Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

George A. Bauer Plumbing Inc

Phone: (412) 931-1050 Fax: (412) 931-1055 400 Jacks Run Rd, Pittsburgh, PA 15202 http://www.bauerplumbingpgh.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a plumbing contractor.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that George A. Bauer Plumbing Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for George A. Bauer Plumbing Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on George A. Bauer Plumbing Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 27, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA003043.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. George A. Bauer, President Mrs. Patricia Bauer, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George A. Bauer, President
Business Category

PLUMBING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING WATER HEATERS-REPAIRING GARBAGE DISPOSALS-HOUSEHOLD WATER HEATERS-DEALERS BATHS PIPE THAWING

Alternate Business Names
Bauer, George A Plumbing Inc
Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Plumbing Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 400 Jacks Run Rd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15202 (412) 931-1050

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: May 16 (6 days ago) to bauerplumbing On April 17 my daughter had a plumber to clean her backed up sewage drain at her house, *** *** ******* *********** ** ***** and preform a camera inspection. The charge for both was $89 and they provided a written quotation to fix the problem. They quoted $6500 to fix the problem by breaking up the basement floor cement and replacing the house line.I called you on May 4th and told you the above information. Since it was a lot of money I wanted a 2nd opinion. I ask what it would cost for you to come camera the line and give me a written quotation to fix the problem and you said $100.00. On May 7th two of your men showed up for the appointment and the first thing they did was unload the hydrojet machine from the van and set it up. They then set up the camera. It was obvious that they intended to clean out the line again prior to the inspection. I thought this was standard procedure since they did not mention any additional cost even though it had just been cleaned out 3 weeks prior. They finished both and we waited about 45 minutes for you to show up. You then said it would be at least $10,000 to fix the problem which was out front in the yard to the street which required the line to be replaced. You man then give me a bill for $375.00 and I told you that you said $100 and you immediately changed the bill to $250.00. Even though I thought I was being ripped off I wrote you a check for the $250.I have ask you twice to provide the written quotation to fix the problem as you described and you have not responded. I have received nothing for the money I give you so I want you to refund my$250. Please make out the check to ******* ******* and mail to *** **** *** *** ******* ** *****.If you do not respond to this request I will file a complaint with the Pittsburgh Better Business Bureau and ******* *****

Desired Settlement: Since I received nothing for the money I paid I want a full refund

Business Response:

GEORGE A. BAUER PLUMBING CO., INC.
*** ***** *** ***** ****
*********** ** *****
###-###-####

ALLEGHENY COUNTY HEALTH PERMIT #2674
PA CONTRACTOR’S REGISTRATION #PA003043
WEBSITE: ********************
****** ***************************

July 8, 2015

******** ****

Better Business Bureau

400 Holiday Drive, Suite 220

Pittsburgh, PA 15220

Subject: BBB Complaint ********

Dear Ms. ****:

in response to the above complaint, ******* ******* contacted my company and advised he had a problem with his daughter's interior sewer and would like us to utilize a camera on it. At the time of the call, he only wanted the camera. We dispatched a journeyman plumber and an apprentice to *** ***** ****** ** ***********

Upon the normal routine of filling up the plumbing system, our men discovered the problem was not with the interior sewer as was originally diagnosed with the first plumber but that it was with the exterior sewer. They advised Mr, ******* that we could not use the camera on a clogged sewer because all you get Is a black picture. Our men told him that the sewer would have to first be unclogged to get a picture and that it would be at an additional cost. We advised him that we could not quote an exact cost because we did not know what was causing the problem. Mr. ******* told my plumbers to continue to locate the problem.

After opening the exterior sewer line and then using the camera; we located two separate problems which was a backward fall and a broken fitting, Our men worked for 3 hours and 45 minutes in order to get to the root of the problem. Upon completion, we gave him the bill for $375.00. This amount is not excessive for two plumbers using a hydrojet machine, a camera and the labor charge, Mr. ******* lost his temper and stated we were ripping him off.

My plumbers contacted me and filled me in on the situation, I went to the work site and spoke to Mr. ******* and told him that the original plumber misdiagnosed the problem and that there was additional work involved to locate the problem resulting in the $375.00 charge. Once again, he was advised we were unable to give him an exact cost before we attempted to locate the problem. He refused to pay us for our time and work performed so he and I compromised on a $250.00 bill.

I have gone above and beyond to satisfy this customer and $250.00 is well below the normal for the work completed. 

Sincerely,

****** ** *****

Register Master Plumber

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
I told Mr ***** that the sewer line had just been cleaned and wanted a 2nd opinion and ask what he would charge for a camera inspection. He said total of $100. His men DID NOT advise me that their would additional cost! I had to pay $250 on the spot to him even though he said $100. He did do the camera inspection so I did authorize that so I am willing to accept a refund of the difference which is $150.


Regards,

******* *******

3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** came gave estimate for new toilet and bathroom faucet at $800.00, his brother came and did the work and charge me $1300 CASH that I paid. Now the faucet is leaking and not only did ****** swear at me, he hung up. I willl not let them back in my home at this point to fix this leaky faucet. I refuse to let anyone in my home that is going to swear at me like this, unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I would like to think that noboby would call these ignorant nasty disrespectful men!!!

Business Response:

In response to your letter, ***** Plumbing did install an ******** ******** water closet and a **** faucet for this customer on November 13, 2014. Both are of high quality. The customer failed to say that the flange and pipes under her existing water closet were broken and required additional work. This was the cause for the additional charge,

On January 9, 2015 the faucet began to drip which was caused by a factory part. The drip was not a result of the installation. Since the parts are guaranteed for life because of a better quality, I asked the customer to mail the warranty card and the request was refused. At this time, I filled out the warranty card myself and mailed it. 1 advised that she would have to wait for them to receive the card before they would mail the parts.

The customer called on January 26th and I told her I did not receive the part yet. On February 3rd, customer phoned and I again advised her that they did not mail the part yet, She phoned again on February 9th and I told her that I still did not receive it. The customer became extremely angry and began to scream and slammed the telephone down. About two minutes later, she phoned again and screamed that she was going to call the police and the union and that she would do everything she could to ruin me. I was not going to have words with this irate customer and just hung up the phone. She phoned again approximately five minutes later and continued to rant, i told her in a loud voice that if she continued to call me that day, I would call the police and report her for harassment.

On February 19th, I phoned the customer and left a message on her answering machine that I had received the part. On February 20th, she phoned my answering service and asked that we leave the part in her mail box. We left it in her mail box at approximately 1:00 p.m. that day.

I have been in business for over 30 years and have never dealt with a customer such as this. In her report, she said I swore at her but I did not swear at her. I have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau and am a three time super award winner with ******* ****. I am well aware of how to treat the customer with respect. This all could have been avoided if she would have just mailed in the warranty card when she should have.

Sincerely,

****** ** *****

Registered Master Plumber

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,
****** *********