Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

McDonald Plumbing/HVAC Inc.

Phone: (724) 789-7197 1019 Evans City Rd, Renfrew, PA 16053 http://www.mcplumbing.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This contractor provides plumbing, heating and air conditioning services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McDonald Plumbing/HVAC Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McDonald Plumbing/HVAC Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on McDonald Plumbing/HVAC Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 8
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 04, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1955 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA031443.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ken McDonald, President Ms. Sherri Eury, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken McDonald, President
Business Category

PLUMBING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING SEWER CONTRACTORS WATER HEATERS-REPAIRING HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING GARBAGE DISPOSALS-HOUSEHOLD WATER HEATERS-DEALERS BATHS HEATING CONTRACTORS PIPE THAWING

Alternate Business Names
John D & George E McDonald Plumbing & Heating
Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Heating & Cooling Home Improvements - Plumbing Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 1019 Evans City Rd

    Renfrew, PA 16053 (724) 789-7197

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: McDonald Plumbing installed our toilet in December. They did not tighten the bolts enough and one of them was dripping. The woodwork in the bathroom became all moldy. I spoke to Megan and was told that if it was their fault, they wouldn't charge. Bob came out and tightened the bolts. He told me that the toilet was "condesating." A few days later, I received a bill from them for $85. I called back and spoke with Megan. She said, "I don't do the billing. I'll leave a message for the person who does." I want them to cancel the charges and perhaps replace the moldy woodwork. Note: This is not the first time that they have done work for us incompetently. They came out the last time to fix a shower and did not charge. I was shocked to see that this time they did.

Desired Settlement: To zero out the bill and possibly replace the moldy woodwork.

Business Response:

McDonald Plumbing & HVAC, Inc.

August 26, 2015

Attn: ******** ****

Better Business Bureau

*** ******* ****** ***** ***

*********** ** *****

 

RE: ID ********

Dear *********

 

Please consider this letter to be a response to the complaint you have received from ******* ********* on 8/20/2015.

 

In December of 2014, McDonald Plumbing and Heating, Inc. installed a toilet ******* ********* (customer) had purchased herself at a local hardware store.

Please note, McDonald Plumbing and Heating, Inc. does not warranty fixtures that are supplied by customers. In fact, we have a policy that customers must accept those terms if we install fixtures the customer provides. The policy states, we will only warranty fixtures we supply since we purchase our fixtures from vendors who are able to provide us with a certain quality that we are accustomed to. This was the case with the toilet installed for Marilyn.

Marilyn placed a service call again in August stating her toilet was leaking creating her wood work to become moldy. On August 18th our Service Manager went to the home, he noted there was water on floor around toilet. He stated he did a thorough inspection of the toilet including checking the floor bolts and tank to bowl gasket noting they were in good repair and tight. The finding was that the condensation was due to the temperature fluctuation between the water in the toilet tank and the air temperature in the residence. Our technician explained to the customer, the air temperature within the residence was quite warm and the water coming into the residence was much cooler creating moisture build-up on the tank thus creating what she perceived as a leak. Customer disagreed with the findings.

A standard service fee of $85.00 was charged to the customer for the service call but was later credited due to the dissatisfaction of the customer.

It is our position, the toilet is functioning property and no mechanical failure or malfunction could be found. We believe the temperature of the residence is directly related to the condensation of the tank. Considering, we did not provided the toilet nor did we charge the customer, we are not sure how to appease this customer nor do we believe we are negligent in any way.

McDonald Plumbing and Heating, Inc. has been in business for thirty years and we value our reputation within the community; we have been in operating this long due to our ability to provide exceptional service to our customers. We have taken this complaint seriously and have tried to remedy this situation to no avail.

We appreciate the opportunity to provide a response regarding this matter Please let me know if any further information is required or necessary.

 

Kind Regards,

Kenneth M******* President

McDonald Plumbing & Heating, Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *********

3/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Long story short, our main sewer was backed up while we had a house full of guests. Some of the guests had pulled the basement toilet and tried snaking it out. After several hours to no avail, the tech from McDonald showed up. We already had the toilet pulled, so all he had to do was snake the main.It wasn't until the following day and $500 later that I realized the bill stated 2.5 hrs is what I was billed for. The tech hadn't arrived until 10:30 (the bill started at 10:00). He also originally only brought a small drum snake machine and had to leave to get "the big machine". Well I was billed for the at least 30 minutes he was gone for that.I've never heard of a company charging for travel time, or also for time because they didn't bring the correct equipment in the first place. Also, I was left to reset the toilet, so the guy didn't even have to do a complete job. I feel I was billed unfairly for an extra hour of labor.

Desired Settlement: Refund of 1 hour labor rate which was unfairly billed. I was only told the labor rate of $120/hr when I had called to inquire about the time discrepancy.

Business Response:

In response to complaint #*******, on Saturday, February 22, 2014, Mr. ****** contacted our on-call technician, *******, to snake his main sewer line. ******* explained to Mr. ****** that we charge over-time rates on the weekends to which Mr. ****** agreed to due to his situation.

We charge a trip charge to and from the customer’s home of $75.00 which includes a 15 minute diagnostic of the problem. This is standard and common in the residential service industry and our fee is well below what our competitors charge. Our technicians keep a small shake machine on their vehicles which is sufficient to snake a line, but the blockage at Mr. ******’s home was packed full, so ******* had to get our largest snake from our facility in order to clear his sewer line.

Mr. ****** needs to understand that we biil from the time the technician is in route to the job (which was 10:00 p.m.) until the time the job is complete, which in this case was 2.5 hours (10:00 p.m. to 12:30 p.m.).

Mr. ****** spoke to both secretaries on Monday, February 24, 2014 and it was explained to him that our fees to snake a sewer line is based on what size machine is used, how far out we snake the line, and includes set up and clean- up of the machine. Our normal fees to snake a line can range anywhere from $240.00 to $350.00 on regular business hours, and we normally cannot quote an exact fee due to the nature of the job.

We did not puil Mr. ******’s toilet, and therefore we are not responsible to reset it, however, upon Mr. ******’s request we would have reset the toilet but he would have incurred more costs for us to do so.

The charge to Mr. ****** were reviewed by myself, the owner, and I verify that his charges are accurate. Had he been able to wait until normal business hours, his charges would have been much less. While I understand his urgency in the matter, he agreed to pay the overtime rates and therefore was fairly charged by us. McDonald Plumbing and HVAC takes great pride in accommodating our customers, and we made every attempt to satisfy the customer in this complaint.

Consumer Response:

The tech was told the blockage was INSIDE the house, yet he insisted "shit runs down hill" and snaked the exterior main with the small drum snake. The blockage had already been diagnosed prior to his arrival. At no time, either on the phone, nor while the actual cleaning of the drain was occurring, were the labor rates disclosed. Had they been appropriately, I would NOT have consented to the service, and waited until a rental facility was open to perform the job myself. 

I personally believe the tech was inexperienced and initially made a poor judgement as to snake the exterior main, which had already been confirmed was running clear prior to his arrival. He should have attempted the small machine INSIDE, as had been asked of him, before deciding it was inadequate, resulting in an additional hour of "labor". By his own admission, he is an HVAC tech, so this company should more carefully schedule who is dispatched to the specific type of call. 

9/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

9 Customer Reviews on McDonald Plumbing/HVAC Inc.
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart