Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pipeworks Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (814) 726-2951 Fax: (814) 726-2943 422 Crescent Park, Warren, PA 16365 http://www.pipeworkspha.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

PLUMBING CONTRACTOR


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pipeworks Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pipeworks Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pipeworks Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 15, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1983 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA025957.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Robert Michael Slocum, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Michael Slocum, Owner
Business Category

PLUMBING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING WATER HEATERS-REPAIRING WEATHER STRIPPING HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING GARBAGE DISPOSALS-HOUSEHOLD WATER HEATERS-DEALERS BATHS INSULATION CONTRACTORS PIPE THAWING

Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Heating & Cooling Home Improvements - Plumbing Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 422 Crescent Park

    Warren, PA 16365 (814) 726-2951

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** We called pipeworks to repair the furnace because their sticker was on the front of it. The repairman diagnosed the blower motor and took the old one back to the shop to match a new one. After not hearing from them after a half hour, I called them. They said they didn't have the part and would have to order a new one for $205. Over a week later they called us and said they ordered the wrong part and the new part would be over $300. At this point we told them they were very unprofessional and we would go some where else, but we wanted the old motor back. A different repairman showed up with the part but demanded we pay $60 service charge before he gave it back. We told him they didn't do anything to deserve $60 and that he still had the old part, to which he replied they were going to rebuild it. My girlfriend asked him if they were going to rebuild it, why are they charging her for a new one? Then she told him they are the most unprofessional people she's ever dealt with. At that point he told her she was *** & ****!!! He then left with our old part. We were able to find a new part for $189.00 and installed it ourselves. They still have the old part.

Desired Settlement: Since they still have the old motor, I would either like it returned or reimbursed. I would also like an apology for calling my girlfriend *** & ****.

Business Response: The homeowner ******* called to set up an appointment because her furnace was not working and said it was a vent switch not opening. Appointment was set for 10-13-14 and when the tech got to the home he diagnosed that it had a bad inducer motor. The tech brought the bad motor back to the office so we could get the part numbers off of it to order the new part. The part was ordered and when delivered to our office it was found that our supplier had ordered the incorrect part. ******* was called and told the part we received was incorrect and that we ordered the correct part but it would take a while to get the part because due to the age of the furnace, the part had to be directly ordered from the manufacture. The new price for the part, install of part and Service Call total cost was given to ******* the homeowner. She stated at that time she was going to try and find the part herself and would let us know. Once the part was received at our office a phone call was placed to ******* to see if she wanted the new part. At that time she stated she didn't need the part and wanted her old part returned to her. Another appointment was set for 10-27-14 to take the part back to her house and pick up the payment for the $60.00 Service Call charge from 10-13-14 for diagnosing the furnace problem. On 10-27-14 the tech went to the house and ******* said she didn't have the money to pay for the Service Call. It was stated at that time that once she drops off the Service Call charge of $60.00 for diagnosing the furnace problem to our office, we would at that time give her back her failed part. At that point the tech left the home and returned to the office.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* ******

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a ****** ************ ******* ****) installed at ********* ******* ****** expense prior to closing on our home. They contracted with Pipework (Warren, PA) to replace the previous boiler. The agreement was to replace with a new boiler appropriate to our system and house size. The boiler was problematic from the time of installation and would spontaneously quit, leaving us without hot water or heat. Pipeworks was slow to respond for repair but was unable to determine why it wasn't working. They discovered that the gas pressure was too high but instead of calling the gas company, they installed a regulator on the boiler. They didn't even have the courtesy to advise us about the danger of high gas pressure. When i called the gas company the next day, they came out in about 20 minutes. They fixed the pressure issue but now the pressure was too low for the boiler. Pipeworks had to come out again and remove the regulator. This time he tried to charge me for the repair, which I refused to pay. We were subsequently 'fired' from Pipeworks and directed to call ****** ******* *** *******. They came out shortly afterward and charged us over $1000 to correct the installation. The most obvious installation error was a grossly undersized gas supply, which was replaced. Secondly, there was no water supply connected as per the installation instructions. Third, they did not connect the control module at all and claimed that it was "optional". There were several smaller items such as not adjusting the fill valve, not purging the system prior to replacement, and not installing a check valve to prevent back flow into our drinking water. Both Reeves Heating and Pilewski Plumbing have independently confirmed that the boiler is too small for our house and that it will fail early due to overuse.

Desired Settlement: It is recommended by two heating/cooling companies that for our 5800 sq ft house with radiant floor heat and domestic hot water, that a much larger unit be installed. *** ****** ****** **** was recommended. When we contacted the bank, they told us that they had fulfilled their obligation by installing an 'operational' boiler recommended by Pipeworks, and that it was no longer their problem. We would like the boiler replaced with a larger, more appropriate unit as recommended by ****** *******.

Business Response: We have been in contact with our supplier and they needs additional information on the boiler in order to verify the size of the unit. An email was sent to the customer requesting this information be sent to us so we can get it to our supplier.

8/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pipeworks employee **** ****** came to my home to replace a hot water element & check my furnace. **** replaced the element spent 10 min listening to the furnace run and stated there wasn't a problem with the furnace. **** was in my home one hour. I was relieved thinking I would only have an hour charge. I received my bill which stated that **** was in my home for two hours and I was being charged for two hours of work. I sent a letter to Pipeworks along with a payment minus the cost of one hour. He was not in my home for two hours and I have no intention of paying for an hour of his time not spent here. Very dishonest to charge a customer double the hours for a repair job. Along with being over charged the element went bad after only two weeks.

Desired Settlement: Pipeworks sent a bill adding late fees to the total. I am only responsible for his actual time here and cost of the elements. They are trying to collect for an hour not spent here plus late fees and threaten to contact credit bureau. I did pay for elements and an hour charge. The other charges need to be dropped.

Business Response:

We provided the service work on 4-2-14. The invoice was mailed to the customer the following day. On 5-2-14 (at 30 days) a statement was mailed to the customer. On 6-2-14 (at 60 days) another statement was mailed to customer. On 7-1-14 (at 90 days) another statement and letter was mailed to customer stating that if payment was not received within 10 days, we would be filing a civil complaint with the District Justice office. Only after receiving our final letter did this customer mail us a letter stating she had an issue with the HWT elements installed and the labor time. If the customer had an issue with the labor upon receiving the original invoice she should have contacted us at that time. As for the HWT elements she has stated that failed 2 weeks after installation, she did not contact us about those either. We heard nothing from this customer on these issues until after she received our letter to file the complaint for non payment on the account. If the customer had contacted us in a timely manner (not after 90 days) we would have been more that happy to resolve the issue. We feel that customer is trying to avoid paying for the service work completed.

 

****** ******, Owner

Pipeworks Plumbing & Heating

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 The business has not stated that I sent a check to them. I paid for everything except the hour that the employee added to the bill. An hour that he was not in my home. I sent the check and the letter before I receive notice that they were suing me. The reason for not calling them when the elements went bad was due to the fact that they falsified their bill. I've had other work done by them and always paid my bill. Due to faulty elements I had to replace the water tank. I should have contacted them immediately. The employee was considered family and I was shocked and angry that he would falsify his bill. I have never tried to get out of paying for services. I consider myself an honest person but I won't be taken advantage of and I won't pay for someone to pad their bill. 

Business Response: As stated in the prior response we never heard of any issue until after 90 days from the service date. The customer should have called us upon receiving the original invoice if there was an issue, and not wait over 90 days. Our invoices are due upon receipt and they also state that a finance charge and statement fee will be added to any past due invoice per month.