Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Cottle's Asphalt Maintenance?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Cottle's Asphalt Maintenance

Phone: (814) 652-9129 Fax: (814) 652-0201 13136 Lincoln Hwy, Everett, PA 15537 http://www.cottlesinc.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

PAVING CONTRACTORS

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cottle's Asphalt Maintenance meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cottle's Asphalt Maintenance include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cottle's Asphalt Maintenance
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 16, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2002 in PA Business incorporated: 03/01/2001 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is 012215.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael A Cottle, President Mr. Samuel Cottle, Chairman of the Board Ms. Renee Cottle, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael A Cottle, President
Principal: Mr. Samuel Cottle, Chairman of the Board
Business Category

PAVING CONTRACTORS ASPHALT CONCRETE CONTRACTORS

Method(s) of Payment
Cash or check
Industry Tips
Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 13136 Lincoln Hwy

    Everett, PA 15537 (814) 652-9129

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the fall of 2013, the subject company sealed a 54' long asphalt crack using "professional grade" asphalt sealant. The applied sealant failed to adhere over the winter, resulting in no protection to the affected area. Follow-up contacts with the firm on March 31, 2014 (voicemail) and April 11, 2014, (email) resulted in no response. A certified letter sent on April 28, 2014 resulted in an email response from a company VP on May 12, 2014, wherein the VP offered to repeat the job or refund the money paid in 2013; I asked for a refund. To date, and despite a follow-up inquiry sent to the firm on June 11, 2014, the company has remained silent.

Desired Settlement: 1) Refund of the $234.01 paid for the job. 2) Stop making false promises and actually stand behind your work.

Business Response: Our company VP tried to schedule an appointment with the customer and he would not committ to a day or time that he was available.  Our VP traveled to this project 2 times with refund check to give to the customer and customer was not home,(one weekday visit and one weekend visit).  The customer was advised by our sales staff that this was not the best way to repair the area, however the customer did not want to mill out the area and replace which was what was needed.  This customer has recieved a full refund from our company and had he simply scheduled an actual appointment he would have recieved it much sooner.

Consumer Response:

The complaint is resolved as the business did issue a full refund last week.  However, the response provided by the business is less than honest.  First, the sales representative assured me that the crack sealing technique was an appropriate solution and would last "for many years" before requiring re-application.  Second, owing to my unpredictable work schedule, I advised the company VP that he could inspect the job at his convenience without me being present.  Finally, the company VP's idea of a timely resolution is not realistic -- the issue was theirs to resolve in early in early May 2014 when they received my certified letter.  Defensive counter-allegations cannot mask immature behavior.