Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Kennihan Plumbing & Heating

Additional Locations

Phone: (724) 898-2587 Fax: (724) 898-3310 View Additional Phone Numbers 530 Steiner Bridge Rd, Valencia, PA 16059 http://www.kennihans.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers heating & plumbing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kennihan Plumbing & Heating meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kennihan Plumbing & Heating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Kennihan Plumbing & Heating
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1980 Business started: 01/01/1969
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA007817.

Business Management
Mr. William P Kennihan, President Mr. Bill Kennihan, VP Mrs. Patricia Kennihan, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William P Kennihan, President
Business Category

PLUMBING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING WATER HEATERS-REPAIRING HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING GARBAGE DISPOSALS-HOUSEHOLD WATER HEATERS-DEALERS BATHS PIPE THAWING

Alternate Business Names
Kennihan Plumbing, Heating & Cooling
Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Heating & Cooling Home Improvements - Plumbing Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 1185 Pittsburgh Rd

    Valencia, PA 16059 (724) 898-2587

  • 530 Steiner Bridge Rd

    Valencia, PA 16059 (724) 898-2587

  • 530 Steiner Road

    Valencia, PA 16059 (724) 898-2587

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Improper workmanship.

Desired Settlement: Refund to me $150 for work that I needed to perform to complete the job that they said was done by their workers.

Consumer Response: This was a 2 hour job that entailed cutting 3 holes in the roof and extending 3 vent pipes out through the roof.  The work crew did not clean up the debris off of the roof or out of my second story gutters.  They allowed debris to fall off my second story roof onto my first story roof.  That debris rolled into my first story gutters which they did not clean out either.  They did not install fasteners in two of the roof vents onto of my shingles.  I had to install four screws into 2 roof vents and silicone seal them.  This was all done on a second story 8/12 pitch roof which was dangerous, to say the least.  Rain was forecast for that evening so the proper completion could not be put off.  I did it myself or the shingles, nails and wood in my gutter was going to wash into my downspouts and possibly plug them up.  I have pictures to show all of this if you want to see them.  I have sent these pictures to Kennihan along with a letter, thoroughly discussing the problem and requesting reimbursement for my work involved.   Bill ******** has chosen to ignore me in spite of the fact that his company performed the job improperly.

Business Response:

Kennihan Plumbing and Heating Inc

530 Steiner bridge Road - Valencia, PA 16059

ID ******** **** ****** *** ******** ** ******* ** *****

Original Invoice was #****** (enclose) was a quoted price of $2490,00. After the job was done customer called screaming, l gave him a discount charging him $2000,00. Now he Is disputing another $150.00, l have already reduced payment by $490.00.1 find no need to reduce the invoice anymore. At some point he says he was not given a quote. It may not have been a written quote but It was verbal.

I do not feel that my company or the sub contractor that actually did the final on the flashings did anything unprofessional or wrong. The debris in gutters was existing. Customer also states that he took it upon himself to install screws In the bottom flashings which voids the warranty from the shingle manufacturer. The subcontractor that was used by this company is a "Select" Shingle Master with ******* ****, You may call any professional roofing company and they will tell you that you never put screws or nails on exposed flashing, It will leak over time.

We had two service techs at the job. There were three aluminum duct work vents and Insulation around the piping to prevent them from sweating. The sub contractor who did the roof flashings is a professional and we did not want to tackle voiding any warranties. And yes to the customers own admission it was and is a high roof. There Is Insurance, wages, truck and gas wear and tear not to mention the materials and all the training costs and dues and licenses that any ************ Corp. pays today.

Please let us know If there Is anything you feel is out of the ordinary here. All paperwork concerning the job Is signed properly. Thank you.

Sincerely,  

** ** ********

attachments 3

Consumer Response:  

No, I do not accept Mr. ********’s response.  At this time I will respond, paragraph by paragraph to his response to my complaint.

Paragraph One:  Mr. ******** states that he quoted a price of $2490.  That is false.  Mr. ******** never “quoted” a price even though I asked him for one the very first day I called him about my job.  Mr. ******** simply submitted a bill for payment after the job was completed.  Mr. ******** states in his last sentence that he submitted a verbal quote to me which he knows cannot be proven.  His lack of business integrity in making this false statement is very disappointing to me.  I am a small business owner myself and have worked for 8,000 people over forty-one years. ********’s actions in this matter are an affront to everything I stand for and everything that a business should be delivering to its customers.  Honesty and integrity are paramount.  My company has never had a complaint registered against it with the Better Business Bureau.

Paragraph Two:  I own a home improvement company and I called my roofing and vent supplier.  The ridiculous claims by Mr. ******** are false again.  Screws are expected to be installed in the vents.  That is why they have factory drilled holes in them.  Also, Mr. ******** never informed me until after the job was done that he used a roofing subcontractor.  This is in clear violation of state law.  The “Select” shingle master roofing subcontractor that ******** used to do the work on my home pounded two nails into the bottom edge of a third vent he installed for my kitchen fan.  He did seal them with silicone but by Mr. ********’s own claims, he then is responsible for voiding the warranty on my roof.

Mr. ********’s statement, “The debris in gutters was existing” is priceless.  I sent him six pictures with my original complaint letter.  They clearly show the immaculately clean gutters except for the hunks of wood, shingles, granules, felt paper, new shiny nails, etc. that ********’s subcontractor left there.  I have blown out all my gutters twice a year with a leaf blower – November and June – for 35 years.  The pictures clearly show the spotless, shiny metal interiors of the gutter except for the new work debris.  I am happy to share those pictures with anyone who wants to view them.  I am happy to submit those pictures to the BBB so they can accompany this complaint.

Paragraph Three:  Time is money and my time is just as valuable as ********’s.  In regards to “taxes, insurance, gas, vehicles…” everyone has those expenses, even the common man.

This is a simple complaint about poor quality workmanship and my time and materials needed to finish ********’s job.   The $150.00 I requested to complete their work was a reasonable request.  Legal action concerning this poor quality work and Mr. ********’s refusal to accept financial responsibility for it is still very much in consideration.

I am outraged at Mr. ********’s unprofessional actions of trying to transfer blame to the customer.  I will continue to tell people about my experience with this company until this matter is settled in a satisfactory manner.

Business Response:

Kennihan Plumbing and Heating Inc

530 Steiner Bridge Road - Valencia, PA 16059

ID ******** **** ****** *** ******** *** ******* ** *****

Paragraph One: Not quite sure how to respond. Not sure If Mr. ****** feels we did not give him a quote why he had us do the Job. We too have a good record with the BBB and answer any complaints we receive, Mr, ****** signed the work authorization and should not have If he felt we didn't answer all of his questions or hired us (copy attached).

Paragraph Two: Really confused If Mr. ****** owns a home Improvement company and has a roofing and vent supplier why he called or hired us to do the work, I took the time to look at his web site and he offers roofing services? We offer a variety of services and sometimes use sub contractors to compliment these services (things that we do not have a person or persons with the expertise to do a good job for the customer). I will check with our lawyer as to the state law and make any necessary disclaimers or changes as required by law. I am unable to prove or dispute Mr. ******** claims concerning nails into the bottom edge of a third vent etc., without coming back to the Job site with the sub contractor and proving or disproving this point, I looked at the pictures and did not see any excessive debris. Most gutters have some debris. My guess would be if it wasn't debris it would have been cost of the water to clean the gutters.

Paragraph Three: It appears that even though I already reduced the Invoice In question by $490.00 that still isn’t enough to satisfy Mr. ******. We do all of our jobs the best possible. I have enclosed the Roofers card and the fact that he Is a "Select" Shingle Master with ******* ****.

William P, Kennihan, President

Consumer Response:  

July 29, 2015

 

Re:  ID ********

 

I do not like playing games, and I am real tired of Bill ********’s game playing.  He obviously is a master at avoidance, so I am going to state this simply again.

1.       I asked Bill ******** for a price on my job the first day I called to see if he would do it.

2.      He never submitted a price to myself or my wife until after the work was done.

3.      Our signatures on the invoice came after the work was done – my wife’s right after and mine an hour and a half later.

4.      The work on my roof was unsatisfactory and I presented pictures to ******** to prove it which I am now forwarding to the BBB as well.  I did not go up on my roof to inspect the work until later that evening.  I secured my vents with screws and sealed the heads like ******** should have.  I cleaned the debris out of my first story and second story gutters.  I cleaned the debris off my second story roof.  I submitted a bill for $150.00 to ******** for my time and materials; screws and caulking.

Anything else stated by Bill ******** is false and he is doing a masterful job of trying to avoid responsibility for this entire fiasco.

As to his latest verbiage addressing my rebuttal:

Paragraph One:  I gave him the job because I trusted him to charge me a fair price and do good quality work.  It was a case of one businessman trusting another.  He grossly violated that trust on both counts.

Mr. ******** states he has a good record with the BBB.  He has complaints against him!! I’m not the first one to complain.  Why didn’t you divulge in your statement how many complaints you’ve had in the last forty years, Bill??  Bill ******** was not truthful when he said they answer any complaints they receive.  I wrote him a letter which he never answered.

I guess Mr. ******** believes if I signed an “Emergency Work Authorization” to commence work on my home (which is not even the type of work ******** was doing) then I deserve whatever he feels like dishing out to me.  From his own invoice and work order, you can clearly tell that no monetary numbers were written in until my wife submitted payment.

Paragraph Two:  I do work all the time for people who could have done it themselves and some of them have even done the work professionally in the past.  I didn’t realize I would have to justify why I hired a “professional” to do my work.  First I had no idea he was going to sub out any part of the job and, yes Bill, it is a violation of state law that you didn’t inform me of such.

I have talked with many of my own customers who hired this same work done by other heating/air conditioning companies and the same workers who worked inside the attic also cut the holes in the roof and installed the exhaust vents.  How was I to know that a “professional” company such as ******** would have to sub the work out?  If Mr. ******** had been honest in our initial conversation and told me that subs would be used, I would not have considered him for the job.

The rest of paragraph two is a joke and a poor attempt at trying to deflect blame.  I call on the BBB to post the pictures of my gutters and let the public decide for themselves whether they would want that same debris left in their gutters after ********’s “Select” Shingle Master roofing subcontractor worked on their roof.

Paragraph Three:  Why was this paragraph written? I quote their statement, “We do all of our jobs the best possible.”  Well, obviously you don’t and one only needs to look at my pictures to know that.  Before I ever complained to the BBB I sent those pictures to Bill ******** and got no response.

Until this matter is resolved, I will continue to tell people about my experience with ********.

 

Sincerely,

**** ** ******

9/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Kennihan Plumbing and Heating to clean my heating ducts, clean my furnace and a/c. They arrived and spent the whole day in my home. The heating ducts were cleaned to my satisfaction. However, my whole house ac unit, which had been working perfectly fine before they arrived, stopped functioning. They said that the coil was leaking freon and the line was cracked. Prior to their visit there was no visible signs of malfunction. After they left the ac unit and furnace blower stopped functioning and there was water leaking out of the furnace. They arrived the following day to check on it and said there was nothing they could do to fix it and that they had not damaged the unit during the service appointment. I was quoted two prices to fix it. 1. Check a/c coil $949.00 + freon (2lbs of freon costs $250 but the system could take more...and of course there would be more charges to repair or replace the coil; or 2. Replace the entire a/c unit estimated cost $4,000.00. It is clear that the unit was broken sometime during the duct cleaning and service inspection. My son is on ventilator support and my daughter and I suffer from asthma. The a/c unit is critical to our health.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to repair or replace the a/c unit that they damaged with no additional charges or fees.

Business Response:

CUSTOMERS STATEMENT OF PROBLEM IS THAT WE DID A WHOLE HOUSE DUCT CLEANING WITH A FURNACE & A/C INSPECTION. AS PER CUSTOMERS COMPLAINT THE DUCT CLEANING WAS DONE TO HER SATISFACTION. AT THE TIME OF THE FURNACE AND A/C INSPECTION WE FOUND THAT THE A/C WAS LOW ON FREON AND THE COIL WAS DIRTY. THE SERVICE TECH GAVE CUSTOMER PRICES ON REPAIR AND CLEANING AND ALSO REPLACEMENT. THE OFFICE SENT THE TECH BACK OUT AT NO CHARGE TO ACCESS THE PROBLEM AGAIN AND TALK WITH CUSTOMER. THE OFFICE ALSO MADE CONTACT WITH CUSTOMER AGAIN AND NO DECISION WAS MADE.

AFTER THE BBB COMPLAINT ARRIVED MR. ******** SPOKE WITH MS, ********* ON THE 22ND AT WHICH TIME SHE TOLD HIM THAT SHE HAD ANOTHER COMPANY COME IN AND THAT THEY DID THE EXACT THING WE HAD RECOMMENDED AND THAT EVERYTHING WAS WORKING AT THIS TIME.

ATTHIS TIME WE SEE NO SETTLEMENT NECESSARY AS OUR DIAGNOSIS WAS CORRECT AND MS ********* HAD WORK DONE BY SOMEONE ELSE.

12/30/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Furnace,Air Conditioner, and Humidifier from Kennihan on 02-18-2010 with a full 10 year parts and labor warranty. I recently had a issue with the furnace/humidifier on 12-03-2013 and Mr. Kennihan charged me a $125 non-refundable diagnosic charge to evaluate the problem. It turns out it's the control and solanoid with the humidifier and the aprts are covered and Mr. Kennihan stated his labor charge to replace these parts is $100.Mr. Kennihan is not honoring his sales agreement including warranty that he promised and committed to in our signed agreement.

Desired Settlement: I want to be reimbursed for my diagnostic charge of $125 that was paid today [12-03-2013] and I want Mr. Kennihan to honor his verbal and written sales and warranty agreement.

Business Response:

Response to guarantee or warranty issues:

Customer purchased a furnace, air conditioner, air cleaner, humidifier and various other services from us on 2-18-2010 as stated. There is a 10 yr parts and labor on the furnace and air conditioner as stated on the original contract between Mr. ***** and Kennihan Plg & Htg (KPH). Copy enclosed.

The contract reads (also enclosed) that the customers responsible for the costs of any service call requested to demonstrate or confirm the proper operation of the product (s). Mr. ***** was told ail of this up front before we ever made the appt. for service. In fact Mr. Kennihan spent a very long time on the phone explaining ail of this to Mr. *****.

The furnace is not the issue; although maintenance should be done on it (this is not covered with ***** 10 year warranty). Mr. ***** has not had any maintenance performed. When the service tech arrived he could not find the noise that was what the initial service was for. After working with Mr. *****'s it was determined that the noise he was hearing was caused by the humidifier coming on. In the service tech's continued investigation he decided that most likely the humidifier control may be faulty. While KPH is able to obtain a replacement part under warranty from the humidifier manufacturer there is no labor allowance for this part, it is not a part of the furnace or air conditioner (or a necessary component to make the furnace work).

We have quoted Mr. ***** $100.00 (that is for labor and travel only) to come back out and replace the valve if he so choses to have us do this work for him. it is also recommended that routine service be done.

So in response to customers desired settlement we are honoring our sales agreement and warranty agreement (again copies enclosed) and there is no reason for us to return the non-refundable diagnostic charge as it is mentioned in the purchaser's responsibilities as well as having been informed before an appointment was made. In closing, please note again that there has been maintenance on this unit for almost 3 years and that the humidifier filter pad needs changed once a year.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Kennihan Plumbing & Heating
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart