This business is not BBB accredited.

Center Quick Lube

Additional Locations

Phone: (724) 774-2279 Fax: (724) 728-0166 View Additional Phone Numbers 3614 Brodhead Rd, Monaca, PA 15061


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company does oil changes and lube jobs.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Center Quick Lube include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Center Quick Lube include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Center Quick Lube
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 02, 1993 Business started: 11/20/1991
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gay Shinaberry, President Ms. Karen Hayes, Sales Coordinator
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gay Shinaberry, President
Related Businesses
Center Quick Lube Cubby Hole Self Storage
Business Category

AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE

Alternate Business Names
Pennzoil - Center Quick Lube

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3614 Brodhead Rd

    Monaca, PA 15061 (724) 774-2279 (724) 774-2279 (412) 781-3080

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    54th Street & AVRR

    Pittsburgh, PA 15201

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 23 I went to this business to get an oil change and get a brake light and headlight replaced. Upon replacing headlight it still did not work they said it must be the adapter that the bulb plugs into. Said it was dealer item only. So upon their advice I went to dealer to have problem attended to. When got service found out Pennzoil sold me a burnt out bulb. Cost me 68.00 dollars at dealer I didn't have to spend. Thus hgapoened because of Pennzoil negligence selling bad bulb

Desired Settlement: I would like Pennzoil to refund the 68.00 dollars I spent at dealer cause I would nor have gone to dealer except for their recommendation

7/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a appointment for 1pm to have a inspection and emission plus have my wheel bearing replaced. I provided my own part all ready pressed and ready to be out on. They started the inspection and could not finish because of a issue with the power going to the sensor on my car. Then they replaced the wheel bearing. Finished at 2:35 pm. I was only quoted for a hour of labor. But since it took a hour and half it should have been 1.5 hours of labor. They charged me for 2.5 hours of labor.

Desired Settlement: Would like to pay for only the hours of labor actually performed. Refund for hours not performed

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

May, 27, 2014

This letter is concerning case # *******. Mr ******* did receive service at this
garage. He wanted a State inspection, Emission test and a wheel bearing Installed on his Nissan. I told him that the Inspection/Emission took about an hour, and if the wheel bearing was a normal install it should take about an hour. I also told him not to quote me since I did not look up the labor time for the repair. We use Mitchell repair and labor time softwear as a guiding tool to set the labor times for repairs. We could not do the Emission/Inspection since he had no power going to his ob2 port, and he was not charged, for that service. As with all labor rate softwear programs, they base the rate time by location, type of repair facility, ect Mitchell based this type of repair at 2.3 hours to perform, which is what Mr ******* was charged, it is not an industry rule to set a timer for all repairs. Since this repair took less to perform for one mechanic it may not be the same for another, that is why the standard times are used. There are times where the standard time rates are used and the repairs takes longer than estimated, we do not charge extra for those repairs. It somehow balances out. Sorry that Mr ******* feels that we should of charged for the time spent on the job, but if he shopped around for labor times, and l am pretty sure he did, and since he had his own part, 90% or more garages would have giving him the same labor time. This garage stays in business through its labor rate. Also, as do more than 90% of garages do, there is a shop supply charge, our shop supply rate is way under for what other garages in our area are charging, same with our labor rate which is $65.00 per hour.

***** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I went to the other side to get my oil changed in my car. When they were done I went over to the the garage side to schedule to have an inspection and emissions done. I also asked how much for the wheel bearing. At that time Mr. ***** responded and I quote " We will only charge you for the labor, about an hour worth $65". I said OK and came back at 1. They could not continue with the emission because of a issue with the sensor in my car. They asked me if I still wanted the bearing replaced, going by what I was quoted I said yes. They were done within a hour. Then the gentleman rang my out and it came to $166.42. I told the guy the Mr. ***** quoted me an hour worth of labor and only $65. He asked Mr. ***** who was furious because he was arguing with another employee over her fathers car the would not start after he cleared some errors from it and he said and I quote "I don't know I didn't look at the chart". They quoted me one price and then after the work is done it is another price? That is not good business. I did shop around and based on the price he quoted me $65 for an hour of labor that was the cheapest. But for the price they charged me I could have went to the dealership and got the work done there for $110. 

Regards,

***** *******

 

 

Consumer Response: I did not get the quote in writing all I had to go on was a verbal quote of a hour of labor $65. Attached is a invoice from when I had the other side wheel bearing replaced. The place I went to *** ******** *** ****** ** ******* charged me $87.45 for the exact same thing I had done at Center Quick Lube. Why wouldn't I just go back to this place if they were cheaper? I was told a price of $65 and thought I would be saving $22.45. That is why I had service done at Center Quick Lube. Why would I get service done if I don't know how much it is? The dealership quoted me a price under what I paid at Center Quick Lube. If Center Quick Lube would have told me the price they charged me upfront instead of a quoted price of $65, I would have took my business back to*** ********. Center Quick Lube claim they never quoted me a price is ridiculous. Why would someone blindly get service done if they do not know how much it would be.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Center Quick Lube
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)