Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Matt Mertz Plumbing Inc

Phone: (412) 367-0815 Fax: (412) 367-1844 2524 Cole Rd, Wexford, PA 15090 http://www.matt-mertz-plumbing.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a plumbing contractor.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Matt Mertz Plumbing Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Matt Mertz Plumbing Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Matt Mertz Plumbing Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 27, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA033519.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Matt Mertz, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Mertz, President
Business Category

PLUMBING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING SEWER CONTRACTORS WATER HEATERS-REPAIRING HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING GARBAGE DISPOSALS-HOUSEHOLD WATER HEATERS-DEALERS BATHS AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - RESIDENTIAL KITCHEN & BATH-DESIGN & REMODELING PIPE THAWING

Alternate Business Names
Mertz, Matt Plumbing Inc
Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Heating & Cooling Home Improvements - Plumbing Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 2524 Cole Rd

    Wexford, PA 15090 (412) 367-0815

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Good Morning: My wife and I have lived here in ********** for 33 years and have never felt the need to complain about any of the services we have received from the numerous companies we have done business with over the years. We are not complainers and we have always been open minded enough to give the benefit of the doubt in questionable situations. However, our experience today with the following company has not only caused us to stop trusting this organization, but has also caused us to end our business relationship with them as well. And, for the benefit of others who may be trying to decide who to trust with their plumbing business, I hope this information will be helpful: Matt Mertz Plumbing, Inc. ***** ***** ******* ******** ** ***** Back in April, we decided to replace our kitchen faucet and my wife purchased a $200 **** faucet from *****. We called Matt Mertz Plumbing to do the installation. This week, we noticed that the cabinet space underneath our kitchen sink was leaking water. My complaints are as follows: When we called Matt Mertz Plumbing to return to our home to fix the leak, they could not find the original invoice for the work in their system and told us that if we did not have it, they would not do the work under warranty. We, of course, had a copy of the invoice from April, so the job was scheduled for this morning. It's a good thing we keep copies of things like this, because it is clear that they either have an inadequate record keeping system, or they do this to everybody to avoid warranty work. When the worker (Phil) showed up this morning, he told us that all **** faucets from **** ***** and ***** are "knockoffs," not real ****s, and that he would have to charge us to repair the faucet. If all ****s at **** ***** and ****** are indeed "knockoffs", does it not make sense for plumbers to provide a courtesy warning to this effect BEFORE they install the "knockoff," perhaps advising customers that the faucet they have purchased is not authentic and that if it fails, they will not honor the warranted installation?? This warning was never provided by the worker who originally installed the "knockoff" **** faucet - we were only made aware of this by Phil - after the fact. We do not believe that the **** faucets at **** ***** and ***** are "knockoffs" and we think that the only reason Phil told us this is because Matt Mertz Plumbing wanted to charge us for the service call. We told Phil that the original Matt Mertz installer did not tell us up front that the **** we purchased was a "knockoff." We also told Phil that if Matt Mertz Plumbing proceeded to charge us for this service call, we would end our business relationship with them. At that point, he said he would only charge us half for the service call and that he had already informed Matt Mertz Plumbing that we were planning to end our business relationship. It obviously did not matter to them that they were losing a loyal customer. Phil gave us an invoice for $65 and expected payment before he left our home. I no longer trust this organization and I hope this information will help others who are weighing their plumber options.

Desired Settlement: Just a quick follow-up to this situation.  It has now been 6 hours since Phil showed up from Matt Mertz Plumbing and the faucet is still leaking; in fact, it is worse now than before we contacted them to fix it.  So, not only did they charge us $65 for a service call that should have been under warranty, they did not even fix the leak...

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

We are responding to a complaint about our business. The reference Id is #*********

Matt Mertz Plumbing, Inc. always attempts to please every customer. In this particular case, we did attempt to call the customer to solve the issue and had to leave a voicemail but did not receive a return phone call. We do not tell our customers that **** ***** or ***** faucets are knock offs, we do however tell our customers that we do not warranty any customers supplied parts. In attempt to satisfy this customer, we returned to the home, replaced the cartridge at no charge and only charged a half an hour of labor. The reason why we charged the half an hour labor is because we do not warranty any customer purchased parts. Please understand we keep detailed records of all service provided by Matt Mertz Plumbing, inc., in order to avoid situations like this and we make sure that our customer's receive the best service.

Let me know if you have any further questions or concerns and I hope that this issue will be resolved.

Thank you,

Gabriel N****

Matt Mertz Plumbing, Inc.

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Matt Mertz Plumbing Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart