Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bathmasters Inc.

Phone: (412) 824-9857 Fax: (412) 824-2448 1039 Logan Rd, N Versailles, PA 15137

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers bathroom remodeling and general plumbing services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bathmasters Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bathmasters Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 02, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1987 in PA Business incorporated 01/01/2002 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA010200.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Dave J Powell, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave J Powell, President
Related Businesses
Win Pleasant Hills Bathmasters Inc.
Business Category


Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Plumbing Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 1039 Logan Rd

    N Versailles, PA 15137 (412) 824-9857


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A nightmare from the onset. Remodeled a powder room. Shower has rust running from the grab bar, toilet won't flush properly and have to use plunger. All the caulking turned black and fell off. The new floor sunk, so all the ceramic tiles are cracking. He refuses to even come look at it. Job cost us double his original bid, but threatened not to return and finish the job if he didn't keep getting paid more money. He stated he needed paid for additional hours. We are senior citizens and we were warned to be careful, so we hired him because he was close to our home and gave us a reasonable original budget. He said he couldn't finish the electrical work, so he got us an electrician to put the fan and light in and that costs us $500.00 and then found out that the electrician was his Son. Please warn others about him.

Desired Settlement: I want all the problems fixed.

Business Response:

Dave Powell Bathmasters 1039 Logan Rd.

N. Versailles Pa. 15137


To Whom It May Concern:

This letter is in response to a complaint filed on 6/17/2016 (ID#********}.

In Jan. 2011 and ending in Feb. 2011 Bathmasters installed a basement bathroom for Mr. & Mrs. ********** This was not a power room, This was a full basement bath. The original price was $5000.

(see attached contract for original scope of project.

Original Scope:

1)      Set Sterling 5' shower (tile look, white)

2)      Install American Standard Faucet (in Chrome)

3)      Hardcote walls only (customer was to do suspended ceiling)

4)      Install ceramic 38-40" up walls outside of shower.

5)      Install shower door (in silver)

6)      Install ceramic floor (customer was to supply leveler for floor (if needed)

^Customer was to paint, set medicine cabinet, remove ail trash, do all electric, and install all trim, along with suspended ceiling

* Also setting toilet, vanity, safety bar in shower, & trim work at door was quoted at a'rate of $40 per hr. plus materials (if customer elected to have Bathmasters do these tasks.) *See contract attached.

Changes to the original scope were as Follows: (as requested by customer)

1)      Shower was changed to an Oasis (not Sterling)...................... $79.18

2)      Rough in Vanity.............. $93

3)      Frame and Hardcote ceiling................. $254

4)      Install safety bar in shower................... $40

5)      Level floor.............. $127 (materials only. Labor free)

6)      Set Toilet............ $36 (Materials only, labor free)

7)      Set Vanity.......... $165 (Labor & Materials)

8)      Install trim at door................. $50 (Labor and materials)

9)      Install air chamber in plumbing (for water hammer)...................... $45

10)      Misc. materials for extra work............ $28

Total for extra work................................................................................................ $917.18 *See contract attached

Payments Received:

$1666 Down payment $1666 1st day of construction

$1400 On or about 1st week of Feb. (I asked for this early payment before the end of the job because all the changes were dragging out the completion date). Customers were happy with the work, so they agreed.

2-9-11 $79.18 Ck#**** (for cost of shower change.)

2-7-11 $533 Ch #**** (Extras. *See contract attached)

2-19-11 $564 Ck#**** (balance on original contract $268 & extras $296)

Text Box: $5908.18 (not $10,000)Total cost of bathroom with changes

The bottom line is: Mr. ********* was happy with the job but Mrs. ********* was unhappy because she was charged for extras that she requested. On 2-19-11 (when 1 asked for the final payment of $564, Mrs ********* was very upset but directed her husband to pay me the balance. Everything was fine until this last day. Mr. ********* paid me the balance and said thanks for the good job.

1)      Cost Was $5908.18 (Not $10,000)

2)      Things were fine until! the last day (Not a nightmare from the beginning)

3)      Me threatening not to continue with the job if I did not get money, is not true.

4)      The comment that I could not finish the electric work is not true. (The contract attached shows the electric was never part of our scope.)

5)      Mrs. ********* did ask if I knew someone that could do the electric in the bathroom. I said my son was an electrician and gave her his contact information. (The comment that she found out later that he was my son is not true.

6)      Also the statement that Mrs ********* call on 6-17-2011 then exactly two years later to the day, then three years later to the day, are all untrue.

On or about 6-16-2016 Mrs. ********* called me and said her ceramic floor had cracked and what was I going to do about it. I said there was no warranty on products and a lyr warranty on workmanship.

She asked would I come look at the job. 1 said no because the warranty had expired and she was so upset the last day of the job. She said she was going to try and ruin my a+ rating with the bbb.

The comment "Please warn others about Him" I resent.

I not only did what Mrs. ********* wanted, but I did somethings for free and charged for the requested changes at a reasonable rate. (*See charges attached) I fill I treated Mrs. ********* very fair.


David J P*****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bathmasters Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)