Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

One Call Plumbing Inc

Phone: (724) 438-1337 Fax: (724) 966-2149 View Additional Phone Numbers 367 Ceylon Rd, Carmichaels, PA 15320 http://www.onecallplumbing.net/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a plumbing contractor.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that One Call Plumbing Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for One Call Plumbing Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on One Call Plumbing Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 31, 2005 Business started: 05/08/2003 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA019605.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Josh Ryan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Josh Ryan, President
Business Category

PLUMBING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING SEWER CONTRACTORS WATER HEATERS-REPAIRING GARBAGE DISPOSALS-HOUSEHOLD WATER HEATERS-DEALERS BATHS CONTRACTORS-GENERAL PIPE THAWING

Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Plumbing Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/26/16 One Call Plumbing was hired by my neighbors, ****** * ******* ******** to fix a water line break on their property. In the process of fixing the ********* water line, my water line was damaged by One Call. I was not informed of the damage until the following day when i found mud in both of my commodes and the small amount of water that was running from my sink was muddy. I call the neighbors to see if they were having the same problems, it was then that I discovered that One Call was at their home and told them that they had hit my water line.I had also called the water department to see if there was a problem in our area. The water dept was aware of the plumber working in our area. Later in the day, I talked to the man running the job site and he assured me that the leak had been fixed and that he would be down later in the day to check to make sure the water was working okay. I explained to him that there was mud in my commodes, and my water was still muddy, and the water pressure was low. I was told that there was probably a piece of ice frozen in the line, and it would be better once the weather got warmer. Next day, still half the water pressure, the commodes, hot water tank and my faucets and washing machine have silt settling in them making what water I have work harder to get thru. I cleaned the screens of the faucets in the bathrooms, but still in the end had to replace them. I continued to send word thru the neighbors to ask the men to come down and check the water for the next 3 days. they never did show up to check the water. I check in with the ********* as to when One Call was returning over the next 10 days. I was getting more upset at the lack of water pressure and also the shape they had left the driveway that I share with the *********. On 2/8/16 I decided I would call One Call for myself and voice my concern over my water pressure problems and the silt problem. I talked to the owner, Josh R***. He listened to my concerns and promised that he would be at my house the next day to fix the water problem and to access the driveway situation. He did not show up the next day , nor did he call. He did not show up to for the next 10 days. So I call his office again on 2/19/16 now I'm told that his company did NOT break my water line, it was the water dept. and he was coming out to the job site to meet with the water authority and all parties to resolve the problems later that afternoon. He would not give me a definite time so i decided to call Mr. ****** at the water dept to see if he was aware of the meeting. Mr. ****** was not aware of the meeting and the ********* were not aware of the meeting, and he was a no show for "meeting". I did check with Mr. ****** to see if the water dept had worked on my water line, he informed me that they do not touch the line, they just read the meters. I called Mr. R*** at 4:30 to see if he was coming, he was on a machine in ********* **. That was my last attempt to contact One Call or Mr. R****

Desired Settlement: Water pressure restored to what it was on 1/25/16. Hot Water Tank flushed Water lines flushed Reimbursed for faucets Repair Driveway-Smooth the 10 in rut and replace gravel Done by a professional company not by One Call

Business Response:

It is true that while doing a job at the neighbor, we hit the waterline of Ms. *******.  The water company was onsite when the line was hit (pretty sure this was 1/29/16), it was not marked even though we called in 2 digs on the property we were working at. The water company employee said he would fix the line since it was not marked.  He did & we assisted.  Normally they do not fix a service line; however, this situation was different because the line was not marked.  When I spoke with Ms. ******* on 2/8/16, I was unaware that the water company employee actually did the repair.  Normally when that happens, the water company goes to the residence & informs them & flushes the line if necessary.  I was made aware that the water company did the repair by my Foreman on 2/9/16.  At that time, I placed a call to the water company, told them briefly what happened.  I left my name & number & They said they would look into it & would send someone out to the ******* property.  I never said I was meeting with the water company, why would I need to meet with them?  I never heard anything further from the water company.

Within the next 10 days I will go to the ******* property & clean any screens that need cleaned.  I will not be paying for any faucets, as there would be no reason to replace 2 bathroom faucets simply because there was a water line break.  As for the driveway issue, that was addressed with the complaint from the *********s.  The ********* chose not to pay the additional money to our company to smooth out & gravel the driveway.

Consumer Response: On Wed, Apr 6, 2016 at 3:45 PM* ***** ******* ************************> wrote:

Ms. **** . Please excuse my tardy response i did not see the earlier emails from you. Mr. R*** sent workers to the house and they worked for many hours until the problem was solved.. The water pressure has been restored to its original pressure. I am very pleased with the results
One Call did a wonderful job and i and very grateful to have it fixed.
Thank you so much.

3/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were having issues with water running down our driveway and notified the water company on Jan. 21st, they came out and there was a water leak at the meter on our side. My husband contacted One Call plumbing on Jan 22nd and they responded, did a site survey and provided a contract that a new water line from the meter to the house (150 feet) would be installed, price was satisfactory, and they promised to have the job completed in 6 hours. Due to winter storm Jonas they were unable to start on Jan. 25th. On Jan 26th they came out and the utility company marked the water lines and gas lines to our neighbors. No work started on the 26th. On Jan 27th weather was sunny and 40 degrees-company was a no show. Wed. Jan 27th they showed at 11am-dug up one neighbors gas line and caused a gas leak, second neighbor's water line. Left for lunch and quit at 4:30 on the 2th with no work being done. Thurs Jan 28th, showed at 11 again, spent the day trying to fix the gas leak and water leak of neighbors-still no work being done on my water line!!! Friday Jan 29th showed up at 11am-tore up the neighbors driveway and our driveway-started running the water line to my house. Neighbors still have no gas or water. By 5:30 pm still no water and they tore out our phone line. My husband told them since it was dark it they came back on Sat Jan 30th to finish we could go without water one more day since we were concerned they would tear out our gas line and ******* cable in the dark. Already saw what they tore out in the daytime. They returned on Sat., water was turned on, however, neighbor still had no gas. They promised to return on Monday Feb. 1st to straighten out both driveways-NO SHOW Mon or Tues. My Husband contacted the main company in PA-received call center and there has been no return callback. Meanwhile, 80 year old neighbor cannot drive across his driveway, neighbor we share a driveway has damage to her vehicle from the ruts they left. While leaving for work, hit my air dam and no damage thank goodness. Meanwhile the machine they left on Sat was removed from the job site since they were starting another job today in Fairmont-really feel sorry for those individual's. Meanwhile, driveway still a mess which the contract stated they would leave the property in the condition it was found. This company promised a 6 hour job which turned into 6 days without water. They are also suppose to come back in the spring to straighten out the yard and reseed, unless something with this company after reading the reviews is done, I am not really looking at them to live up to the contract. Looks like it will be a court fight to get them to complete the terms and conditions of the contract. The fact that a six hour job turned into 6 days without water was not the fulfillment of the contract and it is now going on the 8th day that our property is not back in the condition it was prior to this fiasco.

Desired Settlement: Since we had our driveway graded and graveled this past spring, I would like for them to come and replace the gravel, drainage not only ours but the neighbors who have been impacted by this company through no fault of their own. I paid them in full but it they do not live up to the contract then either a full or partial refund is expected since in order to appease our neighbors we are going to have additional out of pocket expense to make them whole and we will be required to pay to have our driveway redone and the lawn rolled and reseeded by other companies. Our neighbors have been very understanding through this, however, their patience is wearing very thin as well as ours.

Business Response:

In response to the complaint from Mr. ********, I have attached the contract which notes nothing about repairing their driveway and additionally contains the signature of his wife, ******** on 1/30/16 stating that the work has been completed to her satisfaction.  If they were so dissatisfied, I doubt she would have signed the acknowledgement.   It is true the neighbor's lines were hit during the digging; however, we corrected the issue.  A dig request was called in; however, no one was aware that the neighbor's lines ran through the *******'s property.  Therefore, those lines were not marked.  The neighbor's water line was repaired by the water company (who didn't even know the line ran through there) and the gas line was repaired by us at our expense.  Again, neither line was marked, nor did the property owner (Mr. ********) inform us that the nieghbor's lines ran through his property.  

The ********'s water line was completed on Saturday 1/30/16, contrary to his statement.

It should be mentioned that Mr. ******** informed us that they did have another contractor give them an estimate, that estimate, according to Mr. ******** was more than double our estimate. It is true that we did not begin the job on the date we anticipated, the area was blanketed by approximately 2 feet of snow that had fallen on January 22 & 23, 2016.  The ********'s did not secure a date by putting any money down on the contract.  In fact, they would not pay any money until the job was 100% completed.  The ********'s did not want to pay any more money than what they ended up paying.  We were not at our maximum estimate price - we told them we could bring in gravel; however, that would increase the price - it would have been the maximum, which was approximately $500 more than what they paid. They did not want to pay that.

Mr. ******** states that he is waiting on a call from us, I'm not sure why, his call was returned.  Mr. ******** first called in about his driveway on Wednesday February 3, 2016.  That is the only day he called & his call was returned by the Foreman.  He informed Mr. ******** again that if he wants gravel, he will be charged for it.  Mr. ******** declined.

I am repeating myself but find it necessary to do so since the main complaint seems to be the driveway issue.  I can not stress enough the FACT that they had the OPTION to pay the maximum (roughly $500 more) and have us bring in gravel but they chose not to exercise that option.  They knew what they were doing, they are trying to take advantage of the complaint process in an attempt to try to get something for nothing.  

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In response to the One Call Plumbing for this complaint:

  1.  We signed the contract in good faith on 1/30/16 since they were still working on the project and due to the weather understood all the repairs to the property could not be resolved at that time.  Also, did not want them coming back and saying the reason they were not returning to fix the issues was due to payment not received.
  2. The driveways should have been repaired to the extent they are passable and no damage to vehicles.
  3. The neighbors water line gas lines DO NOT run through our property and Mr. ******** did make the foreman (John) aware there was a gas and water line belonging to the neighbors in that area.  It was the contractor’s responsibility to notify *** ******* to get these marked.
  4. The neighbor’s water line was repaired by YOUR company NOT the water company.  As of Feb. 9th, they are still having issues.  She has notified your company and spoke with Josh who stated they will come out and check where the issue with her water still running murky and dirty.
  5. At NO point in time was Mr. ******** advised another estimate or contacted another company.
  6. A deposit was NOT requested at the time to secure a start dat.  Advised they would start on Jan. 25 but understood the date could slip due to Snow Storm Jonas.
  7. On Jan. 30th we were advised they would return on Monday Feb. 2nd with gravel to fix both ours and the neighbor’s driveways.  AT NO POINT was Mr. ******** advied there was an additional cost to provide the gravel and fix the driveways.
  8. Calls have NOT been returned and we have all the call logs that have been made to your and company and NOT returned.  Mr. ******** has contact two different phone number twice without a response.
  9. If calls had been returned, these issues could possibly have been resolved.

ABSOLUTELY NOT TRYING TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF ANYONE OR RECEIVE SOMETHING FOR NOTHING

There seems to be a MAJOR Breakdown in communication with the PA and WV offices.

Business Response:

First let me point out that this complaint has also been filed with the WV Attorney General's Office...thus reinforcing my point that these people have difficulty telling the truth since they informed both the BBB & WV Atty Gen that they did not file the complaint anywhere else.

She signed the contract in good faith? Does this woman seem like she does anything in good faith?  Good faith would have been paying us our deposit, not waiting until you have a 150 ft waterline completely installed.

The neighbor's water line was repaired by the water company, we assisted them in exposing it.  Since Mrs. ******** wasn't standing outside in the cold with us, she would have no idea of who did what.  We did call in 2 separate dig requests.  On one hand she states that the neighbor's lines do not run through their property, then states Mr. ******** told us they were there.  Which is it?  If we were in the wrong, the utility companies would be coming after us.  We did notify the water company that the neighbor was still having some issues.  Since we have heard nothing more from the neighbor, I assume the issue was resolved by the water company, which all they had to do was flush the line.  The gas line was not properly marked, as you can see from the attached Dig Request, we were asking the gas company to come back out.  Pretty sure that was another lie by Mrs ******** by insinuating that we did not call in a WV dig request.

Mr. ******** told not only me but also the Foreman that he had another price from **** ****** but we were cheaper so he was going with our estimate.  I don't know why they are lying about this.  Their water was shut off on Thursday Jan 21 & they want you to believe that they did not contact any company until the following day?  Ridiculous. 

A deposit was requested, they refused to give it until the work was done.  My point is reinforced by the fact that the date on the check is 01/28/16, the day we started the work. I am attaching a copy.  Just one more lie by the ********'s.

In regard to their driveway, their driveway is 90% dirt & 10% gravel. When we excavate, we put the gravel removed on one side & the dirt on the other.  They had no gravel.  mrs. ******** is acting as though we dug up her whole driveway.  That is not true, we dug across a section of the driveway.   Following a 24" snowfall, they did not clear their driveway at all, that would be why they have so much damage since they let all that snow melt in their dirt.  They did not have their driveway graveled last spring, Mr. ******** stated he was having 6 tons of gravel for him & the neighbor brought in this upcoming Spring.  Before the final price was put on the contract, we asked if he wanted gravel, he declined.

Two separate phone calls have occurred with Mr. ******** wherein he was informed that we would bring gravel but he would have to pay for it.  I spoke with him last week & the Foreman spoke with him on February 3 at 12:12 PM. He declined both times because he said he didn't want to pay for anything.  It was only after the February 3rd phone call that Mrs. ******** decided to issue complaints.  We had no contact with her except where she signed the contract.  Other than that, all contact was with Mr. ********.  During my phone conversation with Mr. ********, I asked him why he declined the gravel before the final price was put on the contract.  He stated it was never offered.  I asked if he was calling the Foreman a liar because if so, I would dismiss the Foreman because I don't want to have these issues again.  Mr. ******** stated "No, no, don't do that, maybe I just didn't hear him."  So which is it?  I then said so if you didn't hear him, I'm offering to bring gravel at a cost of $500, which still puts him below the maximum quoted price.  He said no.

Yesterday, February 22, 2016, gravel was taken to the neighbor across the road to repair their driveway.  While there, Mrs. ******** proceeded to exit her residence & was verbally offensive to my employee by using the "*" word.  VERY TRASHY to hear that type of language being yelled across the road.  We had more gravel on the truck but any hope of it going to the ********'s was gone when she chose to go all ****** ********" on my employee.

We are done with this issue, I believe in this short response I have pointed out ATLEAST 3 lies told by these people  That should tell you what kind of people you are dealing with.  There should be a venue for contractors to go & report customers to warn other contractors.

Just to be clear so there are not 5 more letters, the ********'s can pay someone else to bring them gravel.  Maybe Mrs. ******** can * them out too.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

First, let me say that yes a complaint has been filed with the WV State Attorney General’s office since One Call Plumbing does business in both PA and WV.  As for advising each agency a complaint was being filed, I am under no obligation to notify an agency that I have filed a complaint.

Yes, I signed the invoice on January 30, 2016 in “Good Faith” on the word of the Foreman (John) they were returning on Monday Feb 1st with gravel to fix our driveway as well as the neighbor’s. So when talking “Good Faith” maybe he should be aware of the conversation with his foreman and the promises made by him and his crew.

Again, let me state the water line was fixed by your company NOT the water company and they can verify this is the truth since they were onsite when the work was done.  As for my not standing out in the cold you are correct, however, my husband was overseeing the job.

As for the utility companies coming after him, why would they when the Gas and Water companies had representatives on the job site making sure the gas and water lines were repaired properly by his company.

He did not notify the water company regarding the neighbor’s issue, she and my husband have been in touch with them.  As for not hearing back from her and assuming the issue had been resolved, she spoke with him on Feb. 17th  when he advised her there was a meeting with us on Friday Feb 19th.  We were not aware of a meeting and neither was the water company.  She waited for his arrival and then contacted his company and was advised he was running a machine in ********* at a job site.

Mr. ******** NEVER stated we had another estimate!! We needed this issue resolved, contacted his company, his workers came out looked at the job, gave an estimate, we asked if a deposit was required and was advised by his Foreman that NO we seemed like nice people and we could pay at the end.

Yes, the check was dated 1/28/16, I left the check for my husband when I left for work since the job was to be completed that day.  As you can see from the attached contract/invoice the date paid is 1/30/16 (paid in full) and Mike S**** (employee) signed that he received the check on that date with the check number.

Not sure how Mr. R*** states our driveway is 90% dirt and 10% gravel since to my knowledge he has NEVER been to my house or surveyed the damage caused by his company.  The driveway was cleared with a snowblower so that is another misconception on his part.  We were never asked about paying extra for gravel as you can see from above his foreman advised they were bringing gravel the following Monday with no mention that an additional $500 was required.

January 30th once the water line was installed, John (foreman) advised they would return this spring to landscape, reseed the lawn and install the section of privacy fence that was removed during the digging.  There was no discussion a cost would be involved, therefore, it should have been part of the original contract that the property would be fixed back to the original condition.

On February 22nd, gravel was brought.  When I got home from work, Matthew (employee) was spreading gravel with a rake at the neighbor’s driveway.  I introduced myself to Matthew and inquired if there was more gravel on the truck for my driveway.  Matthew stated that was all the gravel he was told to bring and to fix the neighbors driveway and not mine.  Matthew stated he has worked for the company for 2 months. 

Mr. R*** is using diversionary tactics by attacking my and my husband’s character rather than sticking to the issues and trying to negociate an agreement that satisfies everyone.  As the President of a company, I find him to be very unprofessional.

As for the rest of the durogatory remarks made regarding me and “maybe I can * another company”, I am certain as a Preacher, his congregation would be appalled to read his responses regarding this situation.

In conclusion, this going back and forth with the “he said” “she said” is a waste of everyone’s time.  If Mr. Ryan did not run his company and his workers through threats and intimidation, they would be more upfront.  He is unaware of what his foreman and crew are advising and promising the customers.

It is time to mediate and negociate a settlement that all parties can come to an agreement.

1/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:
12/23/2015
Better Business Bureau *** ******* ****** ***** *** *********** ** *****
REF: Plumbing Services performed 12/10/2015
To Whom It May Concern:
This letter and complaint form will serve to state in writing the issues concerning One Call Plumbing and their services performed at ** ****** Street on 12/10/2015..
In checking with ***** plumbing services (who have serviced this residence in the past) I was told for such a minor job the cleaning of the drain trap(which was not clogged - just sluggish) should have been sufficient to clear the drain. The procedure was not done in order of simplicity and practicality. The workers blew out the line "before" they checked and cleaned the sink trap which is backward to the way it should have been done. Bob said they blow out the line to bill more $$$ even when it isn't necessary. He also stated that I paid double what he would have charged for the same work.
Also there was additional work that needed done but upon seeing their work habits I chose not to have them do the work. The workers arrived late, brouglfmud on their shoes in the house, and took various calls while doing the work.
In closing, upon compairing what was done I feel that the line cleaning was not necessary for solving the problem and that the amount billed was too much for such a small job and time spent. I am seeking a refund of $90.30 which is half of the price paid $180.60. ! want my complaint on record so that others don't get cheated.
Respectfully,
******* *****

Desired Settlement:  I am seeking a refund of $90.30 which is half of the price paid $180.60

Business Response:

One Call Plumbing, Inc.

367 Ceylon Road

Carmichaels, PA 15320

 ******** ** ******
###-###-#### ###-###-####

 

January 11, 2016

Attn: ******** ****

BBB of Western PA

RE:      ******* *****

ID #********

Dear Ms. *****

In response to the above complaint, it seems the primary complaint is that Ms, ****i does not like our rates as supposedly compared to another company. I don't know the rates of the other company she is referring to: however, she had the option of calling them but did not (even though they had serviced her residence in the past). She called our company on 12/5/15, we could not get her on the schedule until 12/10/15. She had 5 days to call around & get pricing.

In regard to her statement that the trap was not cleaned ftrst, it was evident upon removing the trap that the line had quite a bit of build-up in it. The trap was removed first - that is the only way to get the balloon in the line. Cleaning the trap & then putting it back together to see if it is still sluggish would have been ridiculous because you could see with the naked eye that the line had significant build­up in it.

There was no mud left on her floor. If that were true, she wouldn't have paid the bill & wouldn't have signed the contract at the bottom certifying that the work was completed to her satisfaction. Additionally, Pm sure since she went to the trouble of wilting to the BBB, she certainly would have called in to the office immediately to complain. She did not. The letter she has attached dated 12/14/15 was never received by us so 1 don't know if she even sent it.


Simply because another company tells a customer that they would have charged less is not a reason for a refund. The work was done properly & no refund will be given.

Respectfully,

Tara ** ****, Office Manager

Sent via facsimile ###-###-####

Consumer Response:


1/15/2016

- -
This is in response to the unbelievable letter One Cali Plumbing sent to you. Sounds like they are trying to avoid dealing with problems. My complaints are many. From this it sounds like the company does not want to take responsibility for the employees or the work performed. My sink is small, I live alone and the pipes were not disconnected till after they blew them out. The drain was draining (just sluggish) so l find it very hard to believe that the build up was as extreme as they say. Actually it couldn’t have been "significant" if the drain was still draining.

They came 1/2 hour late, disheveled, and on the phone alot. in their communication, they seemed not to communicate professionally nor were dressed professionally. Seems like they were handling other work by phone while not attending to the work scheduled.

I had to get to work quickly and since they were running late, didn’t have time to deal with the mud and dirt on the floor until arriving home. The owner can hot say there was no mud on the floor because he was not here and did not clean it up. The floor was washed prior to their arrival and their was "significant" mud and dirt on it.

As far as complaining to the office immediately, l am caretaking for my dad who is in renal and heart failure in addition to
working so this was why letter was delayed. I am tending to many needs.

The origional letter was sent to them.They should check with the post office or their office help to locate it. This is another point of mishandling not owning up to.
In addition for the record, the company had an ad for technicians to hire new employees a week after my letter was sent.
Obviously since I did not want them to do the additional work on the work order, something was wrong with their service. And seeing as how they handle complaints, l am glad they did not do the additional work.

I am asking for my complaint to be on record even if no recourse is made because l would not take the time and trouble
to make complaints that are not valid. Thank you for putting this on record so others can be watchful and avoid the problems that were encountered.

As for using this company, seeing as customer satisfaction and service is not a priority, and seeing as they take advantage of the little guy, I will not use or refer.

My main complaint was that they used a procedure that was not necessary and did not show professional workmanship.

Respectfully,
******* *****


10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company never came back out to residence to complete work. Company did not refund amount stated over telephone in a check form. The company left pipe lose which put off a gas smell in the home. The company is not good at returning call. Should not be DOT certified.

Desired Settlement: The company to call me back

Business Response:

In response to the above claim, I pulled our call logs & show 1 phone call from Ms. ******* on 4/3/14 in which the caller asked that we call about the work that was done at her home. The call was returned by ****** **** the same day. All calls are logged in by our answering service when I’m not on phones & that was the only call.

I phoned Ms. ******* today 4/29/14 & informed her that only 1 call from her was received since we did the job & that call was returned. She then stated that she had been calling Mr. ****** cell phone, not our office number. I explained that the voice mails on the company cell phones are not checked. They are not for that purpose.

Out of sheer curiousity, I took the liberty of printing out all the calls to & from Mr. ****’s cell phone from the period 3/25/14 ~ 4/16/14. This is the period between when we did the work (see the contract) and when she wrote to you. As you can see, there was 1 call on 3/25 - the day we did the work, it was an incoming call which means she called Mr, ****’s cell phone ¦ probably to see what time we would be arriving. Additionally, there were 2 calls on 4/3/14., one at 12:11 PM and one at 12:19 PM. My best guess would be that she called the office number, Mr. **** called back atl2:l 1, she must have missed the call because she called the cell phone back at 12:19. **Please note that the answering service logged the call at 12:14 PM but their times are not always completely in sync with cell phone times. If necessary, I can send all the call logs from the answering service.

During the conversation today, I asked Ms. ******* what she wanted us to do since the BBB complaint only said she wanted a call back. She informed me she wanted a brace put on the gas meter.

I checked with the service crew as to why the brace was not put on when the work was being done & they informed me that Ms, ******* was having a French drain installed around her house & the meter brace needs to be pounded into the ground. This could not be done while the area around her home was being worked on. A brace for the gas meter will be installed this week.

Sorry for all the info Im sending...I find it misleading when a customer states they’ve been calling & their calls aren’t returned.


Respectfully,

**** *. ****, Corporate Secretary

4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired this business to unclog the toilet and bathtub in my home. They took apart my toilet and did not reinstall it properly, subsequently they toilet is now leaking onto my bathroom floor causing damages. They did not unclog my bathtub they stated to me that they did not have the proper materials on hand to do so and that they would schedule me on Friday to repair the clog to the bathtub, they did not call nor did they show up to repair the clog. I called the company and let them know that my toilet was improperly reinstalled and they did no repairs to my bathtub, they refused to give me a refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the work done because they didn't complete the job, they caused damage to my home because is their improper installation of my toilet.

Business Response: We received a call from Ms. **** on 2/26/14 at ~ 11:49AM that the toilet & bathtub drain were

clogged. We eeled the toilet and were able to get it to go down. We flushed the toilet several times and

it went down every time. The toilet & bathtub drain eventually are tied together, We noted on the

contract (attached) that the tub is still clogged. We believe the old plunger is stuck in the pipe.

Ms. **** called in for the first time on March 5, 2014 awl spoke with me. She stated that the

line was clogged again and her toilet was loose, I told her I did not have her contract in hand at the time

but I would review the contract and speak with the service technician and if appropriate, 1 would refund

her money- After reviewing her contract & speaking with the service technician, I was able to ascertain

that ****** ****, the customer’s brother, witnessed the toilet draining and signed off that the work had

been completed. In so far as the toilet being loose, there are only 2 bolts and they were tight & the toilet

was not “rocking” when the technician left.

On March ??????????5th, Ms. **** said nothing about the toilet leaking and causing damage. She only

 stated that it was loose. She ftrther stated that she had wedged a roll of toilet paper between the back of

the toilet & the wall to prevent the toilet from hitting the wall. That is “really loose”--- rocking that

much is not something we would have missed. Nor I doubt would her brother. As stated above, it was

secure when we left if the toilet was loose, why would you wait 7 days to contact us? We have no idea

whether the customer had someone else attempt to fix it during those 7 days. Once the toilet backed up

completely & was no longer usable she called 3 times that same day (March

5th)•

 During our 3 phone calls on March

5th I asked why she waited 7 days to call, she stated that the

toilet was draining initially but kept getting slower & slower. I informed her that there was an

obstruction in the piping and what happens is that as you use the toilet solids and toilet paper will

eventually get caught on that obstruction & cause the blockage again. She asked what was in the line

and I informed her that our best guess is that the plunger from the bathtub is stuck somewhere in the

 pipe. The other bathxoom(s) on the lower level were working fine which means that the problem is

upstairs. I told her the only way to tell would be to run the camera clown the line, see where & what the

obstruction is and remove it. I told her the price for a camera is $190.00 and I would have the service

crew call her & set up an appointment. We called on March

6th at 8:21 AM and scheduled the work for the following day. We informed her we would call when we were on our way. On March

7th we called at 2:14PM and 2:30 PM and got no answer, but left a message, When a customer does not answer, we

do notproceed.. .we move on to the next job. To date, Ms **** has not contacted us to reschedule.

 I am enclosing our contract where we have noted that the bathtub was still clogged and our call

logs showing that we have attempted to contact her. Her request for a refund is denied.

 

 

4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a clogged drain leading from my home to the sewer system and called Onecall plumbing to resolve this matter. They came out and started attempting to unclog the drain with a high pressure hose. I asked if they had an actual snake on the truck. They stated they only had a small on for kitchen sinks, etc. They originally offered the water pressure and a camera. I declined the camera option. When they got stuck in the line they went ahead and put the camera on to aid themselves in moving throughout the pipe system. They stated they wouldn't charge me at this time. When they failed to unclog the drain they said it looked like concrete in the line or a collapsed line. So, they took off the high pressure charge and only charged for the camera (which I had not requested). At the time I was fine with this assuming that their conclusion was correct. I had someone else come out to my home with an actual snake (the proper tool to do the job) and it was unclogged within an hour. It ended up only being tree roots that were in the system. After that Onecall plumbing called back to make another appointment to give me an estimate for digging up my "collapsed pipe", which is when I informed them their service wasn't needed any further. Once, I found out I had been charged for an incorrect assessment and they never provided the service requested, I called Onecall Plumbing back to let them know I would pay their $95 service fee for coming out, but not for any of the other charges. They refused so now I am filing this complaint and putting a charge dispute on my credit card. After they refused I told them I was going to dispute the entire charge since they did not want to work with me. Additionally, their boss would never speak to me directly he had the service man who came to my home call me back repeatedly.

Desired Settlement: I was charged $380.10. Their service fee was $95.10 for coming out to my home. I will pay the $95 for the service call as long as they refund my $285.00 for their failed service and incorrect diagnosis of the issue.

Business Response:  I would be happy to refund the $285.00 camera fee to Mr. *****; however, I am going to need

additional information as follows:

a. Proof that another plumbing company performed a “snake” between ????????????????

3/29/14 3/31/14.

 

b. Written confirmation from Mr. ***** that he has not “reversed” the charge to his credit card.

Mr. ***** states that he wants $285.00 refunded but also states that he is putting a charge

dispute on his credit card.

When the above is received, I will be more than happy to send a refund check for $285.00.

**** * ****

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Assuming he accepts that we rented the power snake ourselves and another company did not do the snaking.  I sent photos of what came out already.  And have attached a photo of the snake at my residence to this response.  I will go about getting the receipt for that rental asap as proof we used a snake.

Additionally, yes I put a hold on the credit card payment because my initial response from the company was basically tough luck we aren't going to refund you. I told the credit card company a BBB complaint was issued and I would update them of any changes.  So, at this time as long as my rental of the power snake is acceptable I will tell my credit card company to issue the payment minus the accepted difference.  And I appreciate the response being fair, I never got the chance to speak directly to the owner.

 

 

 

 

4/2/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted One Stop Plumbing on or approximately 02/05/14 for a camera inspection secondary to a sewer smell in my home. The owner (****) indicated that the cost would be $190 for the camera inspection and that they would review the results and burn a copy onto a CD to give to me. They did the camera inspection on 02/08/14. They never showed me the results and have never given me the CD, which I did pay for. He scheduled a very expensive job to correct my plumbing for the following week on the date of 02/12/14. He wanted me to sign a contract. I inquired about wanting to review the CD to actually see the results of the camera inspection. He kept saying it was in the mail. Today is 02/28/14 and I still have not received the CD even after several phone calls to One Stop Plumbing. I would like my $190 back given that One Stop Plumbing failed to provide a review of the results of the camera inspection and give me the CD. They declined to do the plumbing work I needed due to I asked to review the CD prior to signing a contract and having the work done by them and questions I was asking after I read their reviews on the BBB website.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund in the amount of $190 secondary to One Stop Plumbing not reviewing the camera inspection with me or providing a copy via a CD. They said they would do both.

Business Response:

Enclosed is the DVD from the camera that was done at Ms. *******’s residence on 2/8/14. Ms. ******* never asked for the DVD, she asked for a refund when she called into the office on 2/24/14 - that is the one and only call from her after we declined to do further work. A refund will not be given, the service was done & acknowledged.

As far as her claim that we did not review the camera inspection with her, that is not correct. She was present and knew she had a problem. She had other plumbers at her residence before us, according to what she told me on the phone.

Additionally, we did not decline the work because she was asking questions, we declined the work for other reasons. We were aware that she had looked at our review on BBB website because an email was sent from BBB, she also checked us out on ******* ****. I know this because I spoke with her on the evening of February 10, 2014. She informed me that she did her “homework” because she feels people try to take advantage of her because she is in a wheelchair.

In closing, the DVD is enclosed so that your office may forward that along to Ms. *******. Respectfully,


Consumer Response:

I did ask to view the DVD on 02/08/14.  The Plumber, *****, at that time (who performed the camera scope) said that he sent it to the owner via the internet and that the owner would burn a copy for me.  I then stated, as witnessed by one of my paid attendants, that I wanted to see it because the owner stated that to me when I initially called him.  His exact words were, "we will do the camera scope, review the visual results with you and see what needs to be done."  ***** stated that the owner would mail me a copy of the DVD on Monday, Feb. 10, 2014.  The owner called me on Feb. 10, 2014 and scheduled the work on Wed. 12, 2014 weather permitting, also witnessed by one of my paid attendants.  I asked about the review of the DVD and the owner stated he would mail a copy and would bring a copy  on Wed.  The next day, on Tuesday morning, One Call Plumbing called me and indicted that ***** was on his way to my home for me to sign the contract.  I indicated, as witnessed by one of my paid attendants, that I did not want to sign a contract until I saw the DVD.  One Call Plumbing said, I will call ***** and have him call you, which he did.  ***** said he did not have the DVD and that his boss said to find someone else to do the job, also witnessed by one of my paid attendants.  


One Call Plumbing is dishonest in their response statement.  I asked repeatedly for them review the DVD, for which I paid for in full via check.  In good faith, I did not cancel payment on the check as I trusted One Call Plumbing to show me the results of the DVD identifying my plumbing problems.  As it turned out, I have had the work completed by another company. What One Call Plumbing told me verbally about my plumbing problem turned out to be false, which is most likely why they did not want to review or give me a copy of the DVD.  I do have  a receipt for my payment,  their quote and the work they wanted to do.  


I am demanding a refund of what I paid for the camera scope, as it was never reviewed or given to me, even after several request as witnessed by 3 of my paid attendants.  I am not asking for a refund for the service call.

 

 

Consumer Response:

My request was for a return of my money, not a DVD that was allegedly made on 02/08/14.  I have no use for the DVD at this time, nearly 2 months later.  My plumbing problems have been resolved by another plumbing company.  I have attached an e mail I sent to you last evening, 03/31/14 in response to One Call Plumbings' response to my original complaint.


I am requesting my money be refunded in the amount of $190.00, as in my initial complaint.  One Call Plumbing took my money and did not provide the product on the day of service, 02/08/14, the DVD.

 

 

9/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is two-fold. This past fall I called One Call Plumbing to help me with a water line issue another plumber had done poorly. I talked with a man named ****** (who stated he owned the company) several times and he promised to come out, which he never did. I even called the company several times and he still never showed. He even made fun of my predicament by saying we got robbed on the bill after he asked what I paid for the original job. Secondly, just yesterday, my septic is baking up into the basement and I called the company last night and the lady stated someone would call me either tonight or tomorrow morning. I said tomorrow would be fine but a man named **** called me within a few minutes. He was friendly and courteous and said he would be out at 9AM the next morning. When 9:30AM approached I called the main number again and the lady stated she would get a hold of him and he would call me back. It is now 1:11PM and no one has returned a call to me. I gave this company a second chance to do business but on both occasions I have been left out in the cold due to their lack of communication and professionalism. I must add that every time I spoke with a lady at the main number (###-###-####) their were friendly, courteous and professional. My complaint is with the actual plumbers.

Desired Settlement: I want people to know the facts of how this company does business. I will now be a member of ******* **** and hopefully let as many people as possible know of the unprofessionalism and lack of ethical responsibility this company shows to potential customers.

Business Response:

In reference to the above complaint submitted by Mr, ******* *****, I am not really certain what type of response is required 

                              There are some inconsistencies in    the story regarding his problem last fall. We were contacted on December 10,2012 via phone and then email  (see attached email) regarding a water line issue. After 

further telephone conversation with Mr. ***** and a visit to the site, it was discovered that wc were not the only plumbers contacted, he was looking for the lowest price to fix a problem created by another company. 

Please see the 2nd email dated December   11,2012 wherein Mr. ***** acknowledges that he did not receive a contract from us. He further states that the other plumbers did not show up and wanted us  to come out the following day to fix the problem. We informed Mr. ***** via telephone that we would not be performing the work. After his email, it was evident we were not the first choice, so we chose not to take on the job. 

 

Mr. ***** states in his complaint that he spoke with ******; however, we have no employee by that name, nor would one of our workmen claim to own the company or make fun of someone being taken advantage of. 

Lastly, when I am not in the office, the phones are forwarded to an answering service. The evening on 8/15, **** (the owner & my husband) did speak with him regarding a problem he was having in the bathroom basement and did tell him someone would be there @ 9 am the following day. **** forgot to put in on the schedule; therefore, the next day when Mr. ***** called at 9:32 am, it went to the answering service and they sent the message with a different address than the one from the night before. The address on the last message was for *** **** *****. That is the message that was forwarded to the servicemen, they claim they could not find *** **** ***** and called the number on the message but received no answer. They assumed it was some sort of prank considering they couldn’t find the address
 

and the phone went unanswered. I cannot say for sure that this is what occurred, but that is what I was told by the servicemen. 

I am normally on phones during the day but that particular day (8/16), I was off so I could assist my mother in caring for my father who has brain cancer. I will state that only 1 call was received from Mr. ***** on 8/16 at 9:32 am and the context of that call is attached. It states that the GPS does not reach the house and to please call, either way. That does not seem to be a call that would indicate a person is in “dire need” or left out in the cold. "No call came in from Mr. ***** after that. 

Unfortunately, there is nothing I can do for Mr. ***** as his only desired settlement is to join ******* ****. I do not understand where we would have an “ethical responsibility” to Mr. ***** as he claims. We are not doctors, we are plumbers and he is free to call whomever he chooses. 

 


The only thing bothering me is why Mr. ***** would complain to the BBB about our company., .a company who has never worked for him or been paid by him, yet he has never submitted a complaint on the company who created his water line mess. The company was * * ** which 1 believe is out of ******** ** and as far as I can see on the BBB site, no complaint was submitted. It just seems a little odd in my opinion and I wonder what Mr. *****’s true motive was for submitting this complaint. It is not as though he called in numerous times and was given the run around, he only called the one time after his initial call. And that call says the GPS does not reach the house yet we go anyway, waste time and money for what might have been a prank. I say this because 1 can’t be certain that the answering service got the address wrong or if the wrong address was given to them, either intentionally or unintentially. What I can say is that this complaint seems a little unorthodox to me when all the facts are considered. 

 


9/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on One Call Plumbing Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart