Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Budget Pest Control Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 898-9908 Fax: (412) 922-0844 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 99971, Pittsburgh, PA 15233 http://www.budgetpestcontrolpgh.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pest control services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Budget Pest Control Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Budget Pest Control Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Budget Pest Control Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 29, 1994 Business started: 11/01/1988 in PA Business incorporated 12/17/2004 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Agriculture (PA)
2301 North Cameron Street, Harrisburg PA 17110
http://www.agriculture.state.pa.us
Phone Number: (717) 787-4737
aginfo@state.pa.us
The number is 32-69918.

Business Management
Mr. Michael J Kirik, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael J Kirik, Owner
Business Category

PEST CONTROL SERVICES INSECTICIDES ANIMALS - NUISANCE CONTROL - TRAPPING FUMIGATION SERVICES TERMITE CONTROL BED BUG REMOVAL LICE REMOVAL/PROTECTION SERVICES MOSQUITO CONTROL MOTHPROOFING


Additional Locations

  • 211 Pineview Dr

    Wexford, PA 15090

  • PO Box 99971

    Pittsburgh, PA 15233

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Feb. 17 We received carpenter ant treatment inside our house but were concerned about spraying the exterior where fruit trees grow against our home's foundation. The tech assured us he would be careful. When he finished, I gave him a credit card, & signed a form which I assumed was for the card authorization. The service included a 2-month warranty & wed get free follow-up treatment.April 14 We received follow-up treatment after seeing ants around April 5. We told the tech "no spraying outside!", because our yard was filled with birds & fruit trees were budding.June 30 I got a call at work from a tech outside my house to do a treatment. I hadnt scheduled a service and hadnt seen ants. He said to call back when I wanted another treatment. My wife came home and found a bill in the door for $63.13. We concluded the tech confused us with another client & there was a misunderstanding.Afterwards I got 2 calls from a Rep to schedule a treatment. Both times, I told him wed call when we needed one. August 2 My wife came home & found a bill in the mail for $63.13. We assumed the bill was a duplicate from June 30 & was a billing error.September 6 My wife found a bill stuck in the door for $189.39. This was getting weird. She called Budget and spoke with **** who said a tech had serviced our home that day. My wife said that was impossible because no one was home. **** said the bill was for servicing the exterior on 3 separate occasions, after we signed up for the Regular Service. My wife insisted we never signed for that and never authorized spraying our homes exterior. **** said we received the treatment & it must be paid.At one point, my neighbor said he noticed the Budget truck, saw the tech knock on the door, return to his truck, and then stick a paper in the door. He never saw him spray anything. So, our blackberries, strawberries, tomatoes, basil, and peaches that were growing were either contaminated or they didnt provide the service they stated.

Desired Settlement: Settle bill in full.

Business Response:

In response to the complaint filed by Mr. ***** *******, our records indicate that service was initially provided to him to treat for general crawling insects, specifically carpenter ants in February 2013.  Budget Pest Control's technician, **** ****** provided them with this service and proceeded to sign them up for our regular service program per their request. 

Our procedure for our regular service is this:  If a customer signs up for regular service, we contact them for their very first appointment to explain our program.  It is very important to have us come out every two months to keep their home protected and under warranty as the treatment starts to break down after the two-month mark.  We contacted the ******** via the phone number they provided on April 19th at 12:49 pm where we explained in detail how we provide our regular service and told them exactly when we would be out to service them and did this for all subsequent appointments.  If we do not get ahold of our customers after one week's time, we automatically place them in our schedule, but do leave a detailed voice message.  We left messages for them each time we serviced letting them know exactly what day and time frame we would be there.

Due to the type of treatment we provide, we are able to service exterior only to help keep our valuable customers protected from their pests.  Our customers are able to cancel services at any time as we do not have contracts.  All they have to do is call the office and state they want to cancel services.  We have no record of the ********* cancellation and we ultimately had to cancel their service due to non-payment. We leave work orders for our clients at their homes after each service letting them know that we provided the service.  The ******** admit to receiving the work orders three times but did not contact the office to cancel services or ask about any "billing errors." They received six months worth of protection and warranties for carpenter ant and general crawling insect treatment and did not pay Budget Pest Control, Inc. the $189.39 they owed.  

When we treat the outside, we only treat along the foundation of the home.  We do not treat plant material, nor is the product we use an airborne application.  It is a controlled treatment that does not go into the air and affect trees, birds or any other living creature.  The tech that did the initial service was the one that did all subsequent appointments, minus the final.  Our technicians are registered and thoroughly trained and know exactly where treatment needs to be applied. 

To assist this customer, in good faith, we offered him $63.13 off of his account and will still honor this.  He stated he would think about this and get back with us. 

 

Consumer Response:

We never spoke with anyone from Budget on April 19 about the regular service or who gave us a detailed explanation about the service.
 

 

On at least two occasions, I spoke with a Budget employee and told them that we would call them when we wanted another treatment: I spoke with ****** at least once when he called to schedule an appointment, I did not schedule any appointment and told him that we would call when we wanted them to retreat the house.  He said nothing about us having signed up for regular service, I believed my business with Budget was concluded, and did not expect any further calls from Budget.  We had previous experience with Budget for a treatment at our parent’s home and following that, we received repeated follow-up sales calls.  Each time, we stated that we didn’t need any further treatments, and no service tech every came to their house.  We believed that we were just receiving the same kind of routine follow-up sales calls as with our parents.

Subsequent to that conversation, a Budget Technician called me at work and said that he was outside my house wanted to do a treatment.  I was dumbfounded, I told him that I hadn’t scheduled an appointment, didn’t know why he was there, and again told him that we’d call when we wanted a retreatment.

On the follow-up to our initial treatment, which we immediately paid in full, we specifically stated our concerns about spraying around the foundation, specifically instructed the technician not to spray, and he complied.  Regardless of what Budget believes about their insecticide, this is our property and our house, and was absolutely our right to decline this treatment.  Given this event, Budget Pest Control had no right to spray our foundation without our consent.

Because on at least two occasions we spoke with Budget, with no mention of regular service, not scheduling an appointment, and saying that we would contact them when we wanted a retreatment, we offered to pay for one service call as a goodwill gesture.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Business Response:

Although we do not understand how Mr. ******* could incur three treatments without notifying the office about these charges, or to cancel the service he signed up for, we will accept his payment of $63.13 to get this issue resolved. 

Thank you very much for your time.

Best Regards,

Budget Pest Control, Inc.

###-###-####

7/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a bill for two service calls that were not authorized. Budget is claiming a service man came to my house and performed a service. As the service would involve coming into my home to perform an inspection and there was no one home on either date, I don't see how a complete service could have been performed. They are claiming they provided an outdoor service. No one was home to witness any service being provided.

Desired Settlement: Ideally, I would like the charges zeroed out as I cannot verify that any service was provided. I have paid for services rendered when I was present at house and had authorized service person to come into my home.

Business Response:

Dear BBB of Western Pennsylvania, 

Aforementioned customer called on June 13, 2013 and spoke with Office Manager of Budget Pest Control, Inc.  Since October 2, 2012 customer has been enrolled in our Regular Service Program. We service every two months to keep the customers property protected. We service the exterior, or if the customer would like we service the interior and exterior. The price remains the same either way, as long as the services occur in two month intervals. Customer can cancel service at anytime. A verbal or written statement is all that is needed to cancel services.  

The customer stated that she is not going to pay for the two services and will ‘fire us’ if I refuse to remove the charges. I explained to her that we keep records of our calls, and we called and left a message on her voicemail on 5/28, 6/1,  6/2,  6/3,  6/4, And on 6/6 left a detailed message stating we would be out on 6/10 between 4-6p to perform a service on the exterior to keep the property protected and if wanted to have interior service also to call us and we can adjust the appointment or do the interior anytime during the two months after. We arrived at 4:41p and finished the service at 4:58p   In April 2013 she returned our two messages left and scheduled interior and exterior that service. In February 2013 we called and left a message on her voicemail on 2/5, 2/7, 2/9, 2/11, And on 2/13 left a detailed message stating we would be out on 2/18 between 4-6p to perform a service on the exterior to keep the property protected and if wanted to have interior service also to call us and we can adjust the appointment or do the interior anytime during the two months after. We arrived at 3:58p and finished the service at 4:19p. This call and complaint on June 13 was the first time we have heard from the customer expressing dissatisfaction on our services.  

Not only do we feel we have satisfied the terms of agreement but we feel we have went above and beyond by offering to come back out to customers property at no charge to do interior service.

Thank you,

******* ** *****

President

Budget Pest Control, Inc.

Consumer Response:

The problem I was having in my house involved animals getting into the attic.  I have a wooded lot, the animals climb the trees and drop onto the roof and get into my attic.  The ground treatment will not prevent this.  I also take exception to the voice mail messages, the February matter in particular.  There was not even a bill left in my door to show they were there in February.  No one should come to my house without my permission. 

I offered a compromise on the bill and paid half as payment in full as only exterior service was rendered.

Regards,

**** **********

 

 

Business Response:

Budget Pest Control, Inc. has reviewed the most recent response made by **** ***** *** ******* and also received a letter from her dated July 18, 2013.  

In response to her letter, we had mailed to her a letter (attached) to her on July 24, 2013.  

******* *******, at Budget Pest Control, Inc. also tried to contact (via a phone call to) **** ***** *** ******* on July 5th to follow-up with the letter to make sure that all issues have been met and resolved to her satisfaction.  We have not heard back from her as of today, July 8th.  

As far as we know and are concerned, both parties have come to a mutual resolution and understanding to the matter.  

Best Regards,

***********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Budget Pest Control Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)