Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

InventHelp

Additional Locations

Phone: (412) 288-1300 Fax: (412) 288-1354 View Additional Phone Numbers 217 9th St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222 http://www.inventhelp.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Product Development & Marketing


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that InventHelp meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for InventHelp include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 34 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

34 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 32
Total Closed Complaints 34

Additional Complaint Information

Complaints allege the company has not provided services as promised. Intromark and Invention Submission Corporation (ISC) are wholly owned subsidiaries of Technosystems Consolidated Corporation. The companies were established in 1984. The BBB opened its file in 1986.

ISC assists inventors in submitting inventions to companies for consideration and filing for a patent. Intromark assists clients in licensing and selling inventions to manufacturers interested in the invention.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on InventHelp
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1986 Business started: 05/01/1984
Business Management
Ms. Nora Miller, Compliance Director Mr. Robert Susa, President Ms. Lark Blasi, Compliance Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lark Blasi, Compliance Manager
Principal: Ms. Nora Miller, Compliance Director
Principal: Mr. Robert Susa, President
Related Businesses
Universal Payment Corporation
Business Category

PRODUCT DEVELOPMENT & MARKETING

Alternate Business Names
I S C Inpex Intromark Inc Invention Submission Corporation ISC Technosystems Consolidated Corp Western Invention Submission
Industry Tips
Invention Promotion Companies

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2 Executive Campus Ste 312

    Cherry Hill, NJ 08002

  • 217 9th St

    Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (412) 288-1300

  • 217 9th St

    Pittsburgh, PA 15222

  • 219 9th St

    Sharpsburg, PA 15215

  • 651 Holiday Dr
    Ste 300

    Pittsburgh, PA 15220 (877) 282-4332 (888) 689-0113

  • 903 Liberty Ave

    Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (412) 288-1343

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 13, 2015 I had an appt with an InventHelp rep in **********, Ca named Phil H**** I received a huge sales pitch and lots of empty promises. He told me that my inventiuon might not be picked up by any of their companies in their database but they would do everything they could to make it happen. That day I paid him $646 for the Basic Information Package which I received 5 weeks later. I then went back to his office on April 3, 2015 and he talked me into signing up for their "Submission Services Package" for $9,900. That day I put $2,000 down and they have been taking $247.55 out of my checking account the 15th of every month starting on May 15, 2015. To date, I have paid $4,626.40. In June I received 2 pieces of paper an "Invention Summary" and a "Press Release". When I got these 2 reports it looked as if someone had a few extra minutes to put these together. I had to rewrite them and send them back to them for re-submission. Then came the "New Product Submission Brochure". I had to keep calling to see when they were sending this brochure to the first 25 companies. Finally on Sept 16 they sent it out. I went over the list and couldn't find 3 companies and 10 or more had nothing to do with my product. They said they would follow up with them but when I called I was told that they only respond to the companies that email them that they are interested. They were going to send the next 25 out 1st part of Dec. Still waiting. And last, I received an email from Phil H*** Dec 21 stating that he was relocating and wanted to meet with me before he leaves to "Begin the Submission Phase of their Services". Which by the way began in May.I am totally dissatisfied with this company and feel like I was totally duped out of my money. And I don't believe they are an honest company.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $3,980.40 and for them to cancel my contract with them and not put anything negative on my credit report. They can keep the $646 I paid in the beginning.

Business Response:

We are responding to the above referenced complaint.

 

In April, 2015 the complainant contracted with our company for assistance in submitting her invention to industry in an attempt to obtain a good faith review.  Our records indicate that her services are being provided in accordance with her contract with us.

 

Upon receipt of this complaint, we reached out to the client in an attempt to resolve this matter.  Her concerns stem from her impression that the services were not proceeding as quickly as she anticipated and her initial dissatisfaction with her first group of written materials.  In our conversation with the complainant, we explained the services she purchased to clarify any confusion which existed.  We also clarified that occasionally our clients wish to make revisions to their materials.  However, we explained that upon receipt of the complainant’s revisions, we revised her materials and returned them to the complainant for her approval within ten days. 

 

We investigated the companies to which we submitted the complainant’s New Product Submission Brochure, and we believe the companies to be appropriate choices for her invention.  Any misunderstanding regarding our follow up procedures with companies was also clarified with the complainant.

 

We spoke at length with the complainant and resolved her concerns.  Furthermore, she indicated that she would contact your bureau to indicate her satisfaction with our resolution.  Accordingly, we request that your file on this matter be closed.

 

Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention.

 

Sincerely,

 

LARK B****

Compliance Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******** *****

1/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello whome this may concern: My name is ******* ********* and I have invested 5,100 Dollars with my invention idea at Client services Invent Help. I currently myself and not Invent Help had filed for a provisional patent with the United States patent office for invention, which it was approved until January 29th 2016. The Client services department at Invent Help has sent me a total of 2 lists with 25 companies of each paper that they supposedly had submitted or contacted to these 50 companies about my idea. I have only received only 1 comment from a company that has provided some type of input. I understand that it is up to the companies to provide a response if they chose to do so, but i do not think that they are activley pursuing companies effectively. I have called numerous times about concerns and have asked to speak about the comments from this 1 company and how can i incorporate changes iknto my invention by talking to someone in the marketing team about my invention and what was the way that Client services were using to present my idea to companies about the comments. I am told by Client services that if i want to make changes to my invention that it is my responmsiablity to do so. I have tried to speak to the marketing team, as i thought i would be working with Client services and the different departments with in Invent help, by working toghether to pursue a postive interaction of myself and Cleint Services working relationship. I can honestly say that this is far from the service that i have recieved. I as a client am to also receive mail or emails from Client services sent to my address from time to time with updates, comments, or anything pertaining to our business interaction, but again this has had a less than desirable out come, as i have many times contacted Client Services about different concerns or for the reasons unknown that I may or may not get the information. I have contiued to call them and ask them if anything new has occurred with my comments or responses from companies. I have found out that on many occations that they supposely sent me information that i did not recieve. I was told by Client services to contact my local Post Office to determine if there was problem with me recieving mailings from this company. I did and there was no problem and the reason i say this is that within a few days i will recieve the information that me and the customer services had discussed. The contiued poor services of the customer service department of Client services personal has contiued to be the same with myself not receive most mailing, until I re-request them in this way. I have asked for information to also be emailed to me, as this has also been a constant problem. The customer service representatives are supposed to also call me from time to time. I have been told that they have called me, or that they had a certain date that they were going to contact me and again this does not occure. I have been called twice by Client services that i remeber about contact issues, but when i have asked why they are not in contact , or why cant we work toghther, or even contacting the Marketing team. I have been told many different reasons, such as the reason that they do not call me is that there is nothing new to discuss about my idea, or that they do not do thier services in this way, and that i cannot be directed to the Marketing team, because that is not thier policy. I seem to never be able to get passed the customer service representative, although i ask to speak to management, the representatives continue to speak and discuss all the process that they use and the ways that they contact companies, as this sounds like they are submitting information to these companies effectively, I do not feel like I am being treated like a client or being represented correctly; in the way that I and my idea deserve. I was informed last week from a representative that there may be a weeks, months, or even several months that may go by until a follow up or mailing may be conducted when they may reach out to companies. I again pay 277 dollars each month for a substandard service, that may or may not have anything occuring with my account. I have went as far as requesting the phone numbers, contact numbers, and even emails to try and reach out to these companies on my own with no success, as the client services represerntives tell me that a discloser has been signed by these different companies with Invent Help and i cannot recieve this additional information. I have asked and demanded Client services to please allow me to speak to management, as I have asked and left numberouse messages for the management to contact me that go unheard, as i am not contacted. I have faithfully and continued to pay my $ 277.00 dollars each month on time every month as I have had universal payments to automatically take the money out of my account each month. I also expressed my concerns with the payment company of ********* ******** ****** **** **** *********** ** *****. The company only take my payments. I believe that the conversations are being recorded when I the client and the the customer service representives at Cleint Services speak. I must also mention that I have spoken to the representatives so many times that they seem to know my voice from the many times that I have called, complained and have become frustrated, but not seeming to get nowhere or anywhere with any one. I really do not feel like I am getting my moneies worth from this poor intentaction. I recently started sending you emails to the management, so that the management deparatment could be advised of my situation. I have only received one voice message from the Supervisior on Friday 08 January 2016 of last week. I hope to speak to to them next week about the poor experiences that I have been having with Invent Help and the customer service personal. I have gone as far as even calling and contacting the person that I started with

Desired Settlement: I would like my money to be refunded and my account with this company be closed and resolved, so that I no further contact with this company. I also do not want a negative impact on my credit report. I have tried everyway possible to resolve this matter, so that I and this company could work together, but it appears to me that they are not interested in my views as a client. I do not feel that this company has honored the terms, and I feel this is a breach of contract.

Business Response:

We are responding to the above referenced consumer complaint.

 

The complainant contracted with our company in January, 2015 for assistance in submitting his invention to industry in an attempt to obtain a good faith review.  Our records indicate that his services are being performed in accordance with his contract with us.

 

Upon receipt of this complaint, we reached out to the client in an attempt to resolve this matter.  We spoke numerous times with the complainant and worked together to resolve this matter.  We explained our process of submitting our clients’ inventions to industry and clarified any confusion which existed.  His concerns regarding our Client Services Department and the timing of our services were also addressed, clarified and resolved as well.

 

It is also our understanding, that the complainant’s utility patent application will be filed this week with the United States Patent and Trademark Office. 

 

In working with the complainant to address his concerns, we also agreed to provide additional services to him at no charge. 

 

We believe we have successfully resolved the complainant’s concerns.  Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

 

Sincerely,

 

LARK B****

Compliance Manager

Consumer Response:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I must say that the reason that my situation with this company was ever addressed was because the Better Business Bureau contacted this company, so a satisfactory solution was found. 

Regards,

******* *********

12/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Invent Help representative made a promise regarding services and did not deliver. To begin my initial meeting with the representative was a huge sales pitch. I bought it because I believed in what the representative promised to deliver. 1. A book that would be used to market my idea to manufactures. What was promised regarding the book was as follows. 1. The people at corporate would help me figure out the "formula" for my ideas. 2. If it was something deemed impossible by the law of physics then we would terminate the agreement and my money would be refunded. 3. The book would contain info about the execution of the product. What did I receive? 1. A book of things I could have googled and packaged myself. 2. No help from corporate on the formula for my idea. 3. No communication from the local office or corporate with regards to follow up. They took my money and I am still in the same position that I was before approaching the company...just an idea. The representative said for me to "tweek" my idea and for me to "figure out" what I wanted to do next since it was "my invention". How can it me "my invention" when I was told that invent help will own 20% of your royalties! That's right! I can't even go anywhere to start over and move forward and seek help because I fear that when I do get the right service Invent Help is going to come along and say "we gave you a book of googled information so we own 20% of the deal" I need to hear from someone. I probably won't because every number that I call, including the number that shows up on my bank statement for payment, DOESNT CONNECT ME TO INVENTHELP! Disappointed because of great expectations ******

Desired Settlement: I would like to speak with someone at the corporate office who handles customer service and misrepresentation of services offered.

Business Response:
The complainant contracted with our company in August, 2015 for the first stage of our services which is the preparation of a Basic Information Package (BIP) report on his invention.  The BIP assembles basic information about an invention and the history of its development in a report format.  In addition, a Preliminary Patentability Search & Opinion was conducted for the idea by a patent law firm to which InventHelp refers its clients’ patent work.  This work was completed and delivered to the client.

The complainant’s concerns are based on his belief that the BIP would provide him with a formula and information on the “…execution of his idea”.  We make it very clear in our contracts and company literature that we accept most ideas and we do not determine the feasibility, make judgments about or evaluate the possible merits or drawbacks of our clients’ ideas.  Rather we assemble basic information about the invention and attempt to emphasize the most positive features of the idea. 

However, upon receipt of this complaint we reached out to the complainant in a timely manner and resolved his concerns.  He assured us that he would contact your bureau to withdraw his complaint.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Sincerely,

LARK B****
Compliance Manager

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  They were prompt in their communication, flexible in their solution and thorough in their investigation regarding my complaint.

Regards,

****** *********

11/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: it is difficult to put this into words however here it is. I visited inventhelp with my new idea for undergarments. I spoke to the representative visited the office a few times and was told that invent help was only able to locate one item that was somewhat similar to my own. my product being one of much greater improvement than that which was presented (I do have the paperwork) so at this point I decided that I would go with their services. Needless to say some mail correspondences, several phone calls to follow-up on my invention with irritated customer service representatives and a huge chunk of cash paid out nothing else happened. I was even told that the annual convention that normally would allow new client the opportunity to attend a convention to showcase their idea was postponed, cancelled, and then completely done away with. This in itself was dream shattering. This was very disappointing a huge loss of money and most surely the dream of being able to help my family financially was squashed. I come from a poor family and had high hopes in this false hope yielding event. I had been very careful about sharing my idea. I trusted the company and research team regarding my idea submission and that there was none out or submitted as my own especially once I got the news that there were no products out as mine seeing the photo of what was found that was out I had high hopes. I solely depended on invent help. I was afraid to research the idea myself for fear that a search engine would get it and submit it. Until a few months ago I gooled it until just recently and to my amazement I saw a very similar product I almost thought it was mine it look so similar this is it ************* * Jul 31, 2006 Aug 14, 2008 ****** *** ******** ****** Women's undergarment with security pockets. I have since learned that this was brought about thru none other but inventhelp. They knowingly took my money and lied to me about the product that the research team performed told me there was only one product that had some functional use as my own and here they have actually worked with someone with the exact same product almost the same diagrams and all. This has been a complete fraud scam illegal gain of my money. My submission was in 2008 this was prior the research team failed to check their own system for the product and or created factors contraindicating the reason for my submission when they were already working with or had assisted someone with the same product. Deception and lies.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund with interest on the funds that I paid in the amount of interest that was charged to finance this bogus scam.

Business Response: We are responding to this complaint.

Over 6 years ago, the complainant contracted with InventHelp for assistance in submitting her invention to industry in an attempt to obtain a good faith review.  We prepared and submitted to industry descriptive materials about the complainant’s invention such as brochures, press releases, brief descriptions for catalogs, an invention listing published on a website reserved for companies etc.  We also followed up on these efforts in an attempt to obtain feedback for the inventor

The complainant’s concerns stem from her discovery of a similar product.  We inform our clients before, during and even after they contract with us that we are not responsible for the existence of similar concepts or products which may already be on the market or which may be introduced at a later time.  Nevertheless, we investigated this similar concept and found that the only common characteristic of both inventions was that each belonged in the broad category of women’s underwear items.  They are clearly not the same idea.  We spoke with the complainant in an attempt to resolve this matter and explained the above to her. 

Furthermore, the complainant’s services were completed nearly 5 years ago and the fact that we cancelled our 2009 INPEX Trade Show had no impact on her services whatsoever, as she did not purchase that particular service.

At this time we respectfully request that your file on this complaint be closed.  Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Sincerely,
LARK B****
Compliance Manager

9/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to invent help to patent and try to market and sell my idea. I used their recommended attorney to do a patent search. The search was done in order to determine if my idea had already been invented or had a patent on it. The attorney that they recommended I use for the patent search came back and stated that there was no evidence of anything patented regarding my idea. Based on that information, I proceeded and signed the contract to have Invent help market and patent my idea. Two and a half years later, I get an a response back from the attorney that the US patent Office has determined this idea already has a patent on it. I called and Invent help, and spoke with Paul. I advised him of this information. I asked to speak with a supervisor he said one was not available and they would "try" and have a supervisor contact me within two days I have yet to hear from anyone. I explained to Paul had I known this information, I never would've gone under contract with invent help to market and Patent my idea. As a result of this I wasted 2 1/2 years of my time and close to $15,000.

Business Response: We are writing in response to the complaint filed by the above referenced consumer.

In December, 2012, the complainant contracted with InventHelp for assistance in
submitting his invention to industry in an attempt to obtain a good faith
review.  We prepared descriptive materials about the complainant’s invention
such as brochures, press releases, brief descriptions for catalogs, creation of a
Virtual Invention Presentation (a DVD video containing 3D renderings and computer
generated animation of the invention with a voice over narration), the preparation of
a visual representation of the invention for inclusion in the ******** ******** in both
the 2013 and 2014 ***** Trade Shows as well as inclusion to an online publicity distribution
services.  In addition, the complainant’s invention is currently part of the InventHelp
Virtual Trade Show, which is a secure, year round online showcase of our clients’ ideas. 
We submitted the complainant’s invention to companies and followed up with these companies
in a further effort to obtain feedback on the invention.  Furthermore, we also submitted
the complainant’s invention information to even more companies beyond the standard
InventHelp services in an additional effort to stimulate interest in the invention. 

Simultaneously, the complainant pursued a patent application on his invention which was
ultimately denied by the US Patent & Trademark Office.  The complainant understood that there
is no guarantee that a patent will issue.  That decision is up to the US Patent & Trademark Office
and he acknowledged his understanding in writing that a patent can be denied at any time for any reason. 
Unfortunately, there are simply no guarantees.    

It would be unfair to refund the fee for InventHelp’s service, a service which we provided in full  simply
because the complainant did not get a patent.  He needs to discuss these patent matters with the patent
attorneys with whom he worked.

Sincerely,

LARK B****
Compliance Manager

 

8/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I meet with Invent Help concerning my ideal that I created. I paid the initial $1200.00 to start the process to get my product in front of the first 50 manufactures to review my product and see if they would be interested in my ideal. After, doing more research on the 50 manufactures.. None of these manufactures had nothing to do with my ideal or even came close to category that my product was in. This was an instant red flag. I tried to patience with Invent Help to see if that the company would honorable with their service. When, I called in to check on my product one day I received the WORST customer service from the staff and managers every when informed them that they're manufactures had nothing to do with my invention. I immediately request a compliance department in which I was instructed by the local Invent Help Office. (WHICH DOESN'T EXIST) I call several times and was treated horrible when it came to asking for Invent Help for assistance. At this point the more research I did on Invent Help it came evident that this was starting to be "SCAM" for people to make money on customer that submitted their ideals while they collect a monthly fee ranging from $200-$450 a monthly while they sit and do nothing. They send your ideal to companies that have nothing to do with your product and collect a LARGE monthly fee while they're telling you it could 6 months, a year, or even 2 years before they hear back from a manufacture that has nothing to do with your product. "TIME IS OF THE ESSENCE WITH INVENTIONS" While your sitting around waiting on Invent over long period of time on just a response from manufacture that could a least 1-2 years. They're collecting "THOUSANDS of dollars" and someone else could have come up with your invent during this unnecessary wait. I ask them several question about this and ALL I RECEIVED WAS RUDE ASST MANAGER AND MANAGER that didn't want to discuss they matter. I WANT A FULL REFUND OF MY $1,200.00, due to fact the Invent Help gave a creating FALSE HOPE AND VIEW of what they're really trying to help customers get their ideals to manufactures to buy their products. They simple want and are expecting customer to playing the "WAITING GAME" for 2 to 3years so that they can make THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS OFF YOU to tell you that the manufacture wasn't interested in your product. While they've made a least a $10,000.00 to $12,000.00 profit will giving customer FALSE HOPE, by submitting customers ideals to manufactures THAT HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH THEIR PRODUCT WHILE THEY COLLECT MONEY.

Desired Settlement: FULL REFUND OF MY $1,200.00

Business Response: We are in receipt of the complaint filed by the above referenced consumer.

We question this consumer’s motive in filing his complaint.  The complainant contracted
with InventHelp in June, 2014 for assistance in submitting his invention to industry in an attempt
to obtain a good faith review.  We had been providing the services for which he contracted. 
However, the complainant has not upheld his contractual obligations and has not made any
of his agreed upon payments for the services.  In fact, he is thousands of dollars past due and
because of the arrears, our work on his behalf eventually stopped. We believe it is unfair for the
complainant to accuse us of being a ”scam” when it is he who has not upheld his contractual obligations
by failing to pay for the services he has been receiving.

InventHelp does not agree with the complainant’s claim about the companies to which we submitted
his invention.  The invention was submitted to companies in the InventHelp® Data Bank who have
agreed to receive new product ideas in confidence and within their specified areas of interest.  In reviewing
the companies, we believe the invention was submitted to the appropriate types of companies and see no
evidence to the contrary.  

The complainant claims that he did not receive good customer service.  We find this statement rather insulting as it
was the complainant who was abusive and shouted profanities to every customer service representative and manager
who attempted to help him.  

Nevertheless, InventHelp would be willing simply in good faith to work out an amicable resolution to this complaint. 
Should the complainant wish to pursue this option, he is free to contact us directly provided he speaks with us in
a professional manner.  

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Sincerely,

LARK B****
Compliance Manager

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I do not  agree with
the response.  After,  I start doing research on the companies they
sent my invention to I realized NONE of these companies had NOTHING to do with
my invention. They were merely creating a stall tacit to collect money for this
third party while my invention is just sitting there and wasting time. TIME IS
OF THE ESSENCE WHEN IT COMES TO INVENTION and they're process is NOT to help
the inventor but to collect this large month fee.  Once, 
started to question this process the customer service IMMEDIATELY  went from good to horrible. The manager that
I tried to talk was extremely RUDE, and would NOT let me speak concerning the
matter. He would CUT me off every time I tried to explain my side of the
story.  I DONT want to speak ANYONE in
that office. I WANT COMPLETE REFUND OF MY $1200.00 AND WANT TO MOVE ON WITH MY
LIFE.  THANK YOU!




7/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I initially visited the local staff of InventHelp, ***** *****, at their ********** ** office on 9/23/14 for my 1st invention idea. At that time, I told Ms. ***** that I already had two patents of this invention in ******, and wondered if I could skip the 1st step Basic Information Package and take the 2nd step Submission Services directly. She told me that it was required to take Basic Information Package before taking the Submission Services. Therefore, I paid $945 for the Basic Information Package for my 1st invention idea. After that, I paid $10,900 for the 2nd step Submission Services for my 1st invention idea, and also paid two $945 ($945x2=$1,890) for my 2nd and 3rd invention ideas in December, 2014. I did not pay any fee for the 2nd and 3rd ideas, because I would like to observe the performance of InventHelp for my 1st idea before paying for the 2nd and 3rd ideas. Before paying any of these fees, I also asked if InventHelp would provide technical support. Ms. ***** said that InventHelp has someone who can help the technical issue. While paying the fee for the Submission Services, I also provided many images, drawings, computer renderings, and writings to thoroughly show the detail of my invention to InventHelp. InventHelp did not start my 1st invention idea until February 2015. However, every time when I made the phone call inquiring for questions, their staff had no idea about my invention at all. No matter it was technical issue, or strategy issue, such as using one or both patents that I have in ****** to the US, InventHelp did not provide any support. InventHelp used the excuses at all times that I am the inventor, so I should know this invention the most. At the end of February 2015, I received the first draft of the one page “Invention Summary” date 2/18/15 from InventHelp by USPS mail. There were mistakes in this “Invention Summary”, such as “prototype available”, and “patent granted”. At that moment, I had no prototype built by InventHelp or myself, and had not submitted my US patent application. I responded it by fax on 3/1/15 to ask for correction. I also called InventHelp to confirm that InventHelp had received my response, asked for response by email for faster service, and also asked about the security issue of email. InventHelp said that the email system is very secure, and InventHelp will respond by email. However, I still did not receive any response at the end of March. I made several phone calls with serious concerns, and finally got the response by email on 4/3/15. I responded on 4/6/15 by email with some revisions, and did not get any response for more than two weeks. Meanwhile, at the beginning of April, I received the first draft of the one page “Submission Brochure” date 3/17/15. This document did not represent my invention properly. I responded it on 4/7/15, with additional texts that I wrote and artwork that I created. However, just like the “Invention Summary”, there is no response for more than two weeks. I cannot accept the slow and incomplete response for both documents, so I made several phone calls with great concern to ask for faster response, including a phone call on 4/20/15. InventHelp finally responded by email on 4/21/15. However, I was shocked for the work that InventHelp responded. For more than two weeks, the only work that InventHelp did for the “Invention Summary” was just incorrectly put one feature of my invention that I pointed out to the “Inventor Q and A” section. Similarly, the “Submission Brochure” was only updated with the same feature, and contained no artwork that I created. These works definitely took only several minutes to complete. They were not works that took more than two weeks. In addition, on 4/21/15, I also received the first draft of the patent from **** ********, the patent attorney that InventHelp referred. The quality was terrible and unacceptable. It was not my invention. I understand that BBB would not handle the quality issue of legal problems, and InventHelp keeps claiming that the referred patent attorney is not part of their company. Therefore, I had negotiated and settled with this attorney by myself to get the $1,450 patent attorney fee back. However, the attitude of InventHelp about the patent application really scared me. InventHelp did not care about the quality and strength of the patent at all. They threw back all the responsibility of the patent back to me as well as the referred attorney, and claimed that they cannot do anything about it at all. This is not the right attitude for a company sharing 20% of a licensing royalty with an inventor. In the event if the invention gets a licensing deal, InventHelp’s associated company, *********, would hold 20% of the royalty. If they care about the 20% royalty, they should work with me to find the way to resolve this issue of the patent. After wasting 4 months of time, I was very tired and disappointed with InventHelp, and could not keep working with InventHelp. InventHelp did not make any effort to understand my invention. InventHelp did not analyze, review, nor study my idea. Instead, InventHelp threw all the works and responsibility back to me. If the invention does not get a licensing deal, InventHelp always uses the excuse that it is because the invention is not good enough, and InventHelp never believes it is because InventHelp does not understand customer’s invention. This is not the way that a customer pays $10,900 for. I had to go back and forth to guide them, provide materials, and change the documents. InventHelp had been using the excuse that I can always change the documents until I fully satisfy, but why should I do the work and pay them? I should not guide and babysit InventHelp, and pay them for just printing and mailing documents. InventHelp should work for me for the $10,900 fee that I paid them. As I mentioned to Ms. *****, I even had to provide the list of the potential manufacturers for my invention, so I could not see any value of the work by InventHelp. What Ms. ***** claimed was: I should sit back and relax at home, and have InventHelp do the work. But I am actually doing most of the work. InventHelp is just a lousy patent broker. The work of InventHelp is very unprofessional. I do not think a good manufacturer will contact InventHelp based on their unprofessional performance. Therefore, according to all of the above factors, there is no value and no quality of InventHelp’s work. Because of the descripted frustration, I made a phone call to InventHelp Client Service staff, and another phone call to the Supervisor **** afterwards to terminate the service and ask for my money back. Both of them refused to refund the money. However, when I asked **** if she understand my invention in the phone call, she still had no idea about my invention, and had to find my “Submission Brochure” to figure what my invention is about. This was way of ridiculous. The “Submission Brochure” should not disclose all of the details of the invention, and **** can only use it to understand my invention during the phone call. After that, I got referral from Ms. ***** that ******* ********* in the headquarter was actually the right person to talk about the termination. I made the phone call to Ms. *********. She was very rude in the phone call, and refused to refund the money. This kind of customer service is considered very poor and unprofessional. After that, I made a phone call to ** ***** Director of the local office of InventHelp in ********** **. He told me that the 1st step Basic Information Package could actually be skipped if the inventor has the patent outside the US. This actually fits my case. I have the patents in ******. I think InventHelp was dishonest. If I knew that I can skip the Basic Information Package, I would paid the amount of neither $945 for my 1st invention idea, nor $1890 ($945 x 2) for my 2nd and 3rd invention ideas. I would have filed the patents in ****** before working with InventHelp. In addition, Mr. **** also told me that at this stage, depends on the works, I have the right to get some money back. I made another phone call to Ms. ********* to describe the facts that I got from Mr. ****. She told me that she got that, and had to discuss with senior managers and should get back to me before the end of 5/1/15. However, I did not hear from Ms. ********* by 5/1/15. I made a phone call on 5/4/15, and another one on 5/5/15 to leave two messages to ask Ms* ********* contact me. So far, I have not got any response after that.

Desired Settlement: I demand to get my $12,285 back from InventHelp. This $12,285 is broken down as follows: (1) the $945 of my 1st invention idea Basic Information Package, (2) the $945 of my 2nd invention idea Basic Information Package, (3) the $945 of my 3rd invention idea Basic Information Package, and (4) the $9,450 of my 1st invention idea Submission Services after deducting $1,450 **** ********’s attorney fee from $10,900. As Mr. **** described, I can skip the Basic Information Package because of the foreign patents that I have; or I will not do Basic Information Package before applying the foreign patents. As I described in the problem, InventHelp did not provide the work that they should deliver in Submission Services. Therefore, I demand to get my $12,285 back.

Business Response: We are writing to update you on our efforts regarding this complaint.

Five months ago, the complainant contracted with InventHelp for assistance in
submitting his invention to industry in an attempt to obtain a good faith review
and reviewing any interest which may be expressed.

The complainant’s concerns stem from his belief that our company does not properly understand
his invention.  Despite numerous attempts to work with the client to assuage his concerns and to
move forward with our services, we simply have been unable to please him.

We are currently working with the complainant to reach an amicable resolution and
will continue to keep you updated on our efforts regarding this matter.
 
Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention.  

Sincerely,

**** *****
Compliance Manager

5/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had an idea and inventhelp help told me it looks like a very good idea and I should pay $680 for them to do a basic information package to do research on it and I paid. After the research they told me this is a great idea and there is nothing out there in the market like my idea and if I want to proceed with it they can find me a company who will work with me and produce my idea and I have to pay $10000 for the work involve. I paid one-third of it right away and started doing monthly payment for the balance, inventhelp told me this should not take more than a year and its been two years and I have not seen anything productive coming out of the money I am spending. Every couple of months they send me with list of companies they have send my idea to but most of them do not exist when I check and few of them I talk to do not know what I am talking about. I started paying less than I am suppose to pay monthly for about four month now because I have other responsibilities and I let them know my situation. I have four children who depend on me and they are my priority so I stopped payment this month because I feel they are scamming me and I already received a letter from them that they are reporting me to the credit reporting agency.

Desired Settlement: They should refund my money back to me or at least leave me alone and stop harassing me, I have payed almost two-thirds of the $10,000 they charged me including the $680.00 for the basic information package with nothing to show for the money I have spent.

Business Response: We are writing to update you on our efforts regarding the above referenced
consumer complaint.

In June, 2013, the complainant contracted with InventHelp for assistance in
submitting her invention to industry in an attempt to obtain a good faith
review.  A review of our records indicates that our services have been provided
in accordance with our contract.  Furthermore, we make it very clear in all of
our literature and contracts that we do not evaluate, make promises of success
or profit, that the purchase of these services is high risk, etc.   The complainant
signed her understanding of this many times.  Coincidentally, the complainant is
making these claims within a month of her services being completed.

We also addressed her concerns regarding the companies to which we submitted her
idea.  We explained our process of using the companies’ areas of interest to match
our clients’ inventions.  Since the client could not be specific as to which companies
she believed to be non-existent, we are unable to investigate this claim further.

InventHelp has upheld its contractual obligations and provided its services.  On the other hand,
the complainant has not fulfilled her obligations and has not paid for her services as she still owes
over $3800.  Nevertheless, we reached out to the complainant and resolved her concerns. 
At this time we respectfully request that your file on this complaint be closed.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Sincerely,

**** *****
Compliance Manager

 

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *****

3/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We initially contacted and visited with a gentleman about our product and had satisfaction as to what we saw and heard. We put a deposit down to retain a lawyer based on their recommendation. Based on the recommendation of the lawyer, we continued our search to pursue a patent on our product where we paid @10,000. We even went to an Inpex event where we got mixed reviews from attendees about InventHelp. We then spoke with the 2ndn Lawyer after it was discovered on "you tube" that our product was patented in 2012 who advised us to go no further. We immediately wrote a letter of cancellation to InventHelps' ****** ******* cancelling our contract asking for our money back and sent a copy to ** home office, and we sent to our credit card company who immediately awarded us our money returned to our credit card. Then InventHelp, sent a letter to our bank declaring they provided service and did not promise a patent. So our bank then awarded them the money back. We are not saying they did not give us service. The service they gave us. They gave us bad advice. The first attorney they sent us to told recommended us to proceed, their own representative recommended us to proceed, everything looked pretty on paper, but obvious they did not do enough of the research they promised sis the service they were supposed to be providing us was to make sure the product we wanted to get a patant on was pantentable and their was no current patent on in. In fact there was an active patent on in with the product being sold in sports stores since 2012. They did not do their job. I deserve my $10,000.00 never mind they attorneys fees that I paid to attorneys that they recommended. They are a fraud. Now the Credit card company says they can't help because too much time has passed. Please help. We live on a fixed income and got an extention on a paid off credit card to make it big for ourselves now are so far in debt we can't even crawl at a snails pace to pay this.Sincerely, ******** ****** and **** *******

Desired Settlement: I would like the refund of $10,000 placed back on my ***** Bank Card account # ***  **** **** plus any fees such as interests, late payments, that have been accrueing since the beginning to bring this card back down to a $0.00 balance.The attorneys fees were paid by a different Credit Card and if they feel so kindly to pay all of if I would be more than happy to provide you with that card number when that time comes. Thank you for your help.

Business Response: February 27, 2015

We are writing to update you regarding the above referenced consumer complaint.  

In May, 2014, the complainant contracted with InventHelp for assistance in submitting her
invention to industry in an attempt to obtain a good faith review.  In addition, we referred
the complainant to an independent patent attorney for the preparation and prosecution of a patent
application.  Our records indicate that his services are being performed in accordance with the
complainant’s contract with us.  The complainant’s concerns stem from his discovery of a similar product. 
We make it clear to all of our inventor clients that similar products are a common occurrence in this industry. 
In fact, our literature, contracts and company disclosures clearly state:

 
“…InventHelp® cannot be responsible for the existence of similar products which may be on the market or which may be
introduced at a later time.  It is not possible to adequately check the marketplace for similar products.  InventHelp®
performs a very limited competitive check usually through catalogs.” 

With regard to the complainant’s concerns regarding patents, we referred him to an independent
patent attorney.  The complainant needs to contact his patent attorney for any patent related matters. 

Nevertheless, we reached out to the complainant and resolved this matter.

Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention.

 
**** *****
Compliance Manager

 

 

3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended a meeting with Mr ******* **** to find out more about the services his company provides for inventors with ideas today Wednesday December 17 2014At first he was very friendly, cordial, and wanted to know all about me and my idea.We went through all the required introductions, we both signed an agreement of confidentiality and I went ahead and explained my invention to Mr ****.At the end when he explained what his company could offer me, and the cost associated with the services, I proceeded to declined the offer, I stated that I needed to think about it and that would consider it in the future.At this point Mr **** turned very rude, almost humiliating my efforts that I was going to stay on my own and try to push my idea forward on my own merits. he had an attitude of almost laughing at me for what I was going to attempt.At the end he pushed some forms that he wanted me to sign, they stated some sort of agreement contract. when I declined to sign them it turned really ugly, I asked for a copy of the confidentiality agreement and he said he would not give it to me due to the fact that I did not sign the rest of the forms.

Desired Settlement: I would like a copy of the confidentiality agreement. it is the protection that I have that they would not divulge any details of my idea.I wish that Mr **** would be required to go to some sort of customer care classes. It might be helpful for future client relations.But for now I need a copy of that agreement.

Business Response: We are writing to update you on our efforts regarding the above referenced
consumer complaint.  

The complainant met with one of our sales representatives to discuss InventHelp
services.  The complainant is not an InventHelp client; he did not sign any contracts
or pay our company any money. 

Apparently there was a misunderstanding which was resolved prior to our receipt of the
complaint.  We spoke with the complainant and he acknowledged that he did receive his
signed copies of our Statement of Confidentiality and Non-Use as well as our company
disclosures.  We regret any difficulties he experienced and offered to refer him to someone
else.

Accordingly, we respectfully request that your file on this complaint be closed.  Thank you for bringing this matter to our
attention.

Sincerely,

**** *****
Compliance Manager

 

/lb

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
Thank you for your help and being instrumental in resolving this issue.

Regards,

**** *******

11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a disabled veteran and Invent Help client. In 15 months of dealing with Invent help they have managed to mess up at every step in the process. They have not kept their word, delivered in a timely fashion, or followed through on their promises. On 7/3/13 I signed a Basic Information Package Agreement with Invent Help. On 7/10/13 I returned to Invent Help's office and paid them for their Patentability Search services. The patentability search was supposed to take two weeks. At three months they said they forgot to send the information and search request to the patent attorney. They had the attorney do a rush job on my search. It was such a disaster that Invent Help made the attorney do it over again. I signed a Submission Agreement contract with Invent Help on 11/14/13. The four to six week administrative phase of the process for some reason didn't start until 12/18/13, 34 days later. When I received the rough draft for the press release and invention summary they were inaccurate. I made corrections to the items. Some were edited in, and some were not, and I had to re-correct the same mistakes again. I was then told that these mistakes would not take place on the New Product brochure because it would be made from the revised press release and invention summary. The first try was identical to the first rough draft of the product summary and press release with no exceptions. It took three tries to get it right. Many times I have been told something would be done by a certain time, and it was not, but I was given excuses instead. When I finally received my Virtual Invention Presentation it was wrong also and they agreed that it should be redone. I haven't got it back yet and it's been a while. They are now submitting my invention to quite a few retailers and unrelated companies with different SIC codes than my invention, and not just manufacturers, contrary to what I was told would be done. I have paid them $5,304.52 so far and have received incompetence, excuses, and lack of effort for my money

Desired Settlement: I would prefer a refund and voiding of my contract with Invent Help.

Business Response: We are writing to update you on the above referenced
consumer complaint.  In November, 2013,
our client contracted with InventHelp for assistance in submitting his
invention to industry in an attempt to obtain a good faith review.

We spoke at length with our client in an effort to resolve
this matter.  While the complainant’s
concerns stem from his frustration with the preparation of his submission materials,
we explained that since we are dealing with ideas and innovations, it is
possible for misinterpretations or misunderstandings to occur.  We make every effort to prepare the materials
to the client’s complete satisfaction. 

Nevertheless, upon receipt of the complaint, we did reach
out to our client to discuss the matter and resolved his concerns.  Accordingly, we request that your file on
this complaint be closed.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Sincerely,

**** *****
Compliance Manager

 

/
 

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and do take exception to some of their claims. The conversation between Ms. ***** and myself did not go as she explained in Invent help's response. Ms. ***** did not explain anything to me in our conversation. She did however agree that I had a valid complaint, and that their own call logs and my letters to them verified my complaints. 
We did however resolve the matter. They voided my contract with Invent Help, agreed to stop all collection attempts, agreed to remove all marks or remarks from my credit report, refund to me a an equitable amount of moneys I had paid to them, and return my original submission materials.
I have now received the refunded money and have deposited it in my account, and am willing to mark this complaint as resolved and close this complaint against Invent help. 

Regards,

******* *****

10/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 25, 2014 I contracted to have InventHelp help me get my invention to market for $10,519.57, and I gave them $3000. They agreed to finance the remaining fee of $7519.57 over 36 months.I received a TIMETABLE OF SUBMISSION SERVICES which states that a Virtual Invention Presentation would be sent to me within 6 to 20 weeks. It has now been more than 32 weeks and I still have not seen it. I received a hard-cover book which contained a Description: Product Concept Review, which was completely incorrect, and quite a bit of information on marketing and packaging - much of it redundant and duplicitous. I pointed out all of the corrections to be made, and I received a correct new book.A New Product Submission Brochure was to be completed at the first stage. I received a draft of the brochure which did not accurately describe my invention with an image depicting their interpretation of my invention. After many conversations via email, they got the image mostly correct.I am now in the process of canceling the contract, and requesting a refund of the initial $3000. They can keep the more than $1600 they have taken from my **** account. That should cover the cost of what they have done so far.

Desired Settlement: I desire that the account be canceled, and I desire that $3000 be refunded to me, and no further moneys be taken from my **** account.

Business Response:

We are writing to update you on the above referenced consumer complaint. In March, 2014, our client contracted with InventHelp for assistance in submitting his invention to industry in an attempt to obtain a good faith review.

We spoke at length with our client in an effort to resolve this matter. We addressed his claim that “...I received a TIMETABLE OF SUBMISSION SERVICES which states that a Virtual Invention Prototype (VIP) would be sent to me within 6 to 20 weeks." We referred our client to the timetable which clearly states that we can only begin work on his VIP once he had approved his New Product Submission Brochure. He approved his brochure in September and work on his VIP commenced at that time.

With regard to the complainant's comments about his Basic Information Package (BIP), we reminded the client that the BIP assembles basic information about an invention ’ along with standardized marketing information. However, according to our records, we revised his BIP and mailed him a new one. Our client also mentions revisions to his New Product Submission Brochure in his complaint. However, in a recent email to us, he stated “...You will be happy to know that I am pleased with the final revision of the ’ Product Submission Brochure.”

InventHelp is providing the services for which the complainant contracted.

Nevertheless, upon receipt of the complaint, we reached out to him to discuss the matter and resolved his concerns.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,
******* ********

9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up with InventHelp on 7/1/14 and ****** ** *********, Regional Sales Director informed of the process, fees and that he would be in contact with me every 2 weeks. Mr. ********* contacted me around 7/17/14 and informed me that the Patent Attorney would be in contact with me every 2 weeks. Going foward, I had to contact Mr. ********* for updates. I contacted him on 7/31/14 and he informed me the Patent Attorney was still working on the report and I stated I thought you were going to contact me with an update every 2 weeks and he claims he was about to call me. The patent attorney contacted me on 8/1/14 stating they are working on my report and it will be completed in three weeks. I contacted Mr. ********* on 8/25/14 and left him a message stated I was disappointed that he has not been in contact with me every 2 weeks. He called me back irrate stating, "nothing is every good enough for you no matter what I do," I said *** you must have me confused with someone else because they only contact you and I have had is when I contact you every two weeks for an update. I have not been constantly badgering you. He said your report will be available in 8 weeks and I said the Patent Attorney told me on 8/1/14 three weeks. The report will be available in 8 weeks would you like to pick it up or receive it by *** ** and I said *** ** is fine. I said *** it's not fair that you are upset with me because I'm requesting that you keep you promise to contact me with an update every 2 weeks and we ended the conversation. I called him back and asked if there was an option for me to terminate the relationship and he stated we we no longer want a client like you and I said you no longer want a client like me because you were not able to deliver the services you promised. I informed him that I was contact the BBB and he said be careful doing so. I'm not sure what he meant by that and he hung up the phone.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the services that I paid for in the amount of $518.59 because Mr. ********* and the Patent Attorney did not deliver the services they promised. Mr. ********* was very friendly when he was collecting fees from me, but ended up be irrate and unable to produce the services that he promised.

Business Response:

We are writing to update you on our efforts regarding the above referenced consumer

On July 2, 2014, the complainant contracted with InventHelp for the preparation of a Basic Information Package (BIP) report on his invention. In addition, a Preliminary Patentability Search and Opinion was conducted for the idea by a patent law firm to which InventHelp refers its clients’ patent work. This information is also included in the bIH. The total cost of the above mentioned service was $945.

We do not believe this to be a legitimate complaint. The sales representative's records indicate that he did speak with the client on three occasions; July 15[h July 30th and August 25th while the client also received emails on July 9th, July 23rd and August 6th

Although we do not agree with the complainant, we reached out to our client and resolved her concerns.

Accordingly, we request that your file on this complaint be closed. Thank vou for bringing this matter to our attention.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and they resolved the issue by refunding the fee that they charged me.
Regards,

******** ******

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was scammed out of $250 when I went to Invent Help *********** ** location by sales representative ***** ****. I was told by ***** that my idea was great for a dental product and that himself and his company would provide services listed below for a rate of $856.00. Services and Material Products included:-idea processing and patent search processing and reports-study reports of how many dental procedures are completed each year that would utilize the product-full business resume describing the product details, it's structure, uses, and improvment outcomes-laminated brochures picturing and highlighting products assets-an info mercial advertising the product with cope on dvd for inventor to keep-communication with sales rep, *****, as well as patent attorney, ****** *****-feedback from both ***** and ****** as to whether idea existed in patent system as well as marketing perception and strategy-marketing of this product with these materials at a national trade show and through hundreds of dentists and companies on lists that Invent Help possesed for their networking and client marketing-Product physical model and profit margins report-product licensing and 10 year patent agreement-marketing and selling of the idea and production of product and splitting the royalties 80 percent going to myself and 20 percent going to Invemt help and agent ***** ****-complete confidentiality of the idea and all its details by ***** everyone employed at Invent Help as well as anyone involved with any of the processing of the idea and promising not to use or try to reproduce my idea or product in any way without my direct knowedge and consent of them doing soI met with this agent in person two different days at an office on the second floor above the ****** ******** in the ********** ****** **** ******** ****** and spoke to him several times on the phone in between these two visits. On the first visit we signed confidentiality agreement and on the second visit we signed a schlew of paperwork w

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the $250 that I already paid with a check that was cashed on March 13th 2014. The reason being that I was promised these services and marketing materials would be produced and presented to me in a meeting 3 weeks after the previous meeting. I never heard from ***** its now well over two months and I get no response call back or answer from *****. Invent help corporate office told me I can back out of contract and get full refund thru *****. ***** is not complying.

Business Response:

We are writing to update you on the above referenced consumer complaint.

We spoke at length with our client regarding her complaint. Her concerns seem to stem from her belief that ai! of the services she listed in her complaint were included in the $845 fee for which she contracted. We clarified with the client that we offer our services in two distinct stages. Stage one consists of our Basic Information Package (BIP) report which assembles basic information about an invention, idea, concept or new product and the history of its development in a report format. In addition, a Preliminary Patentability Search and Opinion was conducted for the idea by a patent law firm to which InventHelp refers its clients’ patent work, Stage two of our services is our Submission to Industry service where we prepare descriptive materials about our clients’ inventions and submit those materials to industry in the hope of obtaining a good faith review.

We clarified with the client that she contracted for the BIP service only. However, we also discussed that the normal turnaround time for the BIP and Preliminary Patentability Search and Opinion is 60 to 90 days, not the 3 weeks the client mentioned in her letter.

Nonetheless, we worked with our client and resolved her concerns. Accordingly we request that your file on this matter be closed.                                                                                                           '

Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention.


 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The company claims that I will get my refund and papers to sign. Now I have recieved papers to sign to void all contracts but no refund check as promised and im not signing anything until one I get my money back amd two the paper they want me to sign seen like if they wanted to steal my idea bc it is very good and have all my notes and feedback on the idea.  Hence if all contracts are voided then they xan just steal the idea and collect all royalties as opposed to just 20 percent if I had stayed on contract.  I want a refund and I want out of the payment beginner package contract however I want in writing them to send me a signed doc stating tht they can not use my idea in amy way shape or form, along with the 250 refund and credit for  the remaining balance due.  Basically toprotect me and my idea as I do not have the funds to immediately get a patent on it yet.  Thought it is still my idea and would like to pursue it further on my own and or with assistance from an honest company.  Any advice you can offer me with how to prevent this from happening would b greatly appreciated and welcomed.  Thank you for you time and promp assistance regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

******** ** ****** **** ***

 

 

Business Response:

We are in receipt of your letter dated May 19, 2014 regarding the above referenced consumer complaint.

We sent this complainant a settlement agreement on May 12, 2014 where it clearly states  "...It is the intention of this release to resolve all matters of any kind between yourself and InventHelp, You further understand that all agreements are canceled and InventHelp will do no further work on your behalf. ” When we spoke with our client prior to sending the agreement, we informed her that she would receive her refund upon our receipt of her signed agreement. If she chooses not to sign and return the agreement there is nothing more we can do for her.

With regard to InventHelp stealing her idea, the Statement of Confidentiality and Non-Use signed by our client and our representative clearly states "...InventHelp hereby agrees that the idea.. .not be used, sold assigned, or disclosed to any other person, organization, or corporation without your permission..." If our client wishes her original invention materials returned to her we would be happy to do so.

Should the complainant decide to sign and return the above mentioned agreement, we would agree to send her refund check to her within 2 business days. The complainant should let us know what she wants to do.

Thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention.

**** *****
Compliance Manager
 

6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my product already researched by another company (********) in hope to get production assistance from Invent Help. They duplicated the work I had already done and claimed this is only the first step to production. When I realized work was being duplicated and presented it to them, they placed me in collection with Universal who ruined my credit and never a produced a final research package much less why they merit $1,000. Even though I paid them $400 upfront, today they've ruined my credit at all three credit bureaus for $600. To this day I have received no final research findings from Invent Help or statement stating that their findings is better than ********. Invent Help decided to send me a copy of their findings today February 17, 2014.

Desired Settlement: Refund my $400 for undelivered services and remove all negative ratings and history from my account at all three credit bureaus.

Business Response:

We are writing to update you on the above referenced consumer complaint.

The complainant contracted for our Basic Information Package (BIP) service nearly three years ago. The service was completed in its entirety and delivered to her in a timely manner.

Our client is claiming we duplicated work she already received. This is not true, as InventHelp has been providing inventor services for over thirty years; we do ' not duplicate any other company’s service. She is also now claiming that she never received her Basic Information Package report. Although our records indicate otherwise, we furnished her with another copy of her report. Our client’s complaint stems from the fact that she did not pay for the service for which she contracted and as a result her credit rating was negatively affected. We spoke with her many times since she contracted with us in an attempt to get her to pay for the service; it became apparent that she was simply choosing not to pay.

Nevertheless, upon receipt of her complaint, we reached out to our client and resolved this matter. Accordingly, we request that your file on this complaint be closed


 


Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention,

2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am very disappointed with InventHelp, they have made many promises to me and have not kept any; they said as long as I gave them the idea of the invention and paid them for the costs of making the product and putting it in the market, they would create the product and sell it. They were supposed to send me a sample of my invention so I could confirm it but they have not done it yet and I am tired of waiting for them to do it. I started this on November 2011, it is now 2014, and they still haven't done anything for my invention. I need to pay $11,450, so far I have paid $9,246.12, there is no reason to continue paying if I see no results or future in my invention with them because they haven't made any progress. I had to make my own model and they were supposed to improve it but they still haven't sent me any feedback or the actual invention and it has been over two years. Every time I call them they either send me to the recording or tell me they are still working on it and that is unacceptable. They never return my calls unless it is to make a payment. I also asked them if there was a way I could check my balance and track my payments but they said there was no way to do that, I just had to make the payment either online or by phone and that's it, which is very suspicious because they don't give me any confirmation. They don't want to send me anything by the mail or meet with me, they want to do everything by phone and I can't know who they are or if they are a real company. I am very frustrated and would appreciate it a lot if this problem could be resolved as soon as possible because they are basically stealing my money by not doing anything with my invention.

Desired Settlement: I would like a complete refund of the money I have paid which is, $9,246.12. I also don't want to continue with InventHelp anymore, and I will do my invention on my own.

Business Response:

We are writing to update you on the above referenced consumer complaint.

In November 2011, our client contracted with InventHelp for assistance in submitting his invention to industry in an attempt to obtain a good faith review. We prepared descriptive materials about out client’s invention and submitted those materials to industry. Our client's information was also submitted to magazines and trade journals in an additional attempt to gain interest for the invention, it was displayed in

1 nue1t0rS Galleria section at the 2012 ,NPEX Invention Trade Show it was published in one of our company’s invention catalogs, as well as listed on one of our websites reserved for companies etc. As a result of our efforts, Stanley Black & Decker responded that they were not interested in pursuing the invention further.

This complaint is not only an inaccurate depiction of our services it also contains several unsubstantiated and untrue statements; the most confusing and inaccurate being ...they said as long as I gave them the idea of the invention and paid them for the costs of making the product and putting it in the market, they would create the product and sell it.” This is simply not a service we provide. We are engaged in the business of assisting and aiding inventors in submitting inventions, products or ideas to industry in an attempt to obtain a good faith review and reviewing any interest which may be expressed. We do not “...create the product and sell it.” Our client acknowledged his understanding of this in writing prior to and during the time he contracted with us.

Our client also stated They were supposed to send me a sample of my invention so I could confirm it but they have not done it yet...” This again is not an accurate statement. We prepared various materials depicting our client’s invention such as a New Product Submission Brochure which we sent to the client for his revision suggestions and/or approval, (incidentally, our client rated our work as Very Good”) and then we used these materials in our submission to industry efforts.

The complainant further states “...I had to make my own model and they were supposed to improve it but they still haven’t sent me any feedback or the actual invention and it has been over two years.’1 This is also misleading and untrue. Our client was not told he had to make his own model. In fact, our client informed us, in writing, the first time we met with him that he already had a prototype of his invention and provided u$ with photographs of the prototype Furthermore, we do not develop or refine our clients’ inventions, rather we attempt to emphasize the most positive and marketable features of each. Our client claims he received no “...feedback...’' Again, this is untrue. We notified our client in writing as each service was completed. Furthermore, his description of his experiences regarding payments are also not true, as our records of conversations with this client do not substantiate these claims whatsoever. Rather, it has been our experience with Universal Payment Corporation that they are more than accommodating to any such request regarding payments.

Our records indicate that our client's services were performed in their entirety and in accordance with his contract. On the other hand, our client still owes over $3000 for the services provided. We spoke with our client in an effort to resolve this matter.

We offered, simply in good faith, to cancel his Submission Agreement with InventHelp as well as his Retail Installment Contract with Universal Payment Corporation which would relieve him of any future financial obligations. Our client was abrupt and stated that he wanted a refund and disconnected the call. Should our client wish to discuss this matter amicably In an attempt to reach a resolution, please have him contact us.


Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention.

Sincerely,

<v:path o:extrusionok="f" gradientshapeok="t" o:connecttype="rect"><o:lock v:ext="edit" aspectratio="t"> 

**** ***** Compliance Manager

 

 

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I will try to summarize my issue as brief as possible. My claim is that Inventhelp took me for a fool, instead of helping me out as they claim in their business value, they tried to take the most money out of my pocket as possible with a 4 step process that is in no way effective. I took a 4 step process with a sales consultant in Houston Texas back in January 2009. This process was supposed to take a few years for it to be complete and finally I can apply for a patent of my idea. During this 4 step process I spent around $15,640 just for a 1 page brochure, a CD video that does not work, a mediocre 49 page poorly made marketing research book, and a lawyer that told me there is no way I can get a patent and some marketing advertising that I have never heard of or in which Invethelp gave me a follow-through. I gave them so much money and got nothing in return, it as hard to reach them and today they won't return my call nor there is a customer service line, only sales department. I paid them for my marketing untill 2014 and I have not heard from them since 2010. This company is a scam and I have proof that they fooled me. I have a document that says they were suppose to make a background check on my invention on step one. They told me there was nothing similar and to move forward. I did. At the last phase of step 4, 2 years later, I get a letter saying that I cannot have a patent because there is something similar already out there. This is my first and probably last claim that I will make because I do not want to see other go through this misleading nightmare. I will fight against Inventhelp until I get a refund from them. There are so many out there like me, this needs to stop.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Inventhelp to refund me all $15,643.41 I gave to them. It is not that my idea was not successful, It is the fact that they were supposed to make a background check at the beginning in order to move forward. They told me to move forward with the idea, that there is nothing similar and all the way at the end they say that there is nothing we can do, there is something similar already out there. Something similar dated back in 1980 that could have ben prevented in the first step.

Business Response: We are writing to update you on the above referenced consumer complaint In March 2009, our client contracted with InventHelp for assistance in submitting his invention to industry in an attempt to obtain a good faith review. Our records indicate that his services were performed in their entirety and completed nearly 3 years ago. Our client makes several references to a “..,4 step process” which is not an accurate description of our service& InventHelp works in  two distinct stages in the process of submitting an invention to industry In  the first stage, relevant information about our client’s invention was gathered together in one place, organized and presented in a report format. In our second stage, we prepared several different descriptive materials about our client’s invention and submitted those materials to approximately 200 companies as well as trade magazines and journals. In addition, his information was displayed at the 2010 INPEX invention trade show, published in one of our company’s invention catalogs, 1000 copies of which were printed, and listed on one of our websites which is reserved for companies. InventHelp also prepared a Virtual Invention Prototype, which was submitted to an additional group of companies on our client’s behalf All of these services were provided over a 2 year period. Finally, we also referred our client to an independent patent attorney for patent application services. With regard to the client’s patent application being denied by the USPTO, we make it very clear to every client that     “... neither   InventHelp nor the patent attorney can promise or guarantee that the Patent and Trademark Office will grant the patent. Our client made several unsubstantiated claims, the most unfair and untruthful being     “... it as   (sic) hard to reach them and today they won’t return my call nor there (sic) is a customer service line, only sales department.’ This is simply false We have a Customer Service Department staffed with well trained representatives who handle all incoming calls. In fact, the average wait time for our clients to speak with a representative is less than a minute; hardly the record of a company that has     “... no customer service line...” We spoke to this client and we have pages of   our documented conversations. Furthermore, our client never mentioned in any of our conversations any difficulty in reaching us. Our client stated in his complaint     ~, .1 have a document that says they were suppose (sic) to   make a background check on my invention on step one. They told me there was     nothing similar and to move forward.” We believe our client is referring to the Basic Information   Package Agreement which did not tell him “...there was nothing similar and to move forward”. Rather, the agreement does state “...lt is not possible to adequately check the marketplace for similar products. InventHelp performs a very limited competitive check usually through catalogs. The Basic Information Package Report is not an evaluation of the idea.” etc. Our client stated his dissatisfaction regarding his submission materials in his complaint, such as, “...a I page brochure, a CD video that does not work However, ?     Our client rated the brochure   and all of his invention materials as “Excellent. His issue with his CD video was not the quality of the CD but rather that it did not work in his MAC computer. We emailed him the directions on how to install the CD on his Mac computer and asked him to call us if he continued to have problems with his CD. This client made several unfair and unsubstantiated claims regarding the integrity of our company. We believe we have a superior record of performance and integrity. InventHelp has been in business for nearly 30 years assisting inventors submit their ideas to industry. We do what we promise. InventHelp has never been proven to have committed any wrongdoing in its history. To our knowledge; our success rate makes us one of the leading invention promotion firms in a very difficult industry. In fact, a couple of lnventHelp inventions are currently in major retail stores across the country; the **** * * ** *** ** **     . Another??????   client’s invention has secured an infomercial test run on “As Seen on TV”. So while these results are not typical, we do have good news stories to share. We did a great deal of work on our clients behalf over the course of the services. We make it abundantly clear from our first meeting with each client about the difficulty and risks of the invention services industry and that there are no guarantees of success or profit. Our client acknowledged, in writing, his understanding of this fact numerous times, before, during and even after contracting with our company. Nevertheless, we are pleased that we had the opportunity to speak with our client, address and resolve his complaint. Therefore, we are requesting your file on this complaint be closed. Thank you for bringing this matter to out attention.  

11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called and spoke with **** ***** about a refund last Friday. I told her that I was unhappy with the clients service department and would like a refund. I waited until Monday and didn't hear from her so I called her back and she said that I was on her list to call me back.I told her that I looked on the internet to see who the manufactures where that was on the list and that was sent to me of over 100. And that I didn't think that they would have anything to do with my invention. She then said that they had a code list that they look at to find out who would be interested in my invention to manufacture it.Then she started asking who I look up exactly with one and I got frustrated and I no that I started raising my voice and she did too. She then called me a idiot and that if I couldn't talk to her she was going to hang up. I told her I was not an idiot and that my husband was listening on the line. I then gave the phone to him cause she was hollowing at me and we were not getting anywhere. I got real nervous and told my husband I could talk to her. So he got the phone and she talked him in to not canceling and that they where going to kept in touch with me at least once a month and that they would make a disk of my invention to send out with the brochure to the manufactures. I received another contract to sign form them to make the disk and I haven't returned it back to invent help. I don't fell that they are calling back on the manufactures to make sure that they received my brochure or even looked at it. I'm mot happy with invent help and I want my contact canceled and all of my money I have put into to this invention. I also don't like that my brochure is out there without a patent on it. I did ask her on if she could tell me how to get it patent or send me the size and what it would be made out of. She did send me a brochure of there patent attorneys that they use and that was all plus the new contract of the disk to be made of the invention. Please help me get my money back. Thank You

Desired Settlement: $ 900.00 for Preliminary Patentability Search and Opinion Referral Request. $2000.00 + $8449.15 dollars payment to Invent Help Submissions of invention of signed contract.

Business Response: We are writing to update you on the status of the above referenced consumer complaint. Mr. and Mrs. ********* contracted with us 11 months ago, for assistance in submitting their inventions to industry in an attempt to obtain a good faith review. Our records indicate their services are being performed in accordance with the terms of their agreements. Our company prepared New Product Submission Brochures announcing the availability the ***********' inventions. We submitted their New Product Submission Brochures to companies in the InventHelp Data Bank™ who have agreed to review our clients’ inventions in confidence. One such company, ******, responded to this submission however they indicated they were not interested in pursuing the invention further. We also followed up with several of these companies and the ********** received specific feedback from 3 companies, ****** ********* ****** ****** *** *********. We also prepared invention Summaries, which announces the availability of the inventions while not disclosing the working details and submitted them to companies in our other database, We also prepared Press Releases which will be submitted to various magazines and trade publications in an additional attempt to gain publicity for the inventions. In addition, the Press Releases will be posted to an online publicity distribution service and the ********* will receive reports detailing the activity as a result of this submission. InventHelp will also list brief descriptions of the inventions on an internet web site which we have created for companies which may be interested in reviewing new product ideas. The Invention Listing will be published on the web site for a period of two years. In addition, the New Product Submission Brochures will be included in one edition of InventHelp’s INVENTION CATALOG. Mrs. *********’s complaint stems from her belief that InventHelp was not targeting the correct types of companies. In our conversation of June 26, 2013,1 attempted to explain in detail the companies to which we submitted her invention.Mrs. ********* was extremely confrontational and continually screamed at me. Contrary to Mrs. *********’s allegation that I “...called her an idiot". I simply told her if she continued to scream at me I would have to call her back later. At that point, Mr. ********* got on the phone and we had a productive conversation about their concerns. We discussed a number of the companies the ********** were questioning and Mr. ********* agreed that those companies seemed to be appropriate matches. I followed up my conversation with Mr. ********* in a letter dated June 28, 2013. In an attempt to resolve the **********' concerns we agreed to a couple of addition services, including that we would provide the Virtual Invention Prototype (VIP) service at no charge. This service typically costs an additional $2500, Additionally, Mr. ********* requested that we provide an additional submission to a specific company. At this time, if the ********** no longer wish to pursue their inventions, we would not be willing to refund their money, however, we would be willing to cancel the services and the balance owed on their Retail Installment Contract with ********* ******* ***********. This would relieve them of any further financial obligations. Please let us know what they wish to do.   **** ***** Compliance Manager          

Consumer Response:

I would like to no if I do cancel (only mine) contract. My husband is not in with this complaint. He doesn't want at this time to discontinue to cancel at this time. I only put my name on the complaint. I don't fill that I was talked to unprofessional  by Ms **** *****. My husband did hear her call me an idiot as well that was the only reason why I brought his name into this matter. I need to no if I will receive all of my material if I do cancel with Invent Help and will I have any thing to do as to cancel with the company Intromark Incorporated? I don't fell like I received enough from Invent Help that she claimed that was sent to me. I haven't receive anything from them expect for the company's that they sent my brochure to. I fell that I should receive some of my money back. I realize that they need to be paid something for what little they did do. Please let me no on this matter.

Thank You

***** *********

Business Response: We are writing to follow up our response letter to your bureau dated July 24, 2013 and the complainant’s subsequent message dated July 29, 2013. We reached out again to our client and in accordance with her request we agreed to cancel her outstanding balance of nearly $6,000. In an additional good faith gesture, we agreed to also provide a modest refund. Accordingly, we respectfully request that your file on this complaint be closed. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   

 

Regards, ***** *********

 

 

 

 

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service