Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Grogan Brothers Moving & Storage Company

Phone: (412) 731-1400 Fax: (412) 731-5266 7253 Frankstown Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15208

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Movers - Moving Services

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Grogan Brothers Moving & Storage Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1906
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission
PO Box 3265, Harrisburg PA 17105
Phone Number: 800-692-7380
The number is A59857.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Ronald Grogan, Partner Mr. George A Grogan, Partner Mrs. Geraldine McClain, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald Grogan, Partner
Business Category


Industry Tips

Additional Locations


    7253 Frankstown Ave

    Pittsburgh, PA 15208 (412) 731-1400


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contracted Grogan Brothers for moving. They scratched my hard wood floors moving my refrigerator and scratched my doors. Contacted Ron and he requested pictures and proof, which we provided, however will not return our calls the last 3 weeks. Also, during the move, the movers took breaks and took their time folding and cleaning up their own equipment as we paid per hour. We estimate that we paid for an additional hour due to unnecessary time taken on things not related to our move.

Desired Settlement: Either repair items in the complaint or refund to cover costs to fix our floors and our refrigerator doors.

Business Response: From: ********** ****** *************************>
Date: Mon, Aug 10, 2015 at 3:52 PM
Subject: ID********

Hi *****:     I spoke with Ms.********* twice, Mr. ********* once, I related to each of them my [position on the floors, at least in the new house. Mr ********* and people he had helping him, watched us remove the refrigerator off of a 4 wheel dolly onto a moving pad and slide the refrigerator to where they asked us to leave it, so it could be connected. I will send them a claim form to fill out and return, and the insurance company will handle from there.  AS I related to Ms. ********* I can not testify relative to the old house or the doors, I can say going intro the new house there was no issue with doors or floors.
When we are in our busy season, I am on one of our truck, which is why it will take a while to respond.
WE are in somewhat of a lull for a few days before things ramp up again for the maddening august end of the month that will carry over a few days past Labor day. They can expect the claim form right away.
Thank you
Ron Grogan Brothers M & S Co.
Grogan Brothers Moving & Storage Co.

Consumer Response: I never received a claim form from Grogan Brothers.  We sent pictures evidencing the scratches on our fridge doors and on our hard wood floors.  Ron advised he would call us back during several conversations, however has NEVER done so.

Business Response: From: ********** ****** **************************
Date: Thu, Aug 27, 2015 at 4:34 PM
Subject: Re: You have a new message from BBB serving Western Pennsylvania: complaint #********
To: ***********************

HI ******    I put 2 copies of the claim form in the mail to the *********'s today  @  3;00pm. They should receive as early as sat Aug. 29 15.
Thank you , I hope to get this resolved really soon.
Ron G*****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


**** *********

4/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Grogan Brothers Moving & Storage Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)