Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers plumbing services - plumbing contractor.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that W J McNabb Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for W J McNabb Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on W J McNabb Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 28, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1992 in PA Business incorporated 02/20/2008 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA025783.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. William J McNabb, President Ms. Melissa McNabb, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Melissa McNabb, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. William J McNabb, President
Business Category

PLUMBING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING SEWER CONTRACTORS WATER HEATERS-REPAIRING GARBAGE DISPOSALS-HOUSEHOLD WATER HEATERS-DEALERS BATHS WATER FILTRATION & PURIFICATION EQUIPMENT PLUMBERS - COMMERCIAL WATER HEATER - TANKLESS PLUMBING - RENOVATION & REPAIR PIPE THAWING

Alternate Business Names
McNabb, WJ Plumbing
Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Plumbing Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 1346 Silver Ln Ste 105

    Coraopolis, PA 15108

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I contacted WJ McNabb Plumbing after raw sewage backed up through our garage floor drain. We paid $400 to have the drain snaked and inspected to identity the problem. During the inspection we were told that the problem was a break outside our foundation. The initial quote that was given was for $7000 dollars. This include replacing the pipe from the stack to the break outside and replacing the floor drain in the garage. We did not have the resources to pay that amount and were not approved for financing through the companies credit source. Given that we were 3 weeks from having our second child, and this our only bathroom, I explained that we could come up with around $4000 dollars. At that time we were told they would fix the seperated pipe outside our foundation and the floor drain in the garage. We were told that this would get us up and running. It was clearly stated, though now disputed, that it was not necessary to replace the 7 feet of terracotta under the garage. We paid for the repairs and whithin 2 weeks already had sewage backing up again. Our first call and concern was addressed. Yet, we continued to have raw sewage back up through the floor drain in the garage. Several calls and weeks went by and all we were told was that we would to pay another $400 dollars and start the process over. Seven weeks later they agreed to come inspect the problem. WJ McNabb is now stating that the terracotta under the garage is cracked and wants $3000 to finish the repair. It was clearly stated that, though older, it was not a immediate concern. They are now stating that we were told that it would be a big gamble not to fix it and though advised we decided to pay anyway.I would never maliciously slander a businesses name, but who would pay all the remaing disposable income to repair half of there problem? If the amount we had did not suffice for the job that needed to be done, would an ethical business still take the job?

Desired Settlement: After 3 months with the same initial problem we initially called WJ NcNabb Plumbing. We feel that a refund of our money, minus equipment fees and actual material cost, should be refunded.

Business Response:

Please let this letter serve as a formal response to the complaint lodged by Ms. ******** ****** on 3-18-14. On October 9, 2013, a plumbing technician was dispatched to Mrs. ******** home for a clog. The invoice shows plumbing services as: cable and camera sewer for $250.00. The service call fee is $49.00 bringing the invoice to $299.00. Not $400.00 as stated in the complaint. An estimate was prepared stating you had two issues that needed repaired, this estimate was approximately $7000.00. The ******** could not obtain ***** ***** Financing in the amount of the estimate. Mr. ****** stated at that time that he could “only obtain $4000.00 and only wanted the floor drain and the “more severe” problem fixed.” The plumbers did explain that there were two problems to be addressed and that the ******** were taking a chance on not fixing the indoor problem. The outside break was repaired on 10/16/13. The job was inspected by Allegheny Health Department and deemed complete. The company even gave the ******** a discount as they paid $3600.00 on a $4200.00 invoice.

McNabb Plumbing did not hear back from Mr. ****** until 1/6/14. Mr. ****** called in to say that a back-up occurred “in the same spot that we repaired.” W.J. McNabb Plumbing does warranty all of our work. A technician was sent out to the home to cable

the sewer, at NO CHARGE. The problem was 15 feet away from the other issues that the plumbers were there for in October.

Another technician, *******, was sent to the ****** home the week of February 10,2014, ******* was there several times that week. The technician, *******, attempted to cable the sewer, that wouldn’t open and told the ******** that a jetter was needed. Wipes and other foreign material (appeared to be Easter Egg basket grass) were retrieved from the line. The jetter was brought the next day but was frozen due to extreme cold weather. It was explained to the ******** that after the line was open, and could be scoped, if it was shown to be our repair, there would NOT be a charge to OPEN and or FIX. The ******** explained that they wanted proof that it wasn’t our repair, that it was something else. It was CLEARLY stated by the ******** that they would be happy to pay ONCE it was SHOWN that it was not our repair. McNabb Plumbing’s technician did get the sewer flowing, in spite of not being able to jet and the ******** were never left without a working toilet!

On 2/17/14, Bill McNabb went back to the ******** to camera and jet the sewer. Mrs. ****** was home and Bill McNabb did jet the sewer and then inserted the camera, showing Mrs. ****** where the breaks were. When Mr. ****** came home, Mr. McNabb repeated the camera to show Mr. ****** the breaks, and the items that were pulled out. It was shown to both the ******** that our replacement was functioning fine. Mr. ****** said “let me know how much to repair!” The ******** were shown that our repair was fully functioning. Mr. McNabb explained yet again that this was the original other issue, that Mr. ****** did not choose to replace back in October. An estimate was given to the ******** in the amount of $4200.00. Mr. McNabb also went on to explain that various items should never be flushed like wipes, makeup remover pads, etc.... The cost to camera and jet the sewer was $485.00, a cost Mr. ****** now refuses to pay after being shown this was not our repair work. Mr. ****** actually stated “McNabb Plumbing could not prove that those wipes were his!”

On 2/28/14, Mr. ****** called W.J. McNabb Plumbing and stated that “he had called the day before but was still waiting for a call back from Bill McNabb.” When the receptionist questioned Mr. ****** about Bill McNabb returning the phone call, Mr. ****** angrily stated that “someone was blowing up his wife’s phone!” In fact, Bill McNabb had returned the call by calling both numbers that are listed in our office, one time each. Bill McNabb then called Mr. ****** immediately back on 2/28/14. Mr. ****** stated that “McNabb SHOULD have replaced the additional broken pipe!” It was calmly explained to Mr. ****** that McNabb wanted to replace the additional section but he refused and wanted to “take his chances” and that “they didn’t have the money.” How can a business perform a job and not expect to get paid? It was explained numerous times that the ******** had TWO problems, the outside pipe was more heavily damaged and was the most pressing issue. However, it was the customer’s choice not to repair the garage floor pipe. Of course W.J. McNabb Plumbing wanted the bigger job of both repairs BUT can only perform what the customer agrees too.

During the same phone call Mr. ****** also threatened Mr. McNabb with ruination due to “his many resources.”

WJ McNabb Plumbing does stand by their work and have repaired the pipe that was agreed to by the ********.

The ******** were given an estimate of $7000.00 to fix both problems, however, the ******** only chose to fix the biggest concern at the time, with the resources they had available. W.J. McNabb Plumbing cannot do work for free. W.J. McNabb Plumbing showed the ******** that the repair that was done in October is functioning, complete and was inspected by Allegheny County. Therefore no refund should, or can be due. Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******** ****** 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on W J McNabb Plumbing
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)