BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Starck Van Lines Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a full service moving company.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Starck Van Lines Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Starck Van Lines Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 8
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 13

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 24, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1922
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission
PO Box 3265, Harrisburg PA 17105
http://www.puc.state.pa.us/
Phone Number: 800-692-7380

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian Gallagher, CEO Mr. Steve Starck, Owner Ms. Tammie Stoica, HHG Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Gallagher, CEO
Principal: Mr. Steve Starck, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Tammie Stoica, HHG Service Manager
Business Category

MOVERS MOVING SERVICES-LABOR & MATERIALS MOVING SUPPLIES PIANO & ORGAN MOVING MOVERS - OFFICE MOVING & STORAGE COMPANY RELOCATION SERVICE

Industry Tips
Moving

Additional Locations

  • 12 Starck Dr

    Burgettstown, PA 15021 (724) 729-2812

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    490 Park Dr

    Weirton, WV 26062 (800) 326-6556

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/8/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A order was placed with **** **** on 8/31/2014 (Order #*********) items were picked up by carrier and delivered to Starck on 9/08/2014 (Tracking information verifies arrival at Starck hub on this date). Starck claims to have attempted a scheduling call at number on order on 9/11/2014, however caller id shows no call was made. Attempted to call Starck (9/11 at 7:37pm left voicemail, 9/12 at 9:26am on system hold for 24 minutes, 9/12 at 9:38am left voicemail, 3:34pm left voicemail) next I called ******** ******* how delivered to Starck and they also attempted contact and was unable to get answer. 9/16 call Starck at 9:54am still no answer and left voicemail, called national carrier again and they also contacted Starck and no response. I am furious at this point after spending $1700 dollars on patio furniture to have it being held hostage by a very unprofessional company.

Desired Settlement: I had better get a response ASAP and deliver within 48 hours.

Business Response: Let us first apologize for any confusion or inconvenience experienced with your purchase and delivery. After attempting to schedule the order on 9/11 @ 3:32pm, our truck in the area was filled for the following Wednesday delivery day (9/17). To our knowledge, we never received any call back and the order was placed on hold until calling and scheduling on 9/18, our first time talking with the customer, for deliver on 9/22. Although this stop falls on a Wednesday only point for our company, we are dedicating a truck to deliver this stop to the customers area to ensure they receive their merchandise.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This response is a complete lie. 1) There was no attempted contact on 9/11 from this company (Can provide call record from phone company if needed) 2) I provided dates and times of all attempted calls and all voice mails we have left for this company. 


Update to their response: We did have a truck show up at our house today at 10:30am, the truck only contained one of the two items from the order, driver tried to get a signature for the deliveries but we did not accept as it was not a complete order. Later received call from company about the order and they claimed that they only received 1 item, even though the tracking information I provided with the original complaint contained the info showing both items were delivered on 9/08.

Next received a call from Starck claiming that **** **** only shipped them 1 item, so now even though there is a record of the items arriving they are trying to blame **** **** for losing these items that were delivered to their warehouse, how you can lose a 232lb and 6 1/2ft box of patio furniture.

This is the most unprofessional, irresponsible company I have ever dealt with, we are very frustrated and hope that someone will take some responsibility and do the right thing and deliver our furniture ASAP.

Regards,

********* ******

Business Response: We had received the second piece and the complete order was delivered on 9/30/14.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Yes the furniture was delivered but only after calls to Starck (which were never answered or returned), calls to the national carrier and calls to the shipping company.
Starck claimed that they had received only one piece of shipment and the second piece did not arrive until 9/30. However tracking information indicates that both pieces
arrived on 9/08 and 9/09. We were lied to by drivers and customer service reps would claimed that we would not accept the delivery when they in fact had not delivered
the complete order, and claimed they had not received the complete order, which is a lie, I have attached the tracking for both items as proof.
 
This company is the most unprofessional company I have ever dealt
with and if someone would have had the back bone to stand and take responsibility
the situation could have been resolved quickly.


I also will not consider this issue resolved until we receive a apology
from the company for their irresponsible handling of this and rude drivers and
customer service personnel.

Regards,

********* ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

8/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Starck Van Lines was supposed to deliver a mattress set from **** ****** on Thursday, July 24 between 12:00-4:00. It took three weeks for them to set a delivery date and getting in touch with them is, quite literally, impossible. They do not answer their customer service line and I have spent two hours at a time on hold with no response. I called them and finally got someone on Wednesday, July 23 at which time the company's representative told me that the delivery would be Thursday, July 24 between 12:00-4:00. I took precious vacation time to be home and they never showed up. Again, I could get no one to answer the phone or return an email. I tried again this morning to no avail. This is completely unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I want Starck Van Lines to refund me the full delivery charge that** ****** charged for this item and to deliver the item on a Saturday when I don't have to take additional vacation time.

Business Response: The delivery was scheduled with the customer, but the paperwork on this delivery was misfiled and not put on the manifest. Once we recognized the error we attempted to reschedule, but the customer had cancelled their order. We do apologize for the inconvenience to the customer.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* *****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

7/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Of the $80,000 in furniture for our new home, about 75% of it has been delivered by this third party delivery company. In approximately 1/2 dozen interactions we have had with Starck, ALL have been HORRIBLY mismanaged! First, they provided "white glove" *********** ******** delivery & set up of 2 dressers, 1 crib, and a night stand - one piece was missing, two were damaged (no blankets or padding b/t items in delivery truck), and the crib was left in the box, un-assembled because the crew "did not have tools in the truck." Starck has mismanaged several more of our *********** ******** orders since then, and most recently we learned that they are using a different company after "hundreds of complaints" (a few of which were from us) about Starck. Our most recent issue occurred with a ****** order placed 6/14/14 of two outdoor chairs. Starck received parcel in their warehouse on or before 6/26/14. We were contacted by **** ****** stating that Starck would deliver our packages on 7/2/14. Never came! On 7/3/14, I left several messages @ two different #s, no call back. Tried again 7/8/14, spoke with ***** who was unapologetic and rude. Brushed me off onto dispatcher who set up delivery for 7/11/14 for ONE chair, not two (claims Starck never rec'd second chair). Again, the package never came! Called ***** back 7/14/14. Waited on hold 10 mins, got disconnected once, I had to call back. Again he was rude and unapologetic. Stated that computer system said they received item on 7/8/14 - a lie, since that was the day I talked to him last week and he stated that they've had the item in their warehouse since 6/26. Stated comp system showed item went out for delivery on 7/11, but was returned with no reason. Who knows what is true and what is not. As a business owner, I would want to know if my company was run so poorly in my absence, so I asked to speak to *****' superior (the owner) and was told he was not available. ***** called back to schedule delivery for 7/15/14; again, he was rude and short.

Desired Settlement: Bottom line: I want my chairs, and I do not want to have to wait on hold and deal with rude customer service managers in order to get them here before the end of summer. Furthermore, I think that the owner should be aware of the sub par manner in which his company is being run. Or perhaps he too is lackadaisical, rude, and incompetent...

Business Response: On 7/9 @ 9:01 a.m. we received a phone call from Mrs. ********* regarding her delivery. After researching the order for her, we determined that **** ****** had pre-scheduled all of the pieces arriving at our facility. Our customer service contacted Mrs. ********* to inform her of the issue and also to determine whether she would like a partial shipment of her order. The delivery was scheduled for 7/11. The driver was unable to find the residence on 7/11 and was unable to complete the delivery. On 7/14 @ 12:18 p.m., Mrs. ********* called again stating that she had not received delivery. Her order was rescheduled for 7/15 between 8 a.m.-12 p.m. We are looking into Mrs. *********** statements regarding her interactions with customer service.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/23/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order from ************* was suppossed to be delivered by Starck Van Lines by 6/25/13. Numerous calls have not be returned. Cannot make contact

Desired Settlement: Want our furniture delivered by tomorrow

Business Response: We apologize for the inconvenience to the customer. The freight arrived later to us than expected, once the freight did arrive in our warehouse, we contacted the customer and scheduled the delivery for 7/11/14.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Starck Van Lines to move my stuff from PA to Mississippi. One of the pieces they moved was damaged. After calling several times I finally got a form to file for compensation. Then after faxing it several times they finally admitted receiving it. In addition I noticed a storage charge on my bill when the only reason it was stored was they were trying to find a truck to send it to MS. I talked to 2 different people for these issue. The one on the claim has not responded to calls and emails. The one with the overcharge said she would call back but here we are 4 weeks later and no return calls despite several emails to her. An email sent to a superviser is unreturned and of course their VM system does not allow you to contact a particular person.

Desired Settlement: I would like the bogus storage charge refunded and $125 for the damaged merchandise I am due from the insurance.

Business Response: Mr. ********* claim settlement was sent out, but was returned because he had put the wrong house number on the claim form. We sent him copies of the returned envelope and a copy of the claim form with the address he gave to mail it to. He realized he did put the wrong address and let the claims dept. know this when they finally were able to speak with him. We have several communication logs that are date and time stamped where the supervisor, claims dept. and coordinator left Mr. ******* voicemail...at no point did we not respond to him. His storage charged was refunded. This was not a bogus charge. Mr. should have been charged for storage, but this was not communicated by the salesperson so the right thing to do was to refund this back to Mr. ******* since this was not conveyed properly to him and that is what we did.

Consumer Response: I finally did hear from the company after reporting this problem to the BBB. They have informed me of this offer and I find it satisfactory but I want to wait and see if I actually get the check and refund.  As the company said I did accidently have one digit wrong in the address on the claim form. Of course it was correct on the original forms of the move and it was where they delivered my stuff. The reason all those voice mails were unreturned was because they put the wrong telephone number down in their records. Of course the fact that I was sending them emails every few days that they never responded to seems to make me wonder. As far as why I should have paid for storage while they were trying to find a truck to ship my stuff I have to ask why I should pay for that?

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an outdoor patio set from ***** **** that was supposed to be delivered in the beginning of June. This company was supposed to deliver the item. They supposedly did not have our phone number to schedule delivery which wasn't necessary since they have our address in the details. Anyway, I called last week to give them my phone number and they have not returned my calls or called me to schedule delivery of my item that I have paid over $1000.00 for! I was supposed to receive my item by June 16! They will not return my repeated calls or ever answer the phone when I do call. I'm fed up! I should receive my item that I have paid for!

Desired Settlement: I want my item delivered to my address ASAP!!

Business Response: Unfortunately the freight did not all arrive at the same time, we got the table originally and waited to schedule until the rest of the customers items came in. We attempted to let the customer know this information, but was given a bad phone number from their place of purchase. Once the other piece arrived, and we were able to secure a better phone number we reached out to the customer. The customer is scheduled for delivery on July 5th, and that day worked for them.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for a king sized bed with *********. This is the second issue I've had with their delivery service, starck van lines. The bed arrived at the facility last week. I never received a call so followed up, and scheduled delivery for Monday, June 9th. I had to call multiple times (4) to have my phone number corrected. Each time the customer service associates were rude. I took Monday off of work and by 3pm I never received a call from the driver. I called customer service yet again where they still had the wrong phone number but assured me it would be delivered by the end of day. I really wish they would have just been honest and said it wouldn't be Monday so I could have used my time off more effectively. I then took Tuesday off of work. I called at 9am where another rude customer article associate said she would call the driver and call me back. No call. So I called back two hours later where she was rude again and pretty much said oh well, nothing I can do. So I called back a final time an hour later after still hearing nothing. They are obviously unable to locate my bed frame. Horrible drivers obviously since they are unable to be located and customer service is rude and unhelpful.

Desired Settlement: I would like the item refunded or delivered immediately.

Business Response: The freight had arrived to our facility mislabeled for this customer. It did not deliver to the customer during the correct time frame. CSRs were attempting to assist the customer, but were in the process of locating the freight, which took longer than expected due to the mislabeling of the freight. The CSR was unable to give the customer answers until we were able to assess the entire situation. Freight was located, customer was contacted and the delivery was made to the customer the morning of 6/11/14. We do truly apologize for the inconvenience.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/2/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered office furniture through ****** ***** and Starck was to deliver. I set the delivery up between 1:00 p.m & 4:00 p.m., I received a call two days before listing the delivery will be between 12:00 & 4:00 p.m. and I am to call before 10:00 a.m. the next day to change if not the delivery will be as mentioned. I decided not to go out to lunch so as not to miss the delivery. it is now 5:04 and no delivery, I have people waiting to assemble and move into the office space. I called the number and I am left in a holding que for 30 minutes, called back and left a message and no return call.Calling someone in the sales team is the only way to get in touch with someone, she transferred me and I was put into someone's voicemail I left a message and she also emailed the other department.

Desired Settlement: The cost for paying employees to stand around and wait for a delivery that has not shown up and the cost to bring them back in another day when and if it shows up.

Business Response: Our contract is with ****** *****. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused to Mr. ******* and his staff regarding the expected delivery. We had been in touch with him and delivered the furniture on 5/9/14. If he has any other questions or concerns please have him reach out to the Manager of that Dept., ***** ******.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/12/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a mattress and Starck Van Lines delivered it. They damaged my walls over a month ago and still have not returned my calls or had anyone contact me regarding the issue. I am now left with walls with visible dents and markings.

Desired Settlement: I want compensated for the repairs I have to spend to get my walls fixed

Business Response: We would like to apologize for any inconvenience and lack of service Miss ******  has received from our company.   After researching the issue, a contracted driver who was responsible for the route that day did do damage to Gail ******'s home.  The contractor was notified right away and was responsible to satisy this issue with her, but we were unaware that he has yet to do so.  We are glad that you brought this to our attention so we could intervene in this issue to satisfy Miss ******'s request for compensation for the damage.  We have a time stamped communication log where our property damage claims representative has left messages for Miss ****** on both the home and cell #s.  Please reach out to Ms. ****** @ ###-###-#### so she can resolve this issue.   Again, we do apologize for the inconvenience.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Stark Van lines tried to contact me two times. I have left 2 messages for them and have not heard from them in 1 whole business week February 10-14, 2014.  They have not tried to solve the problem and said that they were not aware that their own contracting company had not called me. I work full time and have two children under the age of six. I do not have time to continue to call them regarding this complaint. 

Regards,

**** ******

 

 

Business Response: Since Mrs. ****** stated she received calls from Ms. ******, but called back and got her vm with no return call, the Manager for that Dept., ***** ******, has left Mrs. ****** several messages on her cell and home #s along with emailing her as well with no response. Please reach out to ***** at ###-###-#### or via his email address **************************. We would like to resolve this matter, but we need a response please.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was forced to deal with this company as a result of an online furniture purchase made thru ********. The 3 piece set was delivered on 1/20/14, a day I was already off from work,& was of poor quality and damaged. I contacted ******** to have the item returned and was informed that Starck would be able to pick it up Fri, Jan.24, 2014 as this was the day they were in my area. I was told Starck would call me by Thursday to confirm a time window. When I didn't hear back by 3pm Thursday, I called ******** who conducted a conference call with ******* from Starck. She indicated she had no record of receiving the pick up &indicated that I should have called them to reschedule, while also blaming ********. *** was able to confirm the order was sent the afternoon of 1/20/14. ******* did not seem interested in discussing how the situation could be remedied or if special accomodations could be made,&deferred to having to speak with the director. No emphasis was made on pleasing the customer, but it was made to seem as though it was my fault and "oh well." I was told Starck would call me back with a response. At 4pm, *** called &stated that the delivery for tomorrow was cancelled & Starck would call me to reschedule. Starck called while I was getting off of my bus at 450pm& I was unable to return the call til 5pm, when they were conveniently closed.If *** was aware at 4pm,the customer should have been contacted shortly thereafter, not right before closing. No accomodation was discussed in the message&basically made it seem that I would start from scratch with the pickup. As someone who works in the public sector,I was highly disappointed in the lack of customer service I received and how it was as if nothing could be done. Even if a small accomodation can be made, it should be explored& not glossed over.With my travel&work schedule I am gone from 7a-5p daily. If I need to make arrangements, I expect that the company is courteous in return.

Desired Settlement: To me I am upset with the attitude, as if I did something wrong to be in this situation.I am pregnant&take my own vacation and sick time for maternity leave,therefore everytime I change my time it affects me and to have someone allude to "oh well" is unacceptable. This company made no accomodation for the inconvenience&basically made me feel as there was nothing I could do.If in fact they are already in the area this day,an accomodation should be entertained or an outside arrangement discussed.

Business Response: Our contract is with ** ******, as you can see from the Customer's statement. Unfortunately in this case there was miscommunication. The Account had mistakenly given Mrs. ******* the drop date for the pick up to be entered in the system, which was not a scheduled pick up date. This is why the customer service rep. had no record of the receiving the order for the pick up. The order did not populate in our system until 1/24 @ 9:04 a.m. We had contacted the client at 11:18 a.m. on 1/24 and scheduled the pick up for 1/29. We do apologize greatly for the confusion and that Mrs. ******* was inconvenienced. We have also looked into the poor customer service that the client was upset about and appreciate that feedback and are taking necessary actions. The items were picked up on 1/29, as scheduled and again we apologize for her inconvenience.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My company relocated me and hires Starck Van lines to move us to our new location. After the move we noticed multiple damaged items including a bedroom set from ***** *** ******, a seven piece dining set, and an L shaped office desk that was attempted to be repaired. The items above are valued at about $7500 and we were not happy with a repair though wanted to give them a chance to make it right. Once the repair company completed the repairs they were not perfect though acceptable so we accepted the repair. The repair person noted on the paperwork that we may have issues later on due to the finish though did not state it to us, he just informed Starck Van Lines. Starck Van Lines with held this information form us and allowed us to think that everything would be fine with the furniture. a few months later the finish that was applied by the repairman started to flake off and now the furniture looks worse than before the repair. We contacted Starck Van lines and was told at first that they wanted to make it right. The next day we received an email stating that they were not going to replace the product but wanted the repair man to attempt to fix it again. We talked to the repair man and he stated that he could fix it again though it will do the same thing. this is not acceptable as w will be in the same situation in a few months. after communicating this to Starck we were told that they would not do anything to resolve the issue. We are now stuck with $7500 worth of damaged furniture that was damaged by the Starck Mover. This was also the worst moving experience that we have ever been through. we have been moved by professional movers multiple times and never received such poor service and/or quality of service in the past. the attitude and quality of work was very unacceptable for a corporate moving company.

Desired Settlement: We are asking to have all furniture replaced and the estimate is $7500 if we can settle without requiring the need to sue the company. If this matter goes to a legal process we will seek replacement furniture, legal costs, lost time, and compensation for the mental impact on our family while dealing with this company.

Business Response: The ********* signed off on all repairs in September 2012.  At no point did anyone withhold information from them.   We do not operate that way and never would.  After speaking with Mr. ******** and the ****** ****, the repairman stated while he was doing the repairs that there was evidence of an oily cleaner/polish that he stated may cause refinishing difficulties, but this was prior to the repair and he s/w the Mrs. about this that is how he knew she had a cleaning company come in to clean because he pointed it out to her and asked what kind of cleaner she was using or what was she putting on her furniture.  He was able to refinish the products to their satisfaction and I have the signed release form from ********** ***** for the repairs that were made.  When we recently received the call from the ********* that there were issues with a few of the repairs made from Sept. 2012 our Claims Specialist reached out to the repairmen immediately and asked him if he would reach out the ********* to look at the repairs to the items they were talking about.  When he reached out to her she had told him not to come out even though he does a great job and has been in the business for a long time that if he couldn't 100% guarantee that she wouldn't have any issues in the future that she was just going to get her furniture replaced (she has also stated this in an email to our Claims Specialist).  We informed them that we can't replace the furniture.  Mr. Decanter had signed the claim settlement check that is stamped where he signed that states "By acceptance, I hereby release completely and forever discharge the carrier (Starck Van Lines), its agents and employees from any and all claims pertaining to this shipment".  This was sent to them along with a letter that stated the same thing.  As previously stated, we also have the signed release form from ********** *****.  The offer still stands that the repairman that did their repairs would be glad to come back out even though he has the signed release.   We can not go back almost a year later after the claim was settled and replace their furniture.  The Account is aware of the situation and has been dicussing this situation with the ********* as well.  

Consumer Response:

There are a lot of holes to their side of the true and actual events as it pertains to facts and the actual sequence of events. The only piece of furniture that was in question as it pertains to the furniture cleaner was the desk and not the other pieces of furniture. He did ask me what kind of cleaner I used on my desk and I told him I wasn’t sure what our house cleaners have used in the past.   He never once stated that my furniture might cause refinishing difficulties.   He did show me after he did the work on the desk where he wasn’t able to match the two-piece desk, though showed me and stated that it was the best that he could do. I could see a difference in the color though it was not very noticeable. He also never mentioned that there might be an issue with his finish and how it will stand up over time. If he would of told us that there might be issues over time, we would never have agreed to the repair and pursued a replacement and not have let him finish the repairs.  

After he was finished with the initial repairs I was satisfied with the work, though again, he never once stated that there may be finishing difficulties over time with the adherence of the product or that it might flake off. If that were communicated to us at the time of the repair, again, we would have made a different decision and would never have accepted the work that he did.  Now the furniture looks worse than it did before the repairs. If there was an issue with the cleaner used, a true professional would know that the wood would need to be repaired a different way and not to attempt to adhere stain or color to a surface that he knew would not stand over time. We are not wood experts and have never claimed to be at any time. We entrusted the wood expert hired by the moving company to understand the product, repair techniques, and to communicate to us honestly what was the result and potential future issues that we may come across as it pertains to his repairs. He withheld his concerns from us.  

As for the timing between the repair and our complaint, we attempted to reach out to Starck Van lines in January when we noticed the flaking (we have the email that we sent without a response from Starck in January).  We probably would have noticed sooner, though the table was in a formal dining room with no use and the desk in an office that was rarely used, as I was pregnant and not working at the time.  A few months later and after having our fourth child in January I reached out to Starck again through their email and didn’t receive a response back. I then contacted them on the main phone line and finally got in touch with our claim handler. She stated that she never received the email in January though she does remember the horrific move that we went through and the dozens of items that were damaged including the wood furniture. She told us not to worry about it and ensured us that this will be resolved.  I asked her if I can send her receipts for our furniture and she said yes.   I told her I might not be able to find all of them and she said just to do my best and try to find something that is comparable to the items that were damaged.  

They then decided that the best solution was to have ********** come back out to repair the item. He called us and told us that he had noted in his paperwork that we may have issues down the road and He also stated that if he attempted another repair that we would face the same issues.   I then told him that we didn’t want him to come out to fix the furniture if that was the case that I was going to contact the movers and have our furniture replaced.  We obviously are not confident in his ability to perform his job and declined him coming back out due to the fact that he withheld information from us and has little confidence that he can repair it correctly if attempted.  

 We reached back out to him after talking to Starck and asked him for a copy of that paperwork he said that he wrote the notes on about potential future issues. He said that he could not provide that to us, as it was the property of Starck Van lines.  

We had another wood expert consult our issues. He stated that due to the extent of the damage to the furniture, the repairs should have never been attempted to be done in our home and should have been taken to his shop in order to complete the repairs correctly. He also stated that anyone that repairs finished furniture would know to remove any cleaner before attempting any repairs.  

This company has put us through a high level of mental stress, created a challenged home environment, thousands in damaged furniture, and now dishonesty, lack of compassion and trying to cover up the truth in order to save money for the organization. We were happy in the beginning to work with a moving company that was a faith based company and were confident that a company that, on paper, sounded like they would do the right thing. We are not asking for more than we are owed. Before the move we had furniture in good condition, now we have furniture that flakes off when you touch it and is now passed the point where it can be repaired. This product needs to be replaced at its replacement value.  We have attached a couple pictures of his attempted repairs. 

 

Regards,

***** ********

 

 

Business Response: Before a complaint was even filed with BBB we had offered to send the repairman back to their residence to refinish the pieces that they are concerned about as a good faith effort.  The repairman had even reached out to them and was told they wanted the furniture replaced.  I have attached the signed Release from the furniture repair company along with the Release Letter and copy of the signed settlement check.  The stamp below the signature line on the back of the attached check check states "By acceptance, I hereby release completely and forever discharge the carrier (Starck Van Lines), its agents and employees from any and all claims pertaining to this shipment."  Again this claim was closed at the beginning of October 2012 after all Releases were signed.  

Consumer Response:

Once again Stack Van Lines is leaving out much of the information that is very important for clarity of the situation. The repairman originally knew that his repairs would not hold up and did not disclose that information to us after the repairs were complete. He told us a couple months ago well after the fact and after we were having issues with the repair that he thought we might have issues later on. He also told us that he stated that on the paperwork that he gave to stack. If we knew that there might be issues in the future with the repairs, we would have never signed the release. This is a continued miss in Starcks understanding. Again to be clear, if he would have disclosed to us that we might have issues we would have never accepted the repairs or signed the release. Therefore the accepted repair and signed release are void due to the repair company and Starcks failure to disclose this information. And in my opinion they chose not to tell us hoping that we might just go away. starck knew that we might have issues in the future. As for an attempt for him coming out to repair it again, there is also s lot left out from Starck. We would have been happy to allow him to attempt another repair. The only reason we declined the repair is due to the repairman telling us that he could attempt another repair though feels that we would be in the same situation again. He said that if he repaired it again, over time it would flake off as the first repair did. So why would we want someone to come repair something that he has admitted he can't do with confidence. If I had my car repaired and it broke down, I would ask the repair person to fix it again. But if he said he could try but it will most likely break down again. I wouldn't allow him to fix it again.Same  situation. So I would challenge Starck " a faith based company" to include honesty and full inclusion in their responses so the BBB could make an informed decision. 


Regards,

***** ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WE ORDER A MATTRESS AND BOX SPRINGS FROM *** AND STARCK VAN LINES CALLED US AND SCHEDULED A DELIVERY DATE OF WEDNESDAY, JULY 24, 2013. MY HUSBAND TOOK OFF THE DAY BECAUSE THEY SAID THEY WOULD BE AT OUR HOME BETWEEN THE HOURS OF 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM. BY 1:30 PM THEY STILL HADN'T SHOWN UP OR CALLED. MY HUSBAND CALLED STARCK AND THEY SAID THEY COULDN'T DELIVER OUR STUFF TODAY BECAUSE THEIR TRUCK GOT STOPPED BY THE DIVISION OF TRANSPORTAION. THEN THEY TOLD US THEY WOULD DELIVER IT WEDNESDAY JULY 31, 2013, WELL THEY CALLED AT 8:00 AM ON THEY DAY OF DELIVERY AND SAID OUR STUFF COULDN'T BE DELIVERED AGAIN TODAY BECAUSE OF THEIR TRUCK WASN'T WORKING PROPERLY. NOW THEY WANT US TO WAIT TILL WEDNESDAY AUGUST 7, 2013. MY HUSBAND HAS TAKEN OFF TWO DIFFERNT DATES NOW WAITING FOR STARCK'S DELIVERY. NOW IF WE WANT OUR MATTRESS AND BOX SPRINGS BEFORE AUGUST 7TH, WE ARE GOING TO HAVE TO TRAVEL 110 MILES TO GET THEM.

Desired Settlement: WE SHOULD BE COMPINSATED FOR MY HUSBAND'S TIME AND FUEL FOR GOING TO GET OUR MATTRESS AND BOXSRINGS FROM BRIDGEPORT, WV TO STARCK VAN LINES NEAR WEIRTON, PA.

Business Response: We are very sorry for the inconvenience.   The Home Delivery Dept. has several drop offs scheduled each day in different areas.  Our schedule for deliveries in that area is every Wed.  When we weren't able to deliver the remaining deliveries for 7/24 we had asked if we could deliver on Saturday.  The customer was not available so it was rescheduled for the following Wed.  and that delivery was not able to be made.  The customer then drove to pick up the mattress and boxspring because they didn't want to wait untiil Wed.  We had sent out a $50.00 inconvenience check, but Mr. ******** had let us know that it cost $93.00 for fuel so we sent him out another check for the additional $43.00, as he requested to reimburse him for his fuel.  The contract we have is with the account, not with M/M ******** and they are aware of what has transpired with this delivery. 

Business Response: We are very sorry for the inconvenience.   The Home Delivery Dept. has several drop offs scheduled each day in different areas.  Our schedule for deliveries in that area is every Wed.  When we weren't able to deliver the remaining deliveries for 7/24 we had asked if we could deliver on Saturday.  The customer was not available so it was rescheduled for the following Wed.  and that delivery was not able to be made.  The customer then drove to pick up the mattress and boxspring because they didn't want to wait untiil Wed.  We had sent out a $50.00 inconvenience check, but Mr. ******** had let us know that it cost $93.00 for fuel so we sent him out another check for the additional $43.00, as he requested to reimburse him for his fuel.  The contract we have is with the account, not with M/M ******** and they are aware of what has transpired with this delivery. 

Consumer Response:

The Stark Van Lines said in their respond letter that they sent out a $50.00 check and then $43.00 check to cover the expense of picking up our mattress and box springs. First of all they did not send us any check for our inconvenience. Ask them to see the canceled checks. I will be letting everyone know how they operated. We notified *** about the matter and how Stark Van Lines treated us and how we had to go to the warehouse to pick up our delivery. We already waited for 2 weeks for our mattress and box spring, we weren't going to wait another week. *** was very upset with what Stark Van Lines did. They apologized for Stark doing us that way. *** took it upon them selves to take care of our inconvenience. You can tell how a company is with the way they handle things. *** IS A FIRST RATE COMPANY.

I waited before I responded to the response letter because I wanted to give Stark the benefit of the doubt. Of course we didn't receive anything in the mail from them. I hope anyone else who considers the Stark Van Lines thinks twice before they do.

**** ********

 

 

Consumer Response:

The Stark Van Lines said in their respond letter that they sent out a $50.00 check and then $43.00 check to cover the expense of picking up our mattress and box springs. First of all they did not send us any check for our inconvenience. Ask them to see the canceled checks. I will be letting everyone know how they operated. We notified *** about the matter and how Stark Van Lines treated us and how we had to go to the warehouse to pick up our delivery. We already waited for 2 weeks for our mattress and box spring, we weren't going to wait another week. *** was very upset with what Stark Van Lines did. They apologized for Stark doing us that way. *** took it upon them selves to take care of our inconvenience. You can tell how a company is with the way they handle things. *** IS A FIRST RATE COMPANY.

I waited before I responded to the response letter because I wanted to give Stark the benefit of the doubt. Of course we didn't receive anything in the mail from them. I hope anyone else who considers the Stark Van Lines thinks twice before they do.

**** ********

 

 

Business Response: First of all, I was very surprised when I read that you did not receive your inconvenience checks so I had the Accounting Dept. check into this.  They did in fact confirm that to-date these two checks have not cleared.  We have not received anything back undeliverable in the mail to-date either so we had requested a stop payment on the prior checks and  I had them issue a new check, Check No. *****, in the amount of $93.00.  We sincerely apologize and were unaware of this untili we received this response.  If you do not receive this check by the middle of next week please contact our office and let us know.  Again,  I do apologize for your inconvenience. 

Business Response: First of all, I was very surprised when I read that you did not receive your inconvenience checks so I had the Accounting Dept. check into this.  They did in fact confirm that to-date these two checks have not cleared.  We have not received anything back undeliverable in the mail to-date either so we had requested a stop payment on the prior checks and  I had them issue a new check, Check No. *****, in the amount of $93.00.  We sincerely apologize and were unaware of this untili we received this response.  If you do not receive this check by the middle of next week please contact our office and let us know.  Again,  I do apologize for your inconvenience. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a 5 piece bedroom set to be delivered NUMEROUS times through Starck Van Lines. 1st Delivery:I received a phone call the day before delivery stating the dresser was damaged and they discovered while loading the truck. This was one week after calling me to set up a delivery date (the items were all inspected upon delivery to their warehouse). They delivered 2 night stands, the bed frame, and a damaged chest of drawers (the bottom of the chest was busted, scratches/chips on the side). The chest remained because the delivery drivers said they would bring a new one, when they delivered the new dresser.2nd Delivery:About 2 weeks later, Starck drivers arrived with a broken dresser(bottom was blown out of the new dresser). The drivers took the broken chest and dresser for repair.3rd Delivery:I left work early to be home and the Starck was a no show.There was no phone call from driver or from office staff. I ended up calling Starck to determine the problem. The excuse I received was that their truck broke down and the driver was new so he didnt know to call and re-schedule. This didnt solve the problem of me losing income by taking time off of work, not to mention of the inconvenience of still not having my bedroom furniture ~9 weeks after I ordered it. 4th Delivery:Starck brought a repaired chest of drawers and repaired dresser. Starck guaranteed me factory quality furniture, yet I received mended furniture.The blown out bottoms of the chest and dresser were repaired by stapling a superficial piece of particle board over the broken piece. The furniture was not repaired it was simply covered up. I could not miss work again and my mother did not spot the damage until the drivers were gone. Through this entire 11-12 week process, I spoke with **** ****** and *** ******. I was guaranteed factory quality furniture and compensation. I received neither. In the past 6-7 weeks, I have left countless voicemails for*** G.M. and ***** **** C.E.O., neither has returned my call.

Desired Settlement: The monetary compensation discussed prior to the 6-7 week ignorance was $250, but that was depended upon receiving factory quality furniture (which I did not receive). I request additional monetary compensation of $250 (time lost & income lost) and for the purchase of a NEW ****** ********** ******** ***** $685 and a NEW ****** ********** ******** Dresser $749 (****************************************************) totaling $1684 in furniture and time.

Business Response:

The Customer is a great distance from our facility, we only deliver to this area every other week.  This fact alone contributes to the delivery process.  It is true this customers furniture had some minor damage issues as many items often do upon arrival.  Repairs do take time and while we apologize the final delivery took longer than expected, it was necessary for a quality repair to be made.  The final delivery company often performs touch ups and minor repairs…this in no way makes them second quality, it is common practice.   All items were made first quality.  It is common for this level of quality of furniture to have particle board on the bottom and back.   Since this was an issue, we did make special arrangements to be at the customers home during his desired delivery time.  All items were delivered to customer as first quality.   No additional compensation is given as long as the items are delivered as first quality, which they were.  Customer was advised of this policy (the policy of the Account we have the contract with for the deliveries) and no additional compensation will be granted.   

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved