Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Allegheny Valley Transfer Company Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Allegheny Valley Transfer Company Inc

Phone: (412) 653-1200 Fax: (412) 892-2648 View Additional Phone Numbers 1512 Lebanon Church Rd, Pittsburgh, PA 15236 http://www.alliedpittsburgh.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Allegheny Valley Transfer Company Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Allegheny Valley Transfer Company Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Allegheny Valley Transfer Company Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1976 Business started: 01/01/1925
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street, SW, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
The number is 376847.

Business Management
Ms. Mary Louise Jessup, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Mary Louise Jessup, Co-Owner
Business Category

MOVERS MOVING SERVICES-LABOR & MATERIALS MOVING SUPPLIES PIANO & ORGAN MOVING MOVERS - OFFICE MOVING & STORAGE COMPANY

Industry Tips
Moving

Additional Locations

  • 1512 Lebanon Church Rd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15236 (412) 653-1200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved on July 29. I hired Allegheny Valley Transfer Company. I purchased the full price insurance policy the company offered. The moving men broke into pieces several items. The company is giving me trouble about my reimbursement. The company want receipts for every item. When moving I was the only person there who was there as the mover brought in my furniture. The men had took things all over the house. The men stated that if I would inspect everypiece of furniture throughly during delivery I would be charged as the men sat and waited for me. My complaint is that purchaser beware of the insurance one purchases for a hefty amount. The company still gives the client a very difficult time in retreiving any monetary means for the furniture broken by the company.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full reburiment for my things damaged. The men brought my washer in without me knowing, it as well was dented and marked.

Business Response: The following is our response to ID# ********:

 

'I purchased the full price insurance
policy the company offered'

 

Ms. ****** purchased valuation in the
amount of $59,700.00 for Full 
Replacement coverage based on a minimum requirement of $6.00 per pound
(estimated weight - 9950 lbs.).  She
indicated on the returned Statement of Claim form that the actual cash value of
her shipment was $75,000.00. 

 

'The moving men broke into pieces
several items'

 

There were notations made on the
delivery paperwork of a broken lamp, scratched headboard, nicked dresser (2nd
BR), scratched dresser (mbr), and a nicked armoire.

 

'The company is giving me trouble
about my reimbursement.'  

 

Statement of Claim was returned
claiming damage to a Floor lamp, Oriental Hand Painted Governor Winthrop Desk,
High Lacquer Mahogany Dresser, Washing Machine, and Metal Shelving.

 

In a conversation with Ms. ****** it
was explained that some of the damage (ex. washer ) was not notated at the time
of delivery.  She indicated that she
didn't notate anything that it was the driver that made the notations.  We are in agreement as it is the driver's
handwriting,  but she had signed off with
her signature to the notations.

 

In conversation with the driver, he
took numerous pictures.  The damage to
the washer and dresser were pre-existing, he took pictures and also had brought
the damage to the attention of Ms. ****** at the time of loading. 

 

'The company want receipts for every
item'

 

We have not asked for receipts on
every item.  We have asked for a receipt
or some sort of supporting documentation for the floor lamp.  Ms. ****** had indicated on the Statement of
Claim that it was purchased in 2006 at a cost of $650.00 and the claimed amount
is $650.00.  In conversation, Ms. ******
indicated that she paid $400.00 for the lamp.

 

The local inspection/repair company
that was sent to Ms. ******** home, researched and was unable to find anything
to determine the value for the lamp. 
There are no markings or manufacturer information on the lamp.

 

' When moving I was the only person
there who was there as the mover brought in my furniture. The men had took
things all over the house. The men stated that if I would inspect everypiece of
furniture throughly during delivery I would be charged as the men sat and
waited for me.'

 

The men are going to be taking
'things all over the house' .  They will
being putting kitchen items in the kitchen, living room items in the living
room, and so forth.  Local moves are done
on an hourly basis - the customer does pay for the time that the men are on the
job.

 

The driver stated that Ms. *******
was the only person present at the time of loading, but that she did have another
person present with her at the time of unloading.  He was not sure of the relationship of the
female to Ms. *******, but there was a second person present.

 

There were 3 men (the driver & two laborers) on Ms. *******'s
move.  The driver stated that one (1)
laborer pretty much brought in boxes only and that he and the other laborer
brought in the furniture.

 

Ms. ******* received a copy of
'Information for Shippers'  (signed as
being received 7/21 1:16pm)

On the Information for Shippers under
PROOF OF DAMAGE/RECEIPT - .... Before signing, be sure all damage and any lost
articles are noted on the receipt or inventory. 
If the driver will not make such notation, make them yourself before
signing. 

 

In addition;  at the time of the move, we have an additional
form that is used along with the Bill of Lading  - under DAMAGE AND/OR LOST ARTICLES:  Do not sign any delivery paperwork before
delivery is completed.  When you sign the
delivery receipt, you accept your goods in apparent good condition, except as
noted on the receipt.  This section is
highlighted in yellow. Ms. ****** signed the form and signed each comment area.

 

We have the inspection & estimate
from West Interior Services , Inc. and are waiting for documentation from Ms.
****** for the floor lamp.  Ms. ******
faxed a copy of a receipt 10/16/14.  The
receipt was not legible.  Ms. ****** was
called and asked to mail a copy.  She
said that she'd bring a copy on Saturday, 10/18/14.  She was advised that we are open until
12noon.

 

Once we have all the necessary
information, we will review all documents for her move and determine our course
of action.

 
Copies of paperwork related to Ms. ****** is attached.
 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Date:10-23-14
 
This is in response to Allegheny Transfer Moving comments to my complaint.
 
Allegheny Valley Transfer Co. Inc.
 
**** ******* ******
 
**** ** *****
 
 
 
 
1.) I did claim that the coverage was supposed to be $75,000, because that is what the sales person and I discussed in the quote for the move.  I found the day of moving the contract stated on the moving copy of the agreement was $59,700 of full replacement. Therefore, there is misrepresentation by the sales women.
 
2.) Yes there were notations made by the manager of the moving crew about sum of my items destroyed or nicked.  However, the moving manager kept reiterating that I had 90 days to file a complaint, and neglected to tell me (the consumer) about all the fine prints when they finished the move. At the end I was told to sign or initial. The manager made many inferences they needed to go, time was up.  He bragged about how much commission he makes per job/a week to shorten their moves. He quoted about 5-6000 a month. Who knew?
 
3.) I did read the property damage certificate section and I had no comment at that time because, the manager insured me I had 90 days. I was furious at that point (the end of the move). I had no comment at that timebut was going to address my comments in the near future. There were too many to list on that paper. That paper was not sent with original paperwork, this paper was given to me by the manager after unloading my property.           
 
4.)  The washer front top was scraped, he did notify me. However, the biggest complaint is the washer was dented on the side of the washer after delivery to the new location THAT HE DID NOT STATE BEFORE THE MOVE. It was not dented before.
 
5.) I did not state the floor lamp was priced at $650.00 dollars, I said it was purchased for $450.00 and did produce by mail my receipt for the lamp. I was unsure the year I purchased the lamp. But I do keep receipts for mostly all my home furnishings. The company Allegheny or the contractor did not state at that time I needed my receipt right there and then.
 
6.) I was the only one trying to oversee my shipment; the person had nothing to do. That is why I stated I was by myself (trying to inspect my goods). Why would I have someone check my property? That is crazy.
 
7.) The damage and/or lost article paperwork the company is claiming is on the form; however, is not where I signed (none and my name). It was on the driver comments. I signed off on the drivers comments not on the damage and/or lost articles above.
 
8.) I needed **** Interior to come again to point out several more marks and the Allegheny Valley refused to pay for them to come out again. One would hope for customer excellence, the company would try to please their customer.
 
I would not recommend this company EVER. I am a person who has only used a moving company twice in my life and I am 56. Twice before that friends and family helped me without any problems, and especially did not damage  my property. What does that tell you? This company cheats the customer of information, facts, insurance copies prior to move, professionalism, and respect for others property. Buyer bewhere.
 
 Sincerely yours,
 
******* ******

Business Response:
(1)
Valuation Coverage

Only sales
notation that I see in the file is '$589 ecp ? She will let me know'
and then it's crossed off.  The signed
Estimated Cost of Service that was faxed back to our office on 7/21/14 has
$59,700.00 ECP indicated with a charge of $507.45.  If there was a discrepancy, it should have
been brought to our attention at that time. 
Even if it was overlooked on the Estimate; if at the time of moving
(7/29/14), it could have been changed and charged accordingly.

 

(2a)
Notations of Damage

The driver
was correct when he informed Ms. ****** that she has 90-days to file a
claim.  It is not his responsibility to
make sure that she reads the 'fine prints'. 


 

On the
signed Information for Shippers that was faxed back to our office on 7/21/14
clearly (and not in 'fine print') states PROFF OF DAMAGE/RECEIPT -Upon
completion of the delivery, the driver will ask you to sign the delivery
receipt.  Do not sign any delivery papers
until delivery is completed.  Before
signing, be sure all damage and any lost articles are noted on the receipt or
inventory.  If the driver will not make
such notation, make them yourself before signing.

 

(2b)
Commission paid to driver to shorten their moves.

Drivers are
not paid a commission to 'shorten' their moves. 
Drivers are paid on a commission basis. 
On a local move (within 40 miles) charges to the customer and the driver's commission is based the hourly rate.  As Ms. *******s move was completed in 8 hours vs. 11 1/2 as estimated, the driver was not paid more to 'shorten' the move, but was paid his commission on the actual time.

 
If local drivers were getting 5-6000 a month,
I'm  sure that there would not be a
driver retention problem in the moving industry.

 

(3)
Reading of the paperwork

Not sure how
to respond:

 

 'read the property damage certificate section'
- chose not to make any comments at that time.

 

'too many to
list on that paper' - it's a 8 1/2 x 11" pieces of paper with plenty of
room on the back  to comment, notate
damage,  and/or lost articles (if the space
on the front is not enough).

 

'not sent
with original paperwork' - the form that has the 'Loading Completion
Certificate, Property Damage Certificate, and Damage and/or Lost Articles' applies
to the physical moving process and is done at the time the move is physically
happening. 

The "Information for
Shippers" is a form that is done prior to the moving date and was sent with original paperwork.

 

(4)
Washer Damage

I don't know
the exact conversation that took place, but the driver does have a picture of
the scraped section as well as the dented section.  He stated that he took the pictures at the time
of loading and that it was pre-existing damage .

 

(5)
Price of the Lamp

It was
clearly indicated on the Statement of Claim form by Ms. ****** that the cost of
the lamp was $650 and that it was purchased in 2005.  Only during a phone conversation was it
mentioned that she actually paid $400-450. 
As to the year of purchase; if unsure, could have notated with a
"?" just as she did with the approx weight of the desk and dresser.

 

The reason
that a receipt was requested is because (as previously stated) there are no
markings or manufacturer information on the lamp.  Neither **** Interior Services, Inc. or
Allegheny Valley was able to research a value. 


 

(6)
I was the only one trying to oversee my shipment - Why would I have someone
check my property? That is crazy.

That fact
that Ms. ****** was the only one overseeing her move,  was clearly a choice that she made and  has nothing to do with our crew.  With the importance of checking the property
at the time of delivery, I don't see that it's 'crazy' to have someone helping.

 

(7)
Signature on Paperwork

Ms. *******
clearly signed each area on the form in addition to the two (2) areas at the
bottom of the form.  She previously
stated that she did read and chose not to make comments.  In addition, she signed the Household Goods
Bill of Lading and Freight Bill Delivery Acknowledgement that shipment was
received in good condition except as herein notated.

 

(8)
2nd Trip for **** Interior

All items
that were claimed were inspected and addressed. 
After Ms. ****** realized that we were not going to settle  as she had hoped, she wanted a second
trip. 

 

As
to the statement that "This company cheats the customer of information,
facts, insurance copies prior to move, professionalism, and respect for other
property",  is totally untrue.

 

We are a
professional company.  As we are sorry
that Ms. ****** feels the way she does, we do have many customers that are satisfied
with our service .  Our company spends a
large amount of money  for pamphlets and
forms to inform and educate our prospective customers,  whether they decide to move with us or not. 

 

Even with
all the precautions that our crews take, some loss or damage does occur.  We do not have "insurance copies"
because we do not sell "insurance". 
Only an insurance company can sell insurance.  We are required to cover up to but not
exceeding 60 cents per pound, per article (explained on the Information for Shippers)
Ms* ****** chose to increase coverage and paid a higher tariff rate
applicable to her desired coverage.

6/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired this company to move us a little less than 30 miles. The movers worked a total of 6 hours and vanished for 2 hours in between leaving our old residence and arriving at our new one. Due to this, we were charged for 8 1/2 hours (because of the 1 hour mandatory travel time listed in the contract). They said it was perfectly reasonable that they took over two hours to drive less than 30 miles, even though there were possibly a total of 3 red lights and a few stop signs. Then they claimed they were stuck in traffic, although my husband left at the exact same time and arrived at our new place in about 30 minutes and he said there was no traffic at the time. I called them repeatedly and sent numerous emails. A **** ****** finally responds to me and tells me to feel free to seek legal action, but that we will lose. This company is disreputable and will do nothing to remedy the situation. I wish I would have looked at this site before I chose them. I could have saved myself a lot of aggravation. Do yourself a favor and steer clear!

Desired Settlement: I would like refund for the time the movers were most likely sitting in a restaurant eating a long lunch on our dime.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

I have included three exhibits; one is an email dated Monday, May 12, 2014.  I have circled the portion of the email that the salesperson, **** ******* sent to Mr. & Mrs. ****** which explains clearly how the move is calculated.  It clearly states that the working time begins when the crew arrives at their residence and ends when the last piece of furniture is delivered to the new residence.  On top of this "working time" is added a flat one hour travel time and a fuel surcharge, which together totals the amount due. 

Our driver and crew loaded the ******* belongings from the Uptown region of Pittsburgh, started driving towards Irwin (which was the destination address), briefly stopped to pick up a sandwich at ****** and ate it on the way (for which they deducted one half hour) and then delivered their belongings.  Picking up the sandwiches took no more than one half hour and it is over 21 miles driving distance, through traffic to *****.  I know that Mrs. ****** states that it only took her husband one half hour but he was in a car and knows the area.  These men had to rely on GPS and a straight truck should not drive as fast as a car, simply because of safety.  Believe me, if they could have gotten done sooner, they would rather be done with the job than to work an extra hour.  Aside from this, there are more than just 3 red lights and a few stop signs in any 20+ mile distance.

The second document that I've included shows that Mr. ****** stated that the job was completed and nothing was damaged.  No where did he indicate that he felt that they were being charged unfairly.  No where did they dispute the time until after the move.   As far as responding to their calls and emails.  I have several pages of emails that I could forward to you where we had an ongoing discussion about their move.

Lastly, I am including a response that I sent to Mrs. ******.  We had tried to explain over and over to her how she was charged.  She seemed to think that the hour travel time was to cover going from one residence to the next but I had tried to explain that this is not the travel time, it is still considered working time because officially they are still working on her job and that travel time is to cover them getting from our warehouse to the first residence and, after the move is done, from the new residence back to our warehouse.  Truthfully, the travel time did not compensate them for the amount of time that it took them to get to the job and back.  If you reasonably calculate the driving time, you will see what I mean.  It certainly was more than an hour, despite the fact that they were only charged one hour.

Only when she stubbornly refused to understand what we ere trying to explain and threatened to see an attorney did I state in my email that she should do what she feels is best and if she did she would loose.  I have signed documentation that verifies everything that I've said and all of the email exchanges.

I am very sorry that she is dissatisfied, but the crew did not take advantage of her and they deserve to be compensated for the time that they put into this job.

If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact me.

Best Regards,

 

**** ******Allegheny Valley Transfer Co, Allied Van Lines

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I'm very disappointed at the owner's reply; not surprised, but disappointed.  She had a very quick response via email as well; most likely a canned response from having to deal with these types of issues very frequently.  The salesperson, **** *******, NEVER once mentioned that we would be paying for whatever the movers decided to do during the time that it took them to get from from our old residence to our new residence.  She said that we would be charged for one hour of travel time and the gas surcharge, PERIOD. This is what we signed off on.  In any case, the owner and dispatcher continued to argue that the movers relied upon their GPS to tell them where to go, and that this accounts for the extra hour and a half they were missing.  I have two issues with this explanation:  1 - if you are anywhere near the parkway in Pittsburgh (the quickest route), every GPS system will put you on it.  2 - one of the movers told us he was from ***** ***, which is the route they decided to take.  This long way has numerous red lights and lower speed limits.  And who uses GPS to get around their own neighborhood?  Regardless, it still wouldn't take 2 hours to get from our old residence to our new residence.  I believe that the movers intentionally took the longest way and charged us for it.  We were charged an additional hour and a half, which, in our case was $156.
And yes, I did say that I would be seeking legal counsel, because I felt that we were scammed.  The salesperson tells you one thing in person and then they count on the fact that you're too busy to read the fine print in the myriad of documents they have you sign. It isn't right.  I would NEVER recommend this company to anyone.  But, if for some crazy reason, you do decide to go with them, make sure you keep a close eye on the movers and follow them from your old residence to your new one.  Otherwise, you will be charged for any excursions they decide to make.

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

10/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had booked this company to move us. We were just moving across the street. We were told that since we had a piano, there would be 4 movers that would come. Only 3 showed up and we were told someone called off sick. One of the first comments from them was that they had a 13 hour day the following day. They started to move our belongings out of the basement onto the truck. After about 30 minutes it started to rain and they said that it was too slippery to be walking on the grass. They said they would move our first and second floors. After 10 minutes of saying that, they informed us they were leaving because there were not enough guys to help move all of our stuff. Our items that they had already moved onto the truck they said they would either put them back in the basement of the old house or put them in the garage of the new house. We told them that we had to have our stuff out because the people that bought our house were moving in that night. They didn't care. They said they were understaffed. We called the office and talked to **** (who we later found out is the owner). Well, she did absolutely nothing for us and was very unsympathetic of our situation. She said that she could not make them work because they told her it was too slippery. (It rained for 20 minutes and then the sun came out). We tried explaining to her that they could move the first and second floors without ever stepping foot on grass. It was all pavement. Remember, we were literally moving across the street. She did say that maybe she could get someone out the next day--not helpful when the new owners would be there the night before. This is the worst experience we have ever had and the only complaint that we have filed. Stay away from this company. They are rude and uncaring.

Desired Settlement: We want nothing from this company. We just want other people to be aware of what happened to us. No one can believe that they would quit on us. They said they would not charge us. What a joke! They didn't do anything for us to be charged.

Business Response:

Good Afternoon.

I can't tell you how sorry I am that Mr. ****** had this experience.  Normally, our people provide customers with excellent service and we receive numerous accolaides.  Along with the normal paperwork that goes with the driver, we send a survey sheet in which the customer rates the company, their driver, and the crew.  Additionally, they are asked how they came to select our company to move them and would they use us again.  I am very proud to say that we have a 99% satisfaction ratio and rarely do we have an incident such as this one.

That being said, I have to say that I expected Mr. ****** to lodge a complaint and much of what he said, is, unfortunately justified, however, there are some facts that were ommitted.  First of all, Mr. ******'s move was scheduled during one of the busiest moving periods.  His move was to take place on Aug 23 but he had only contacted our company on Aug 13.  When he spoke with our moving consultant, ****, he indicated that there were 3-5 rooms that would need to be moved and did not want **** to come to their home to provide them with an estimate.  Since this was a reasonably small move, going across the street, we scheduled a date without seeing the residence, as he wanted.

On the day of the move, our driver and crew arrived and it was raining but only rained for an hour or so.  Our crew was short one man because one memeber of the team was sick and, because of the time of year, and the fact that we were booked to capacity, we were unable to schedule another man to this crew.  I mentioned to the driver that an additional crew member would be sent as people returned from the jobs that they were scheduled that day.

When the driver arrived at the ******'s residence, he did a walk through and immediately phoned me stating that their home was very large and the job could not be completed in one day.  They asked if I had anything scheduled for them the following day so that if they began and couldn't finish before evening, they might be able to complete it the following day.  Unfortunately, we had made committments to several jobs and we were booked to capacity so there was no way that this could be done.

As for the move being right across the street, the driver said that they couldn't just walk it across the street.  The shipment had to be loaded into the truck and driven to the home across the street so this further complicated the situation because it would take more time to load and unload.

I told the driver to remain calm, explain to Mr. ****** that, per his request, we had done a phone estimate and, unfortunately, there was much more than what we had planned on moving or we would have scheduled two consecutive days or not taken the move but to tell him that they would do everything that they could to get as much out of the house and into the new residence before dark.  The driver became frustrated and said that there was no way to get it all done in one day to which I told him to explain the situation, work diligently and do everything that he could to get as much moved before dark so that most of it would be in the new residence.

The driver refused to do it and, it isn't that I didn't care about the ******s move but I had no one else that was free to send to their residence to move whatever could be done in that one day.  People would have returned from other jobs that they were on, but it would have been later in the day and less would have been able to be accomplished. 

I am sorry in many ways that the sequence of events unfolded as they did and have done many things to rectify what has, unfortunately happened.  First of all, the sales team has been advised that any move that is over three rooms MUST be surveyed in person by them.  This enables them to see everything and to be able to give the customer accurate information of how long the move will take and what to reasonably expect.  Secondly, the driver who was on this job was fired for his unprofessional attitude and lack of empathy for the customer.  One of his crew also resigned (which was a mutual decision).

That being said and done still does very little to eliminate the stress that both the ******s were under as a result of the driver walking off the job.  Nor does it remove the blemish that this puts on our company's good reputation.  At this point, all I can say is that I am very sorry that this happened and have taken the necessary steps to make sure that it never does again.  It was the first time that I have had a driver walk off of the job and the only recourse that I had was to fire the driver, which was done when he returned to the office.

Again, I do apologize for the inconvenience that this driver caused but the appropriate action was taken.

Best Regards,

**** ******

 

 

9/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called in March to get an estimate from this company in regards to our future move in July. I called early so I could get a good deal. The first appointment was made. The day of the appointment was rainy, but nothing to cause a car not to be able to get to the appointment. My appointment was canceled due to weather. The agent said it wasn't an emergency because my move wasn't until July. Only I had waited and taken time off to have him come. I rescheduled and they came out soon after that. I got the estimate and waited a month to make my decision as I had two other estimates. I then called and said I would like to go with their company for my move in July. I told them that I wanted to move on July 12th, but I still didn't know the address the move would go to. I did know the city, but we were still looking for a home. They said that wouldn't be a problem and to call when I knew the address. We found a home in June and I called to give the rest of the details. At this point I was told that the agent needed to call me back because he had to look over my file. I asked if their was a problem. He said there had been a price increase. What? That is why I went with them so early. He said he would call back that afternoon and he seemed to act like he had made a big mistake. He didn't get back to me when he said. Instead I waited a day worrying about what he would say. He called back and said that the price would need to be increased because it was now June. The whole reason for me getting the estimate so early was to lock in a good rate. I now am three weeks to my move and stuck going with a different company and starting the process all over. I could have continued with ****** at their higher price, but I don't trust them anymore. I am very disappointed. This has caused me anguish and I don't appreciate the dishonesty of this company. The specialists name was *** *****. I would advise not contacting this company or agent for a move.

Desired Settlement: We tried several times to call the parent company ****** and during normal business hours did not get through. We have yet to hear back from them.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

I want to apologize that Mr. *****, our relocation specialist, had to postpone his initial appointment with Ms. ******** but, during the storm, a tree fell across his driveway, blocking his garage so he was unable to make the appointment until it was removed.  He did, however, call to explain that he wouldn't be able to make it and asked to set up another appointment.

I am also sorry that there was a price increase which caused the cost of the move to escalate but we have no control over these factors.  As you are aware, whenever an estimate is given, that price can change if too much time lapses between when the estimate is given and when the customer finally decides who they are moving with.  This fact is the same for ANY moving company.  It is not that Mr. ***** was trying to deceive Ms ********, but when the prices change, we must increase the estimate.  Estimates are generally only good for 30 days and usually we will honor the price quote, even after 30 days, as long as the prices have not gone up. 

It has been a long established fact that in the summer months the pricing goes up.  Again, this fact applies to all movers.  This customer had already been given a significant discount and when the prices increased, we had to increase the estimated cost but at least she was informed before the move was set up so that she could make an informed choice as to whether she wanted to go with our company or if she wanted to select another company.  I don't think that Mr. ***** or anyone from our company was dishonest, it's a fact that increases do occur, when you have waited to make a decision, and when they do, you end up paying more.  A prime example is when you call to get a price for an airline ticket---today's price may be totally different from a price that you obtain tomorrow.  There are no guarantees that the price will be the same. 

Again, we apologize for the increase but really had no control over when increases are made.

Best Regards,

**** ******

 

 

 

9/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved from Pgh to MD using this Co. The home office lacked in customer srvc, the estimator was off by 5K lbs and caused a snowball effect on our move. He sold us on the 'overestimation' with chance of final coming in lower. He was under by 5Klbs and in turn, the movers arrived in a truck too small. W/in 10 min of seeing our house the movers knew they couldn't fit it all in but nothing was done from the office (no call to us, no 2nd truck). The need for 2nd truck resulted in a 2-day pack and I missed the close of our new home, incurred legal costs for a POA, etc. During the 2-day pack, nothing was communicated to me other than getting an estimate $3k HIGHER than originally planned. When calling to question the revised estimate, I was threatened that the movers would unpack the 1st truck and they did not have an arrival date for truck #2... I had to persist and call the company to get the date for second truck. In this process we paid 110% of the first estimate + a 3rd party charge to crate & uncrate our TVs and glass tabletop...which this company then CANCELLED without notification the uncrating. We had to pay COD out of pocket 3 days later after already paying the full amt. The ownership, **** - refused to call me back, lied and demanded I give her my other estimates to compare! She never follwed up w/the 2nd truck and passed off the issue tot he Gnrl Mgr who had to 'clean it up' but in the process sent me a 4th estimate - which nothing aligned and he couldn't explain. They are awful to work with, I would never recommend them to anyone. It was a BAIT AND SWITCH - they knew we were getting a refund from my husbnad's company and took full advantage. Regardless of who pays, people deserve to be treated with respect and clarity. They know nothing of either!

Desired Settlement: Would like to see full refund of the $134.42 we double paid for 3rd party crate& uncrate of TVs plus a portion of the overspill, inconvenience of purchasing items that didn't arrive until 12 days after and the hard legal costs incurred from having to get a POA for my closing. Total $850. They have taken absolutely no responsibility or ownership of this issue from day 1 and have been ignorant from the start (with the exception of the moving men, they were wonderful).

Business Response:

There are two facts that have been conveniently ommitted from the content of this complaint; one is that this was supposed to be a corporate move and, on the day of loading, changed to a COD move, the other is that the ******** were supposed to purge a lot of loose items that would have to be packed but since they went on vacation a week before the move, they probably didn't have the time to complete this task.

Let me address why it is important to know whether a move is a Corporate billed move or COD.  If a move is being paid by the customer's company, we require a letter of authorization in which the company agrees to  cover the costs involved in the move.  Since they are agreeing to be responsible for the actual costs involved in moving their employee, the mover will hold "the paper" involved in costs for third party companies who provide services such as crating, servicing appliances, and disassembling certain items that the mover does not handle.  Since the third party company is not part of the moving company, we have absolutely no control over their billing (whatever their charges are is what we pass on to the client).  Since we are guaranteed by the customers employer that they will stand good for the bill, we then have the third party bill us for these changes and present the total moving charges to the employer on an invoice which shows all services necessary to complete the move.

When we are servicing a COD move (meaning the customer is required to pay upon delivery), we do not hold the note because the customer is responsible for indicating to the third party technicians what they will and will not pay for (we can obtain a quote for them but this is strictly a contract betwwen the individual and the third party company) and they are required to pay for those services upon completion of the work by that company.

Now the *******'s move was always conveyed as a Corporate Move, thus we had agreed to be billed by the third party company to provide a total invoice listing the services provided, to Mr. *******'s company.  In fact, we had received a letter of Authorization from their company on Aug 16 (loading day was Aug 21) stating that the company would pay up to a certain amount for their move.  Mrs, ******* states in her complaint that we knew that she was going to get a refund from her husband's company and took full advantage---this is totally untrue---how would we possibly know that she was going to get a refund?  Maybe she is disturbed because they submitted the estimate to her husband's company, who agreed to pay that amount, and they were hoping that the final charges would be less than was estimated, but it didn't.  But regardless, when this changed to a COD move, on their moving date. the terms also changed because we no longer can bill for services that we don't do (and can't guarantee payment on).

Further, when *** *****, their relocation consultant and I reviewed the inventory that he originally completed in order to provide them with a weight (and estimate), we found that the furniture was exactly what they had orginally stated that they would be shipping.  The difference, which caused an increase in weight, was in the packing that they had done.  They ended up shipping more than 126 more cartons than they had originally told *** were going.  In speaking with ***, we think that they didn't have the time "to weed out" everything that they thought they could do because of the vacation, so it ended up being shipped.  This is the only explanation that I can offer for the increase in weight, which caused an increase in the cost.

As for the truck being "too small"---Mrs. ******* is incorrect in her assumption that this truck was too small.  Had the items that were indicated to *** been all that was shipped, it certainly would have fit on this truck but because of the increase in cartons, an overflow became necessary.  Their shipment was supposed to weigh 11,200 pounds so because of the increase in weight, the driver knew that there would be an overflow and asked the *******'s to indicate the items that they would need immediately and things that they didn't need would go on the second truck which would be loaded the following day.  Allen, our driver, loaded as much as he could on the first truck and when he saw that there was going to be an overflow, we sent the second truck (which was the following morning).  The second shipment was held at our warehouse until after the labor day holiday because all vehicles that are permitted to go Interstate, were in use because of the rush to get people moved before Labor Day, but we did get it to the ******** as quickly as we could. 

Mrs. ******* stated in her complaint letter that I would not return her calls but she also states that I lied and demanded her to give me the other estimates that she had received.  Both can't be true....I did speak to Mrs *******, who was pressing me for an immediate answer as to when we would be able to deliver it, and I needed to be able to look at our schedule to see when we would have a qualified driver and truck that would be able to do this.  Since the New Castle office handled her move and her driver took the overflow to New Castle, I needed to get with the manager there to see the soonest that it would be possible.  There was no "cleaning up", we were just trying to provide her with accurate information instead of guessing.  As far as the comment that I demanded that she turn over the estimate to me----that is a fabrication.  During our conversation, I was trying to acquire information that would tell me why this estimate was off.  I asked if they had received other estimates and were the weights similar.  The reason for the question is that if the estimated weights were the same, then all three salepeople were given similar information as to what was to be included in the inventory as going.  She reluctantly confirmed that the estimates were very close but did not want to disclose this and became defensive but I never demanded that to even see these estimates let alone have them turned over to me.

Regardless, when the New Castle manager contacted Mrs. *******, he informed her of the total cost of the move.  We charged her credit card for the estimate plus 10% and included the origin third party charges, which unfortunately, it was too late to cancel and reissue as COD (so we were responsible for them as well).  The third party company was advised that the destination services were to be COD to the ******** (which, had we known that this would be a COD move, all third party costs would have been COD to them.  When they discussed the total invoice, Mrs. ******* gave our manger in New Castle authorization to process the balance owed on her credit card, which he did.

I am sorry that there was so much confusion on this move which created a domino effect, in that the weight ballooned due to the overage in cartons, so a truck that would hold the amount of volume that was estimated was sent.  This increased the cost and required a second truck to be necessary.  All factors caused a great deal of stress which was unfortunate but I think that the customer has to be held partially responsible because of this increase.  We will not refund the $134.42 for the destination third party services that the ******** paid for because we didn't charge them for the destination services.  They paid the third party company direct for services rendered at destination and the only third party services that were included in our cost were the origin charges which we were billed for.

Again, the ******** were asked to tell their driver which items they could live without so that these items could be part of the overflow truck.  The fact that they had to purchase items should not have happend since these were items that they could live without.   Since the driver is paid the largest percentage of the move, because he does the physical labor, it is only fair that he be compensated for the work that he has done.  Again, I do apologize but honestly don't feel that it was ***'s error.  We provided a good driver and crew and did the best that we could to get their shipment to them in a timely manner.

Respectfully,

**** ****** 

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

1) Mr. *******'s company agreed to pay a specific amount.  When *** ***** came to the house, I clearly said that we had a stipend and that either we would pay direct or the company would pay but we needed the estimate first and foremost prior.  We had an allowance.  I specifically did not tell Mr. ***** what that was because I did not want it to be assumed and the estimate to be equal/greater than that amount.

2) When Mr. ***** came out to review the house, the only subject for debate was the TV  & Glass table crating. We asked for this to be line item on the estimate as we did not know how much the full move would be.   Regardless of a vacation... we would NEVER wean out over 5,000 lbs of additional items.  That is absurd and a weak attempt for an explanation.    Again within 10 min of the movers arriving they knew the truck would not hold the contents of our home. 

3) Mr. *******'s company tried to read thru the estimate when it was recieved.  The 2 original documents previously attached never matched - The company called to get clarity prior to the move but they did not get a clear answer either, despite Mr. ******* alerting Mr. ***** that we did in fact want the 3rd party services for the tvs/tabletop.  It was at that point, the company asked us to pay out of pocket and get reimbursed because Allegheny Valley Transfer could not provide 1 document that matched and was clear on the final cost.

4) Communication was awful!   We did not recieve the initial paperwork to sign off until 3-4 days prior to the move. Mr. ***** NEVER explained the differences between a company pay vs private pay.  Nor did he ever offer alternative contracts (binding vs nonbinding).  We were told on Fri 9/23 that she would make sure the 3rd party was sent... she did not explain the situation and said they were still being sent.  We as customer had to call the following day and was told by the 3rd party that it was cancelled and had to pay COD.  No one from Alleg Valley/Apollo called to inform us of this change -- despite us having to pay twice as our credit card was already charged on Fri 8/23 for 110% of the shipment (including the 3rd party services).   ALSO, I had to call again on Mon 9/26 at 10:30am after being promised that I would recieve a call first thing with a final delivery date of the 2nd truck.   I was passed off to the New Castle (Apollo) office who managed the situation thru final delivery.  And yes, she did demand to know what other estimators provided.  It did not and would not change the situation at hand - which was that Mr. ***** caused this snowball and Alleg Valley Transfer as a company never once attempted to work with me as a customer, never called to explain the situation nore was proactive about remediating it. I had to call and get answers.   I don't care who pays for a move.  This is someone's life on a truck.  Even if this was free, I'd have the same issues.  I don't just chalk it up to a company pay.  No one person/company should be given the run around like we did. 

5) Payment - I was told several times that the 110% of original estimate was charged and that I would receive a bill (which I could dispute) for the balance.  The day of the 2nd delivery 9/3 - 11 days later, my credit card was charged the balance... which again never matched what was send to me on Fri 8/23.  Regardless of the weight estimate, I had to request a line itemed bill - which the 3rd party charges were conveniently different than originally estimated.  The company that was paying for this move was unable to clear the payment because the estimates were all different.  When I called to get clarity even the mgr of the New Castle location needed to dig further.  When I sent the paperwork to Allied Corporate - even they can't understand the various charges.  They've had it for 2+ weeks and are still sifting thru the paperwork.

All in all - this office never explained any details, was not at all customer friendly in any regard outside of the gentlemen that actually packed and delivered the truck, and frankly gave me the run around.  I will never recommend this company to anyone and will do my best to inform several sites (****** ****, ******** ********** ******, ********, BBB, etc) about this company's lack of communication, respect and customer service. 

Regards,

******* *******

 

 

10/18/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service