Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Two Men and A Truck

Phone: (412) 881-1111 Fax: (412) 835-6204 View Additional Phone Numbers 3555 Valley Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15234 http://www.twomen.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Movers - Moving Services


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Two Men and A Truck meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Two Men and A Truck include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Two Men and A Truck
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 25, 2005 Business started: 04/01/2000 Business incorporated 03/13/2000 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission
PO Box 3265, Harrisburg PA 17105
http://www.puc.state.pa.us/
Phone Number: 800-692-7380
The number is 706096.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Raymond J Coll, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Raymond J Coll, President
Business Category

MOVERS MOVING SERVICES-LABOR & MATERIALS MOVING SUPPLIES PIANO & ORGAN MOVING MOVERS - OFFICE MOVING & STORAGE COMPANY

Industry Tips
Moving

Additional Locations

  • 3555 Valley Dr

    Pittsburgh, PA 15234 (412) 881-1111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/24/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired this company in July 2015 to move my furniture. I had addvised the movers that my slate coffee table was very heavy. 2 of the movers placed it on a dolly and brought it to the truck. When they atempted to lift it, the mover banged the leg up against the floor of the truck because they didnt lift it high enough to be able to set it down on the truck floor. Once they did lift it and went to set it down on the floor the 3rd mover/driver who was on the truck suggested when they were about to set it down on the floor of the truck that they flip it topside up and lay it down (legs in the air). I said that that didnt make sense bcuz u cud set stuff on top of it. I beleive at that point the person on the truck relaized the leg was broken becuz it didnt make sense to flip it upside down and that semed to be even a strain to do that after the strain to even get it on the truck. The table was the last thing put on the truck so it was at the front of the truck. So when we got to my new place, it was the last thing brought off the truck even though it was the first thing u saw when u opened the truck. After I was provided with paper work and signed off, the other 2 men were bringing in the table last and set it down and everyone left. It looked slanted on the floor when they set it down, but I didnt really notice anything at first and then I heard a soft hard bang, turned around and the table had fallen over to one side the leg was broken which had to have happened when they banged it along the front side of the truck. I contacted the company about the table and other issues with the move and was told that the manager would call me back. I called 3 times, he never returned my call.I had mentioned the damaged table. I filed a complaint w the PUC.Havent gotten a response.when I called them they said it is bcuz they have so many complaints to get to. But my table remains still laying on its side in the middle of my living room flr. It is a $600 table and I want it fixed or replaced or the cost

Desired Settlement: Tables from Perola leather. Slate table $600.00. It must be repaired,replaced or the cost to purchase a new table refunded to me. I called the company right away,then called at least 2 other times with commimittment from the people answering phones that the general manager wud call back.To date no response. I filed a complaint with the PUC which I told them I was going to do.The PUC trucking department in Pittsburgh (Chuck and Cindy)said they have so many complaints it takes time for response.

Business Response:
Mrs. ***** used our services on 6/9/2015 and again on 7/25/2015. The singular issue our office was notified of was a bed had been disassembled on the first move that would need to be reassembled on the 2nd move. Our crew whom performed Mrs. *****’s first move was unavailable the day of the second move. Mrs. ***** was concerned the move crew on 7/25 would not be able to reassemble the bed correctly. Mrs. ***** called our office multiple times during the day to voice her displeasure that she did not receive the same crew, we assured her the crew she had on 7/25 was capable and trained to reassemble the bed. Mrs. ***** called after the move requesting a refund for the inconvenience. We did not feel that a discount was in order. There was never any mention of a damaged coffee table in her multiple calls to our office.

Business Response: Our repair man on the way!

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from the respondent states "repair man is on his way." Todate I have not heard from this person and on their way is not the full resolution. As we draw near to the holiday season, I will not have a table to utilize and now have to move it from the place where it was left laying on its side to a corner out of the way. I would request that the amount of $600.00 be paid to close out this matter and I purchase a new table. The slate table is no longer available but I would at least have a coffee table and this would be considered as a closed matter. When I spoke to the store about having a repair man come and look at it, they responded by saing, "if someone changes the intergity of the table there is no guarentee tht the table would be the same."

Regards,

******** *****

Business Response: A repairman is scheduled to repair Ms. ******s table on Saturday, December 29.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The repair man is scheduled to come and take a look at the table to evaluate if he is able to repair. During our conversation, he did not sound confident that from the picture, he could fix it without having to take a look at it first. Until he does that and can tell me definitively that he can make this table "whole: again, I am not agreeing that an appointment resolves the matter at this time. Again this is a very heavy slate top and whatever he can or will do I need to be sure that the integrity of the table remains in tact so that it just doesnt break down and maybe fall on someones feet or something.

Regards,

******** *****

9/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3 August 2015 Two Men and a Truck came to move me from ********* to *********. They were in quite the rush, which is why they said they (the two movers) were only going to remove the suspension deck from the daybed frame, as opposed to completely disassembling the bed. When the movers arrives at the ********* location and a single mover was removing the bed frame (two side grills and back piece only) the bed frame, due to the torque of only being carried by one person. The bed fell to the ground and the frame was scratched and a side grill was significantly bent. Despite this the movers attempted to put the bed together. The two movers , in the process of attempting to quickly repair the broken bed scratched the wood floors of my apartment, scuffed the wall and stripped all of the bolt heads needed to reassemble the bed. After watching them struggle with the bed for about 30 minutes I told them to just stop and document the damages. The employee (Spencer or Stephen, I believe) then only documented the damaged bolts, not the bent side grill, scratches in the floor or the scuff on the wall, even after my grandmother and I both asked him to. He then said that if I did not sign the form they were going to charge me more for the move, as the arguing and documentation was taking longer than the contracted time. So, I signed the form and the movers left as to not incur more fees. Three days later (6 August 2015), after being told I would be contact in two days and was not, I called the Two Men and a Truck warehouse to begin the problem resolution. I spoke to Justin S******. He seemed very compassionate and helpful and as though he was genuinely concerned with resolving my issues fairly and honestly. He asked what I thought went wrong in the move to have the bed break and to have begun this situation, so that he may improve the training of the employees. I explained what happened and he even said that the movers should not have moved the bed that way and that it was their, the movers, fault. When I called to follow up again, as Two Men never called back when they said they would Mr. S****** even asked me to send him, via email, information about comparable daybeds. These daybeds cost anywhere between $300 and in excess of $400. Then after taking a week to contact his manager and the movers who were present told me that they could only offer me $150 settlement, because I did not purchase the extra insurance and the movers said that they did not take the bed apart because the bolts were already stripped. Which is a total lie and I told Mr. S****** this and he was completely unwilling to hear or accept this fact. The bed was assembled by my Uncle who is an auto mechanic and is more than qualified to put a bed together without stripping the bolt heads. He would even testify to this. Even after arguing with Mr. S****** he said there was nothing more he could do. I told Mr. S****** that the check needed to be mailed to the ********** address by Wednesday, 19 August 2015. It was not. It was sent to the ********* address and my grandmother drove an hour total to give me the check. I told him that the damaged property needed to be returned to the ********* address by 5 pm Friday, 21 August. The back piece and side grills were returned. The suspension deck was not. Even after threatening to call the police and to to pursue a claim in court, Two Men and a Truck said that they could only return the suspension deck on Tuesday, 25 August 2015. Everyone at the company has been extremely fake and unhelpful. The company culture is clearly one that supports lying, insurance fraud, thieving and cheating.

Desired Settlement: I would like the cost of the move refunded for the hassle they have caused, minus the $150 check they have already sent. I understand that asking for a refund of the mve and the cost of the bed is reaching a bit. But if they could refund the move that would cover the cost of the bed and about $22 for my time and my grandmother's gas from driving the check down. I think that having to deal with 3 weeks of hassle from one issue that was a simple fix that simply required honesty, integrity and sending me the replacement bed and returning the damaged bed in one delivery.

Business Response:


We regret any inconvenience that we caused in delaying this
settlement.  As for the bolts on the
daybed, our men use hand tools to disassemble furniture as to not strip bolt
heads or screws.  The bolt heads would
not come apart because they were already stripped.  This was an older daybed and most likely was assembled
many years ago.  Although the customer
declined full-valuation coverage, we did send her a check for current market
value of the daybed .  We did return the
damaged bed and there was a delay in getting the suspension deck returned.  We apologize for the delay.  Our adjuster's notes have the customer asking
for the check to be sent to ********* as per the customer.  If this is our mistake, we apologize for the
inconvenience.

Josh M*********,

General Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,
**** ********

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired the company to move me from *** ****** to ********** I was given an estimate over the phone. The phone agent quoted me for approximately $520.00. She felt the move would not take the alloted 5-6 hours. I nrever recieved the estimate in the emails as advised. As a result, I had to call the company to make sure I was on the schdedule. When the movers arrived the they were unaware there were steps. It appeared that this was a job that required three men instead of two. I even pitched in and carrried items. The move took the allotted amount of time and it was uncalled for. I had bedroom, living room and diningroom table. In addtion, i was unable to have my couch moved into my second floor apartmeent. The company advertises that they are able to hoist but they were ill prepared. I had to leave my furniture on my landlords porch. I called the company and explained the situation. they were unwilling to lower the cost (so i could hire another mover) and did not offer to return to assist in hoisit the couch in the future.

Desired Settlement: I belive I was over charged by the company due to a poor estimate. In addition, I belive that the company was prepared to charge the full amount despite providing a window of 2-5 hours. I should have been charged for the least amount of hours. This is definately a case of POOR business practices.

Business Response: On June 1, 2015, Ms. ****** received an estimate via phone
which was estimated to take between 4-5 hours. 
The estimate, including travel charge and fuel, came to $526.79 to
$626.79. We do have a two hour minimum, but this move was never in that category.
 Our estimate was based on the
information Ms. ****** provided and it is an estimate in accordance with the
PUC regulations for local moves.  The
movers stated that they tried to put the sofa into her new apartment, but it
was too large.  We do not offer hoisting
services.  It is against our insurance
policy, and we cannot put our men’s safety at risk.  Nowhere in our literature or on our website
does the topic of hoisting furniture appear.  Unfortunately, we cannot control whether a
piece of furniture is going to fit into a new space.

Dorothy C***, President, TWO MEN AND A TRUCK

8/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After speaking with several moving companies, my wife and I decided to proceed with Two Men and A Truck due to repeated "customer service" emphasis by the scheduling representative. On June 6th, 2014 our furniture vehicle arrived occupied by employees, whom appeared to argue with one another on a frequent basis and speak on their cellular phones more regularly than one would expect during a move requiring safety and attention to detail. During the move we found my daughter's vanity set sitting on our back deck with the leg broken off, when brought to the mover's attention, they advised me that they had intent to notify me of the damage prior to leaving. During further inspection I had found the majority of the caps missing from our patio furniture and swing set legs, when brought to the mover's attention, they advised me that they had intent on searching for the caps at the company owned storage facility. We continued to inspect the furniture and clean up after the overs left. To our amazement, found our dinning room table leg support brace under our bed, missing all bolts required to safely secure the table. After almost two months of constant phone calls to management only the vanity damage has been resolved. Due to safety concerns I have contacted and paid for a professional furniture repair company, that has correctly secured the dining room legs. As to the patio furniture and swings caps, management has made little effort to remedy, advised that they are unable to located, rendering the set unusable due to the damages it causes our deck floor. We continue to reach out to management on a regular basis encouraging an amicable resolution for our dining room and patio furniture, after two months we have exhausted all efforts. Franchisee has also been contacted, he has yet to reply and accept ownership. Unfortunately, the customer service basis upon which we decided to engage Two Men and A Truck has yet to surface.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for professional dining room table repair and cost of a comparable patio set.

Business Response: Within a week, of this move, our manager inspected the damages at the customer’s home. As a result, , we agreed to purchase a new vanity even though the old one could
have been repaired, and it was sent directly to the customer’s house within 2weeks of the move date.  The wooden piece to the dining room table is a cosmetic plank that connects the two large table
legs underneath the table.  Though not damaged, the hardware was missing.  The sturdiness of the table was not compromised, and we offered to send a vendor to
install the plank with new hardware. Because the vendor could not comply with the customer’s time frame, we reimbursed the customer $175 for the repair that he arranged.

Because of the age of the patio furniture, the inserts are no longer available.  The furniture is significantly worn and rusted. The customer suggests that the caps fell off in
the truck, but we never saw them. We priced rubber end caps at $40 and offered to send the customer a check for $75 as an act of goodwill.

Josh **********, General Manager, Pittsburgh

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** ***********

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On sunday april 27th 2014 we used two men and a truck to move our furniture to a new house that we purchased. During this move, there was damage done to a dining room chair, and to a wall in our house. Damage reports were filled out and the chair was taken by the movers to have repaired. We were told that we would be notified of when and who will come to fix the wall. In regards to the damaged wall- the movers tried to hide the fact that they damaged it, and tried to make it look like they asked our permission to force a piece of furniture up the steps. However, I did not give them permission due to the fact that the damage to the wall was already done by them when they asked. This was pointed out to them. They didn't say much regarding this. However....I never was contacted by anyone from Two men and a truck regarding either incident. I contacted them near the end of May, and never heard back. I then proceeded to contact the corporate office, in which they said they would contact the local manager and have him contact me. He did contact me, but was very rude and ignorant, and said he could not find anyone to fix our chair. Long story short....it is now 2 weeks into August, and I have contacted the corporate office about 3 times now...and I have yet to hear back, or get my property back, let alone have the damages fixed. I will pursue legal representation now.

Desired Settlement: I would now like a refund of my entire move due to such unprofessionalism. At this point I would like to file theft charges because they still have our property. I am insisting on a monetary settlement

Business Response: Please call our office and talk with me. ***********. We will take care of the damages. Our general manager and operation manager have left numerous messages for the customer to return our calls. *** **** TWO MEN AND A TRUCK

7/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 23,2014 Two Men and a Truck was hired to move me from (* **** ***** *** *** *********** ** ) to my current address. During the move one of the workers dropped a boulevard glass piece that supports my glass dinning table. I have called this business at least a dozen times at first they stated the piece was out for repair the last three calls no one will return my call. I purchased the additional insurance in case there was damaged to my belongings. I would like to be paid for the damages.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund

Business Response: The repaired glass will be delivered tomorrow. Ms. ******* was informed of the delivery. *** **** TWO MEN AND A TRUCK

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

 

5/3/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I completed a move using this company on 18 March 2013. During the move, an item was damaged as a result of lack of padding. When the movers unloaded the item (a coat rack) we inspected it and determined that a damage report was warranted. I was told I would be contacted by the company on how repairs/reparations would be handled. I was contacted by voice mail that the company would not reimburse me because the driver had stated on the damage form that the item was made of particle board, therefore not covered. This was written on the form after the driver left my residence. My copy of the form does not include this caveat. I called the company and explained that the item is not particle board, and that the document had been modified after I had signed it. I was informed at that time that a technician would contact me within 2 days to schedule repair. I have not heard from the company since that date, 22 March. I wrote the corporate headquarters on 3 April, requesting that they resolve the issue within 10 days, but received no reply. I have written them again to request they reply within one week, a screen shot of the corporate feedback page can be provided upon request. I am also able to provide pictures of the damaged item.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting arbitration to collect damages in the amount of $80 to replace the coat rack.

Business Response:

We have sent a check in the amount 0f $80.00 to ***** ******  

*** ****

TWO MEN AND A TRUCK