BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of One Call Plumbing Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

One Call Plumbing Inc

Phone: (724) 785-2440 Fax: (724) 966-2149 View Additional Phone Numbers 367 Ceylon Rd, Carmichaels, PA 15320

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a plumbing contractor.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that One Call Plumbing Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for One Call Plumbing Inc include:

  • 14 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for One Call Plumbing Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 14

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 31, 2005 Business started: 05/08/2003 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov/hiccon.aspx?id=4502
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Josh Ryan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Josh Ryan, President
Business Category

PLUMBING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING SEWER CONTRACTORS WATER HEATERS-REPAIRING GARBAGE DISPOSALS-HOUSEHOLD WATER HEATERS-DEALERS BATHS CONTRACTORS-GENERAL PIPE THAWING

Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Plumbing Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (304) 291-4500(Phone)
  • (724) 438-1337(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company never came back out to residence to complete work. Company did not refund amount stated over telephone in a check form. The company left pipe lose which put off a gas smell in the home. The company is not good at returning call. Should not be DOT certified.

Desired Settlement: The company to call me back

Business Response:

In response to the above claim, I pulled our call logs & show 1 phone call from Ms. ******* on 4/3/14 in which the caller asked that we call about the work that was done at her home. The call was returned by ****** **** the same day. All calls are logged in by our answering service when I’m not on phones & that was the only call.

I phoned Ms. ******* today 4/29/14 & informed her that only 1 call from her was received since we did the job & that call was returned. She then stated that she had been calling Mr. ****** cell phone, not our office number. I explained that the voice mails on the company cell phones are not checked. They are not for that purpose.

Out of sheer curiousity, I took the liberty of printing out all the calls to & from Mr. ****’s cell phone from the period 3/25/14 ~ 4/16/14. This is the period between when we did the work (see the contract) and when she wrote to you. As you can see, there was 1 call on 3/25 - the day we did the work, it was an incoming call which means she called Mr, ****’s cell phone ¦ probably to see what time we would be arriving. Additionally, there were 2 calls on 4/3/14., one at 12:11 PM and one at 12:19 PM. My best guess would be that she called the office number, Mr. **** called back atl2:l 1, she must have missed the call because she called the cell phone back at 12:19. **Please note that the answering service logged the call at 12:14 PM but their times are not always completely in sync with cell phone times. If necessary, I can send all the call logs from the answering service.

During the conversation today, I asked Ms. ******* what she wanted us to do since the BBB complaint only said she wanted a call back. She informed me she wanted a brace put on the gas meter.

I checked with the service crew as to why the brace was not put on when the work was being done & they informed me that Ms, ******* was having a French drain installed around her house & the meter brace needs to be pounded into the ground. This could not be done while the area around her home was being worked on. A brace for the gas meter will be installed this week.

Sorry for all the info Im sending...I find it misleading when a customer states they’ve been calling & their calls aren’t returned.


Respectfully,

**** *. ****, Corporate Secretary

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired this business to unclog the toilet and bathtub in my home. They took apart my toilet and did not reinstall it properly, subsequently they toilet is now leaking onto my bathroom floor causing damages. They did not unclog my bathtub they stated to me that they did not have the proper materials on hand to do so and that they would schedule me on Friday to repair the clog to the bathtub, they did not call nor did they show up to repair the clog. I called the company and let them know that my toilet was improperly reinstalled and they did no repairs to my bathtub, they refused to give me a refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the work done because they didn't complete the job, they caused damage to my home because is their improper installation of my toilet.

Business Response: We received a call from Ms. **** on 2/26/14 at ~ 11:49AM that the toilet & bathtub drain were

clogged. We eeled the toilet and were able to get it to go down. We flushed the toilet several times and

it went down every time. The toilet & bathtub drain eventually are tied together, We noted on the

contract (attached) that the tub is still clogged. We believe the old plunger is stuck in the pipe.

Ms. **** called in for the first time on March 5, 2014 awl spoke with me. She stated that the

line was clogged again and her toilet was loose, I told her I did not have her contract in hand at the time

but I would review the contract and speak with the service technician and if appropriate, 1 would refund

her money- After reviewing her contract & speaking with the service technician, I was able to ascertain

that ****** ****, the customer’s brother, witnessed the toilet draining and signed off that the work had

been completed. In so far as the toilet being loose, there are only 2 bolts and they were tight & the toilet

was not “rocking” when the technician left.

On March ??????????5th, Ms. **** said nothing about the toilet leaking and causing damage. She only

 stated that it was loose. She ftrther stated that she had wedged a roll of toilet paper between the back of

the toilet & the wall to prevent the toilet from hitting the wall. That is “really loose”--- rocking that

much is not something we would have missed. Nor I doubt would her brother. As stated above, it was

secure when we left if the toilet was loose, why would you wait 7 days to contact us? We have no idea

whether the customer had someone else attempt to fix it during those 7 days. Once the toilet backed up

completely & was no longer usable she called 3 times that same day (March

5th)•

 During our 3 phone calls on March

5th I asked why she waited 7 days to call, she stated that the

toilet was draining initially but kept getting slower & slower. I informed her that there was an

obstruction in the piping and what happens is that as you use the toilet solids and toilet paper will

eventually get caught on that obstruction & cause the blockage again. She asked what was in the line

and I informed her that our best guess is that the plunger from the bathtub is stuck somewhere in the

 pipe. The other bathxoom(s) on the lower level were working fine which means that the problem is

upstairs. I told her the only way to tell would be to run the camera clown the line, see where & what the

obstruction is and remove it. I told her the price for a camera is $190.00 and I would have the service

crew call her & set up an appointment. We called on March

6th at 8:21 AM and scheduled the work for the following day. We informed her we would call when we were on our way. On March

7th we called at 2:14PM and 2:30 PM and got no answer, but left a message, When a customer does not answer, we

do notproceed.. .we move on to the next job. To date, Ms **** has not contacted us to reschedule.

 I am enclosing our contract where we have noted that the bathtub was still clogged and our call

logs showing that we have attempted to contact her. Her request for a refund is denied.

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a clogged drain leading from my home to the sewer system and called Onecall plumbing to resolve this matter. They came out and started attempting to unclog the drain with a high pressure hose. I asked if they had an actual snake on the truck. They stated they only had a small on for kitchen sinks, etc. They originally offered the water pressure and a camera. I declined the camera option. When they got stuck in the line they went ahead and put the camera on to aid themselves in moving throughout the pipe system. They stated they wouldn't charge me at this time. When they failed to unclog the drain they said it looked like concrete in the line or a collapsed line. So, they took off the high pressure charge and only charged for the camera (which I had not requested). At the time I was fine with this assuming that their conclusion was correct. I had someone else come out to my home with an actual snake (the proper tool to do the job) and it was unclogged within an hour. It ended up only being tree roots that were in the system. After that Onecall plumbing called back to make another appointment to give me an estimate for digging up my "collapsed pipe", which is when I informed them their service wasn't needed any further. Once, I found out I had been charged for an incorrect assessment and they never provided the service requested, I called Onecall Plumbing back to let them know I would pay their $95 service fee for coming out, but not for any of the other charges. They refused so now I am filing this complaint and putting a charge dispute on my credit card. After they refused I told them I was going to dispute the entire charge since they did not want to work with me. Additionally, their boss would never speak to me directly he had the service man who came to my home call me back repeatedly.

Desired Settlement: I was charged $380.10. Their service fee was $95.10 for coming out to my home. I will pay the $95 for the service call as long as they refund my $285.00 for their failed service and incorrect diagnosis of the issue.

Business Response:  I would be happy to refund the $285.00 camera fee to Mr. *****; however, I am going to need

additional information as follows:

a. Proof that another plumbing company performed a “snake” between ????????????????

3/29/14 3/31/14.

 

b. Written confirmation from Mr. ***** that he has not “reversed” the charge to his credit card.

Mr. ***** states that he wants $285.00 refunded but also states that he is putting a charge

dispute on his credit card.

When the above is received, I will be more than happy to send a refund check for $285.00.

**** * ****

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Assuming he accepts that we rented the power snake ourselves and another company did not do the snaking.  I sent photos of what came out already.  And have attached a photo of the snake at my residence to this response.  I will go about getting the receipt for that rental asap as proof we used a snake.

Additionally, yes I put a hold on the credit card payment because my initial response from the company was basically tough luck we aren't going to refund you. I told the credit card company a BBB complaint was issued and I would update them of any changes.  So, at this time as long as my rental of the power snake is acceptable I will tell my credit card company to issue the payment minus the accepted difference.  And I appreciate the response being fair, I never got the chance to speak directly to the owner.

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/2/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted One Stop Plumbing on or approximately 02/05/14 for a camera inspection secondary to a sewer smell in my home. The owner (****) indicated that the cost would be $190 for the camera inspection and that they would review the results and burn a copy onto a CD to give to me. They did the camera inspection on 02/08/14. They never showed me the results and have never given me the CD, which I did pay for. He scheduled a very expensive job to correct my plumbing for the following week on the date of 02/12/14. He wanted me to sign a contract. I inquired about wanting to review the CD to actually see the results of the camera inspection. He kept saying it was in the mail. Today is 02/28/14 and I still have not received the CD even after several phone calls to One Stop Plumbing. I would like my $190 back given that One Stop Plumbing failed to provide a review of the results of the camera inspection and give me the CD. They declined to do the plumbing work I needed due to I asked to review the CD prior to signing a contract and having the work done by them and questions I was asking after I read their reviews on the BBB website.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund in the amount of $190 secondary to One Stop Plumbing not reviewing the camera inspection with me or providing a copy via a CD. They said they would do both.

Business Response:

Enclosed is the DVD from the camera that was done at Ms. *******’s residence on 2/8/14. Ms. ******* never asked for the DVD, she asked for a refund when she called into the office on 2/24/14 - that is the one and only call from her after we declined to do further work. A refund will not be given, the service was done & acknowledged.

As far as her claim that we did not review the camera inspection with her, that is not correct. She was present and knew she had a problem. She had other plumbers at her residence before us, according to what she told me on the phone.

Additionally, we did not decline the work because she was asking questions, we declined the work for other reasons. We were aware that she had looked at our review on BBB website because an email was sent from BBB, she also checked us out on ******* ****. I know this because I spoke with her on the evening of February 10, 2014. She informed me that she did her “homework” because she feels people try to take advantage of her because she is in a wheelchair.

In closing, the DVD is enclosed so that your office may forward that along to Ms. *******. Respectfully,


Consumer Response:

I did ask to view the DVD on 02/08/14.  The Plumber, *****, at that time (who performed the camera scope) said that he sent it to the owner via the internet and that the owner would burn a copy for me.  I then stated, as witnessed by one of my paid attendants, that I wanted to see it because the owner stated that to me when I initially called him.  His exact words were, "we will do the camera scope, review the visual results with you and see what needs to be done."  ***** stated that the owner would mail me a copy of the DVD on Monday, Feb. 10, 2014.  The owner called me on Feb. 10, 2014 and scheduled the work on Wed. 12, 2014 weather permitting, also witnessed by one of my paid attendants.  I asked about the review of the DVD and the owner stated he would mail a copy and would bring a copy  on Wed.  The next day, on Tuesday morning, One Call Plumbing called me and indicted that ***** was on his way to my home for me to sign the contract.  I indicated, as witnessed by one of my paid attendants, that I did not want to sign a contract until I saw the DVD.  One Call Plumbing said, I will call ***** and have him call you, which he did.  ***** said he did not have the DVD and that his boss said to find someone else to do the job, also witnessed by one of my paid attendants.  


One Call Plumbing is dishonest in their response statement.  I asked repeatedly for them review the DVD, for which I paid for in full via check.  In good faith, I did not cancel payment on the check as I trusted One Call Plumbing to show me the results of the DVD identifying my plumbing problems.  As it turned out, I have had the work completed by another company. What One Call Plumbing told me verbally about my plumbing problem turned out to be false, which is most likely why they did not want to review or give me a copy of the DVD.  I do have  a receipt for my payment,  their quote and the work they wanted to do.  


I am demanding a refund of what I paid for the camera scope, as it was never reviewed or given to me, even after several request as witnessed by 3 of my paid attendants.  I am not asking for a refund for the service call.

 

 

Consumer Response:

My request was for a return of my money, not a DVD that was allegedly made on 02/08/14.  I have no use for the DVD at this time, nearly 2 months later.  My plumbing problems have been resolved by another plumbing company.  I have attached an e mail I sent to you last evening, 03/31/14 in response to One Call Plumbings' response to my original complaint.


I am requesting my money be refunded in the amount of $190.00, as in my initial complaint.  One Call Plumbing took my money and did not provide the product on the day of service, 02/08/14, the DVD.

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is two-fold. This past fall I called One Call Plumbing to help me with a water line issue another plumber had done poorly. I talked with a man named ****** (who stated he owned the company) several times and he promised to come out, which he never did. I even called the company several times and he still never showed. He even made fun of my predicament by saying we got robbed on the bill after he asked what I paid for the original job. Secondly, just yesterday, my septic is baking up into the basement and I called the company last night and the lady stated someone would call me either tonight or tomorrow morning. I said tomorrow would be fine but a man named **** called me within a few minutes. He was friendly and courteous and said he would be out at 9AM the next morning. When 9:30AM approached I called the main number again and the lady stated she would get a hold of him and he would call me back. It is now 1:11PM and no one has returned a call to me. I gave this company a second chance to do business but on both occasions I have been left out in the cold due to their lack of communication and professionalism. I must add that every time I spoke with a lady at the main number (###-###-####) their were friendly, courteous and professional. My complaint is with the actual plumbers.

Desired Settlement: I want people to know the facts of how this company does business. I will now be a member of ******* **** and hopefully let as many people as possible know of the unprofessionalism and lack of ethical responsibility this company shows to potential customers.

Business Response:

In reference to the above complaint submitted by Mr, ******* *****, I am not really certain what type of response is required 

                              There are some inconsistencies in    the story regarding his problem last fall. We were contacted on December 10,2012 via phone and then email  (see attached email) regarding a water line issue. After 

further telephone conversation with Mr. ***** and a visit to the site, it was discovered that wc were not the only plumbers contacted, he was looking for the lowest price to fix a problem created by another company. 

Please see the 2nd email dated December   11,2012 wherein Mr. ***** acknowledges that he did not receive a contract from us. He further states that the other plumbers did not show up and wanted us  to come out the following day to fix the problem. We informed Mr. ***** via telephone that we would not be performing the work. After his email, it was evident we were not the first choice, so we chose not to take on the job. 

 

Mr. ***** states in his complaint that he spoke with ******; however, we have no employee by that name, nor would one of our workmen claim to own the company or make fun of someone being taken advantage of. 

Lastly, when I am not in the office, the phones are forwarded to an answering service. The evening on 8/15, **** (the owner & my husband) did speak with him regarding a problem he was having in the bathroom basement and did tell him someone would be there @ 9 am the following day. **** forgot to put in on the schedule; therefore, the next day when Mr. ***** called at 9:32 am, it went to the answering service and they sent the message with a different address than the one from the night before. The address on the last message was for *** **** *****. That is the message that was forwarded to the servicemen, they claim they could not find *** **** ***** and called the number on the message but received no answer. They assumed it was some sort of prank considering they couldn’t find the address
 

and the phone went unanswered. I cannot say for sure that this is what occurred, but that is what I was told by the servicemen. 

I am normally on phones during the day but that particular day (8/16), I was off so I could assist my mother in caring for my father who has brain cancer. I will state that only 1 call was received from Mr. ***** on 8/16 at 9:32 am and the context of that call is attached. It states that the GPS does not reach the house and to please call, either way. That does not seem to be a call that would indicate a person is in “dire need” or left out in the cold. "No call came in from Mr. ***** after that. 

Unfortunately, there is nothing I can do for Mr. ***** as his only desired settlement is to join ******* ****. I do not understand where we would have an “ethical responsibility” to Mr. ***** as he claims. We are not doctors, we are plumbers and he is free to call whomever he chooses. 

 


The only thing bothering me is why Mr. ***** would complain to the BBB about our company., .a company who has never worked for him or been paid by him, yet he has never submitted a complaint on the company who created his water line mess. The company was * * ** which 1 believe is out of ******** ** and as far as I can see on the BBB site, no complaint was submitted. It just seems a little odd in my opinion and I wonder what Mr. *****’s true motive was for submitting this complaint. It is not as though he called in numerous times and was given the run around, he only called the one time after his initial call. And that call says the GPS does not reach the house yet we go anyway, waste time and money for what might have been a prank. I say this because 1 can’t be certain that the answering service got the address wrong or if the wrong address was given to them, either intentionally or unintentially. What I can say is that this complaint seems a little unorthodox to me when all the facts are considered. 

 


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/1/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/7/2011 Problems with Product/Service