Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

B F Fields Moving & Storage

Phone: (814) 454-2481 Fax: (814) 455-6477 View Additional Phone Numbers 945 Downing Ave, Erie, PA 16511 http://www.bffields.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a moving company.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that B F Fields Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for B F Fields Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on B F Fields Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 07, 2000 Business started: 06/01/1911
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission
PO Box 3265, Harrisburg PA 17105
http://www.puc.state.pa.us/
Phone Number: 800-692-7380
The number is 748300.

Business Management
Mr. Michael J Squeglia, President Mr. Richard Squeglia, Vice President Ms. Mary M Whitby, Management Team
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael J Squeglia, President
Business Category

MOVERS MOVING SERVICES-LABOR & MATERIALS MOVING SUPPLIES PIANO & ORGAN MOVING MOVERS - OFFICE MOVING & STORAGE COMPANY BUSINESS OPPORTUNITY COS.

Alternate Business Names
Fields, B F Moving & Storage
Industry Tips
Business Opportunities/Franchises Moving

Additional Locations

  • 945 Downing Ave

    Erie, PA 16511 (814) 454-2481

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/23/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A contract was entered into to have some of my late mother's possessions delivered to our home in Arizona. My father paid the fee upfront on 3 Aug. 2013 and the items were picked up on 7 Aug. The contract stated that the delivery date would be between Sept. 9 and 19. We heard nothing further. We called on 19 Sept. to check the status and found that our items were still sitting in Erie. We were given the date of 3 Oct. as a new delivery date. Again we heard nothing and called on 3 Oct. and found that the items were still sitting in Erie.Now they tell us that it should be picked up on 11 Oct. and they will give us another delivery date then. It is very frustrating that they have our money and our items and we are at their mercy. They seem to just pull dates out of a hat and do not honor their commitments. They took nearly $2,000.00 of our money and priceless heirlooms in good faith and have delivered nothing since the 7th of August. They now are saying that it is difficult to make the delivery to a relatively remote area in Arizona, however when they took my father's money they assured him it would be no problem.

Desired Settlement: We would like an honest and sure date of delivery and feel like we would deserve at least a partial refund due to the long wait and inconvenience caused.

Business Response:

This is an interstate shipment where  we operate under the authority of northAmerican van lines.

This shipment has since delivered to the customer based on the date of this complaint. The shipment was delivered out beyond the dates of service however there is not a legal recourse to refund any monies if the shipment is delivered beyond the contract dates. I have spoken to my offices in Ft. Wayne and attached is the "on time pledge" from our tariff and the email that i receivd. This refers the shipper to our website which can also answer his concern and question.

 

Please let me know if further information or explanation is required to adequately respond to this complaint.

 

Thnaks* ****

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

We received the shipment on 12 Oct. after being given the date of 19 Sept., and then 3 Oct. 2013. The tracking service on the North American Van lines web site never did show our shipment or where it was. The "On time promise" is so full of loopholes that it is worthless. I would never do business with this company again. When we tried to contact them on the phone we got lost in a maze of automated choices all of which ended with no one is available. I don't know how they stay in business.

 

Regards,

 

 

***** ******

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on B F Fields Moving & Storage
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)