Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bath Fitter

Phone: (800) 645-6317 Fax: (724) 375-7900 View Additional Phone Numbers 214 Pleasant Dr, Aliquippa, PA 15001 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.bathfitterpittsburgh.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers bathroom remodeling and acrylic tub liners with seamless walls.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bath Fitter meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bath Fitter include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bath Fitter
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 28, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1992 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA000641.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
S J Lucci III, Sec / tres Mr. Frank J Witkowski, President Mr. James Lucci, Production Manager Mrs. Maribeth Lucci, Sales Manager Mr. Paul Sroka, Production Manager Ms. Jackie Swiontek, Financial Manager
Contact Information
Principal: S J Lucci III, Sec / tres
Customer Contact: Ms. Jackie Swiontek, Financial Manager
Principal: Mr. Frank J Witkowski, President
Business Category

KITCHEN & BATH-DESIGN & REMODELING HOME IMPROVEMENTS BATHTUBS & SINKS-REPAIR & REFINISH BATHS-EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES COUNTER TOPS KITCHEN CABINETS & EQUIPMENT-HOUSEHOLD PLUMBING FIXTURES, PARTS, SUPPLIES-RETAIL BATHROOM REMODELING KITCHEN REMODELING

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Visa Master Card
Alternate Business Names
Bath Fitters of Pittsburgh FJW Investments, Inc Gutter Glove of Greater Pittsburgh Pittsburgh Bathfitter
Industry Tips
Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is not what they say they are. We had a main floor bathroom remodeled . When a representative called to schedule the work on the third week of August. I received a phone call the following week on Thursday and were told it was bumped up to the following week. The job was to start on a Monday and be completed the following Monday. When that Monday came they said oh by the way the shower stall will be installed on Tuesday. When the shower installer came on Tuesday to complete the plumbing, that evening the plumbing was leaking down in my basement. Called the salesman and told him they needed to get someone here to fix it. An hour later he called back and said he had called 3 people and no one answered his call. My husband went down and turned the valve off. The next day no phone calls from bathfitters. The man that installed the shower came out and said someone must have been messing with the line and could not see any leaks. I had to take a flashlight and show him where the leak was after opening the valve again. Finally fixed it. Had to call a glass company myself to get someone out to measure for the shower door. They were very friendly. When my husband came home from work he was very dissatisfied with the work. I called bathfitters the next morning and told them they needed to send someone out to check the work. He came out was not pleased as well. They had to reorder a flooring, fix the plumbing, touch up the paint where they scraped the wall. The job was not completed. We had a gurgling on the main floor bathroom every time you flushed the upstairs toilet. Had sent a plumber out and he couldn't resolve it. Said something about not enough air flow, meanwhile never had this issue until bathfitters came out. Said it could be septic issues. Had someone come out and clean the septic system. The issue still remains. A representative called and wanted us to sign off on the job which was over a month for a 6 day supposed to be job. I told her the issue was not corrected. The rep called the plumber and had him come out and stick an electric snake in the line. While he did that his electric snake broke. He had suggested to call and get someone out with a camera at our own expense to check it out. We did not do that. The rep finally called back a few more times and wanted the final payment. Two weeks went by and she sent us a payment in full notice with a discount of 250.00 . Meanwhile we still have the issue. My husband sent a check for the amount requested. They are not a trustworthy company. When I called them with the continuing issue , I asked to speak with the manager and they told me I could not. After paying a little more than 16,000 dollars for a so called company . Very disappointed. Very dissatisfied with this establishment. Do not recommend this company at all.

Desired Settlement: I feel that they should have deducted more . With all the issues and still have the issue. We have never had this issue until they came to our house.

Business Response:

December 16, 2015

Dear ******** ****:
Thank you for giving us a chance to respond to this complaint, ID of ********.
We try very hard to work with all of our customers to resolve any issues. On the very first day of this job we were confronted with an already existing plumbing issue which we believe is the true angst of this letter. When we started work on the main plumbing lines our plumber cut into the existing main drain line to find it full of water. This particular line should never have water in it. Water in this line indicates an existing clog in the system.
We have addressed every issue that this customer has called about. Our Installation Manager, David L**** went out and addressed each and every concern. On one occasion he even went out at 9:00 at night for their convenience to meet with them. However, when he got there no one was home and no one called to say they had to leave for an emergency. After each and every call we went at the time they specified and reviewed their issues and resolved them. I spoke with the salesperson and he stated that the night of the leak he spoke with David L****. And the next day we were there to fix the leak.
As far as the glass company, our standard procedure is to email them the installation date which we did on August 6, 2015 that is contracted through the glass company not us. At that point, the measure is set up between them and the customer.
Again, when this customer was upset our Installation Manager, David L**** went to the house to address their concerns. At that time David did tell them that we would touch up the wall which the installer scratched during installation. Regarding the flooring being replaced and fixing the plumbing issue that was because after the commode was installed the customer decided he wanted the supply line on the opposite side of the commode. It was installed previously to industry standards. To satisfy Mr. ****** not only did we change it out to the opposite side we also gave them a new floor at no charge.
After we completed the job they called and stated they had a gurgling sound after flushing their commode. We then sent a plumber to go out to see if he could figure out the issue. He mentioned to the customer he felt it was an issue with their septic tank. Not only was their septic tank full so was their leach bed. The customer did finally have their septic tank cleaned out. However they did not do anything with their overflowing leach bed.
When the gurgling issue was addressed with me in customer service we sent out a Master Plumber. We paid for the plumber and he did snake the line. He did it for so long that his snake finally overheated.

He told the customer at that time they still had a clog somewhere in the line. He did suggest they get someone to use a camera to see where the issue was. He felt it was a pre-existing issue. That for as long as he snaked it the line should have cleared. In his opinion the issue was that although they emptied their septic tank their leach bed was still overflowing. With the leach bed full the air & water flow have nowhere to go but back through the septic and into the house where he feels creates the gurgling sound.
The length of the job was longer but it also had to do with the changes of this customer. As well as the pre-existing full septic and leach bed system. As the Customer Service Manager I did call several times and talk to Mrs. ****** about these issues. We felt we did everything we could do on our end to get this resolved. When I tried to finalize the billing with Mrs. ****** she stated she would talk with her husband and get back to me. After numerous calls to Mrs. ****** I never received a return call from her stating what she & her husband wanted to do. Finally, i did send them an invoice with a deduction which Mrs. ****** mentioned on many occasions throughout the project they expected one. Had they had an amount they felt was appropriate I would have gladly had a discussion with them if they would have returned my telephone calls. We would be agreeable to have a third party such as, The ********** County Sewage Authority come look at the situation to get this matter resolved.
Sincerely,
Bernadette L**** Customer Service Manager


Consumer Response: On Mon, Dec 28, 2015 at 3:57 PM, *** ****** ********************> wrote:

*********

   We have not had this gurgling problem until bathfitters came out and remodeled our main floor bathroom. This issue is still ongoing. There were false statements stated on the response given from Bathfitters. The last contact person I spoke with was Bernadette L****. Every time I called she would not return calls for days. We paid to have the septic system cleaned out since they keep saying that was the issue. The problem still remains. If they would have done the job correctly , they would not have had to keep coming out to repair all their mess ups. On one of their comments as to not charging us for another floor, they would not have had to do that if they would have done the job right the first time. There were false statements given on their responses. They stated that David L**** came out at 9:00 p.m. to inspect the work done, but we were not at home. He called and left a message to call him if we still wanted him to come out that particular evening, we did not call back because we were not home. So why did he come out when we did not respond?  My husband and I have been patient for this matter. When I called and asked to speak to the manager , they refused. This company is not trustworthy. We feel they should have compensated  us for the ongoing issue that has not been resolved. 

Sincerely,

Business Response:

January 4, 2016

Dear ******** ****:

We would love to resolve the issues with this job. We mentioned possibly having the county inspector inspect their sewage system to assess the problem. In her response she makes no mention of that offer. We could go back and forth forever with he said she said or who did or didn't do what. But that does nothing to solve their problem. She mentions several times they feel they should be compensated; we don't object to this if it is fair. How much do they feel they should be compensated? Or what would they like us to do for them? We can't respond to their wants if they don't make them known to us. Again, we want to resolve this issue and are willing to work with them.

Sincerely,

Bernadette L**** Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response: On Tue, Jan 19, 2016 at 7:11 AM, *** ****** ********************> wrote:

Hello ********,

I have called and left a message for you on last Wednesday. I haven't received a phone call back. This is in regards to the Bathfitters issue. If they would love to resolve this issue just as we would like to also. We do not have sewage so therefore that won't resolve the issue. If they are the experts in bathrooms, they should give a fair compensation to this matter. It was stated that they would love to resolve the issue then why haven't they contacted us .? This has been going on for long enough. I don't feel the need to constantly send emails back and forth, nothing gets resolved. Give a fair compensation to this matter . You claim you are the experts. You haven't completed the work so please compensate the difference . 

Business Response:

Dear ******** *****

We did finish this job.  But we realize this customer wants compensation.  What is the exact amount of compensation they would like?

Please let us know so we can resolve this issue.

 

Thanks,

Bernadette L****

Customer Service Manager

Business Response:

See the attached letter.

March 23,2016

Dear ******** *****

This is in response to complaint ********.

As we expressed in the last response to this customer's complaint we are willing to resolve this issue as long as it is reasonable and fair. However, the latest request from this customer is unacceptable. They would now like us to take responsibility for their preexisting property issues.

We were hired to install a shower base system with accessories, wall & vanity cabinets, faucets, commode & floor. At no time did we have anything to do with the existing outside sewer line, septic tank or leach bed. On the contrary from the very first day we were there our plumber told the customer the septic tank was full and needed cleaned out. When they complained about hearing the gurgling noise after the remodel we sent a plumber out to snake the line. Again we told the customer that their septic tank & leach bed were full. Finally the customer did get the septic tank cleaned out.

But they did nothing with the sewer line or leach bed. This being said now the customer wants their septic system redone as apparent in the estimates they submitted. Which shows the problem is in the sewer line from the house to the septic system not inside the bathroom that we installed new fixtures in. They had a preexisting septic issue which had nothing to do with the work we did at their home. It is inconceivable that they want us to pay for their preexisting issues with their septic system.

We have no problem taking responsibility for the things we do. However, we cannot take responsibility for the home owners outside property issues. We did everything stated in our contract with this customer. We even gave them a discount because they felt they were entitled to one because the job took longer than they felt it should have. The added time frame was due to the customer making changes after the job started and the septic system. We cannot take responsibility for the homeowners preexisting property issues.

Sincerely,

Bernadette L**** Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response:

On Thursday, March 24, 2016,1:19 PM, *** ****** ********************> wrote:

I have received and reviewed the response given from bathfitters. First of all, the issue was not ongoing. We did not have this issue until they came into our home and remodeled our bathroom.

As I have stated that in previous responses. You were the one that suggested that l get an estimate, and that is what I did. The reason why it took so long was because they didn't do the job correctly the first time. They never mentioned that there was an issue with the septic system.

They had their master plumber come out and said their possibly could be a sludge buildup, he recommended that we get the septic system cleaned out. That is what we did. We had never suggested for a discount for this project like she stated in her last response. That is a false statement. They need to take responsibility for the issue that was not preexisting, i don't think they feel that they should admit to their error. Because of this, now we have to repair the damage done by bathfitters. This company is not standing up to their error. Not a trustworthy company. Do I continue to dispute this? There will never be a resolution as long as they continue to falsify actions. It is so sad that people have to lie in order to get ahead!

*** ****** Dissatisfied homeowner


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bath Fitter
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)