BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania

This Business is not BBB accredited

Z's Driveway Maintenance Inc

Phone: (724) 510-5433 Fax: (724) 654-1698 1310 W Washington St, New Castle, PA 16101 http://zsdrivewaymaintenance.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Paving Contractors

BBB Accreditation

On 7/17/2014 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 1B. Fulfill all licensing and bonding requirements of applicable jurisdictions; provide all license and bonding information upon application for BBB accreditation; and provide periodic updates upon request of BBB.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Z's Driveway Maintenance Inc include:

  • Failure to have a required competency license.
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business
  • BBB Accreditation was revoked because the business failed to honor its accreditation agreement with BBB.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 07, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2005 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA090915. On 7/21/2014 BBB confirmed that the license from Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors expired.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jarred Zarlingo, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jarred Zarlingo, Owner
Business Category

PAVING CONTRACTORS ASPHALT SEALING AND REJUVENATING SEALING - PAVEMENT DRIVEWAY INSTALLATION, PAVING & REPAIR

Industry Tips
Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1310 W Washington St

    New Castle, PA 16101

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a quotation to seal my drive way. I proceeded to have the work completed. Everything was completed on time and I was very happy with my initial dealings with Z's. I contacted no less than 10 companies to seal my drive way but Z's was the only one to call me back. My drive way is a rectangle (17x48) so its nothing complicated. It has a slight slope to it. When I got home from work to see my drive way sealed I was very disappointed. The job is sloppy. There are globs of tar, cracks not sealed, and many tar streaks in the drive way. There were black tar foot prints in my yards. It appeared that nobody sealing my drive way cared about the quality of work. To be honest, I get much better results using residential products from **** ****t and doing it myself. I sent Z's an email and left a voice mail to talk about the matter weeks ago - neither received a response. This does not seem standard practice to someone who advertises their "A+" BBB rating. It is embarrassing to have people think that I sealed my driveway so poorly. When I tell them that I actually paid for the poor job they laugh at me.In my opinion, my job was underbid and the workers were given instructions to get it done as fast as possible. I honestly have no idea what my resolution options are.

Desired Settlement: Can the driveway be re-sealed in the cooler weather or a refund check be issued?

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our driveway was initially paved by Zs on 09/05/13. A check for the payment ($5,690) was mailed 2 days later. We waited 2 weeks before calling because we tried to get used to the turnaround pad. But we cannot accept it. The turnaround pad that Zs Driveway created is not functional because the turning radius is too narrow. We called Zs on 09/18/13 to tell them that we were not happy with the turnaround pad. My husband **** ****** spoke with ****** or ******, we aren't sure which person. We were told that they would come out and correct the issue. We called 4-5 more times over the next month. Each time we were told that they would come out and correct the problem. The last time we called, **** left a message that was not returned. The last phone call was made around 10/12/13.The turnaround pad that Zs Driveway created is not functional because the turning radius is too narrow. You have to turn the steering wheel all the way to back up and then the front wheels go off the paved driveway, as you back up. Part of the pad needs to be filled in to make it easier to turn a car around.

Desired Settlement: We would like Zs to correct this problem at no additional cost. If they are unwilling to correct this problem I would like $350 returned to me. I will need to pay someone else to correct this error.

Business Response: I have spoken to ******** and her husband... about this issue... the layout of their driveway was understood by both of them...as I walked both of them thru the details of the dimensions...while bidding their job...and it was also painted out prior to paving it...i told both of them that because of the very large tree that it was going to be paved in the manner It was paved. i talked to both called and I explained to both of them and they both agreed that we cannot pave against the tree because of it lifting in the near future....it was also explained that I wld attempt to change what I could if I was in the area..and not incurring additional cost on myself being that it was paved correctly.. unfortunately a job I had near by cancelled until next year because of limited time and obvious end of the year weather concerns... if I'm in the area next year...I could stop by but only because they were customers not because it was a mistake... no one does anything for free!!!!

8/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service