BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Compression Management Services, Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Compression Management Services, Inc

Phone: (412) 683-1600 Fax: (412) 682-6352 View Additional Phone Numbers 580 S Aiken Ave Ste 420, Pittsburgh, PA 15232 http://www.compressionmanagement.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a compression therapy and treatment center.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Compression Management Services, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Compression Management Services, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 14, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1996 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Clark, Executive Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Clark, Executive Director
Business Category

MEDICAL EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES PROSTHETIC DEVICES HEALTH & MEDICAL (GENERAL)


Additional Locations

  • 580 S Aiken Ave Ste 420

    Pittsburgh, PA 15232 (412) 683-1600 (412) 655-1130 (877) 267-4415

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (412) 655-1130(Phone)
  • (877) 267-4415(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was seen May 2nd, I had requested to get leg pumps they did not attempt to get authorization until the 14th, I called my insurance company and they show no record of this, I had talked to compression Mgnt today appears the had wrong insurance information. If I had not called it would have sat there another week or more, I talked to ****** **** today they said prior permission is not needed for durable medical equipment under my current policy. I realize they deal with thousands of customers but it has been 12 working days since my request. And they are telling me they should have authorization within a week or so.

Desired Settlement: I just want the pump my doctor has authorized that I get and my insurance has also made the requirements clear, if they deal with thousands of patients I know they would have delt with ****** which is sponsored by**** **** with 40,000 employees and as many spouses children on this policy Also stop lying to me just to smooth it over.

Business Response:

Compression Management services assessed the patient on May 6th 2014. After the appointment
he was schedule to pick up his pump on May 3O~~ 2014. This date was set due to the time it takes
to get a pump authorization. At that time we had to fax the physician for a more precise
prescription so we could bill the patients insurance. We had called the MD’s office on May 13th
2014 to follow up on the documentation and we were told that they will try to get it to us
sometime next week or as soon as possible.
On May l4~2Ol4 Compression Management Services was unable to check the insurance
successfully. Staff had attempted four different numbers and spent a total of forty five minutes
and still bad no results.
Then on May 16th 2014 the patient called to see if the pump authorization was complete and at
that time the staff informed the patient it was not ready. The Patient called again on May 19(h
2014 to check on the status of the pump authorization. At that time the patient informed the staff
that Medicare was his Primary insurance and ******** ***** was his secondary. The Staff
then explained to the Patient that according to our information, Medicare is secondary. The
patient then provided Compression Management Services with his insurance, ***** information
and he informed the staff that he is covered under his spouse.
Finally on May 22’~ 2014 Compression Management Services was able to verify the patients
insurance. Medicare was the primary and active; runs from 1/1/14-12/31/14. ****** **** was
the secondary and active; runs from 1/1/14-12/31/14. We then sent the request to Dr. ***** for
the Medicare CMN, CMN for the Pump, Generic CMN, MW and office notes.
Compression Management Services received a complaint from the BBB on 5/23/14, well before
the scheduled pick up appointment that was made. Due to the time it takes to obtain RX’s and
documentation, we had scheduled a few weeks out. We had called the MD’s office on 5/13/14 to
follow up on the documentation and we were told that they will try to get it to us sometime next
week or ASAP. Patient called twice to follow up on pump auth process on 5/16/14 and 5/19/14.
We were able to verify the insurance on 5/22/14.
On May 23”’ 2014 Compression Management Services received a form complaint from the
Better Business Bureau regarding this patient’s pump that we are still trying to get the
authorization for. This complaint was received well before the scheduled pick up date for the
pump. Due to the time it takes to obtain RX’s and documentation, our staff had scheduled the
appointment a few weeks out.
That same day we also received a call back from the doctor’s office regarding the
documentation. The office informed us that they did receive the request and the Doctor will be
getting it this afternoon. Then he stated “he can’t say that the doctor will complete it today but if
not today then probably early next week”. Then our staff informed the office that we understand
Dr. ***** is busy but the patient is getting anxious to receive the products.
At this time Compression Management Services believes that this complaint was issued by Mr.
******* within an unreasonable time frame due to the normal length of the process through
which these products must be obtained.

?
5/30/20 14
ID: ********
Patient ****** ******* and his wife **** came into our Shadyside office today May 3O~’ 2014
for his appointment to discuss and obtain the prescribed ***** Sequential Compression Pump
and leg appliances that was prescribed by ******* ***** ***.
During the appointment, Senior Management discussed the protocol that Compression
Management Services must follow for any Medicare patient or any patient who doesn’t meet the
guidelines or criteria,
At this time the patient presents no open ulcers on. his legs. Therefore he doesn’t meet the
guidelines for Medicare to cover his pump and appliances He would need to sign an ABN and
pay cash for the products. Compression Management Services would bill Medicare, Medicare
would deny, and then the claim would be kicked to his secondary which is ************ ********
would then make a determination for payment. If and when ********* would determine
payment and pay, they would send the funds to the patient. This is the procedure of most
secondary insurances.
Senior Management discussed this with the patient and he stated that this was not an option. He
also stated that, “it’s all about money here.” Senior Management responded that we watt to help
him, however we need to treat everyone the same.
All Medicare patients are required to sign an ABN and pay for their products when they do not
meet the Medicare guidelines. The patient stated, “That he has been told he might need to have
his feet amputated.” He then indicated that this is our fault since he was here in 2011 and we did
nothing for him. We did try to obtain the same equipment then and had no success.
The patient shared that he bad purchased a pump on line that cost him $250.00 and that he
wanted to buy new leg appliances due to the ones that came with the on line purchase were too
small for him. Senior Management instructed him that these products are a Prescription items
and are not permitted to sell without an oversight of your M.D. We strongly encouraged him to
see his MD and let him know of the equipment to be sure it is safe.
The patient was very aggravated and abruptly walked. out of the appointment.

Consumer Response: This matter is not closed based on the fact that my first appointment was May 6th,  I called and Spoke to *** and had also called Medicar and ****** ** ** neither one had showed that a claim was presented,  also it shows no attempt was made until the 14th I had also had called the 29th of May to verify appointment date and status of the pump,  and at that time Iwas told it was okay to come in for my appointment at that time I was sabotaged by **** and my time, gas money, and parking is a write off. In their findings to this complaint I was able to talk to ****** ** ** after a two minute hold,  why does it take 7 days to verify my insurance. And the only reason I knew there was a problem was when I called them on the 19th,  the MD was not attempted to be contacted until the 13th, as to them not knowing ****** was my secondary and medicare my primary,  then why was my medicare card and my ****** card were coppied for my file May 6nd, So basically they are saying that at 6 days before anything is worked on,  14 days before insurance verified,  I am sure that if I did not call verify and checked nothing would have been done, because I went thru this same situation back in 2011.  This is when I was led to belive that the doctor did not respond to the request. a month or so before my appointment May 6th 2014 I was treated by Dr ***** and he responded to my query, that he signs hundreds of these and why would he not sign one. The results of 2011 would suggest they need to be pushed and continually verified as to status

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1