Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a compression therapy and treatment center.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Compression Management Services, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Compression Management Services, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Compression Management Services, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 14, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1996 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Clark, Executive Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Clark, Executive Director
Business Category

MEDICAL EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES PROSTHETIC DEVICES HEALTH & MEDICAL (GENERAL)


Additional Locations

  • 580 S Aiken Ave Ste 420

    Pittsburgh, PA 15232 (412) 683-1600 (412) 655-1130 (877) 267-4415

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Since Aug. 2015 I have been renting to possible own of a Lymhedema compression pump for my left arm to take/keep swelling down on my left arm. It was being processed with my medicare supplemental company to find out if it would be covered by them. It was pending. The rental was denied by the insurance co. and I agreed to make monthly payments as long as I rented to machine. I was told I was not obligated to buy the machine. The rent/own fee per month of $95 was decided upon whereby the $95 was to be taken on auto pay from my checking account until it would be paid for the total amount approx. $1,200. Unfortunately, the $95 was not being taken from my checking account and had not been paid for 3 months. A total of $285 was due immediately. I called when I realized the money was not on auto pay and said I had resubmitted the claim to my insurance co in hopes that they would start to pay the rental fee and I paid $125 against the $285 due and said I would pay the remainder once I heard back from the insurance co. Then on 2/3/16 Jodie from their billing office called and demanded in a commanding voice that I pay the remainder due of $160 saying that they never do auto pay, that it was illegal to do so and she demanded that I go get my checkbook right then and there to give her my bank account numbers so she could have the amount due from my checking acct. withdrawn immediately. I explained that I was again requesting the insurance co to start to pick up the monthly fee. She kept yelling at me saying that I needed to resolve the amount due with her immediately. I would have except I found I could not at that minute because of the traumatic way that she was addressing me for the money. I had to hang up on her. She kept phoning me back at least 5 times in a row. I did not answer. She reported it to a ***** ******* Credit Control bill collector immediately and I got a notice on Feb 5th in the mail. I called the debt collection company and talked to a ****** **** and she was understanding of the whole situation and told me to contact a ***** head of Collections and explain what happened and the entire rude, crude verbal accosting by Jodie over the phone. I did and she was concerned about the bad behavior that was used in requesting the remaining fee. I paid the $160 over the phone with ***** immediately and I told her I would be returning the machine to Compression Management Shadyside where I obtained it. She said fine and hoped that I would return it within a few days. Upon looking at my checking account online Compression Management took $160 out twice totaling $320. I am reporting this inept handling of their payment methods.

Desired Settlement: Reprimand and correction method of requesting payment and the return of one of the $160 overpayment back into my checking account.

Business Response:

 
3/8/2016

Claim ID# ********

Dear ******** ****,

As a result of our investigation, we agree that our usual high standards of customer service were not met in this instance. After further review, the problem with the automatic payment not being withdrawn was due to a miscommunication on our staff member's part and this has been addressed with the staff. As a result, we have implemented a system to ensure this information is correctly documented and communicated to the appropriate staff members in a clear, concise and secure manner in the future. In regards to the duplicate payment that was taken at one point, we take full responsibility that was an error on our part and was rectified immediately after it was brought to our attention.

As we realize that an expected monthly payment was not automatically drawn, we did send the patient three consecutive monthly statements showing the accumulated balance and the amount due. After 90 days the balance was not paid in full so consequently the process of sending the patient’s account to an outside collection agency was put in place. We do encourage our patients to appeal to their insurance companies and when possible we appeal on the patient’s behalf however due to this process being very lengthy at times the patient is responsible for the payment of the product and would be reimbursed if and when the Insurance Company overturned the denial.

We would like to extend our apologies for any undue stress or inconvenience this situation may have caused you and assure you that we have taken the necessary steps to remedy the situations.

Please contact us with any questions.

Professionally,

Kevin E******

Compression Management Services, Inc.

 


Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


The statements sent to me were addressed by me with phone calls speaking to different people each time.  Discussion of payment was accepted each time by each party.  A lump payment was made on account but did not cover entire money due.  My supplemental medicare insurance was processing information to again see if the rental of the pump could and would be covered.  I always kept in touch with Compression when I realized there were internal problems within their system of handling payments.  I have returned the equipment.  Received the duplicate payment back which was put into my account and then made a final payment of $95 to close out my account.  They apologized and I was pleased with this.  I do like the employees there that fitted me with my compression arm bandage.  Dee and Alex.  I plan on refilling my order when I need additional arm bands which is covered by my Medicare Supplemental insurance.  Thank God!
Regards,

******** ******

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was seen May 2nd, I had requested to get leg pumps they did not attempt to get authorization until the 14th, I called my insurance company and they show no record of this, I had talked to compression Mgnt today appears the had wrong insurance information. If I had not called it would have sat there another week or more, I talked to ****** **** today they said prior permission is not needed for durable medical equipment under my current policy. I realize they deal with thousands of customers but it has been 12 working days since my request. And they are telling me they should have authorization within a week or so.

Desired Settlement: I just want the pump my doctor has authorized that I get and my insurance has also made the requirements clear, if they deal with thousands of patients I know they would have delt with ****** which is sponsored by**** **** with 40,000 employees and as many spouses children on this policy Also stop lying to me just to smooth it over.

Business Response:

Compression Management services assessed the patient on May 6th 2014. After the appointment
he was schedule to pick up his pump on May 3O~~ 2014. This date was set due to the time it takes
to get a pump authorization. At that time we had to fax the physician for a more precise
prescription so we could bill the patients insurance. We had called the MD’s office on May 13th
2014 to follow up on the documentation and we were told that they will try to get it to us
sometime next week or as soon as possible.
On May l4~2Ol4 Compression Management Services was unable to check the insurance
successfully. Staff had attempted four different numbers and spent a total of forty five minutes
and still bad no results.
Then on May 16th 2014 the patient called to see if the pump authorization was complete and at
that time the staff informed the patient it was not ready. The Patient called again on May 19(h
2014 to check on the status of the pump authorization. At that time the patient informed the staff
that Medicare was his Primary insurance and ******** ***** was his secondary. The Staff
then explained to the Patient that according to our information, Medicare is secondary. The
patient then provided Compression Management Services with his insurance, ***** information
and he informed the staff that he is covered under his spouse.
Finally on May 22’~ 2014 Compression Management Services was able to verify the patients
insurance. Medicare was the primary and active; runs from 1/1/14-12/31/14. ****** **** was
the secondary and active; runs from 1/1/14-12/31/14. We then sent the request to Dr. ***** for
the Medicare CMN, CMN for the Pump, Generic CMN, MW and office notes.
Compression Management Services received a complaint from the BBB on 5/23/14, well before
the scheduled pick up appointment that was made. Due to the time it takes to obtain RX’s and
documentation, we had scheduled a few weeks out. We had called the MD’s office on 5/13/14 to
follow up on the documentation and we were told that they will try to get it to us sometime next
week or ASAP. Patient called twice to follow up on pump auth process on 5/16/14 and 5/19/14.
We were able to verify the insurance on 5/22/14.
On May 23”’ 2014 Compression Management Services received a form complaint from the
Better Business Bureau regarding this patient’s pump that we are still trying to get the
authorization for. This complaint was received well before the scheduled pick up date for the
pump. Due to the time it takes to obtain RX’s and documentation, our staff had scheduled the
appointment a few weeks out.
That same day we also received a call back from the doctor’s office regarding the
documentation. The office informed us that they did receive the request and the Doctor will be
getting it this afternoon. Then he stated “he can’t say that the doctor will complete it today but if
not today then probably early next week”. Then our staff informed the office that we understand
Dr. ***** is busy but the patient is getting anxious to receive the products.
At this time Compression Management Services believes that this complaint was issued by Mr.
******* within an unreasonable time frame due to the normal length of the process through
which these products must be obtained.

?
5/30/20 14
ID: ********
Patient ****** ******* and his wife **** came into our Shadyside office today May 3O~’ 2014
for his appointment to discuss and obtain the prescribed ***** Sequential Compression Pump
and leg appliances that was prescribed by ******* ***** ***.
During the appointment, Senior Management discussed the protocol that Compression
Management Services must follow for any Medicare patient or any patient who doesn’t meet the
guidelines or criteria,
At this time the patient presents no open ulcers on. his legs. Therefore he doesn’t meet the
guidelines for Medicare to cover his pump and appliances He would need to sign an ABN and
pay cash for the products. Compression Management Services would bill Medicare, Medicare
would deny, and then the claim would be kicked to his secondary which is ************ ********
would then make a determination for payment. If and when ********* would determine
payment and pay, they would send the funds to the patient. This is the procedure of most
secondary insurances.
Senior Management discussed this with the patient and he stated that this was not an option. He
also stated that, “it’s all about money here.” Senior Management responded that we watt to help
him, however we need to treat everyone the same.
All Medicare patients are required to sign an ABN and pay for their products when they do not
meet the Medicare guidelines. The patient stated, “That he has been told he might need to have
his feet amputated.” He then indicated that this is our fault since he was here in 2011 and we did
nothing for him. We did try to obtain the same equipment then and had no success.
The patient shared that he bad purchased a pump on line that cost him $250.00 and that he
wanted to buy new leg appliances due to the ones that came with the on line purchase were too
small for him. Senior Management instructed him that these products are a Prescription items
and are not permitted to sell without an oversight of your M.D. We strongly encouraged him to
see his MD and let him know of the equipment to be sure it is safe.
The patient was very aggravated and abruptly walked. out of the appointment.

Consumer Response: This matter is not closed based on the fact that my first appointment was May 6th,  I called and Spoke to *** and had also called Medicar and ****** ** ** neither one had showed that a claim was presented,  also it shows no attempt was made until the 14th I had also had called the 29th of May to verify appointment date and status of the pump,  and at that time Iwas told it was okay to come in for my appointment at that time I was sabotaged by **** and my time, gas money, and parking is a write off. In their findings to this complaint I was able to talk to ****** ** ** after a two minute hold,  why does it take 7 days to verify my insurance. And the only reason I knew there was a problem was when I called them on the 19th,  the MD was not attempted to be contacted until the 13th, as to them not knowing ****** was my secondary and medicare my primary,  then why was my medicare card and my ****** card were coppied for my file May 6nd, So basically they are saying that at 6 days before anything is worked on,  14 days before insurance verified,  I am sure that if I did not call verify and checked nothing would have been done, because I went thru this same situation back in 2011.  This is when I was led to belive that the doctor did not respond to the request. a month or so before my appointment May 6th 2014 I was treated by Dr ***** and he responded to my query, that he signs hundreds of these and why would he not sign one. The results of 2011 would suggest they need to be pushed and continually verified as to status


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Compression Management Services, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)