Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Northwest

Additional Locations

Phone: (814) 336-6197 Fax: (814) 336-6199 18941 Park Avenue Plz, Meadville, PA 16335 https://www.facebook.com/pages/Thermax-Clean-Care-Center/191768297571331


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers carpet cleaners & supplies, sporting merchandise and energy efficient home products including insulation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northwest meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Northwest include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Northwest
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 28, 2000 Business started: 02/01/1985 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is 075868.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jerry Huf, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Huf, Manager
Business Category

ENERGY CONSERVATION PRODUCTS & SERVICES UPHOLSTERY & CARPET CLEANING SPORTING GOODS-RETAIL VACUUM CLEANERS-HOUSEHOLD-DEALERS CARPET & RUG CLEANERS TANNING SALONS

Alternate Business Names
Thermax Clean Care Center

Additional Locations

  • 104 Evans Rd

    Butler, PA 16001

  • 18941 Park Avenue Plz

    Meadville, PA 16335 (814) 336-6197

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were grossly over charged for reflective aluminum foil insulation installed over the existing blown in insulation in our 1600 sq ft attic.Including 4 man hours of labor the contract I signed was for $2700.00.Later investigation found the same reflective insulation commonly available for $.14 per square foot at retail,for our attic $224.00. I signed the contract in my home at 5 pm on 10- 22 -14 after having attended a "dinner seminar" about the product on the evening before. It was installed 10-24-14. We feel we were the subject of deception and high pressure sales tactics on the part of the sale person, ****** ***** representing his company ********* of ********* Pa.Later testing found that the insulation material installed continued to burn after ignition and burned to extinction. That in itself is unsettling. Calls to the company and the sales person from ********* in ********* Pa, were unable to be put through because we needed a CODE NUMBER? which was never supplied by the Company in any of its advertising literature or by its representative.

Desired Settlement: A return of $2000.00 to our credit card or a cashiers check to our address.

Business Response:

We have read the statement from ****** ***** and understand how sometimes a customer may think the price is too high (and everything else in the world too). Mainly because they are just looking at the material cost. For example a little plastic piece might cost $ .85 to make but tooling for the molds could be $10-50,000 which is built back into the product. In our situation for business, as ****** has mentioned he came to a dinner seminar to learn about the product which are usually at nice restaurants to attract people, most dinner seminars are up to $1,000.00 each just for the restaurant, then someone also has to line up the dinner and coordinate it with the restaurant. This is a separate cost. To print and mail the couple thousand letters we send for each dinner, which is a project in itself. Postage is over $900.00 each mailing again not counting the printer work, letters, and envelopes to mail this large number. We also have to purchase the names to send letters to, again another cost. A separate company answers the phone 24 hours a day, a convenience for the customer, yet another cost.

We only have normal store hours M-F 10-6 and Sat 9-5. The seminar holder is there for the week. Hotels are not cheap and Installers stay in separate rooms. The costs keep going to make this business run, rent for the store, utilities, office help, and I'm sure we forgot a few things. But as you can see there is more than just material. We did not even mention pay for seminar holders and installers.

Customer also states he also found the same product online, our product is not sold online. There is different grades of this product, some better than others. Just like most things. The fire rating is Class A fire retardant.

Last addressing- the customer stated needed a code number to call, we have no idea what he is talking about. We are sorry if maybe he dialed a wrong number, but we have had these phone numbers over 20 years with no problems. Never heard of anyone not getting through to us, we answer the phone, we do not have phone answering machines or automated phones. We do it the old fashioned way and say "Hello". We hope ****** understands a little better why costs are what they are.

PS. We also included two energy saving shower heads and a hot water tank wrap which are also usually installed.

Thank You

2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable