Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

J R Roth Paving/John Roth's Pave Master

Phone: (724) 843-4722 Fax: (724) 658-5929 View Additional Phone Numbers 911 Industrial St, New Castle, PA 16102 https://www.facebook.com/pages/JR-Roth-Paving/310240679111197


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers asphalt paving for residential, commercial & recreational locations.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J R Roth Paving/John Roth's Pave Master meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J R Roth Paving/John Roth's Pave Master include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J R Roth Paving/John Roth's Pave Master
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1993 Business started: 03/01/1974
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is 027186.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. John Roth, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Roth, Owner
Business Category

PAVING CONTRACTORS ASPHALT SEALING AND REJUVENATING SEALING - PAVEMENT DRIVEWAY INSTALLATION, PAVING & REPAIR

Alternate Business Names
Roth, J R Paving/John Roth's Pave Master
Industry Tips
Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 911 Industrial St

    New Castle, PA 16102 (724) 674-1370 (724) 658-6099 (724) 843-4722 (724) 283-7709

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On OCT. 21,2013 I purchased asphalt paving for in front of my garages and part of my driveway. Within 2 weeks of the pavement being installed, vegetation began growing up through the pavement in 33 different places.The proposal that Roth's salesman, ****** *******, had given me specifically stated that "vegetation control" would be applied. When I paid Mr. ******* on Oct. 21,2013, I mentioned to him that I had not seen his crew apply any vegetation control. He stated that the vegetation control was in the asphalt. I found that difficult to believe, but did not challenge the issue with Mr********.After noticing the 33 places where vegetation appeared, I called Mr. ******* in early November, 2013. He said that they would take care of the problems in the spring of 2014.When Roth's advertisements began to appear in the ****** paper in the spring of 2014 I called Roth and reminded them of their promise to correct the problems. They again promised to take care of the problems. Incidentally, in the spring of 2014, 6 new areas of vegetation appeared in the pavement.Through out the spring/summer/fall, I called Mr. ******* about every 2 weeks. He continued to say they would fix the problems sometime in the next 2 weeks. Finally in early Nov. 2014, realizing that the paving season was rapidly coming to a close, I called Roth's main number in *** ******* I spoke to someone, who did not identify himself, but was apparently a supervisor or owner. After explaining my situation to him, he stated that he had a crew in ********* just 5 miles from me. He said he would call that crew and find out if they could come fix my problems after they finished the other job. I asked him to call me one way or another. He agreed to do so. I never heard back from him. When I tried to call Roth's *** ****** number again, there was no answer. To date, Feb. 3,2015, I have not heard from Roth. Product_Or_Service: asphalt paving

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement The vegetation growth has opened pathways for water to get beneath the asphalt where it will freeze in the winter and break up the asphalt. The areas where the vegetation has broken through the asphalt should be replaced.

Business Response:

 

This letter is in response to the complaint filed by Mr. **** ******. We will resume paving and address Mr. ******'s complaint in late April or early May, weather permitting. Our intention is to satisfy Mr. ******'s complaint. We will contact him at that time.

Sincerely,

 **** ****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** ******* ******

9/4/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am an attorney representing ***** *** ******* ***** of ********** **. J R Roth Paving installed their asphalt driveway. Following installation, problems began to develop in a couple of areas and spread to other surrounding areas. My clients contacted the contractor and were advised that the problem would be resolved by the end of 2013. In November, 2013, after numerous efforts to contact the contractor and schedule the repairs proved unsuccessful, they contacted me. I wrote several letters indicating clearly that my clients wanted repairs made to their driveway and pointed out that those repairs should include not only the original areas, but also the adjacent areas affected by them. I have received no response. I reiterate that I my clients just want what was promised, repairs made to their driveway.

Desired Settlement: My clients would like to schedule a date certain when their driveway might be fully repaired and thereafter have the repairs to the initial problem areas and the other areas affected by them fixed.

Business Response:  

This email is to notify you of our recent conversation with Mr. ***** who resides in ************.   My estimator/salesman,****** ******* spoke to Mr ***** on April 9,2014.  He explained that we would get down to the ***** residence by the end of May or early June and address the problem with his driveway.  Mr. ***** agreed to that arrangement and we will give him adequate notice on doing so.
Thank you,
**** **** / JR ROTH PAVING
 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Consumer Response: I am an attorney and previously filed a complaint about this business on the website. My clients, ******* and ***** *****, wanted a date certain on which their driveway installation could be repaired. The business replied that the estimator had been sent and that the repairs would be made in May or June. My clients found that response satisfactory. Unfortunately, the business did not live up to that reply and no repairs have not been made as of yet. Again, they are asking that their driveway installation be repaired.

My clients want the driveway repaired and that the business perform the repairs in a timely fashion, providing them with a specific date by which the repairs will be completed. To date, they had only received general statements without any follow up from the business.

Business Response: I'm responding to the complaint filed by Attorney ***** ********* on behalf of his client Mr. and Mrs. ******* *****.  First I would like to apologize to Mr. and Mrs. ***** for not addressing this problem sooner.  My company will be out to repair this problem by September 12 or sooner.  Certainly no later.  

10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service