Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Jacob Enterprises, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (412) 229-1340 Fax: (412) 229-1350 View Additional Phone Numbers 275 Center Road  Suite 105, Monroeville, PA 15146

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This corporation offers patent services, product development, marketing, manufacturing & prototypes for small inventors.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jacob Enterprises, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jacob Enterprises, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Jacob Enterprises, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 07, 2003 Business started: 12/01/2001
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Russell Williams, President Ms. Marcia Velette, Director, Customer Operations Mr. Eric Zalersky, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Marcia Velette, Director, Customer Operations
Principal: Mr. Russell Williams, President
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
InventionHome Jacob Enterprises Inc
Industry Tips
Invention Promotion Companies

Additional Locations

  • 275 Center Rd Ste 105

    Monroeville, PA 15146 (412) 229-1346 (412) 229-1340

  • 275 Center Road
    Suite 105

    Monroeville, PA 15146


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to submit a complaint against Invention Home (Jacob Enterprises), regarding misrepresentation of their marketing and patenting services. I believe I got a "raw deal" from this organization in which I paid $1, 797.00 to this company for marketing and patenting of my invention idea and misinforming me of their services in regards to patenting. After receiving my money for OPTION 3 – BASIC PACKAGE (which includes $699.00 for images of my product, $300.00 for audio narration, $599.00 for a “provisional” patent which includes government filing fee and $199.00 for a video presentation clip==TOTAL $1,797.00.) Specifically, they totally misrepresented their explanation of what a “provisional” patent is, as I was subsequently told by an outside source that this type of so-called "patent" is nothing more than a “PLACEHOLDER” in the patent office and does not protect my idea at all, and only secures a “HOLD DATE” until a true patent is placed, for which if this was truthfully explained to me, I would have never gone through with this type of contract or purchase of their services at all. In addition, I feel they simply took my money and forgot all about me as I never heard from them for months following this transaction. In other words, they never contacted me and could care less about my satisfaction with their services or whatever came about my product invention or even if I wanted to go another route towards marketing my invention---THEY COULD CARE LESS. I never heard from them even after contacting them and virtually I have become nonexistent to this institution. I contacted them (Mr. **** ****** at ###-###-#### and Mr. ******* ******** at ###-###-####) on January 7, 2015. When I expressed my dismay and regrets with how their advertisement of describing patents was misinforming and their followup of the consumer was dissatisfying, as well as their consideration of what I expected was totally disregarded after paying for their services, both of them simply stated that once I purchased this package they do not provide marketing of the idea (?????) or the customer's financial risk. I told them that $1,797.00 is worth more effort that what was provided to me in regards to exposure of the invention to the public---which is what I was paying for, and that they did absolutely nothing in the actual marketing of my prototype. I told them their advertisement and representation of their services is false to the public consumer and I simply got ripped off of my money. I never heard from either of them again after this statement of my dissatisfaction as well as they never wrote or contacted me to offer a resolution towards my personal grief as a consumer. I therefore wish a full refund of the total $1,797.00 due to false representation and misleading information in their business practices toward attracting and finalizing money deals to the consumer.

Desired Settlement: I wish a full refund of the total $1,797.00 due to false and misleading information in their advertising practices.

Business Response:

We are in receipt of Ms. ******’s complaint #******** 

To clarify, the fees Ms. ******’s paid to InventionHome were for services provided, not for the marketing.  The patent search, provisional patent application and development of her website are all tangible services.  Our marketing efforts are done on a contingency basis.  Meaning, you do not pay us unless we successfully license your product (that's where the 20% commission comes in).  This information is clearly communicated in the attached Service Agreement that Ms. ******’s agreed to on 5/1/2014.

Ms. ******’s complaint indicates InventionHome did not communicate with her after funds were received, however, this is incorrect.  InventionHome spoke with or exchanged emails with Ms. ******’s over a dozen times from point of purchase to completion of paid services.  Additionally, Ms ******’s had access to her marketing activity through our Marketing Activity Report.  This report is updated at the beginning of each month and provides a summary of all marketing that has taken place.  We clearly point out in our Frequently Asked Questions section that communication during the marketing phase is mainly through the MAP Program: 


How often will you update me on your marketing progress?

This is a very important question and one that must be understood clearly. While many inventors would like to receive an update phone call each month from our marketing team, this just isn’t feasible. If our staff spent days calling individual inventors each month with nothing new to report in terms of interest, we would be taking valuable time away from actually marketing your idea. Keep in mind that there is a difference between us marketing your idea (i.e. our efforts) and a company expressing interest and beginning the “facilitate interest” stage. Our efforts to market your idea are continual and ongoing and we have developed a very efficient way in which to share these activities with you. Each month, we post these activities to your MAP report to provide you with a snapshot of our marketing activities.

We will contact you directly if a company expresses interest in your idea. We would not rely on the MAP report to tell you that a company was interested in your idea. In fact, most of the time this will require some additional information gathering that we would involve you in.

Note: We realize that the MAP report is not the perfect communication solution, in that it does not provide specific company names. However, we can assure you that it is a reflective and accurate representation of our team’s efforts to contact companies on your behalf.


Ms. ******’s complaint indicates she was unaware of the type of patent protection she purchased.  Please find attached the PPA Work Verification that Ms. ******’s agreed to on 5/1/2014.  This document, as well as the literature on our website, clearly points out the following:


What is a Provisional Patent Application (PPA)?

A Provisional Patent Application (PPA) is a quick, easy and cost-effective way to get your invention on file with the US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO). A PPA enables you to establish a priority filing date for your patent, and provides 12 months of protection to further develop, market, or prepare a Utility Application. Once you file a PPA, a 12-month clock starts in which time a non-provisional patent application must be filed before the end of the 12-month provisional application period. A provisional application is not examined by the USPTO and does not automatically convert to a non-provisional patent.


How does InventionHome simplify the application process?

InventionHome uses a network of highly qualified patent attorneys and agents to assist our clients in filing Provisional Patent Applications at the lowest possible cost. Our streamlined system allows us to compile, edit and communicate invention information between inventors and patent attorneys / agents. Therefore we can offer a cost-effective service for preparing and filing Provisional Patent Applications.


What is a non-provisional patent?

The non-provisional patent is what is traditionally thought of as the “full” patent. It can be of either a “utility” or a “design” variety, and it establishes the filing date and begins the USPTO’s patent review process. It is the only type of application that will result in the issuance of a patent, whereas, a provisional patent application acts as a placeholder for the priority date and allows you to retain “patent pending” status for your invention.



InventionHome is sorry to hear of Ms. ******’s dissatisfaction; however, there is no merit to her refund request. The services Ms. ******’s purchased were completed, approved of, and delivered, and InventionHome provided all the necessary documentation outlining these services.


Please feel free to contact me should you have any questions.



****** *******

Director, Customer Operations

Consumer Response: The statements provided by Invention Home are simply untrue.  When I first contacted this business, the Customer Service Department (****** *******) quoted "We specialize in assisting inventors at all stages of the Invention, Patent and MARKETING PROCESS." as shown in their email to me on 7/29/2014.  SEE ATTACHMENT.  Now Ms. ******* wants to state "Ms. *******'s paid to Invention Home were for services provided, not for the marketing"????  As I had mentioned prior, their description of patenting packages were unclear and vague, and I would have never entered this process and paid them $1, 797.00 without a direct fulfillment of marketing my idea to the public.  If that is the case, why do they mention the phrase "THANK YOU FOR ALLOWING INVENTION HOME TO ASSIST YOU WITH YOUR MARKETING NEEDS"?  Also, after receipt of my money, I got a few replies on the personal portfolio they created of "responses" to my invention and there is no verifiable indication if the statements ever came from any valid company at all.  I expected more from this company than just a portfolio, I expected them to comply to my marketing needs as they advertised in their correspondence and on their website.  To offer no solution to my dissatisfaction and other than creating a simple portfolio and then give the silent treatment after payment from their clients is despicable.  I will not settle for less than a total refund for FALSE ADVERTISEMENT and FINANCIAL CONTEMPT by this company.  I do not plan to back down as I got a raw deal and nothing in return for a significant amount of money.  THIS COMPANY IS SIMPLY AN INVENTION SCAM PRACTICE and they are simply TAKING ADVANTAGE OF THE PUBLIC WITH THEIR OWN INVENTION COMPANY SCAM TACTICS.  That is all they are.  I feel I have just given my money away to a bunch of crooks. They need to give me my money back in good faith, period.  


********* *******

5/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told that they would market my invention in their monthly product line for a fee. I was told they would market my product to numerous companies, manufacturers and clients they have a working relationship with. Once I paid them thousands of dollars, they ran my invention in the brochure one month. When I asked them about it, they told me that my provisional patent doesn't allow them to market it each month in the monthly brochure. The only way they could market it was if I had a utility patent. I had informed that I have a provisional patent and sent a copy to them before we entered into an agreement. They excepted it, and my money and said nothing about the lack of advertising it because of the type of patent I had obtained. It was only after they got my money and I began to ask why my product was not in the newsletter/brochure that they finally told the truth.

Desired Settlement: I think they should have to give me my money back. There is no proof of them marketing my product. They provided a list of companies/clients that they contacted, but I have now way of verifying that they contacted anyone to market my product. When I would call them about it, they were evasive and full of excuses.

Business Response: February 20, 2014 Please find our response to complaint *******. Mr. ***** purchased invention portfolio services from InventionHome on 5/1/2013 in the amount of $973.00. The money paid to us was for services related to the creation of Mr. *****’s portfolio, NOT the marketing of his product. Attached are the Work Verification and Service Agreement documents that Mr. ***** agreed to on 5/2/2013. Both documents outline the services that Mr. ***** purchased and that we can only market an invention for as long as proper patent protection is in place. For Mr. ***** to suggest in his complaint that, “he was told they would market my invention in their monthly product line for a fee” and “they said nothing about the lack of advertising because of the patent I had obtained” is without merit. InventionHome does not charge a fee for marketing nor do we have a “monthly product line”. InventionHome does provide inventors and member companies with a monthly newsletter, which is a regularly distributed publication that is generally about a few different topics of interest; however, the newsletter is not our main marketing strategy. InventionHome’s marketing strategy is clearly pointed out on our website, and we provide a Frequently Asked Questions section for inventor reference (see attached). To summarize, HotLinks is our main proactive and targeted system for matching and presenting inventions to prospective companies. HotLinks is the primary communication process. That said, Mr. *****’s invention portfolio was sent to 79 companies. We utilize The Marketing Activity Program (MAP) Report as an on-line summarization that provides inventors with ongoing updates about the marketing efforts. This page updates every month to display recent marketing activity. Each entry in the report represents a different company that has been contacted. We also utilize this report to communicate any unique feedback a company sends to us. Mr. ***** had continuous access to this report. Mr. ***** contacted InventionHome on 8/19/2013 to inquire about the marketing of his invention (see attached). There was no indication that Mr. ***** was upset with our marketing efforts, and our response to Mr. *****’s inquiry was not “evasive” or “full of excuses” as Mr. ***** indicates in his complaint. I would also like to point out, once Mr. ***** completed his invention portfolio with us, he sent a very nice email (see attached) thanking us for our efforts. Other than the communication on 8/19/2013, no other communications were sent to InventionHome from Mr. *****. I would like to point out, InventionHome takes great pride in delivering excellent customer service and provides an abundance of detailed information regarding our process on our website and throughout the process. It is a shame that Mr. ***** did not contact us directly to try and resolve the issues and felt filing a complaint the only option available to him. If you should require any other information, please feel free to contact me. Thanks, ****** ******* Director, Customer Operations

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted *** and spoke with him in reguards to my invention.He then went over the services they do so I signed up paying him 1699.00 they where sappose to advertise my invention with companys like ***************** all big companys also lic the patent for the first year. So I kept looking at the reports and it says they showed it to all these new companys that just signed on but wouldnt give me any names.So then I wrote the patent company and there is no lic on my patent I have the letters from them.Also if you look at there MAP report you can see it repeats the same info each month and has not been shown to all these big companys like they advertise.**** *******

Desired Settlement: It was 699.00 to do the portfoliowhich I did all the work and 999.00 to advertise it to the BIG companys like they advertise.You can look at ther webpage

Business Response: InventionHome is in receipt of Ms. *******’s complaint #******* and would like to clarify services purchased. Ms. ******* purchased patent protection services from InventionHome on 3/12/2013. At that time InventionHome compiled Ms. *******’s invention information and after approval was received from Ms. *******, the patent firm prepared and filed the provisional patent application on her invention. The application was filed on 4/15/2013, application number *********, and is valid for a one-year period. Ms. ******* was emailed the filing receipt on 4/15/2013. Ms. ******* references lack of patent “license” in her complaint, which is correct, there is not a “license” associated with a provisional patent application. All applications are filed with the United States Patents & Trademarks Office and assigned an application number, which Ms. ******* is in receipt of. Once Ms. *******’s provisional patent application was filed, a marketing portfolio website was purchased. All services associated with the development of the portfolio website were completed and approved of by Ms. *******, and her account was then transitioned over to our marketing team on 5/1/2013. In looking over Ms. *******’s marketing activity, InventionHome has done quite a bit of work on her invention, and all information is summarized on her Marketing Activity Report. To summarize in this response, 74 Hotlinks were sent. HotLinks is our proactive and targeted system for matching and presenting inventions to prospective companies, and are direct submissions to one of our contacts at a manufacturing firm. Additionally, the marketing team has completed follow ups with those companies but they did not offer any other feedback. It is usually the case that if a company is not interested in a product, they will not provide feedback and usually don't even give the marketing team a definite "no". We will not release the company information because we have confidentiality agreements in place with our contacts. This is clearly communicated in our Frequently Asked Questions section on our website. This is done at their request so they can keep some distance between themselves and inventors and keep from creating ill will with inventors that were rejected. We can only release their information if they waive the agreement which typically happens when they are ready to sit down and begin a negotiation. If they have specific questions or want to review the product with the inventor, they can choose to reveal their information, but we will not do it on their behalf. Ms. ******* references in her complaint that InventionHome was to have advertised her invention to companies such as ******* and *********. We clearly state on our website that our network of companies sells directly to these retailers. Typically retailers do not have the means to manufacture their own products, which is why InventionHome is submitting our inventor’s ideas to manufacturing companies. We are working directly with the types of companies that are applicable to inventors such as manufactures, distributors and infomercial companies. These are the companies that license inventions from inventors and distribute to national retailers, such as *******. For example, if an infomercial company licenses one of our inventor’s inventions they not only produce and run national television spots they also push the products out to national retailers across the United States. Most inventors are not in a position to manufacture and supply a company like ******* with finished products, which is why we’re working with the right types of companies for inventors. Finally, the money Ms. ******* spent with InventionHome was for services related to the creation of her invention portfolio website, NOT the marketing of her product. All of these services were provided to Ms. *******, approved of as they were completed, and she was given the resulting finished online product that she paid for. The marketing services that we offer are essentially free of charge since we do not receive any monetary gain from our extensive marketing efforts unless the inventor receives monetary gain. We have worked incredibly hard to put Ms. *******’s product in front of as many companies as possible, as her marketing activity above reflects. Please feel free to contact me directly should you have any questions or require any other additional information regarding this complaint. Thanks, ****** *******

5/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Inventionhome and the results are and the services are false. Once I brought that to their attention they offered to do a $4000 and more service from their company for free(it only cost $1500 to do it yourself) I agreed but then they revealed my information to another company without my permission and then this subcompany files an important application wrong. And after all this they still sold false service contract to someone i personally know. I was able to speak an owner of the company but he was comparing my issues to orange and apples, justifying the pour quality of his work by saying his prices are cheap.. I told him to think about a solution and so will I but he has to get in contact with me. He failed to do so. All he offered me to resolve this matter it to do another profile for free,( in the attached letter)there is issues with the quality of current profiles as well. That was a pointless conversation, I demanded for him to do the work the right way or give back the money so I can do it the right way.

Desired Settlement: With proven damages, Im in demand for $17,000

Business Response:

We are in receipt of *** ******* complaint requesting that monies, in excess of what he spent, be refunded for services purchased from InventionHome.    


I apologize that *** ***** feels the services received were not what he expected. *** ******* claim that our services are “false” is without merit, and I would to clarify and bring the following information to attention.


*** ***** contacted and purchased invention portfolio services from InventionHome on May 4, 2011 in the amount of $2,258.00.  The money paid to us was for services related to the creation of *** ******* invention portfolio, NOT the marketing of the product. As it states in the service agreement and work verification documents that *** ***** agreed to at the beginning of the invention process, the charges that an inventor pays to InventionHome are for the writing and preparation of a provisional patent application, the legal fees related to filing that application, the professional technical writing of product descriptions, and the high quality graphic designing that goes in to creating images. All of these services were provided to *** *****, he approved them as he went through our process, and he was given the resulting finished online product that he paid for. The marketing services that we offer are essentially free of charge since we do not receive any monetary gain from our extensive marketing efforts unless the client receives monetary gain.


On June 13, 2012, InventionHome was contacted by a relative of *** ***** regarding dissatisfaction of services purchased.  InventionHome is committed to providing exceptional customer satisfaction, so the following solution was communicated and it was agreed upon that: 


  1. InventionHome would make artwork changes, at no cost, to the invention portfolio for *** *****.    
  2. InventionHome would absorb all costs associated with *** ***** filing a 20 year non-provisional patent application. 
  3. InventionHome would relaunch the updated invention portfolio to additional companies and attempt to solicit feedback.  


*** ***** personally contacted InventionHome on June 13, 2012 and agreed to the above solution.   


Our art department reached out to *** ***** on June 14, 2012 and discussed the changes that needed to be made to the current design. On 6/27/2012, *** ***** approved of the newly updated design by replying in an email, “The artwork looks great. This E-mail is confirmation of approval for the *****. I spoke to ** earlier, now I'm just waiting on his E-mail thanks again artwork looks great!”  


*** ******* claim that InventionHome “revealed his information to another company without permission and filed important application wrong” is false.  Since InventionHome does not file patent applications, *** *****, worked directly with ** **** **** ** ****** ********** to finalize the filing of his free non-provisional patent application. At no time during the filing of the application did *** ***** voice a concern to *** **** that the documents were being filed inaccurately.  InventionHome had no part of the filing of these documents, as this was handled between *** ***** and *** **** directly. 


I hope this information helps clarify that InventionHome performed all services *** ***** purchased and approved of, as well as InventionHome went above and beyond to try and rectify the situation by offering additional services to *** *****, at no cost, even though InventionHome absorbed all costs associated with those services.  


Please let me know if you require any other information regarding this complaint.



****** ******* ********* ******** ********** 


5/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service