Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pittsburgh Patios, Inc.

Phone: (412) 292-7335 2819 Plough St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212 http://www.pittsburghpatios.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Patio & Deck Builders


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pittsburgh Patios, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Pittsburgh Patios, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Pittsburgh Patios, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 06, 2014 Business started: 07/06/2011 in PA Business started locally: 07/06/2011 Business incorporated 10/26/2012 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA082596.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Frank Harp, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Harp, Owner
Business Category

PATIO & DECK BUILDERS CONSTRUCTION & REMODELING SERVICES SNOW REMOVAL SERVICE DRIVEWAY INSTALLATION, PAVING & REPAIR LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS LANDSCAPE DESIGNERS BUILDING CONSTRUCTION CONSULTANTS CONCRETE CONTRACTORS FOUNDATION CONTRACTORS

Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Basement Waterproofing Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We booked with the owner early in the year, and due to not having a bad winter, he was eager to start, and offered us a great price, if we signed by the end of February. I did look at the Pittsburgh Patio Facebook page, and drove past a job he previously completed on my street, and his work looked good. However, Pittsburgh Patio started off to a great start, but I had some concerns after the concrete was poured, and how he cut the original lines, the lines were cut at different sizes, there was already holes and breaking off in the corners where he cut, there were indentations in the middle of the front patio, that he blamed on the weather and the bag blowing on this, but it was his judgment call to pour when it was windy and raining outside. There were also cement bumps at the bottom of our front steps. To me it looked like sloppy work. After initially addressing my concerns with him, he did not show up for a week, and came one day to pressure wash, and did not show up again for another week, until my husband had to call. And the day that my husband did call, I found new pictures that appeared to be a job he just completed and would explain why he quit showing up to complete our project, and didn't quickly address my concerns. I felt like the owner was dismissing us, and our project and concerns were pushed aside for a bigger job. He did show up and fixed SOME of the areas that I had concerns on, and said he was done with this job and fulfilled his contact, and we had 24 hours to pay or he was sending this to his attorney. The corners that he cut, still have holes, that another business told us that this will just get worse over time, and the front steps are still bumpy looking. I was extremely disappointed with this service and how we were pushed aside for 2 weeks for a bigger job, and our concerns were dismissed. Per the owner of Pittsburgh Patio, I was micro scoping areas that you can barely see, but it was very visible to myself and the others I have shown.

Desired Settlement: This complaint is based on a patio and steps that were completed by Pittsburgh Patio's owner Frank H*** in our front and back of our new home. I would like to have this fixed to my standards but the owner, Frank, said that he fulfilled his contract and completed this by in a timely manner, and for the price that we paid, that we received a good job and how I was micro scoping areas of an imperfect material. He has made no other effort in wanting to correct my other areas of concerns and said that this would need redone to have these areas fixed.
As I mentioned, I would like to have this fixed to my standards, or a credit for not meeting my satisfaction. We are going to have to have additional work done on these patios. From speaking to another contractor, he said that these areas of concerns will get worse.

Consumer Response:

This complaint is based on a patio and steps that were completed by Pittsburgh Patio's owner Frank H*** in our front and back of our new home. I would like to have this fixed to my standards but the owner, Frank, said that he fulfilled his contract and completed this by in a timely manner, and for the price that we paid, that we received a good job and how I was micro scoping areas of an imperfect material. He has made no other effort in wanting to correct my other areas of concerns and said that this would need redone to have these areas fixed.

As I mentioned, I would like to have this fixed to my standards, or a credit for not meeting my satisfaction. We are going to have to have additional work done on these patios. From speaking to another contractor, he said that these areas of concerns will get worse.

Business Response: From: ***** *********************************
Date: Sun, May 1, 2016 at 9:17 PM
Subject: Pittsburgh Patios, Inc. response to complaint ID #*
To: ***********************


Pittsburgh Patios, Inc. response to complaint ID #********

  In regards to this review, I am at a loss of words for all of the complaints against my company. ******* expressed to me a few concerns in which I scheduled with her to meet for her to talk to me the next day about her concerns. She said that her husband would be available to meet me at their home to show me what she was talking about. **** pointed out a few areas that he said she was talking about and both of us couldn't see anything wrong with the areas that he showed me, so I did my best to touch up a few areas without damaging the finish of the concrete, even though I thought there was nothing wrong with theses areas. It took one week to complete the concrete phase and we did the project in the end February during a very warm, dry and windy week. I absolutely did not rush the project or stop them from hiring the contractor that they wanted to hire. When ******* signed the contract, she said that her contractor friend was saying to make sure the concrete doesn't have curtain chemicals, as these chemicals are very important for the structure of concrete while pouring in colder conditions. I explained that the the chemicals were needed if the temp was going to be lower than an average of 40 degrees for three days, in which I did not need to use the chemicals because the average temp was higher than 40 for that week. I figured her contractor friend was inexperienced with concrete for giving this advice.
I covered the fresh concrete with plastic after it was finished for the curing process as I do with every concrete project per the specs of the American Concrete Institute . Plastic sheeting needs to be weighed down so the plastic does not blow away, so we lightly weigh it down with 2"x4"s scraps. The benefits of covering concrete with plastic far outweigh the risks of the concrete shrinking to flake away when the ground freezes. The weight of the 2x4s may leave a minor scuff mark that fades away and this outweighs the long term affects that improper curing will have on concrete.
 After finishing the concrete phase there was a minimum of 14 days of curing before I could drill anchor bolts into the concrete for the handrail. I told **** that the concrete needed to cure before I put the rail in and he told me that everything that I did to they're home is very nice, he said he was very happy with the work. ******* at that point also sent me a text message saying that she liked the concrete and she said the decorative saw cut control joints look very nice.
We specialize in doing concrete and masonry so when it came down buying materials for the handrail we found out that rail needed to be ordered because of the length of the steps, and it would take one week to arrive at the store. That week, all of my trucks were up for inspection and needed work to pass, so I was unable to make it to address whatever concerns she was calling about. When I finished the project she was very upset that she saw a project that appeared to be a newly completed project posted on our Facebook page before her project was completed. In her text message she was upset, wanting her project to look like the decorative exposed aggregate concrete on my Facebook page. ******* asked for a regular Broom finished concrete during the estimate and I tried explaining that's all she paid for. She was upset about very small imperfections that you see in all concrete and wanted it fixed to her satisfaction. She said my control joints are uneven and showed me where she thought it was uneven, I couldn't see what she was talking about but tried explaining to her that the control joints have to be there to control the cracks in the concrete because she was now saying that she didn't like them. When giving the estimate she asked for a regular broom finish, in which I then said that I would upgrade the finish to a picture framed swirl and directed her to my Facebook page for her to see what I was talking about. Both **** and ******* wanted to upgrade the finish, and I did it at no extra cost to accommodate their budget. The picture framed swirl finish was signed into the contract. She wanted me to take out the concrete I just poured so she could do a stamped concrete patio instead, ******* sent me text messages asking me how much to do this and if I could send an estimate over. At this point I could no longer deal with the pickiness and would rather her hire her contractor friend to do what she was asking, so I declined on giving her any further estimate on work for her house. We made all attempts to address *******'s concerns and will not be refunding any monies for completed services. I requested a half down payment to start and when I completed the handrail I requested payment for the completion of my services. **** happily paid the balance of the invoice for the project.

Regards,

Pittsburgh Patios, Inc.
Frank H**** Owner
WE BUILT THIS CITY

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In regards to Frank's response, he keeps bringing up that my husband was happy with the completed project and this is not true. I did a review on ****, and Frank commented on this with lies, and bashing my husband any myself and saying that we could not afford this project, and Frank also mentioned in this comment that we had a budget which this is not true at all.  We did not have a budget on this and never insinuated to Frank that we had a budget, just a timeline on when it needed to be completed, and we chose Frank since this was going to be the first project for the season and we had a deadline of April to have this completed. Frank also mentioned our friend who owns his own business in these services, we did not choose him due to the location of his company being too far away for our project but he does have more experience than Frank. I called 7 other companies and did not hear from any other except one other that would not be able to start until after our deadline.

After Frank responded  to my review on **** and I responded back to this, he sent me a very inappropriate text message again very poor professionalism and another insult to my husband and myself, which all test messages and been saved. My husband and I were never satisfied with Franks work, Frank just has terrible customer service and my husband just had enough of his lies and brushing off the issues that I personally have shown him a few times.

The front patio was not covered well, and it was blowing off all night, Frank even sent me text messages late at night, having me check his equipment. Frank did not inform my husband on why he was not coming, we were never told that the rails were being on order, we were told this after my husband had to call him after not showing for 2 weeks and were told at this time, that his truck broke down. I did tell Frank that I did not like the initial lines that were done, but the lines cut after the initial pour looked nice. All lines do not look the same, and are cut at different sizes.

During the time when Frank did not show for the 2 weeks, and I saw the post of the other project that he finished (that he says his equipment was in the shop for but could not address my areas), I did say I wanted my project to look nice that that due to ours not finishing well. I have a saved text message from Frank saying that when he poured the concrete, it was drying too fast and he was having trouble finishing the work, and he did not think it turned out to his liking. Frank later tried to retract this statement but I do believe the pictures that I have send speak for themselves that this project was not completed well.

Frank did not address my concerns after a review on **** and a complaint to the BBB, instead he took personal attacks on my family by lying and sending inappropriate text messages to myself where I had to threaten to contact the police if I heard from him. I find Frank very unprofessional and to have a very poor work ethic.

******* *******

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Pittsburgh Patios, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart