Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Thunder Recreation Inc

Phone: (724) 981-7282 Fax: (724) 983-0143 1344 E State St, Sharon, PA 16146 http://www.thunderharley-davidson.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company sells and services motorcycles and also sells accessories and clothing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Thunder Recreation Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Thunder Recreation Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Thunder Recreation Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 24, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1994 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD0195682.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Gia Nicely, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Gia Nicely, Office Manager
Business Category

MOTORCYCLES-DEALERS MOTORCYCLES-REPAIRING & SERVICE MOTORCYCLES-SUPPLIES & PARTS CLOTHING-RETAIL


Additional Locations

  • 1344 E State St

    Sharon, PA 16146 (724) 981-7282

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased and installed a battery for my 2008 Harley Davidson Trike. The battery was bad so I returned it and received another one which was also bad. When I returned it, I was told that they could not give me a third battery without checking out the trike. They picked it up and took it to the shop. When they called they stated that the trike was ready and that the batteries were bad. I picked up my trike which was backed up against a fence. I took it out of reverse, drove home, and parked it for a couple of days. When I went to take it for a ride and back it out of my garage, there was no reverse. I went to speak to the service department about it, and they stated that the reverse was OK while it was there. I called another authorized dealership and took it there so they could determine the problem. They called and told me that the shaft and gears were damaged, and the cost would be around $2500 to repair. I went back to speak with Thunder again, and they denied that they damaged it and stated that they had pushed it. They said that they could take a look at it, and I told them no way. I asked for the owner's name and phone number but they declined to give it to me, and said they would get back to me, but did not. I returned again to speak with the manager who was off for the day. Whoever damaged the reverse would have known it, but will not own up to it. I am appalled that they would treat a loyal customer in such a manner. All I needed was a new battery for $181 and ended up with an expensive repair because someone apparently did not know how to operate the manual reverse. There was nothing wrong with my trike, I only needed a battery. I even called Harley Davidson's corporate office to file a complaint but was told that I had to deal with the dealership and that they did not have a name or number for the owner. I have tried to resolve this issue, but no one will admit to causing the damage. This is just so very wrong!!!

Desired Settlement: I want Thunder to pay for the repairs caused by their service department to the dealership that is currently repairing the damage to the transmission. Even though Thunder offered to take a look at the trike to determine what was wrong, I could never trust Thunder to ever work on my bikes again.Would you?

Business Response: Thunder Harley-Davidson states we only installed a new battery, did not make any other repairs to the motorcycle in question. Our service department did not touch the transmission or the reverse. Also the motorcycle in question is a 2008 flhtcu, with an aftermarket trike kit and reverse. Customer also stated he purchased the motorcycle from a private owner not a dealer. Unfortunately aftermarket parts are just not covered under any circumstances.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Better Business Bureau:

   Thunder Harley Davidson stated that my trike was purchased from a private owner and that it was an aftermarket trike kit.  This is the 3rd summer I have had the trike which is a 2008 Harley Davidson Ultra Classic that has a Motor Trike conversion not a Harley conversion.   But that has nothing at all to do with the fact that I needed a new battery, and that both the batteries I obtained from Thunder Harley Davidson were bad.  They could not believe that both the batteries we got from them were bad and stated that they could not give us a third battery without checking out the trike.  They picked up my trike and took it to their service center.  They called the next day while they were checking it out and wanted to know what it was doing.   Just like a smoke detector that beeps when the battery needs replaced, the burgular alarm was sounding on the trike.  When I bought the intial battery from them and put it on the tender it did not charge into the green to indicate that it had a full charge.  The second battery from them did the same thing.  I even tried 2 other tenders to see if the tender was at fault.  They called later that day, said the trike was done, and that it was the battery and they replaced it.  When I picked it up that day it was backed up against the fence.  I had to take it out of reverse before I drove it home.  Two days later when I went to back out of my garage it had no reverse.  So I went to speak to the service manager who first stated that the reverse was working fine while at the shop.  After I called Harley Davidson Corporate office and was told that I had to deal with the dealership, I went back to speak with Thunder again.  I asked to speak to the owner, his name and phone number, but was told to talk to the store manager.  The store  manager said that she would get back to me, but never did.  The service manager then stated that they pushed it.  I went back the next day for the third time and the store maanger was not there.  I was pretty angry by then and spoke to another manager and he said that they never use the reverse unless it is a Harley Trike.  I truly believe that they are trying to cover their backend because I was initially told by the service manager that it was working fine while at the shop.  My question is, why was it in reverse when I picked it up?  Someone had to put it in reverse, and not knowing how to properly operate it since it wasn't a Harley Trike ended up damaging the reverse.  Whoever worked on or parked the trike in the lot did not know what they were doing and damaged the reverse.  I want reimbursed for the damage done to my trike.  I had it repaired at another dealership and have all the parts that were replaced.  The most disturbing thing is that all I needed was a battery, someone damaged my reverse, and they are not even man enough to admit it and take responsibly for their actions.  If they did not know how to operate the reverse, they should have contacted me.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter,

******* ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Thunder Recreation Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)