BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Frew Plumbing & Heating & AC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers plumbing heating air conditioning and kitchen and bath remodeling.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Frew Plumbing & Heating & AC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Frew Plumbing & Heating & AC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 1986 Business started: 04/01/1925 in PA Business incorporated: 02/01/1975 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is 003115.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James M Frew, Owner Mr. Michael P Buckley, Sales & Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Michael P Buckley, Sales & Marketing Manager
Principal: Mr. James M Frew, Owner
Business Category

PLUMBING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING SEPTIC TANKS & SYSTEMS CONTRACTORS & DEALERS WATER HEATERS-REPAIRING HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING GARBAGE DISPOSALS-HOUSEHOLD WATER HEATERS-DEALERS BATHS PIPE THAWING

Products & Services

Frew Plumbing & Heating & AC sells the following brand(s): American Standard, Moen , Rheem, Trane

Frew Plumbing & Heating & AC offers the following product(s): Air Conditioning, Boilers , Furnaces, Hot Water Heaters

Method(s) of Payment
Financing Available for Qualified Candidates
Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Heating & Cooling Home Improvements - Plumbing Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 8315 Ohio River Blvd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15202 (412) 364-6964 (412) 262-3071 (412) 761-5711

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (412) 262-3071(Phone)
  • (412) 364-6964(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Frew to give me an estimate on what it would take to repair my furnace in January 2011 at my primary residence. They came and told me that they could order a part, and it would be here "in a day or two" and that they "would call me ... with the price" - several phone calls and weeks later, they still had no part, and I had to go elsewhere to have the unit operable. Then in March of 2011, I get invoice #****** for $125.00, and begin to make phone calls, send letters - all with no resolution; phone calls were screened("no one is here that can help you now"), letters ignored and faxes directly sent to the owner were not even acknowledged.Now, in February of 2014, phone calls and a document from a collection agency attempting to collect that $125 have been received. This $125 fee has been paid in full to the collection agency operating on Frew's behalf.My complaint is that this fee/charge was not disclosed to the consumer prior to the service call being fulfilled.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the full amount of $125 refunded to me please.

Business Response:

My tech visited the site and performed service on Mr. ******** furnace on 1/14/11 the invoice reflects the time and experience of the tech to diagnosis and access the furnace, it was found the furnace had an intermittent problem and needed a new board,

Unfortunately the manufacturer of the furnace is no longer in business. The tech researched local distributors to locate the proper board for the furnace. However the local distributor was unable to locate the part. Mr. ****** indicated that he located the part but i am sure it is not an O.E.M. part. When we did locate the O.E.M. board we contacted Mr. ****** left a message with a price including the previous service charge and diagnostic charge of $574.40 installed price. Call was made 1/31/11, Mr. ****** never returned the call.

Enclosed you will find a copy of the work order ******. Note there is not any indication in the job description for a price. Mr, ****** only ask for a price after we diagnosed the problem.

My desired settlement would be that we keep the $125.00 payment for the services rendered. Being Mr. ****** never returned our phone call and found the board from another distributor. I can only assume he installed the part himself.

Consumer Response:

Thank you for taking the time to review all of this: I sincerely appreciate your dedication and assistance!

I would like to begin by asking you kindly to review several items found on Mr. ****’s reply dated March 11th please:

1.      The first call to the company went out on January 4th, 2011, as viewed on his work order #****** – and not January 14th, as described in his reply, as follows:

‘My tech visited the site and performed service on Mr. ******'s furnace on 1/14/11’

                While this may sound like “splitting hairs”, it really is an important part to the entire issue here:  being that the facts are initial visit 01/04/2011, locating the part & calling on 01/31/2011 (nearly 20 business days later), and I found the actual O.E.M. part and bought it in one business day.

2.      The reason this request went out to begin with was for an estimate of the work to be completed – as clearly typed out and documented specifically on the work order, I knew what the problem was and that the parts needed to be replaced; my goal was to get an estimate of the cost of the repair.

 

3.      Furthermore, I had other competitor companies that provide the same “estimating” service indicate that this service – the “estimating” part of it – would be performed at no charge, and, even more importantly, told me where I could locate and buy this part locally – a 75-year-old, locally-owned & managed distributor: here are the specifics…

By simply going to the manufacturer’s (**********’s) website – at ****************** and clicking on “dealer/service locater”, you can type in your zip code and find this:

 

*** ****** ********** *** ****

 

**** **** **** ********** * ** ***** ***** ** ************ ******** **** *** 

 

So I did exactly what was recommended – go to the distributor (that’s recommended by the manufacturer AND sells the manufacturers’ O.E.M. parts!) and get what I need.  So when I am there speaking with **** – the manager – I ask him about his relationship with **** and why someone wouldn’t just simply call *** ********, buy the part and so on…there was a long pause, and **** stated that he “can’t comment” on that matter.

 

Once again, I thank you *** for all of your help!

**** ******

 

 

 

 

3/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In late December of 2012 we were having issues with our furnace in our home. We called Frew, who had inspected the furnace at our request in August of the same year and given it a clean bill of health. Their tech came to our home and started a weeks worth of work changing a variety of parts on the furnace. During the week, we were left with a cold house for our 2 year old daughters, spending some of the nights staying with family. After the fourth round of service, I called another company for a second opinion. Almost immediately the tech from the new company diagnosed the furnace as having a cracked heat exchange, fatal damage for a furnace. We called Frew immediately and told them of the new company's findings and they sent a tech to confirm, which they did right away. At that point we had received a bill from Frew in the amount of almost $1600. They told us we could use that bill toward a new furnace, but at this point we no longer trusted them to do any work for us. We had the company who properly diagnosed the furnace replace the one with the cracked heat exchange. At that time we began reaching out to the owner, Jim Frew to discuss the bills we kept getting. For almost a year, we heard nothing. In December we received another bill for the original $1600 of work done on the furnace that could not be fixed. I called and spoke to the receptionist who told us they wanted the parts back and we would call it even. Unfortunately the parts are in a landfill with the furnace they couldn't fix. They then sent us a bill for just the parts, almost $400. The company and the owner should have called, apologized for their incompetence, the inconvenience to my family and I and moved on. Instead, they spent a year sending us bills for work that should never have been done. Do they usually charge people for work they do on furnaces that cannot be fixed?

Desired Settlement: We would like the entirety of the total due to be wiped out by Frew. While in the end the week of a house with no heat was awful for my family and I,we are not looking for compensation for it. We just do not want to pay for work done to a furnace that cannot be fixed.

Business Response:

Per review of Mr. ******** statement I submit the following account as per our recorders.

My tech visited the site and performed service on the *********/****** furnace on three separate occasions. 12/31/12,1/1/13,1/2/13. So first of all it was not weeks worth of changing parts. Secondly the controls on this furnace are electronic and had been subjected to water damage during the summer from air conditioning. The pressure switch was checked in order to eliminate the possibility of a heat exchanger problem. With the pressure switch out of the circuit the furnace operation was still erratic. The next course of action would be to replace the water damaged components. That job was completed and the furnace was made operational.

The second call upon return found the pressure switch stuck and full of water, this switch was checked first on the onset of the project and was operational without any water present.

Replaced switch started furnace ten times to make sure furnace was operational. Furnace lit all ten times with normal operation.

The third and final call was that the furnace would not make over 64 degrees. Replaced thermostat furnace resumed normal operation.

!n conclusion you cannot test a 90+ heat exchanger with water damaged controls that will not let the furnace operate. You replace the damaged controls and check operation. The furnace operated after making the necessary changes. There was no carbon monoxide nor water leakage on the secondary heat exchanger at the time. Unfortunately upon setting the furnace up properly and making it function failed the old heat exchanger.

It is very easy to second guess someone after the fact.! offered to reduce the furnace cost by $1600.00.1 am sure they did not get a $1600.00 discount from the company that installed their new furnace. I feel it is only fair that they return the controls that we installed or pay for them.

It's hard to believe that they through the thermostat away also. It is also hard to believe that

the installing company through the controls away knowing what they cost and that they were new.
 
 

My desired settlement would be return the controls or pay discounted price $295,16.

3/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service