This business is not BBB accredited.

Z's Driveway Maintenance Inc

Phone: (724) 510-5433 Fax: (724) 654-1698 1310 W Washington St, New Castle, PA 16101 http://zsdrivewaymaintenance.com ! There is an alert on Z's Driveway Maintenance Inc !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Paving Contractors


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

On April 29,2015,  BBB contacted the company regarding their misuse of the BBB name and/or logo. This business has falsely stated BBB accreditation (or membership) or referenced the BBB name in an unauthorized manner online, in their contracts and other advertisements, despite BBB’s efforts to get the business to cease using the BBB trademark. This use of the BBB trademark constitutes trademark infringement and is a violation of trademark rights of the Council of Better Business Bureaus, Inc. As of May 13, 2105,  the company has agreed to discontinue use of the BBB trademarks in their marketing and advertising.  We understand that the company has advertised in a directory that comes out once a year and is unable to pull that advertising but is pulling all other advertising possible including contracts, online ads, business cards etc. so that they are in compliance.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Z's Driveway Maintenance Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Unauthorized use of BBB name or trademarks

Factors that raised the rating for Z's Driveway Maintenance Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Z's Driveway Maintenance Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 07, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2005 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA090915. On 7/21/2014 BBB confirmed that the license from Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors expired.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jarred Zarlingo, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jarred Zarlingo, Owner
Business Category

PAVING CONTRACTORS ASPHALT SEALING AND REJUVENATING SEALING - PAVEMENT DRIVEWAY INSTALLATION, PAVING & REPAIR

Industry Tips
Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1310 W Washington St

    New Castle, PA 16101

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a quotation to seal my drive way. I proceeded to have the work completed. Everything was completed on time and I was very happy with my initial dealings with Z's. I contacted no less than 10 companies to seal my drive way but Z's was the only one to call me back. My drive way is a rectangle (17x48) so its nothing complicated. It has a slight slope to it. When I got home from work to see my drive way sealed I was very disappointed. The job is sloppy. There are globs of tar, cracks not sealed, and many tar streaks in the drive way. There were black tar foot prints in my yards. It appeared that nobody sealing my drive way cared about the quality of work. To be honest, I get much better results using residential products from **** ****t and doing it myself. I sent Z's an email and left a voice mail to talk about the matter weeks ago - neither received a response. This does not seem standard practice to someone who advertises their "A+" BBB rating. It is embarrassing to have people think that I sealed my driveway so poorly. When I tell them that I actually paid for the poor job they laugh at me.In my opinion, my job was underbid and the workers were given instructions to get it done as fast as possible. I honestly have no idea what my resolution options are.

Desired Settlement: Can the driveway be re-sealed in the cooler weather or a refund check be issued?

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our driveway was initially paved by Zs on 09/05/13. A check for the payment ($5,690) was mailed 2 days later. We waited 2 weeks before calling because we tried to get used to the turnaround pad. But we cannot accept it. The turnaround pad that Zs Driveway created is not functional because the turning radius is too narrow. We called Zs on 09/18/13 to tell them that we were not happy with the turnaround pad. My husband **** ****** spoke with ****** or ******, we aren't sure which person. We were told that they would come out and correct the issue. We called 4-5 more times over the next month. Each time we were told that they would come out and correct the problem. The last time we called, **** left a message that was not returned. The last phone call was made around 10/12/13.The turnaround pad that Zs Driveway created is not functional because the turning radius is too narrow. You have to turn the steering wheel all the way to back up and then the front wheels go off the paved driveway, as you back up. Part of the pad needs to be filled in to make it easier to turn a car around.

Desired Settlement: We would like Zs to correct this problem at no additional cost. If they are unwilling to correct this problem I would like $350 returned to me. I will need to pay someone else to correct this error.

Business Response: I have spoken to ******** and her husband... about this issue... the layout of their driveway was understood by both of them...as I walked both of them thru the details of the dimensions...while bidding their job...and it was also painted out prior to paving it...i told both of them that because of the very large tree that it was going to be paved in the manner It was paved. i talked to both called and I explained to both of them and they both agreed that we cannot pave against the tree because of it lifting in the near future....it was also explained that I wld attempt to change what I could if I was in the area..and not incurring additional cost on myself being that it was paved correctly.. unfortunately a job I had near by cancelled until next year because of limited time and obvious end of the year weather concerns... if I'm in the area next year...I could stop by but only because they were customers not because it was a mistake... no one does anything for free!!!!

8/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service