Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

J H Bennett Moving & Storage

Phone: (814) 456-5377 Fax: (814) 455-9126 View Additional Phone Numbers 1705 Raspberry St, Erie, PA 16502 http://www.jhbennett-moving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business is a moving service & storage provider.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J H Bennett Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J H Bennett Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on J H Bennett Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 20, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1914
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission
PO Box 3265, Harrisburg PA 17105
http://www.puc.state.pa.us/
Phone Number: 800-692-7380
The number is 711465.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Vicki Amendola, Managing Director Mr. Kent Mitchell, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Vicki Amendola, Managing Director
Principal: Mr. Kent Mitchell, President
Business Category

MOVERS MOVING SERVICES-LABOR & MATERIALS MOVING SUPPLIES PIANO & ORGAN MOVING MOVERS - OFFICE MOVING & STORAGE COMPANY STORAGE UNITS – PORTABLE

Alternate Business Names
Bennett, J H Moving & Storage United Van Lines
Industry Tips
Moving

Additional Locations

  • 1705 Raspberry St

    Erie, PA 16502 (814) 456-5377 (800) 542-8668

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted them about moving from ***** ****** ******* *** ********* ** ***** to **** *** ****** ** ***** ** ***** on 11/5/2015. Mr. Joseph N**** came over and quoted a price based upon all of our boxes and things that needed to be moved (which was an entire household). Mr. N**** suggested ways that we could save both time and money. I had done as he instructed, I had every single box marked where it went, I had boxes and or totes stacked and staged about shoulder height, and mostly staged in the garage. Every stack had a white paper with black magic marker with the location that the entire stack was to be placed. I broke down out kitchen table, separated the dresser from the mirror ,and separated my computer desk( with the exception of 2 screws that I was unaware of. The morning of 11/12/2015 they showed up in a very little truck with 3 crew people. Right away the crew leader started complaining about the number of boxes we had. He proceeded to tell us to move our own boxes because they did not have room on the truck for everything. We said that is why we hired a Moving Company was to move all of our stuff, not to pick and choose what they wanted to move. The crew leader had a very poor attittude during thee rest of the move. He would tell the other workers to hand carry every little item instead of using the dolly . They took their good old time with loading by hand instead of using the dolly. Now mind you we had been at that location for 9 years and we know we have a lot of belongings. My wife is physically disabled and my daughter is mentally disabled, I am not in the best of shape to move by myself and that is why he hired a moving company. I had to leave about 11 am in order to get to work. When I left, the crew leader actually told my wife that I was a lazy *** because I did not want to move all the boxes and totes myself and was making them do it! As time went on, they decided that they could not get everything onto the truck and would need another one. I could have told them that from the start due to the little truck they brought in the first place. This was about half way through the move. They told us that it was now going to another $600 that we did not have to waste on their mistake, but had to pay it to get moved. A second little truck shows up and they loaded it up and they still did not take everything! There were several items that were never taken to the new location. I had a workbench that was my Fathers and meant a lot to me and I even told the crew leader twice to make sure he brought it and he responded by saying no problem I will get it next, and it was not taken. There wee several boxes and packed items that were never taken, and a dinning room table that was brought up from the basement but never taken. I ended up having to throw that away because of all the items that were left, I had no room for. So that table cost me money due to having to throw it away. I had to hire a few other people and pay out of pocket for their labor and gas to make a few trips to get the rest of our stuff. Once the movers got to the new house, they just took our boxes and put them any where they wanted, even after clearly being marked. We had several boxes of food in the basement (we are still missing a box) and things marked basement set where ever, kitchen living room where ever. The last straw was they did not build anything ! My daughter over heard the crew leader tell the person building the beds to stop and let them ******** do it them selves. I am glad that the person did not listen and finished them. The crew leader was about to walk out the door to leave when my daughter stopped him and said are you going to to put the doors on the fridge or just leave them off. He said that he was just going to leave them, and kept walking. My daughter had to yell at him to finish the job! He did come back in and do it eventually, which we should not have had to say anything . I am not going to lie I waited until Saturday to calm down and send them a letter and I did use vulgar language. I am not normally like that and nor do I normally swear, but I was so mad I just let it out. After z few days ,I did receive a smoke screen response from them and nothing more. They basically said that the move is based on man power time etc, that the crew leader has gotten high praises in the past. What ever that means nothing to me, as he was extremely unprofessional and I was over charged and I had to pay to bring the rest of my stuff home, I had to spend many hours myself location all the misplaced food items in the basement, and not once did they say they were sorry for our moving experience, they just went on about all their accomplishments. I sent several emails (as I am still very upset and do not want to talk face to face as I know I very well could loose my cool. I don't want to hear about all of their accomplishments, just how are they going tp proceed with mine), since and have not heard hide nor hair from them since.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome would be to be refunded for the terrible move, them quoting us one price and then double charging us for them not bringing the right size truck(twice) and all the money I had to pay out of pocket to finish the job, items that were left and had to be discarded, man hours that I had to spend locating items that were clearly marked and misplaced, and for having to build all my items(except the beds).

Business Response:

We have been actively discussing this situation with Mr. ****** since the move occurred. The move was estimated and planned with Mrs. ******, with no specific input from Mr. ****** during the process. It was explained very clearly to our consultant during the survey that this was to be a "budget move" and needed to be as close to or under $900 as possible. At that time, our consultant explained that local moving is hourly and is regulated by the PA Public Utilities Commission and provided her with a survey of just what could be accomplished by a 4-man team in the 8 hours that her 'budget' would allow. There were many, many items that Mr. and Mrs. ****** were going to move on their own to stay under budget.

On move day, Mr. ****** demanded of our crews that they move everything from the house. The consultant that provided the survey spoke to Mrs. ****** again by phone (as did management from our office) immediately to address crew concerns that plans for the move had changed. Mrs. ****** advised that they (Mr. and Mrs. ******) didn't get as much done as they had liked and that cost was no longer a concern. (This was not mentioned when we confirmed the move the day prior, and we ask specifically if anything has changed since the original estimate and if any more or less needs to be moved in terms of volume.) 

We did not send a truck that was too small for the originally estimated amount. We did send a full size straight truck (the only thing bigger would be a tractor trailer) and a full crew to provide 8 hours of moving service per the original estimate. It was too late to change this once the crew was already on site, as our other crews had already been committed and dispatched to other jobs that day. We did send the first crew that returned for the day out to the ****** residence to offer additional support.

The ****** family was charged only for the PA PUC regulated costs for the move that they required - no more and no less.

The accusations of our crew's behavior has been investigated and cannot be supported. The crew on this job has be consistently recognized by customers for their care and compassion in difficult situations, so finding substance to the claims of verbal mistreatment are hard to substantiate.

We continue to work through this matter with Mr. ****** - but only through email. He wishes to only be contacted through email and not verbally, so we remain skeptical of his motives and of his full understanding of the situation and what he is asking.

As a century-old mover and a consistent winner of customer service accolades, we continue to do our best to provide the high quality service expected of us. We will continue to accept no less than our best in the future.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** ******

It was never mentioned about 4 men moving. Nothing was ever changed on the move.  Not only did they give us 2 day notice, but we informed them that we needed to move everything, and as we needed to be out to be out of the house altogether.

As far as me not being involved, I work second shift and was not home when they talked, if  I were then I would have mentioned again about needing everything moved.  At no time was it ever mentioned about possibly needing another truck or men that it might cost us more money. If it were mentioned we could have been more prepared with the extra cash.  Yes we did mention that we would try to take as much as we could, which I explained we were not in a position to do alot.  My wife did not talk to Mr N****, until they realized they needed another truck, nor did she talk to any one else in management.  They have not been active in talking to me either, I got one snowball reply and another this morning, neither said how they would resolve this terrible situation, only that they talked to the crew and said what could happen if it were to happen again.  Which I have saved all correspondence.  This reply also does not reflect the extra moving cost we endured by having to move the rest of our stuff or the items that were discarded due to being unable to take them, and the fact that nothing was built.

As far as my view on this, they have not told any bit of truth since the begining of the letter.

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

*****

 

 

 

Business Response: Jennifer -

Attached is all the documentation we have from the move for Mrs. ******. Please note, that our contract was with MRS. ******.  At the time of the moving consultation, Mr. ****** was not present. It was clearly indicated by Mrs. ****** during the visual survey and estimate appointment that there was a budget amount that they had set aside for the move, and that our crews needed to do as much as possible while staying under their budget target. That amount would allow them an 8 hour move with a crew of three.

It was also indicated by Mrs. ****** at the time of the survey (as you will see on the pink notes/planning sheet) that the customer would move some garage items and smaller items on their own. Also that they might reduce the volume of their move to further limit load time to 4 hours.

On move date, the crew arrived to find that nothing had been moved by the customer and that now Mr. ****** was demanding that everything in the house be moved --- however he demanded that we move it all while staying under this estimated 8 hours. This was advised to Mrs. ****** during a call early on move day following our crew's concerned call in to the office. The communication between Mr. and Mrs. ****** was also conflicting. Mr. ****** wouldn't let us communicate with Mrs. ******.

Attached is the Table of Measurements, which lists all of the items that were indicated to be included on the move. Based on industry averages, this volume would take 8 hours for a crew of three to load, transport, and deliver.

Also attached is the Estimated Cost of Services signed by Mrs. ******. It clearly shows the estimate was for a truck and 3 men at the regulated rate of $105 per hour. (I'm sure that the BBB knows that moving costs are regulated by the PA Public Utilities Commission. We do not have the flexibility to charge anything other than the regulated rate.)

Also attached is the invoice from move day. That invoice shows that the original crew worked on the job for 7.5 hours until that truck was empty and the items they transported were reassembled.  It also shows that we sent a second truck and crew based on Mr. ****** demands that additional items be moved. That crew worked for an additional 2.5 hours. We would not send our crews back for additional items based on the verbal abuse of the customer. It is our policy to pull our crews out as soon as possible if a threatening situation arises.

As you can see in Mr. ****** original complaint email to us, Mr. ****** stated that one of our crew members was verbally inconsiderate. This claim could not be substantiated. (It is also highly out of character for a crew with a long list of compliments from customers to the contrary.)

The estimate for the move was $960.00.  Had Mr. ****** allowed our crews to do the 8 hours of work with just the original crew, the final cost would have been $957.50.  Because Mr. ****** demanded additional work to be done, additional costs were incurred. (We would have been just as happy to do only what was originally requested.)

Also attached is the email correspondence between Mr. ****** and our office on November 14 (and additional after that). You will see his original vulgar and threatening email to us via our "contact us" form on our website. You will also see his stipulation that we only converse via email. We did leave one message on the phone number provided, but received no call back. We sent our email reply back to Mr. ******. (That is also attached.)

Please be aware that Mr. ****** actually contacted United Van Lines about this move. We have provided all this documentation to United Van Lines headquarters and they have advised the customer that they have no involvement in this move as it was not an interstate relocation. 

To sum it up:
1. Our contract was with Mrs. ****** for a truck and 3 men and a list of items that could be completed in an estimated 8 hours.  (We moved those items in 7.5 hours.)
2. Mr. ****** changed the scope of the move after the crew arrived but insisted that the cost not change.
3. Moving costs are regulated by the PA Public Utilities Commission and not by the mover.
4. Mr. ****** was belligerent and somewhat threatening in his behavior, causing a potentially unsafe and volatile situation for our workers.
5. Mr. ****** reduced our method of communication to email only.
6. Mrs. ****** has never contacted us to review, file a complaint, or respond.

There is so much to be discussed about this complaint that it makes it very difficult to adequately outline. I'd be happy to answer any questions.

Thank you, Vicki


-- 
Victoria A. A*******
Managing Director


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I will have Mrs. ****** write a letter on her behalf, as my daughter(this effected her as well, and can testify to the circumstances) and fax it to your attention asap.
Please find all correspondence with J H Bennett via email in the enclosed attachments.  I chose email because of a few reasons, one is the lack of proving there was even a call, or anything that was said during that call, 2. I did not want them to just blow smoke at me and still not do anything that I could not prove, and lastly because of my work schedule. At that time I was working noon to eight pm, but with morning over time, so I would have had no chance to call them. Also my wife did not want to communicate with them as she feels she was already taken advantage of due to being a disabled woman.
Yes I did email them a letter about the move, and it did contain vulgar language, however I was extremely upset.  I took me several days to calm down to write it.
At NO time during the move was I or Mrs. ****** demanding or threatening.  Mrs. ****** originally contacted them in regards to our move because I worked second shift and she said that she would call them for me.
I would also like to point out that Mrs. ****** is severely disabled.
Yes we did say we would try to move some things ourselves, which we were able to move a little bit, but due to me being the only one who could move stuff at that time( my daughter is also disabled) it became very hard to gather all the house hold things ,pack and stack them shoulder height , mark every container visibly exactly where they went, also stacks were grouped and staged through out the house. They were already and accessible for them to pick them up with the dolly, as well as actually move things.
There was no communication with Mrs. ****** during the move with anyone in management until they realized they were going to need another truck.  This should have been discussed with Mrs. ****** during the initial visit. We know we had a lot  of items.  The person who did the visit should have noticed that as well.
At no time did Mrs. ****** change the scope of the move, it was convened during the visit that every thing needed to go, but we were borrowing a relative's charge card and wanted to try to keep it as simple as possible.  Mrs. ****** was notified that another truck was to be needed and she would have to pay additional monies.  She was not aware that much stuff was already going to be left, and thought everything was going.  She indicated that she felt pressured and had no other option but to pay for the other truck.
As for me being belligerent during the time of the move, that is definitely unfounded, as can be witnessed by both my wife and daughter, and was even told by ( the tall African American crew member ) that it was so easy for him to use the dolly, the way that I had everything staged and thanked me for making it easy.  It was at that point where the crew leader told him to stop using the dolly and hand carry every box.  We did everything that we could do to make the move as easy as it could go, with the exception of two screws in my computer desk that I was unaware of .
Once they arrived at the new location, they literally threw every thing where they wanted.  We had clearly marked boxes saying Food, leave in kitchen that were mixed in with things in the basement and things marked basement in the living room.
Also once again the tall guy was building our bed when the crew leader yelled at him to stop assembling things, which was witnessed by both my daughter and wife). Shortly after that, they decided to leave.  My daughter noticed that the refrigerator doors were not placed back on, as they took them off in the first place.  My Daughter said to the crew leader "hey aren't you going to put the doors back on, and maybe plug it in? She received huge amount of attitude from him. He reluctantly placed them on, gave her more attitude and left.
Our previous house was to close a few days later, so we went back to see what else needed to be done.  Much to our surprise, there was still a lot of boxes and big items, that we could not move our selves(hence the moving company).  There was so much stuff left, that we had to hire extra people to help us, that and several trips.  One of the things left was a metal work bench, that belonged to my deceased father. I asked the crew leader multiple times to make sure he got that on the truck.  He acknowledged each time.  We had a friend come with 2 people to move that by itself.  We worked extremely hard on getting the house in tip top shape as to not effect the closing.  It came to the point that we had to throw away multiple items because we were running out of time to take them.  One of the items was a dinning room table that was setup in the basement, but brought up by the movers and left there.
This could have been very detrimental to our closing and very well could have cost us well over $ 60 thousand dollars.  However the person that bought our house was very patient with us and accepted the walk through, as we promised to have it all cleaned up by the closing , which we did. So in closing, you can see how very frustrating this whole ordeal was, between actually moving, having 2 disabled people in the household, having to pay extra money that we did not have, almost loosing the sale of our house, everything scattered about the new house, nothing but the beds assembled and the attitude that was given by the crew leader, saying bad things about me to Mrs. ******. There was never any customer service offered by the company what so ever, no phone calls to us to rectify the situation.  No attempt to communicate with Mrs. ****** to get her view on the matter, nothing but smoke screens.
So this whole thing went sour right off the bat and should have never gotten to this point of contacting the BBB.



Regards,

***** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on J H Bennett Moving & Storage
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart