BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania

This Business is not BBB accredited

Mr. Rooter of Pittsburgh

Additional Locations

Phone: (724) 776-2266 Fax: (724) 776-0820 View Additional Phone Numbers 64 Progress Ave, Cranberry Twp, PA 16066

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Mr. Rooter of Pittsburgh include:

  • 57 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 5 complaints filed against business
  • 10 complaints filed against business that were not resolved
  • 1 serious complaint filed against business
  • Length of time business has taken to resolve complaint(s)
  • Advertising issue(s) found by BBB


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

57 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 32 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 46
Total Closed Complaints 57

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 22, 1993 Business started: 11/01/2000
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov/hiccon.aspx?id=4502
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242

Business Management
Mr. Robert A Beall, President Ms. Carol Beall, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert A Beall, President
Business Category

PLUMBING CONTRACTORS PIPE LINE CONTRACTORS

Alternate Business Names
Quik-Flo Sewer and Drain Clean
Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Plumbing Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Coraopolis, PA 15108 (724) 776-2266

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Mc Kees Rocks, PA 15136 (724) 776-2266

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    213 Commerce Park Dr

    Cranberry Twp, PA 16066 (724) 776-2266

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    532 West Pittsburgh Street

    Greensburg , PA 15601

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    64 Progress Ave

    Cranberry Twp, PA 16066 (724) 776-2266

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    943 Prospect Rd

    Ashtabula, OH 44004 (814) 835-7687

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 748

    Warrendale, PA 15095 (724) 776-2266

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (412) 322-7033(Phone)
  • (412) 372-7018(Phone)
  • (412) 422-0350(Phone)
  • (412) 771-5036(Phone)
  • (412) 781-5657(Phone)
  • (724) 287-1311(Phone)
  • (724) 766-2266(Phone)
  • (724) 776-2266(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company charged $895.00 to my credit card but never showed up to perform the work. I called to cancel the service when they did not show up. A week has passed and I have made 3 phone calls regarding the matter but they still have not reversed the charges on my credit card. Twice I have been promised that a manager woudl call me back but none has called.When the original operator (*****) showed up at my home to make an assessment, he told me that my problem could be solved for a repair fee of $895.00. I agreed to this fee and scheduled the service for 2 hours from that visit. He then determined that he was wrong and it would require repairs totally $6500.00. I told him I would not proceed and cancel all services. At this time, he changed his mind and told me that the $895.00 repair would solve my problem after all. I agreed again to the repair but the time window changed from 2 hours later to 7-9 that evening. I called at 8:30 when I still had not heard from the service technician and was told that he would be out in an hour. I called again at 10:00 pm when no one had arrived and was told that he was having vehicle trouble but was on his way. At this time, I canceled the service and asked to be quoted the cost of only the initial technician visit. The company had already made the $895.00 charge to my credit card even though the service had not been performed. I have been trying since then (6/16/14) to have the charges reversed with no response.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $895.00 refunded to my credit card account. I believe thsi is fair since the work has not been performed at my home. I gave the company an opportunity to perform the work as promised and they did not show up.

Business Response: The refund is being processed in the amount of $895 for a credit card reversal. This will take 3-5 business days to post on the account, but the reversal transaction has been completed as of 10:00am on 6/24/14.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr Rooter came to our house onMay 16,2014 didi work and charged us $95.When my husband call ed and ask them if we could post date the check for thn 30th,the company said yes but the check had to be written out for the 16th and thet woulnt cash it until the 30th.Well they already cash it and the back charged me $37 for unsuffiction funds,Icalled Mr. Rooter and **** the Manger of Accountant said they will give me a check for $95. but will NOT give me the overdraft amount of $37. I told him I would mail another check out for $95 and post date it for the 30th and **** said its like i paid only$58 for the job,,,,,,and said the first time it was like me getting the job for free and he still will NOT give me $37 for the over draft.

Desired Settlement: They still owe me $37 because they cashed the check and they were told prior not to cah it until the 30th.

Business Response: Ms. ****** discussed this issue with ***** our Office Manager. She originally requested a $37 refund. We offered her our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and overdraft fee and offered a $95 refund check (the original amount that she paid for the completed service call) and the customer refused, stating she wanted a $37 refund. The check was dated 5/16/14 and was cashed on that date. Mr. Rooter was offering to pay her $58 MORE than her requested refund to cover the overdraft fee as well as give her an additional $58 as to make the balance even for the amount she paid. The customer refused to take the extra $58 for her inconvenience, and did not accept our offer. We have gone above and beyond in our attempts to rectify this situation, however the customer would not accept our generous offer to resolve her issue.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

 The first thing I ask **** is why he cahed my check before th30th because ther was no money in our account.He said he was sorry and said he would give me a check for $95,now the job they did was free,but I said that was fine but I was charged $37 overdraft fees.Then **** said again NO,but for me to take the $37 out of the $95 and the job would only cost me $59.So is it free or $58.For the bank to erase the $95 and the $37 I would need to put $132 for it to come out even.So can you understand what Im  saying.

Regards,***** ******

Business Response: Our excavation manager,  *****, spoke with Mrs. ****** this morning. They came to the resolution to send a refund to the ******s for $37 for the overdraft fee. Mrs. ****** agreed to this since work was completed to the customer's satisfaction and initially paid for in full ($95). The $37 check will be sent on Friday (6/6) and at the time the check is cashed, Mr. Rooter will consider this matter closed.

Business Response: The $37 check was mailed from our Cranberry office (our only location in Western, PA) on 6/23/14. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr Rooter Plumbing has a A+ rating with the BBB so i went with them to install a sink & faucet. The sink & faucet were corroding badly & looked like crap. Like a dumb xxx i gave a $1000 deposit thinking i would give most up front while i had it & when all done pay less in the end. That deposit was 1-8-2014 almost 5 months ago. They said the special order of the sink would take 6 to 8 weeks so about that time i called to check on the order, after a few called i finally talked to the manager **** ****** no clue how to spell it. He asked if i wanted the deposit back, i said I'll wait a little longer. After about 3 months i kept calling asking for my deposit back & couldn't get hold of a manager. Four times the secretary said we have an appointment for Friday without informing me. I asked are the parts in? She said it looks that way, so Friday comes & goes. This same thing happened like i said 4 times, so weeks go by & no calls or anything. My friend said email the manager so you have a written record if you have to goto small claims court. Say I'll stop up at your office in 3 days to pick up my deposit & if it is not there i will contact the BBB & take you to court. The PROBLEM is they would not give me a managers email address. There web sight does not have any emails on it just an appointment section with a box you can type stuff in, so i did that & hit submit. Two minutes later a female manager calls to set up an appointment for service. She wanted to hang up fast, I asked hew can i ask you a question, she said she has to go & doesn't have time. She didn't want to help at all. The managers name who deals with refunds is **** ******* i barely got that info. I pushed for a email address but could not get one. Please help me, I cannot do what i really want to do. It is very hard to control my anger with these SCAMMERS!!!Thank You Very much!!!

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my deposit back of $1000.

Business Response: Refund check in the amount of $1000 mailed to ****** ***** at **** ***** ******* ********** ** ***** on 6/19/14.

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** *****

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Mr. Rooter do plumbing work from me in December 2013 and I paid them in full using my credit card. They assured me that they would return to my home in the spring to repave the front sidewalk of my house and my basement since they had to tear up the concrete to get to the pipes. I have called them over five times and I keep getting told that I'm on the waiting list. I can't get a straight answer as to when they will return to my home and lay the new cement. I'm very concerned that someone will get hurt either walking outside in front of my home or my family members will get hurt in the basement of my home.

Desired Settlement: I want them to fix the front of my house and my basement by doing what they promised, laying new cement.

Business Response: All excavation clean ups are completed in the order in which they were excavated. The customer IS on the schedule but due to situations out of our control such as rain, we are unable to set a firm date for the clean up. This is our policy with all excavations and it will be completed in the order in which it was originally excavated.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10079789, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Regards,

******** *******

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/25/2014 11am I had a Mr Rooter technician (54) attempting to open a blocked sewer line in the basement . In the attempt the equipment he was using broke off in the drain pipe and is lodged in the drain. The technician wrote out a reciet explaining what had happened and told me someone would call me and make arrangements on how to go about solving this problem. No one never called, I had to make the first call ,I was told that they would send someone out to fix the problem on 4/28/2014 am again no one showed or called , I had to call again to find out what they were planning on doing to solve my problem. I'm still waiting and my basement is still backed up with sewage. I can't get someone else to come out because they refuse to follow behind another company's mess. I need some resolution. Please help.

Desired Settlement: I want the equipment that's lodged underground takened out and any damage done in doing so be repaired to original condition with out any expanse to me!

Business Response: Our excavation manager spoke with Mr. ******* and explained to him the cause of the broken cable. The sewer line is bad/broken/possibly has roots in it. The cable broke due to the bad sewer line, not due to any fault of our technician. The only two options we have at this point are to hydroscrub the line or to excavate the line to remove the broken cable. Both of which would be at a cost to the customer, as it is not a Mr. Rooter error. The customer declined both of these options to remedy the situation. This matter is closed, as the solution was declined by the customer.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

      This company has been totally unprofessional and dishonest, yes there was blockage but the technician should have surmised that after the cable jammed in the first drain he tried. Not only did the cable jam in the first drain but also the second and third before he made a second attempt back in the first drain forcing the cable causing it to break. He told me that he would inform his office to what had happen and that they would call me that afternoon to make arrangements about retrieving the cable. No one ever called!! After several hours of waiting I had a feeling that I was being ignored so I called them. I was told that they were informed of the situation and that they had some one who would be able  to come out and retrieve the cable but that he wasn't in at that time. He told me that their technician would be available Monday morning I said fine anytime after 8am and that I would be home all day. Monday morning no one called or showed up so late Monday afternoon I had to initiate the call again to see if the guy was still coming. That's when I was told that would have to pay for him to come and remove the cable and that if he was not able to do so that the cable would have to be dug up and I would be responsible for the cost .I don't feel that I should be held responsible for their technician incompetents after trying three different drains and encountering obstructions in each one before losing the cable. I just closed on this house 01/06/14 I don't know if there's bad sewer lines or not but I would think the technician should have surmised that. I've been lied to from day one ,I initiated all the phone calls / was never called back ,was told they would send some one out , he never showed up, I feel like I've being scammed. All I  want is for them to remove their cable so that I can retain a reliable plumbing company to service my drains.

Regards,**** *******



Business Response: Per our first response, the technician that came out to the residence broke his cable on the broken sewer line/roots in the sewer line. The sewer line was not broken due to the cable. The technician is in fact able to surmise that from the way that the cable responds to the drain. In this instance, the cable breaking in the manner that it did is indicative of a broken sewer line or roots in the line. The cable did not break due to technician error. Mr. ******* may call the office and schedule a technician to come back out to his home to assess the broken cable situation at no charge. The technician will then be able to inform the customer what the cost, if any, would be to remove/take the next step.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ****** said the sewer was backed up, and he used the snake,and it wouldn't free the clog. He broke open the drain in the driveway to run a camera through. He said he had to have the money up front, $4800.00. That was for the camera and to break the drain open. When he ran the camera he said the whole drain system was bad, and pipes were in pieces. He then said he would have to put in a whole new system, that would involve a whole new line and breaking up the driveway. Additional cost would be around $20,000.00. Then she got a second opinion from another plumber, who said there was nothing wrong with the system.He ran snake 89 feet and used the camera, that showed everything was in good condition. **** ***** called the company this week, and they never returned the call. Will pay for the work that was done, but wants a refund for the work that wasn't done.

Desired Settlement: Description as stated in the complaint above.

Business Response: Mr. Rooter went to Mrs. *****'s property, started an excavation, and explained to Mrs. ***** that she had additional problems. At that time, Mrs. ***** put the job on hold to acquire other bids. We have tried numerous times to contact Mrs. ***** to discuss charges that will apply for work that was performed on the job. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business resolved the complaint issues, but not within BBB's timeframe. The complainant did not acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/1/2014 the drain in our kitchen and downstairs bathroom clogged, we called Mr. Rooter to come out and give us an estimate on 1/2/2013. The clog was being cause by corroded pipes leading into the main sewer line in the basement. We had previously had Mr. Rooter come out to unclog the main sewer line and were aware that at least part of the sewer needed to be replaced. The Excavation Manager (****) from Mr. Rooter quoted us $4,922 to dig up and replace about 40% of the sewer line in the basement. I agreed, half the money ($2,461) was due before Mr. Rooter would begin the work, and the remaining half was due when the jog was complete. I was informed by **** that at any time I could inform Mr. Rooter that I could cancel the agreement and I would receive my money back (minus any work Mr. Rooter had performed until that point). On 1/7/2014 Excavators from Mr. Rooter returned to start digging out the sewage pipes, the pipe was also jetted and cleaned out. A camera was the inserted into the pipe to inspect the condition of the whole pipe. Upon inspection it appeared that the entire sewage pipe needed to be replaced. **** gave us a verbal quote of $5,900 (not including taxes) to replace the remaining 60% of the sewer pipe. In total it would have cost more than $11,000 to replace the sewer line in the basement. Price Mr. Rooter was going to charge us seemed extremely high. On 1/8/2014 we called another plumber to give us an estimate. The other plumber (**** ***** ********) quoted us $5,900 to complete the entire job. The difference in price between Mr. Rooter and **** ***** ******** was nearly $4,500 or 40% (taking into account the work Mr. Rooter had already done; **** ***** estimated the value of the work Mr. Rooter had completed to be ~$600) After several attempts to reach **** on his cell phone I called Mr. Rooter directly I wished to discontinue the agreement. I spoke with another Excavation Manager who took my email address and informed me that an invoice would be sent to me.I have since called Mr. Rooter on 1/10/2014, 1/13/2014, 1/14/2014, 1/15/2014, and 1/1/2014. On each occasion I was informed that **** or another Excavation Manager would be calling me back shortly. I have not received any calls or received the invoice from Mr. Rooter.

Desired Settlement: To remedy the situation I would like to receive the invoice and the balance on the deposit paid to Mr. Rooter (~$1,900-2,000) back as a refund.

Business Response: Mr. Rooter proposed to Mr. **** a sewer line repair. At that time, Mr. **** agreed to the price. After the job had started, Mr. **** decided to cancel the work. We provided Mr. **** with a detailed break down of charges to be applied to the job. We are in the process of issuing a refund in the amount of $55.72. At this time, Mr. **** has declined the refund and has informed us it is going into litigation.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a frozen pipe due to improper placement and planned to have Mr. Rooter put the pipe in the proper area at the correct angle on November 30, 2013. Due to a legal issue, we cancelled the work within Mr. Rooter's cancellation policy. Even though we cancelled the work they processed our credit cards and cashed my check (which made my account have insufficient funds etc). I have now been contacting them everyday since December 15, 2013 for them to refund us our money and give me the proper bill for the minimal work that they did do. The last bill they sent was incorrect, they once again over charged us. I was told via email that they would take care of this issue on January 2, 2014 and I am still waiting.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to send me a correct bill and to refund my money by Friday January 10, 2014

Business Response: Mr. Rooter has refunded Mr. Moore $12,512.00 over two months ago. This matter is closed and Mr. Rooter has no further obligations with this issue.

BBB's Final Determination: Business resolved the complaint issues, but not within BBB's timeframe. The complainant did not acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr Rooter completed a job for us in November of 2013. After speaking with our insurance agent, we realized that we needed an itemized breakdown of the labor that was done in order to file a claim with our agent. I called Mr. Rooter for 6 weeks, talking to the secretary and each time, she took my name and number and no one returned my call. After six weeks of trying to contact them, I hired an attorney to deal with this issue on my behalf. My attorney spoke with someone in the office and he assured tHer that we would have an itemized breakdown by January 2, 2014. As of yet, we still have not received any documents from Mr. Rooter.

Desired Settlement: The only thing that we are requesting is an itemized breakdown of services that they completed in our home so that we may file a claim with our home owners insurance. The job was paid in full immediately upon completion.

Business Response: Customer requested a breakdown to submit to insurance. Customer will have this breakdown by April 4, 2014.

BBB's Final Determination: Business resolved the complaint issues, but not within BBB's timeframe. The complainant did not acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BAD CUSTOMER SATISFACTION AND SERVICE!!!!!!!!Had a backed up toilet. They came to "Repair/Unclog" it-which they did. However 2 days later, same problem with the toilet. Have called many times to try to work out this problem/disagreement only to get the "runaround". This service was provided on Feb 20, 2014 and have started calling on Feb 22, 2014. Have left many messages and told to talk to "**** or ***". Last few times I called, I was told they would call me back--NO CALL!!! Tired of wasting my time with this company--they don't care about customer satisfaction. I have paid $142.95 for this service. Would like my money returned as job apparently was NOT done.

Desired Settlement: paid $142.95 to fix this problem only to have to have problem refixed 2 days later. I feel ripped off by this company-paid for service that they failed to complete. Want my money back, no credit, no other option available.

Business Response: As noted on invoice #******, Mr. Rooter Plumbing came out on 2/20/14 and unclogged a toilet. The toilet was operating fine at the time the technician left the residence. We received a "100% Satisfaction Signature," a "Service Authorization Signature," and a "No Warranty Allowed On This Repair" signature. It is also noted in the second column that there is no warranty on this repair. This customer refused any additional services and only wanted a refund knowing that there was no warranty left on his repair per his initials on the invoice. In regards to contact with managers, he has spoken to two different managers on multiple occasions. He was dissatisfied with the managers answers because, as stated previously, there will be no refund given per his signatures on invoice #******. Unless Mr. ***** would like additional services at a cost to him, this matter is textbook and considered closed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid $895.00 to clean out a sewer line, and they couldn't do it. Wantedto charge an additional $4800.00 to replace a section of line that they couldn't clean. I replaced it myself for $75.00 in about an hour, and found sludge that should have been blown out with the $895.00 service.

Desired Settlement: I'm thinking of bringing criminal charges against them for attempted robbery.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

3/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Easter Sunday 2013 our septic backed up ,we contracted Mr. Rooter to repair our septic . We were told that top soil would be brought in after our soil had settled to bring yard back to level. About June/July we started to call Mr. Rooter to inquire when the top soil would be delivered and spread. We received no call back. And we have called once a month or more since then, and have received no call backs.

Desired Settlement: We would like the top soil delivered and spread this Spring or we can spread it our selves.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

3/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2/14 kitchen sink not draining. Had it checked and kitchen plumbing in home was clear backup caused outside home. 2/3/14 s/w Mr Rooter to see if work completed 11/12 outside home by Mr Rooter was under warranty. They said they were sending tech to home. 1st tech came 2/3/14 to home but they had no snake with them and will send a 2nd tech with snake and camera.2/4/14 a 2nd tech came to home with snake and identified somekind of blockage approx. 10-12 ft into the yard. He needed to send another tech with a camera he didnt have one.2/4/14 a 3rd tech came to home with camera. He said block could be at tank less than 1 foot away. He didnt know and wanted to dig. I told tech I needed a better explaination and why is he saying block is less than 1 foot away at a fuel tank and the other tech said the block is approx. 10-12 feet away into the yard? I told tech I needed something in writing and a call with better explaination of problem.I called office 2/4/14 leaving a message with someone to have a manager call me back. No one returned my called by end of day 2/5/14.I called office for a 2nd time 2/6/14 requesting a return call from a manager. I never got a call back.I called for a 3rd time around 10:30am on 2/7/14 leaving another message with someone there to have a manager call me back.I never got a return call and called the office again around 2:45pm on 2/7/14 for the 4th time asking for manager. I was told this time they would give a manager named ***** a message to return my call. 2/10/14 still no return call from manager. 2/10/14 at 8:23am I called the office for the 5th time trying to speak with a manager. I was told the managers are in a meeting and will return my call in his free time.It is now 3:23pm on 2/10/14 and I have still have not had a return call.

Desired Settlement: I want a return call from a manager at Mr Rooter explaining to me what their three technicians identified as why the sink is not draining and what needs done for the problem to be resolved.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

3/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr Rooter charged my debit card for $870 for work that the plumber did not do, he arrived and said he could not do the job and he left. I called Mr Rooter twice and no one will return my calls. The $870 came right out of my bank account. I feel like i was robbed.

Desired Settlement: I need my $870 returned to my bank account as soon as possible.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/19 I had a Mr. Rooter service technician come to clear a clogged drain pipe in our bathroom. After trying to use an Electric snake for about 15 minutes he stated that he was unable to clear the drain because of the way the pipes were installed. He recommended the next action was to rip open either the bathroom wall or the ceiling in our kitchen to resolve the issue which would be close to $1000 job. We decided not to have the work done but instead to get a second opinion. He charged us $95. We called in a master plumber and he was able to clear the drain in 15 minutes using a k-50 machine and told us Mr. Rooter tried to fix the problem incorrectly. We have been calling mr. Rooter back now for over a week trying to speak to a manager *****" but he has never returned our calls. We also called customer service at the cooperate office and the said that they would call him but we have not heard back from either of them yet. According to customer service only the office that completed the work can issue a refund.

Desired Settlement: We would like a full refund of $95 since the work was done incorrectly.

Business Response:

March 10, 2014
 
Reference ID #: *******
 
To Whom It May Concern:
 
Regarding Reference ID # *******, a refund check of $95 has been issued to the customer via United States mail. For reference purposes, the check number is *****. Please consider this matter resolved as of 3/10/14, '
 
Thank you,
 
******* ******* 
Plumbing Manager 
Mr. Rooter Plumbing

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** *************

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business resolved the complaint issues, but not within BBB's timeframe. The complainant acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business was scheduled to come to apartment building between 3-5pm today to look at frozen pipes. Parents and newborn baby in apt. I called first thing this morning, and at 5:15pm, plumber still hasn't shown up or called. Called company and they said they were running behind and would not be there until 7-8pm. I explained aobut the little baby and how this apartment had no water at all, and they said they would call the plumber to try and move us up on the list, but that they were heavy on calls today.Got a call from the owner of the company 10 minutes later stating he wasn't going to get to the apartment at all. He had overbooked himself 30-40 calls an hour, and therefor he couldn't get to us. He couldn't even commit to a time he could get to them tomorrow. I explained about there being a newborn baby, and how poor I felt customer service was because if he knew he was that behind, he should have called earlier so we could make other arrangements or find another plumber. He had no explanation, and there was nothing he could do.We are very upset that we were not called earlier in the day to let us know that they were not only running very behind, but that there was a chance they weren't going to make it at all. They took the idea of losing a customer over the safety of a new baby. This company should have called earlier in the afternoon and told us what was happening. I feel that all the hard feelings could have been avoided if we were not left hanging with no plumber and no water at 5:30pm at night.

Desired Settlement: We would like the company to know we filed the complaint and the complaint to be public, so that another customer thinks twice before they chose Mr. Rooter for service.

Business Response: RE: Complaint ID # *******

 
To Whom It May Concern:
 
Mr Rooter of Pittsburgh received an appointment for this home, but we never arrived at the home nor did we provide service to the home. There is not response to this complaint because Mr Rooter of Pittsburgh did not provide any type of service to this address nor customer.
 
Sincerely,
 
**** *******.

Plumbing Manager
Mr. Rooter of Pittsburgh

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Mr Rooter Plumbing to install 50 gallon hot water heater. After employee left it was discovered that $100-$110 was stolen from wallet laying on table where employee passed several times in and out of the house to secure tools/materials from his truck. Called Mr Rooter and was told three times that someone would call me about the matter and no one returned my calls. Reported incident to the Whitehall Police Dept and they took a report and found that employee had multiple criminal activities on his record. Employee denied stealing the money but no one other than employee and family members were in the residence since the money was last seen. Secondly after the hot water heater was installed the Whitehall Fire Dept found that there were two gas leaks on a pipe installed and that the pipe installed was not to code. Whitehall Fire Dept called Mr Rooter Plumbing and asked them to come and make repairs as the gas to the tank had to be shut off for health/safety reasons. A different repair man was sent and installed the correct pipe (to code) and also found that another pipe should have been replaced as it was not to code and he replaced that pipe also. I am disappointed that a national company would send an employee that has a criminal record to any customer's residence or place of business and not inform them of the employee's criminal record. The $100-$110 belonged to my 13 year old daughter who worked hard to save the money. I should not have to worry about a repair person coming into my house and stealing. Secondly if I am paying someone to provide a service it should be done correctly with the correct materials. Fortunately the gas leak did not cause injury to any family members or result in an explosion. The last item I wanted to mention was that I was told they could replace the 50 gallon tank with another 50 gallon tank. A 40 gallon tank was installed. I have been unable to find out why a 40 gallon tank was installed when a 50 gallon tank was requested.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed the $100-$110 that is missing. I would also like to know why a 40 gallon tank was installed when a 50 gallon tank was requested and if I was charged the appropriate price since a smaller tank was installed. I was charged $1,143.75 for the installation work. I would like to be reimbursed monetarily for the inconvenience it caused and the poor service provided by installing the tank improperly with two pipes that were not to code.

Business Response:

This is a response to the complaint ID #*******. It is alleged that our employee may have taken cash from the home. After speaking with the customer, she was advised to contact her local police department which she stated she has. It is now in the hands of the police. We are not in charge of this case any further.

In regards to the issues with pipes installed to code on the water heater, a second technician was dispatched and resolved that issue the same day.

In regards to controversy over 40 or 50 gallon water heater installation, the customer was charged for a 40-gallon water heater and gave us the authorization signature to install a 40-gallon water heater. A second 100% satisfied signature was received authorizing that she received a 40-gallon water heater to her satisfaction.

In conclusion, the the alleged stolen money is in the police department’s hands. All pipe corrections have been made and water heater is installed per code. We consider this matter 100% resolved.

Thank you,
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The Mr. Rooter Plumbing is taking no responsibilities for the action of their employee or the poor service they have provided. I have sent a letter to the Mr. Rooter Plumbing franchise office advising them about this incident in the hopes they will take some action. I would like my complaint posted on your website so that other people do not experience the problems I encountered with this company

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr Rooter was supposed to clear a clog in the drain of our toilet. They stated they had to break the toilet to get at the clog then they had to replace the toilet, then they had to replace the water shut off valve, then they had to replace the pipe flange to fix the problem. This took 5 hours, When they left it was supposed to be fixed, The next morning after flushing the toilet the water backed up and came through the ceiling in the kitchen, soaking the plaster, the cabinets, stove, floor and cabinet contents. When Mr Rooter was called they said they would send someone out ASAP, 4 hours later the same plumbers that caused the problem returned and ran a snake down the pipe again to clear the blockage. ***** **** the plumber admitted they used the wrong parts to fix it the first time and said that it was their fault. As he was leaving he said they worked with a disaster recovery firm and he would have them contact us about repairing the damage. To date no one has contacted us even after several e-mails.

Desired Settlement: Because the original repair was not correct and caused more damage we would like the cost of the repair refunded and them to reimburse us for the damage done

Business Response:

 

 

I want to let you know that one of our Manager ***** ********* has spoken to Mr. ***** and we are currently working with him to repair damages to his celling.

Mr. ***** is forwarding us a few quotes he received for the repairs. Mr. ********* is going to review these quotes and we are going to work with Mr. ***** to make sure that these repairs are done.

 

Please let me know if there is anything else I need to do to update our records with the BBB.

 

Thank you,

 

***** *********

Administrative Assistant

Mr. Rooter Plumbing

###-###-####

Consumer Response:

After a phone call from Mr. ***** ********* of Mr. Rooter requesting estimates of the damage be e-mailed to him on November 6.  I have done so and I have not had any contact with Mr. Rooter and no response to the estimates.  To date there has been no effort by Mr. Rooter to resolve this matter.

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Family had to call Mr. Rooter because we had (2) problem toilets.On July 24, 2013, An Agent for Mr. Rooter came and done extensive work. The total cost was $3,595.10. They promise to apply a discount and send us a detail list of the work that was done, but they never followed up on their promise!The work that was done left our basement leaking. A family member called The telephone number several times since July 25th, 2013, and two girls answered and said that management would call back however, no call and no one came back to look at the leak in our basement. There was no leaks before the work was done now there is an extreme leak and the basement is full of mildew because of the leak caused by the defective work of Mr. Rooter's Agent.It is unacceptable that customer service treats paying customer the way Mr. Rooter has treated our family. No one calls back or explain why they basement is leaking after they done this work and one of the toilets that an Agent of Mr. Rooter was supposed to fix still is not working correctly. Still will not flush sometimes. We paid $3594.10 and one of the toilets still don't work correctly.

Desired Settlement: The document we signed indicated 100% satisfaction. With this leaking basement I am not satisfied!I want a refund or they need to come and fix the leaks that they left!

Business Response:

Two of the Mr. Rooter Plumbing Managers ******* customer service manager and **** ******* Service Manager have called and left messages for Mr. *****.

We would like to visit the property and fix the issues he is having, we are currently waiting for Mr. ***** to return our call to find when would be best to make the necessary repairs.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 If they called me I never received any calls. No messages were left for me from this company.  If they cannot reach me they can contact us at ###-###-#### and talk with ****** ***** about the time they can come.

 In anticipation of your prompt attention, thank you for your cooperation.

 

Respectfully submitted,

"Without Prejudice"

 

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a back-up in the basement and I was out of town. My wife called Mr Rooter and they came and jackhammered the floor and took out a sink and piping from the kitchen sink. While this was happening the sewer authority came out and told my wife that they did not need to jack hammer the floor to get their camera into the outside line. All they had to do was to go to the other side of the basement to another drain. They jack hammered out a Y-Pipe Connector and one portion of the Y did not go to anything. They thought it was blocked so they unnecessarily jack hammered the floor. My wife told them to stop what they were doing. They charged my wife's credit card $2006.08 and we have a large hole in the basement floor and are unable to use the sink or washer/dryer. I travel a lot and do not have time to repair their mess. They took advantage of my wife while I was in Switzerland and could not fully understand the magnitude of the problem. I called and the person in charge was rude and hung up on me. I am willing to pay $200 for their time, but that is extremely generous. What they did is borderline criminal and they need to rectify this as soon as possible. Thank you. **

Desired Settlement: I would like them to come back and clean up their mess and refund my wife's credit card so I can engage a professional company to rectify the problems Mr. Rooter caused in our basement.

Business Response:

I HAVE ATTACHED THE SIGNED INVOICES FROM THE JOB. ALSO THE LETTER I SENT TO THE LESLIE AFTER THEY CANCLED THE JOB.

THE CUSTOMER KNEW THE SCOPE OF WORK BEFOR WE STARTED SHE SIGNED ALL PAPER WORK, THEN CANCELED THE NEXT DAY. WE ONLY CHARGED HER FOR THE WORK WE DID

IF THEY WOULD LIKE US TO COME BACK IT WOULD BE THE ORIGINAL CHRGE OF $3,800.00 TO COMPLETE WHAT WAS ON THE CONTRACT.

WE WILL NNOT BE COMING BACK FOR FREE AND THERE WILL BE NO REFUND TO THE CUSTOMER !!!

 

THANK YOU

 

***** *********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

Taking advantage of a woman who is home alone and under duress is not an acceptable way of doing business.  My next step is to take this unethical business practice before the local Magistrate…… GL. 

Regards,

******* ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The situation began late in the evening when we noticed a slight backup from the drain in our garage... We promptly began calling 24hr plumbing services. Mr. Rooter finally showed up, about an hour late, no big deal, and snaked the drain. The tech then said he would return the next morning to camera the drain and identify the problem. He finally showed up the next afternoon, and assessed the drain. He then told us there was an obvious problem located 18ft from our drain. We were quoted over $6000 to do the repair work, and a max of two days. We were also specifically told we would be without services for less than an hour during the work.As work finally began, an excavator showed up on site, with a one man crew. He began to dig. He quickly struck our gas line. The gas line ruptured and spewed natural gas into the air for over 20 minutes. He didn't have a spotter the help with the dig, or the right tools to shut down the leak when it happened. A MAJOR oversight on the part of the company. Once the fire department and the gas company left, he began digging and hit our water line. Another mess ensued.At this point we would spend 2 days without gas service, and only temporary water and sewage.When a crew came to begin replacing the company screwups, they again used a camera in the raining pipe. They proceeded to tell me that the remaining pipe has the bulk of the issues. They never looked at the entire pipe before quoting me over $6000 to FIX THE PROBLEM. He then quoted me an additional $9000 to truly fix the issue. But discounted to $7k.So now their promise of fixing the issues for $6k, with a lifetime gaurantee, has turned into tearing up my driveway and an additional $6k +. This is absolutely unacceptable. If a company is quoting a repair job, you locate and assess the problem. You dont steal $6k from a client and then realize the issue isn't even located where you are digging. You also don't leave them without utilities based upon your company's negligence. UNACCEPTABLE

Desired Settlement: I am absolutely unsatisfied with the work performed. With such aninvestment made, I expected the issue solved as promised. I do not accept the fact that they literally tricked me into allowing them to begin work before they had even truly assessed the issue... Then while on site they have a "revelation" and offer to continue working for only a mere doubling of the price. That is a "bait and switch" and bordering on illegal business practice. The major issue is unresolved and they have my $6k

Business Response:

Mr. Rooter Plumbing  did an excavation at the above address. No where on the invoice does it state we gave a time frame on how long the job would take . it does say that we will be back to video inspect the downstream line. the invoice does not state that the $6,000.00 will fix there problem, nor does it say they will be without service for half an hour. Mr. Rooter did have some complication with other underground utilities. we addressed those problems and fixed them in a timely maner.

the ******* knew the price of the work and what was going to be completed before we evan started the job for them. They signd all the invoices ( four signatures on our paper work). we dont appriciate the fact that the job was done on 8/15/13 and then they file a complaint after the work is all done. There will be know refund issed to this customer.

 

thank you

 

***** *********  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

 

If the company intends to blatantly lie to customers, and then say it doesn't say those exact words on an invoice, then that is an awful business practice, and bordering upon illegal.  An oral contract is just as binding as the written.  If you expressly choose to omit the same guarantees from the written contract, then there must be remedy to that false business practice.  I was expressly told that THE issue had been identified, and this would repair the issue, along with a transferable lifetime guarantee. They then decided to attempt to double the price of the work in order to really fix the issue.


They replaced piping, and wasted $6000, on a section that was not the root of the problem whatsoever.


Also I attempted multiple times to complain during the work, when the company decided to tell me the real problem wasn't even what they were fixing... I proceeded to tell them I wanted to speak with the manager.  I was told he would return that afternoon.  By the end of that day, the crew decided to complete the work, and the manager never returned.  I also told a couple of the workers at that time that I was near kicking them off of my property and putting a stop payment on the payment method used.  I got no response except that, "our manager will be here again this afternoon."  I spent that day watching the workers closely, and ensured I wouldn't miss the manager upon his return, which never happened.


Since they elected to ignore my complaints to reach the manager and have him return, they completed the project, and left the property.  Unfortunately, due to my work schedule I had to leave town the next day, hence my delay in filing the complaint with the BBB.  In no way has Mr. Rooter upheld its end of the oral contract, and promises made to the customer.  The promises made are what prompted the decisions to begin work.  The manner in which I was told to sign papers is also worrisome.  They state I signed four places... The only time I recall signatures was outside in my driveway, with the person holding the papers up against a truck and not even fully exposed for me to read, basically partially flipped.  I don't even know if there was 4 signatures made, but I cannot specifically recall that.


I fully expect Mr. rooter to take further steps in remedying this situation, if not, I do intend to pursue it through legal means.


Regards,

**** *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Agreed to give refund for service poorly performed, then failed to do so.Failed to give clear up front pricing advertised, (had me sign blank contract)One technician arrived to do hydro jet cleaning. Job requires 2 men, one on truck, and one at drain end.Technician said he went 70' into drain and encountered no blockage, stated main sewer must be blocked. (Sewer main is 85-95' from point of entry). Tech should have gone either to the block, or the main.Mr. Rooter offers a "notice of cancellation" stating customer may cancel contract within 3 days and receive a full refund. I did this within the 3 days (express mail) and they called me and agreed to refund my purchase within the 10 days promised. I started calling the third week 3-5 times and left my number, and got no other response

Desired Settlement: I would like the full refund promised in their contract ($600)

Business Response:

we do apoligize with the delay in refunding it will be issued on there credit card within 10 bussness days

  thank you

***** *********

   

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My sewer became blocked on 2 different dates. The first time around the sewer had dried out. Mr Rooter came out and unblocked the line. The Tech said it could block again but I was covered by a warranty. It became blocked again another Tech came out and broke his tool off in my sewer and proceeded to pack up and leave saying there was nothing he could do and was going to leave his broken tool in my drain and said if I wanted the tool removed so it would not cause a issue. They would hydro scrub my sewer for 800 dollars. Now the was unacceptable considering it was their tool that broke off in my sewer. The Tech refused to resolve the issue and left. I notified the office and demanded a new tech out there to fix the issue. They unclogged the drain but left the broken tool in the sewer.Again trying to get me to spend 800 dollars for something they did. Over a year later my drain started to back up at night again. I figured I would give them one more chance. Boy I got screwed. They came out and said my line under the sidewalk had shifted and that i needed it repaired the tech told me that it would cost 4800 dollars to fix and would be fixed in two days.I asked why so much he said the line was 5 feet down and the needed ground supports to do the job. The repairmen showed up and only dug 1 foot and a half below the ground took out the pipe and said they were going to leave cause he did not have his truck or the materials to finish the job. When I said what about the line its just running into the hole. He said it would be all right he would cover it with a tarp. I complained and said no way you will put a temp pipe in there. I did not want raw sewage running into the whole. That is a hazard.They came back 2 days later filled in the hole. They told me they could not fix the concrete until we had a day with out rain. Its been almost 3 weeks the still never fixed my sidewalk. I had to call 10 times to get a manager to come out and the hole still is not fixed. I got bad service and over charged.

Desired Settlement: I would like a partial refund. I was told the job would be done in 2 including sidewalk. Its been 3 weeks. I do not want them on my property unless I am there. They are giving me a hassle about when they can do it. They never show up at the time they say they will. Every time on this last job I ask when they will be there they have been late. The manager was over an hour late when he came to adress my complaint.

Business Response: When Mr. Rooter came out to Mr. ***** property he had problems with the sewer line in the sidewalk. We gave him the price to complete the repair before we started work , he agreed to the price and signs all invoices. 

After we started the job we ran a camera down the line and explained to him that he had more issues with his line. He did not want to here about it.
Last week Mr. ***** sewer line backed up, we sent a tech down with a camera and tech found that there were more problems with the sewer line (15' up stream ) at that point we gave Mr. ***** a price to do more additional work for $7500 he agreed and left to get money but the. Returned to tell our tech he had to think about it.
Today I talk to Mr ***** about the concrete repairs today he wants another company to do concrete work or give him a refund of $800.00 I explained to him that the work did not cost that much it was only around $250-300 and that when the other company is done fixing the sewer we will come back and fix the concrete. He refused this resolution I explained to him that it would be breach of contract if another company does our work and will void his warranty.
Mr. ***** got very angry and told me he is sueing us. When I know more i will let you know 

Thanks ***** ********* 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: Here is the deal. You have done nothing but create a merry go round of emails that is getting the situation no where. They destroyed my sewer and then tried shaking me down for another 7000.00 after I paid them 4800.00 for them doing nothing. In fact part of the 4800 fee was for them to fix and replace the sidewalk they dug up and now they are refusing to replace that. I am sick of the situation. The BBB is doing nothing to protect my rights as a consumer. To be honest it seems to me that you are more on the side of the business that took advantage of me. I would like to hear back from you on this matter. I was advised by the city admin to go to my congressman and bring the whole situation with you and Mr Rooter to light in the public eye. I would take this matter to court as well but unfortunately I do not have the money to do so. Again I would like to hear back from you on this matter.  

Regards,

***** *****

 

 

Business Response:

WE HAVE TRIED TO TALK TO MR. ***** ABOUT HIS ISSUES LAST TIME WE TALK HE WANTED $800.00 BACK FOR CONCRETE WORK WE TOLD HIM $300 WE WILL BE WILLING TO GO UP TO $400.00

   FOR CONCRETE WORK

 

THANK YOU ***** *********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Plumber completed a $6,000 job for me. However, when requested to provide a detailed bill to submit for insurance purposes, Mr. Rooter failed. We have tried several (4 of which can be documented) times to no satisfaction. No return call, no email from this company. Once job is completed, they are done with you.

Desired Settlement: At this time I am not sure how it can be resolved. I have a limited time to file an insurance claim as well as provide documentation. I am asking for a simple item of which will likely cost me over $2,000 because I cant comply with the insurance company's demands. Very dissatisfied.

Business Response:

Mr Rooter will provide a breakdown for the work that was completed at the property . Will be mailed out today

 

   thank you ,

 

***** *********

 

Consumer Response:

Thank you! I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   

 

Regards,

 

 

**** ******

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the evening of Thursday July 11th, I noticed a problem with my sewer line not draining. Since I was to go on vacation the following morning and wanted a speedy fix, I called Mr. Rooter and they had some one there in about two hours. This technician was very polite and tried to snake the line but failed to get to the clog. He then offered to t.v. the line since it has a longer cable to reach whatever clog there was. He found a black spongy mass that he believed was tree roots and recommended "hydroscour" which is essentially a high pressure jet-flush through the lines. I asked what the price would be. $796. And then asked what would happen if they couldn't get the clog. $5200 to dig up my yard and replace the pipe. What if I choose to replace the pipe myself and the flusher still didn't get it open? A 50% attempt fee on the flusher is likely. The flusher came Friday morning at 6:45 and was gone by 7:20. I called and complained that this technician did not try nearly hard enough for the $800 they were charging me and that I was leaving for vacation and would like a return visit Monday evening around 6pm. I did not receive another call or visit. I rented a 100' sewer snake from a local store with a 2" root saw attachment and unclogged the pipe myself at 8:30pm on Monday. When I called them again at 9:40pm, they told me that management cancelled the return visit that I had scheduled before leaving on Friday for camp. I expect a fee for the first tech.: $100 to snake and $100 to t.v. the line($200). Another $100 for the flush truck that was there a total of 45 minutes maximum($300). The total fee I paid was $796 and the problem was never resolved by them. This is not a good way to do business!

Desired Settlement: I think a refund of at least 50%($398) is appropriate. Considering that I had to do the work myself and that they canceled the return visit that I called in to schedule without informing me of this, I believe it is the very LEAST they could do. A refund of $496 would be even more deserving to help cover my cost of the rental equipment needed to do the job they wouldn't do in the first place.

Business Response:

we went out to the property attemted to open the drain line were. we do apoligize about not going back out at the second call our computer system never rescdulled the second call.

at this time i will type up a letter and mail it out to the customer for a refund of $496

once again we do apoligize for the inconveance of this matter

 thank you

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. My credit card company has credited my card and said that as long as the business does not rebill me, the refund is given. Thank you. 

 

Regards,

 ****** **********

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 5 years ago, I had to have my entire sewer line replaced due to roots compromising the existing terra cotta pipes. Mr. Rooter charged me over $16k for the replacement, guaranteeing for life that the pipes would not be further penetrated by roots. Last week I experienced another backup due to roots. Mr. Rooter came back out and diagnosed the issue as being another crushed terra cotta pipe under my house, which they did not replace last time and would not be covered under my existing warranty. They said that they were unable to snake the drain, could not bore through the roots as they were trying to do, and were unable to determine the full damage with their camera system. They said they would need to go through the concrete in my basement, bore through my foundation walls, and replace that other entire section of pipe and the original estimate was $5200, then changed to $4800 once they realized they were the ones that replaced the original pipes outside. I declined and brought in another local plumber from Pittsburgh that brought in the proper snake equipment and had the entire thing cleared within five minutes and for roughly $5000 less. I know I was overcharged previously for the pipe replacement, which I'm assuming cannot be revisited or recouped, but these horrible manipulative, lying practices for the sake of money are disgusting.

Desired Settlement: There is nothing to settle on this point, since I gave them no money and avoided the compromise of my foundation. If I thought there was anything I could do about the past charges, I would.

Business Response:

WE HAD A TECH GO OUT TO THE ABOVE ADDRESS AND EXPLAINED TO HIM THAT WE ONLY DID THE REPAIR ON THE SEWER LINE OUTSIDE. WE HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH THE SEWER LINE INSIDE OR UNDER THE FOUNDATION

 

   THANK YOU

***** *********

 

EXCAVATION MANAGER

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

 

Regards,

 This is in response to an email that I received on 4/24 with the following information: 

 

 

 I did not see a way to reply to this message from the website and would like to add additional comments.  As I stated in my original complaint, the problem that I have now is not with the service performed in the past since there is nothing I can do after this amount of time.  The issue that I have at this time is with the Mr. Rooter techs stating that they could not snake the drain, clear any roots, or see anything with their camera and wanting to charge $4800 to excavate my foundation and inside my home, when the next day I had a real plumber come in and have the issue fixed within 5-10 minutes.  That is the problem is not actually diagnosing or attempting to do what I originally asked and trying to fleece me for unnecessary work.  I hope this makes this more clear, I thought I mentioned this in the original complaint and that this has nothing to do with prior work, this is for this instance. 

  

Thank you, 

****** ******* 

 

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

6/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/22/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
9/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/10/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/3/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1