This business is not BBB accredited.

George Winston Co Inc

Phone: (814) 454-0752 Fax: (814) 456-7099 832 W 12th St, PO Box 429, Erie, PA 16512 http://georgewinstonplumbing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides plumbing, heating and air conditioning services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for George Winston Co Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for George Winston Co Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on George Winston Co Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 09, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1911
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA061409.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard G Winston, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard G Winston, Owner
Business Category

PLUMBING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING WATER HEATERS-REPAIRING HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING GARBAGE DISPOSALS-HOUSEHOLD WATER HEATERS-DEALERS BATHS PIPE THAWING

Alternate Business Names
Winston, George Co Inc
Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Heating & Cooling Home Improvements - Plumbing Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    832 W 12th St, PO Box 429

    Erie, PA 16512 (814) 454-0752

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were charged two times for the same service. It was to disconnect the AC as we had work done on foundation, couldn't restart the AC until construction was done, when we attempted to start the AC it did not work and had to call them to come back to fix it again. They charged us again for coming back to fix something they should have fixed the first time.

2/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A service call was made to Mr ******* to find problem with a furnace not producing heat in my rental property.The bill will be roughly $90.00 for this service call.They showed up on time and troubleshot the problem.AND repaired it with a new price tag of $596.00.The work was never authorized by me to make this repair nor discussed what this will cost me.Since then their collection attempts have been to show up at my rental property to ask my whereabouts and I need to take care of this bill.I have had talks with Mr. ******* about this and have reluctantly agreed to make payments of $50 for the unauthorized work just to keep peace.Since those payments,each payment, has a fee of $30.25 leaving $29.75 toward my bill. Each statement comes with an attached note/threat of what can happen to my credit report if I choose not to pay.I am now fed up and am filing this claim as I should have in the beginning for the unauthorized work in the first place.

Desired Settlement: Bill settlement,agreed amount to pay in full to settle the problem for the both of us.

10/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company contacted to examine a leak of water onto the boiler- a slight amount of water coming down the exhaust vent and dripping onto the boiler itself.The 2 techs came out on 06/20/14 and I showed 1 tech the water splatter on the boiler and the stain on the outside of the outer vent pipe above the boiler. This took about 5 minutes.This tech and his assistant then went onto the roof and inspected the exhaust vent and flashing and he also looked inside the vent pipe. I assume he took the cap off. This took 10 to 15 min I suppose.Techs came down and suggested they re-tar the flashing and if the problem persists- then replace the vent pipe and cap at a later date. I thought that was a reasonable approach.The techs did not have the tar-in-a-tube with them and they told me they would go have lunch and get a tube on the way back from lunch and re-tar the flashing. **** **** ****** is 6 blocks away & I assume they got the tar there.Techs were gone about 35 to 45 minutes for lunch and returned and went on the roof and recaulked the vent flashing with the tar. I'm guessing that took ten to 15 minutes.My total time estimate is 30 to 40 minutes. Bill came in for $190.50 for the labor and $7.99 for the tar.I was shocked to see a bill for $190.50 for a 30 to 40 minute minor service call- in this market.I did pay the bill promptly, but noted "Wow-Switching to a competitor for future needs." on the invoice. I calculate $381.00/hour for the labor rate if the techs were here for a half hour. Less if they were here 40 minutes.I'm unsure if I was being charged for their lunch time. If so, I don't feel that's my responsibility.I called the company today to have the charge reviewed by Mr. *******. A gentleman took the information and assured me that he'd pass it onto Mr. ******* for his review and that the owner would contact me after reviewing the matter. I didn't hear from the company today- perhaps I will in the coming days.

Desired Settlement: A review of actual job time and investigate if I was charged for the time the techs were at lunch. If so, I don't feel those charges are reasonable. Frankly, I was expecting a $75.00 to $100.00 labor charge for such a minor treatment. The roof has a very shallow pitch- not the least bit hazardous to get to the vent itself.If I was charged for the techs lunch time, then I'd appreciate a partial refund based on a reasonable estimate of actual time-on-the-job.Thank-you.