-demand publication of his book with our RoseDog Books imprint. We were surprised to receive notice that he had filed this complaint, as we have not been contacted by Mr. ***** since 2011.

 
We are sorry to hear that Mr. ***** has been disappointed with the sales of the book, but our contract specifically states that we cannot and do not guarantee any number of sales. We do perform a limited and specified promotion to generate exposure for the book (and this work was completed for Mr. *****'s book in July 2004 in accordance with the terms of the contract).  Unfortunately, we cannot predict how the marketplace will react to any particular book.
 
 
It is untrue that no copies of Mr. *****'s book were sold and untrue that he received no earnings for sales. Sales and earnings accrued as follows:
January 2005 earned $4.50 for the sale of one book to an individual
July 2005 earned $4.50 for the sale of one book to an individual
January 2008 earned $2.10 for the sale of one book to Amazon
January 2012 earned $8.00 for the sale of one ebook to an individual
 
He is incorrect about the amount he paid for our services.  The contract price was $2,400 (including the promotion plan).
 
As we have not breached our contract with him in any way, we cannot agree to refund the money he has paid for our services (nor offer him additional money that he believes should have been paid in royalties).
 
Sincerely,
 
******* *********Author Services Director

4/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/8/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Three weeks ago or longer, I ordered five copies of my book,******** ****** ** and I still have not recieved them. One week ago I called ******** ****** and she said that she made the mistake of sending my books to my previous address. I gave her my correct address, which they have had for a while, and she assured me that I would recieve them this past friday, 4-4-14 and I still have not. I paid them with my debit card and I have that on my bank statement as well. They screwed me on the first book I published with them years ago and now I'm wondering if this company is really up to par like they pretend to be.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back or the books I ordered.( With extra copies if possible for the head ache).

Business Response: As Mr. ****** stated, he placed the original book order for five book on March 13th.  Unfortunately, the order was accidentally directed to a previous address for Mr. ****** that we had in the computer. Once this came to our attention, we immediately ordered another set of five books and we told Mr. ****** we would try to have them there by April 4th.  Unfortunately, our manufacturer was not able to get them to him by that date (as this is a print-on-demand publication, the books must be printed before they are sent).

 
The books are already en route to him and our book order department contacted Mr. ****** yesterday with this update and the tracking number for the shipment.
 
We apologize for the address error which caused this delay.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  

3/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I published my book through Dorrance back in March 2013. When I received my first royalty payment of $18,00 in July 2013, I thought it was because my book had not been out that long so that explained the few sales. I didn't question the royalty payment.Fast forward to my most recent royalty payment of $16.71 for sales from May 1 through October 31, 2013. I questioned this earnings statement because I sold 12 books alone at ****** * ***** which totaled approximately $72.00, not to mention the internet sales and book sales by family and friends, a few of which have my book for me to sign when I go up to Pennsylvania in the summer. I estimated a roaylty check of approximately $213.00 - a significant difference from $16.71.I can't get Dorrance to answer their telephone. I was given an ###-###-#### number to call for sales - no response. When I press zero for the operator, the phone just rings and rings, and ******* *****, the rep assigned to my account - well, I've never spoke to ******* because he will not return my calls. He just emails me and never gives me a definitive answer on ANYTHING. It's frustrating.

Desired Settlement: I want a complete accounting of what is due me. Period. I need for someone to return my calls and explain to me why I am supposed to get approximately $213.00 dollars but only got $16.00 - especially when I sold 12 books at the****** * ****** book signing far exceeding $16.00. This is ridiculous. I feel cheated.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that Ms. ********* was not able to immediately get in touch with us by phone.  The statement she is referring to was issued to her on Friday (January 31st).  Her author services representative Michael ***** did not receive a phone call or voicemail message from her between that time and when she filed the complaint this morning. Any calls to Mr. ***** that do not reach him live would go to either our answering service or a voice mail message.  He did receive an email from her at 6:40 pm last night, after our offices were closed for the day.

 
Ms. ********* did reach Mr. ***** by phone later this morning.  He responded to her concerns and followed up by sending her more detailed information via email. We have confirmed that the statement and earnings payment she received were correct.  While a number of copies of her book were ordered by ****** * *****, payment for those orders was not received prior to the October 31st cut-off date for earnings.  Therefore, earnings on those orders were not due to her at this time.  She will receive earnings for those orders in a future earnings payment, based on when the payment from ****** * ***** is received (per the terms of her contract).
 
We certainly would pay Ms. ********* any money that is due to her per the terms of our contract, and we are happy to report that we have confirmed with her that she was paid correctly.
 
Sincerely,
******* *********
Author Services Director
 
 

Consumer Response:

I want lines of communication open between myself and Dorrance Publishing.

******* is correct.  Today was the first time in almost one year that I have actually spoken with ******* *****. He has yet to return my calls or answer his phone in almost a year.  This is both frustrating and unacceptable. I have been forced to communicate with ******* solely through email.

See email below from ******* regarding my royalty payments.

Dear Ms. *********,

 

Please see below the detailed information that you had requested.

Previously, 3 individuals had ordered copies directly from RoseDog.  Payment for those orders was sent to you in July of 2013.

For the this earnings period, covering dates from 1 May 2013 through 31 October 2013, we show the following orders:

15 books, ****** * *****, ordered 10 September 2013, invoice paid January 2014

10 books, author, 1 October 2013, no earnings due

20 books, ****** * *****, 7 October 2013, invoice still open

21 books, ***** * ******, 10 October 2013, invoice still open

50 books, author, 11 December 2013, no earnings due

I have asked Dorrance to provide the clause in my contract that stipulates that I have to wait until they get paid before I get paid.  Keep in mind that these sales took place in October and Dorrance has yet to get paid.  If they don't ever get paid, am I out of luck.  Don't forget - they are selling my book.

If they can provide this clause in my contract, I will accept their response and hope to settle this by July, 2014. If they can't provide this clause in my contract, I want my money now.

Thank you.

 

 

Business Response: While it is impossible at this time to determine when Ms. ********* attempted to contact us by phone over the past year, our records do show that Mr. ***** communicated with Ms. ********* on 38 occasions since December 2012.  Often email is the most efficient means of communicating with our authors.

 
We have been in contact with Ms. ********* today about the current matter.  Her contract does, in fact, state that she is only to be paid earning on orders for which we have been paid.  Section VI (RETAIL PRICE AND AUTHOR'S PAYMENT ON SALES) states that " It is understood that no payments shall be made on books that...shipped but for which RoseDog has not yet received payment."  Mr. ***** is also sending her a copy of this section of the contract.
 
While we understand Ms.*********** frustration that she is not yet receiving earnings on these sales, we are acting in accordance to the terms of the contract to which she agreed.  Unfortunately, many of the larger book retailers pay on a slow schedule, but we continue to do business with them as we believe it is a benefit to our authors to have access to these establishments.
 
We have been responsive to Ms. *********s concerns and will continue to do so.  Again, we have acted in accordance with the terms of her contract with us and have paid her all money due to her at this time.
 
Sincerely,
******* *********
Author Services Director

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******.  I am accepting their resolution for now since ******* ***** has explained to me that all of my internet sales have not yet been reported and that on-line sales can take up to 90 days to report. I knew that the check in the amount of $16.71 wasn't all that I have made in sales and that it didn't reflect all of my on-line sales like ******, ********, etc. I know this to be fact because I know what sales have been made from family, colleagues, and friends and it wasn't adding up.

With the exception of yesterday, I have never had a phone conversation with ******* *****. I have made attempts to contact him via telephone at the ###-###-####, but would only get his voicemail. He never returned my calls, only responded via emails. If you dial the above number (a number given to me by ******* to reach him) and press zero for the operator, the phone just rings and rings.  There is no operator.  It's just frustrating. I feel like I'm doing business with a phantom.

Again - All I want is an accurate accounting of what is going on with my sales. I will give Dorrance/Rosedog publishing the benefit of the doubt on this last earnings statement and take them at their word that my on-line sales have not yet been reported and that they have not collected funds in order to pay me. However, it would truly scare me if there is no resolve come July, 2014. 

Thank you BBB for helping me with this matter.

Regards,

 

******* *********

 

 

 

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had an agreement for them to sell my book via their web site, Barnes and noble.com, amazon, and yahoo. The agreement stated that they would pay me for all books sold every 6 months. However they have taken my book and all the profits. They continue to sell my book without my consent .

Desired Settlement: Unspecified

Business Response: Ms. ******* has a contract with our Red Lead Press imprint for the subsidy, print-on-demand publication of her book.  That contract is dated October 2011 and the book was produced in February 2012.

 
Per the contract, we are to make the book available for sale and we have done so.  The contract specifically states that we do not guarantee any number of sales will result, and, unfortunately, in this case the only sales of the book have been directly to Ms. *******.
 
Per the contract, we are to send a statement of any qualifying sales, and earnings payment if applicable, each January 31st and July 31st for sales through the previous October 31st and April 30th, respectively.  In Ms. *******'s case, there have been no sales to report or earnings to be paid.
 
We are uncertain why Ms. ******* states that we are selling the books without her consent.  The contract remains active at this time and we will continue performing our obligations, including fulfilling orders should any be received.  If Ms. ******* does wish to terminate the contract, she is welcome to do so by notifying us of such in writing.
 
Please let us know if we can be of further assistance.
 
Sincerely,
******* *********
Author Services Director

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am ***** ******. i paid to have my book published bu Rose Dog books in Pittsburgh, PA.After receiving the book;I placed an ad in ********* magazine for the fall 2012 issue that was distributed amongst 450,000 members coast to coast.The timetable for a report of sales was due to me by July 2013(their rules)Rose Dog's response "NO SALES". 450,000 members and not one book sold?May I send you additional particulars?You can contact me at the following e mail address:************* Best regards and I look forward to your response.

Desired Settlement: please help to resolve this issue and confirm actual sales.

Business Response: We were surprised to receive this complaint from Mr. ******, as we had already addressed this issue with him in early September and believed it to be resolved.  We do not understand why he continues to state that we have told him there have been "no sales" when we have already provided him with specifics of the sales which occurred.


On September 11, 2013, we wrote to Mr. ****** to confirm that earnings for the sale of 5 books to ****** had been deposited directly to his bank account (per his instructions).  These sales were in addition to 5 previous sales to Amazon.  While these 10 book sales may not have been the number Mr. ****** was expecting, it is untrue to state that there have been no sales.

The ad that Mr. ****** placed in the ********* magazine was done entirely on his own with no involvement from RoseDog/Dorrance.  This was something he chose to do and we did not advise him or instruct him to do so. We are sorry that he has been disappointed with his decision to purchase this ad.  While it is clear that he believed the large readership of this magazine would be a good audience for his book, obviously there is no guarantee that any sales will result from this.

We have reported and paid earnings correctly to Mr. ****** and will continue to do so, in accordance with the terms of his contract.  Please let us know if we can be of additional assistance.

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Dorrance Publishing Company Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart