Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Solarshield Sunrooms, Windows & More

Phone: (814) 944-7878 View Additional Phone Numbers 1701 3rd Ave, Altoona, PA 16602 http://www.solarshieldinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers home improvements.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Solarshield Sunrooms, Windows & More meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Solarshield Sunrooms, Windows & More include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Solarshield Sunrooms, Windows & More
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1978
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA011783.

Business Management
Mr. Daniel E Green Sr., President Mrs. Susan Green, Business Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel E Green Sr., President
Business Category

PATIO, PORCH & DECK ENCLOSURES SIDING CONTRACTORS BASEMENT REMODELING SUNROOM & SOLARIUM DESIGN & CONSTRUCTION AWNINGS & CANOPIES WINDOWS BATHROOM REMODELING - WALK-IN TUBS KITCHEN & BATH-DESIGN & REMODELING CONTRACTORS-GENERAL

Industry Tips
Condensation on Windows Home Improvements - Windows Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 1701 3rd Ave

    Altoona, PA 16602 (814) 944-7878 (800) 862-2000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/31/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased windows for my house from SolarShield, Inc. of Altoona, PA Owner Mr. Dan G***** These windows were purchased between September 1997 and December 2001. The windows were sold to me with a life time Warranty on the Glass. I have a large picture window that the double pane glass started to get fog/moisture between the glass panes approximately 2 to 3 years after the window was purchased. this window was the last of the windows to be purchased sometime in 2001. I call Solarshield and spoke to Mr G**** (Young Dan G****) There two Dan G****'s. I called several times over the course of about a month or so speaking to a Tina several times. Always being assured that someone would get back to me. I was told that there was no warranty since we installed them ourselves or had a contractor install them. I recently found out that the glass has a lifetime warranty on it and the manufacturer would warrant the glass. When I called again this year to get the glass replaced because now after all the years, we cannot see out the window. I was told by the installer Mike M******** that the company that made the window went out of business (**********). My complaint is that Solarshield sold the windows to us with a life time warranty on the glass and now they are copping out on the deal because the company that they chose to get there windows from went out of business. I am not asking for a freebee - I only want them to replace the glass and I will pay them to install it. They want to charge me $200 for the replacement glass and another $200 to install it. I ask them to consider making it right by me their customer that purchased a whole house of windows form them, but they would not. It is just very poor customer service to not be upfront with your customers and to make them have to continually call them back to get answers. I fell that this situation should not have been dragged out as long as it has over the past several years. If Mr G**** had informed me the very first time I called about this issue, the company that made the window could have replaced the glass for me under the warranty, but I was not informed that the glass warranted until ********** was out of business.

Desired Settlement: I would like Solarshield to stand behind the product that they sold to me and replace the double pane glass in this one window that is bad. Since they sold me the product with a life warranty on the glass to begin with.

Business Response:

December 15, 2015

******** ****

Better Business Bureau 400 Holiday Drive, Suite 220 Pittsburgh, PA 15220

Re; ID ********

The ***********'s did buy ********** windows from Solarshield 19 years ago. They did not have any warranties because they just wanted the windows to install themselves or have someone else Install them. When Mrs. *********** called In previously, she was correctly told that she had no warranty,

When Mrs. *********** called in on November 10,2015, she asked for a quote on the picture window glass. Since we no longer sell ********** windows, (they are, however, still in business) our service manager,

Mike M********, called **** Buildlng Supply (who does sell ********** Windows) for a quote, The quote from ****'s was $197.37 including tax. Mrs. *********** said she could get the glass from someone else for a lesser cost.

Thank you,
Sue G****
Solarshield Home Improvement

9/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired company to install windows and doors. The bay window was improperly installed-leaked and not anchored correctly. Windows would not and still will not open and close correctly, sliding glass door would not and still will not open and close correctly. After numerous attempts to have the company fix all of the issues, we hired another contractor to fix the bay window so it would stop leaking and to stop it from pulling the exterior wall out. We found out the subcontractor used by the company was the underlying issue, however the company would not correct any issues. 12 years later we still do not have the problems resolved. After many years of attempts to have the company come out to resolve the issues, they finally sent out a service tech to look at the sliding glass door. His resolution was to remove the door, spray oil and proceed to tell us the issue was resolved and then charged us a $150 service fee. The next morning the door was as before and can now hardly be opened and closed. We contacted the company again on 11nov2014 and was told we would hear from them later that day. We have yet to hear from this company and due to past experience, we feel 12 years of dealing with this issue is well past the appropriate amount of time. We would not recommend this company to anyone and feel they need to be investigated to ensure customers are being treated fairly.

Desired Settlement: We paid thousands of dollars to have working windows and doors. We feel the appropriate course of action by the company is to replace all windows and doors.

Business Response:

In response to complaint ID) #********, we did install windows,
siding, and a sliding door in 2001. Going through the job folder
I found copies of services done previous to the door service. It
looks like we rescreened 3 windows in 2002. In 2004 we replaced
some sashes in the double hung windows that had seal failure. In
2002 we replaced the top lock on a sliding patio door. The only
service on the bay window was on 4/14/04, but when we went
there he said it was okay, it was just ice build up on the house roof.
(copy attached) There is nothing else on or in their folder until
June 2014 which is for a service on the sliding door.

Our sevice tech, **** ********** told them there would be a
service fee before he went, as is our policy. As discussed with ****,
he said that the door open and closed fine but he did notice that the
stationary panel moved a little when it was being opened and closed,
**** replaced that bracket, cleaned and oiled the track, checked
rollers, etc. He had the customer open and close the door and sign
the service completion. (copy attached)

Their letter states the door was not working again or “as before”
the next day but we never heard anything from them until
November 11th, 5 months later, when their daughter, who lives out of town,
called here. We did not tell them someone would call later that day.

Our service tech ****, is cunently not working due to shoulder surgery.
They were told we would have someone get back to them as soon as we
could. Two day later the letter came from the BBB.

Thank You,
*** *****
Solarshield Remodelers

5/29/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Solar Shield guarantees their sunroom glass from seal leakage forever. I have a window in my sunroom that is very cloudy and I have been calling them for almost three years and they still haven't fixed it. Every time I call, the man in charge acts like he has never even heard my complaint before (even though he is the person I have talked to). Then he apologizes and says he will check on it and get back to me--which he never does. When I get tired waiting for him to call back, I call again and we repeat the same thing over again. I have given them ample time to take care of my problem and still have no satisfaction. I have been told that there is a charge of $99--three years ago, that has been raised to $141 for their handling fee. I agreed to accept this fee and still no new window. I hate to be a complainer but I don't know what else I can do to get my replacement window. Any help will be much appreciated. Thank you!

Desired Settlement: For Solar Shield to replace my defective window.

Business Response:

Dear n:Je            Re: ID#********


Mrs. ******* did buy a sunroom from us in October of 2000. At that time they received a Temo manufacturers warranty and a two year labor warranty from our company.

In speaking to our service manager, he did indicate that Mrs. ******* has called previously to replace this glass but she did not want to pay the labor fee. The glass is no charge but her labor warranty is expired and she would have to pay for us to bring it to her home and make the repair. When she agreed to that, we ordered her glass. We did have to order it twice (I am including the faxes that were sent and received.) because somehow the first order was sent to the wrong place I am sending the confirmation from Temo (the manufacturer) on when they will have the glass available and when they can send it to us. Our next truck should be here around the middle of June and as soon as we receive it, we will complete the service. It can't be shipped any other way as per ****** letter. Also the orders were placed before she sent her letter to you. Hie window was ordered once she agreed to the labor fee.


We will keep you both informed on the progress. Our service managers name is ******* *********.


Thank you,

Solarshield Remodelers


*** *****


 



 

 

 

 

                                                       

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I disagree with their assertion that I refused to pay the labor fee the first time I called.  I did know that after the first two years there would be a fee and I agreed to it.  However, they never ordered the window and then they changed managers in that department.  Either the out-going manager didn't want to be bothered ordering the window, forgot to, or whatever and said I refused to pay, or they are just using that as an excuse for not following through the first time.  In any case, I will be happy to get the new window and be done with this.  I've been quoted a charge of $142 to install this window.  Hopefully, that won't change.  If it does (and it isn't ridiculous) I'll just pay it and be done with it.  With all the trouble I've had with Solar Shield, I wouldn't recommend them.  

Regards,

 

***** *******

 

 

 

4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2006 purchased All Season Sunroom from Solarshield. They installed this below-grade room with a WOODEN foundation which rotted and caused black mold and fungus to grow in the walls. We had to have a contractor brace up the rotting walls and pour a concrete and rubber shielded foundation to correct the problem. The glass they installed was to be ultra-violet light shielded and was not because my sofa faded from the sun. The heat/airconditioning unit shorted out because it was 3 inches from the patio floor and water got in it. We called and complained the first year we had it and representatives came from both All Season and Solar Shield and nothing was done. After awhile they just ignored our calls. We have documented the whole rebuilding process with pictures and witnesses. Thank you *** *** ******* ***********

Desired Settlement: We would like the cost of rebuilding the room reimbursed. We would accept a partial settlement of no less than 75% of the rebuilding cost including labor.

Business Response:

In 2006 Mr. and Mrs. *********** purchased a Sunshine Room Solarium from our company. We installed the room according to industry standards and codes and obtained all necessary approvals and permits* I have included some, but not all copies of permits and drawings. (Sunshine Room drawings are too big to copy but I gave a copy of the final approved drawings- #1 I am also limited to information in and on the customers folder because of length of time since sunroom was installed.

The wooden foundation that is referred to in their letter is the kneewall with a treated sill plate which was constructed and permitted for, #2 The front of the Sunshine room is attached to this. #3 Apparently some sort of flooding or water run-off took place because they had to install a sump pump to their patio.

On October 4, 2007, Mrs. *********** called and it was noted on their folder. “She didn’t really have a service but wants us to know that she loves her Sunroom”. They had what she referred to as an unpleasant experience and had to put a sump pump on their patio to take care of a water problem they had. What she called for was to find out if we sold shades / blind system for her room and if we had a cleaning service to do the glass on her sunroom. She was told we do not sell blinds but she could purchase them on her own and, no, we do not offer a cleaning service. I don’t know why they had a sump pump installed and where the water came from but I have to assume it was not our fault since she started out that she “loves her sunroom” and nothing about water damage or service was mentioned. If they had to put a sump pump in, it would suggest they had a water event or “unpleasant experience” that could have damaged the kneewall and or the heating system. We also had no knowledge of another contractor replacing the kneewall and “rebuilding the room”. This would void any warranties associated with this room.

I am also including a copy of the glass specifications to address their sofa fading. #4

Thank you, Solarshield, Inc.

***** *****

Consumer Response:

It is very convenient for Solarshield to deny there was a problem and “forget” we complained many times before giving up.  We are NOT the only people who have been robbed by this business and we have fully documented the replacement of the foundation.  I will have to sue them to recoup the money spent on fixing it.  I KNOW I told the installer it would be a problem if they put a wooden sill plate on the cement patio, but he said “pressure treated wood will last forever. “  They’re reply is completely unacceptable and expected knowing what a bad reputation they already have.  I would like this pursued.  Thank you.  ??????
 
 

 

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Solarshield Sunrooms, Windows & More
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart