Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Union Real Estate Company

Phone: (412) 288-7800 Fax: (412) 288-7813 301 Grant Street  Suite #1250, Pittsburgh, PA 15219 http://www.unionreal.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a real estate management company.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Union Real Estate Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Union Real Estate Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Union Real Estate Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 15, 2003 Business started: 11/01/1932 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Michele Slater, Director of Finance
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Michele Slater, Director of Finance
Business Category

REAL ESTATE MANAGEMENT APARTMENT FINDING & RENTAL SERVICE APARTMENTS


Additional Locations

  • 301 Grant Street
    Suite #1250

    Pittsburgh, PA 15219

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I WAS TANENT AT UNION REAL ESTATE'S *** *********** ** ********* ** ***** MOVED IN AT AUGUST 2011 AT THE FRST MONTH, HOT WATER TANK ON SECOND FLOOR EXPLODED AND RAN WATER ALL OVER FROM 2ND FLOOR TO 1ST FLOOR AT 2 BD TOWN HOUSE. WE COULDN'T LVE AT THE TOWN HOUSE OVER 6 WEEKS. UNDER THE CIRCUMSTANCES ALL THE DOORS AND WINDOWS ARE OPEN, WHOLE HOUSE SOAKED IN WATER BECAUSE OF THESE CIRCSTANCES WE COULD'T STAY IN THE HOUSE. AGENCY OFFERED US 1 MONTH FREE THAT ENDED UP EXTENDING OUR LEASE TO SEPTEMBER 2012 INSTEAD OF GIVING AUGUST FOR FREE AND WE FORCED TO ACCEPT AS IT IS. I PAID OFF THAT MONTH ALSO, HAVE TO SPEND MONEY TO FIND ANOTHER PLACE. FINANCIALLY, THEY PUT ME ON HARD TIME. DUE TO HEAVY MOLDING, WE ALL GOT SICK. WE WERE BEING NICE TO THEM HOWEVER THE MANAGEMENT STRICTLY FORCED ME TO ACCEPT THEIR FINAL DECISION. I WAS OFF FROM WORK FOR DAYS TO FIND A BETTER PLACE WITH 2 CHILDREN AND SICK AT THAT TIME.MANAGEMENT, ALREADY INFORMED; ABOUT WHAT WE ARE GOING THROUGH, ALL THEY SAY I AM SORRY BUT SORRY DOES NOT COVER MY BILLS. SO NEXT LEASE, THEY START IT FROM SEPTEMBER 2012 NOT AUGUST 2012. ACCORDING TO LEASE I HAVE TO INFORMED THE MANAGEMENT 60 DAY NOTICE BEFORE MOVING OUT (3 MONTHS AHEAD IN WRITING) THAT I AM GOING TO MOVING FROM THE TOWN HOUSE END OF AUGUST MENTIONING THAT AM NOT RELIABLE OR RESPONSIBLE TO PAY SEPTEMBER RENT (RELATED TO ORIGINAL CONTRACT)THEY NEVER REMODELED THE HOUSE DURING OUR STAY AND I ENDED UP GETTING RENTAL INSURANCE TO COVER FUTURE LOSTS. BECAUSE THE DOORS ARE NOT LOCKED PROPERLY. KITCHEN UNITS ARE FALLING APART. SUCH AND SUCH! I WAS NOT SURE THAT ACCIDENT WON'T BE HAPPENING AGAIN RELATIVELY, THEY PUT ME ON CRISIS WITH TWO KIDS. THEY DID NOT SENT ANY NOTICE AND STRICTLY PUT ME ON COLLECTING AGENCY. IN OCTOBER 2013 FIRST COLLECTING AGENCY LETTER WAS DELIVERED. AM NO LONGER LIVE IN THE STATES.

Desired Settlement: AS I MENTION ABOVE, I HAVE STRUGGLED FINANCIALLY AND HEALTH. AFTER MATH I DIDN'T REQUEST ANYTHING OUT OF THEM BEFORE MOVING OUT. I SHOULD HAVE COMPLAIN HEALTH DEPARTMENT DUE TO BAD CONDITION IN THOSE TOWN HOUSES. THAT HEAVY MOLDING WAS NOT ONLY FROM WATER DAMAGE THAT WAS COMING FROM A LONG TIME AGO. SO THEY HAVE TO REFUND TO ACCOUNT(INCLUDING RENTAL DEPOSIT) AND CLEAR OUT FROM MY CREDIT HISTORY. AND REQUESTING REFUND LETTER FROM BOTH THE MANAGEMENT AND CREDIT COMPANY JUST TO MAKE SURE.

Business Response:

Thank you for granting me the opportunity to address Mr. **********'s complaint. ****** and ******* **** ********** rented a three bedroom townhome #*** at ********** ******* from September 1, 2010 through August 31, 2011. They left this townhome in very poor condition. The carpet was completely destroyed and the prorated share of the cost to replace was $1,328.32. A professional cleaning company was called in to degrease and scrub the entire place, at a cost of $235.40. Total damages = $1,563.72. Attached are copies of these invoices. Please note, the condition of #*** was not fully known until they completely moved out into another townhome.

On September 1, 2011 they moved into a two bedroom townhome #***. Unfortunately, shortly after they moved into the two bedroom townhome, the unit experienced water damage from a hot water tank leak. We took immediate action to remedy the damage. The first floor powder room, storage locker under the steps and laundry hookup area were affected. The kitchen, master bathroom, living room, dining area and two bedrooms were not affected. Per the terms of the lease, we could have offered a rent reduction on only those rooms that were affected, which would have been $202.00. Instead, we waived the amount owed on the previously vacated townhome, and waived the first month's rent on this new townhome, provided he take a 13 month lease. He also had the option to vacate at that time. Total savings by this option for Mt. ********** was the above listed $1,563.72 + $1,010.00=$2,573.72. ****** wanted to stay and wholeheartedly agreed to this option to stay and for us to waive the $2,573.72.

At no time did Mr. ********** complain of any health problems. His letter states that for six weeks he could not reside in the townhome but please note, per the contractors who worked in the townhome, he never left! We found no evidence of mold since the wet areas were removed and rebuilt immediately. During the first month or so of this new lease, ******* moved out with her children. The following summer Mr. ********** renewed the lease on this very same townhome, from October 1, 2012 through September 30, 2013. For the record, we do not have any 60 day notice clause in the lease. A copy of his signed lease renewal is enclosed.  Although we disagree with many of Mr. **********'s assertions, in the spirit of cooperation we have agreed to waive the outstanding balance and advised the collection agency to consider the matter resolved

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Union Real Estate Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)