BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of GiftCards.com LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

GiftCards.com LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (877) 944-3822 Fax: (412) 539-1042 View Additional Phone Numbers 495 Mansfield Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15205 http://www.giftcards.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company sells VISA and MASTERCARD pre-paid gift cards online.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that GiftCards.com LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for GiftCards.com LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 78 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

78 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 40 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 13
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 13
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 45
Total Closed Complaints 78

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 15, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1999
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jason Wolfe, C.E.O. Mr. Ray Bilbao, COO and General Counsel Mr. Doug Blasiman, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Wolfe, C.E.O.
Related Businesses
GiftCards.com LLC
Business Category

INTERNET SHOPPING ADVERTISING SPECIALTIES INTERNET SERVICES

Alternate Business Names
Mycoupons.com Omni Prepaid LLC SwapAGift Wolfe.com LLC WRL.com LLC

Additional Locations

  • 495 Mansfield Avenue

    Pittsburgh, PA 15205 (877) 944-3822

  • 681 Andersen Drive  Foster Plaza Building 6

    Pittsburgh, PA 15220

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 739-4914(Phone)
  • (412) 291-1327 (Fax)
  • (412) 921-7345 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 23, 2014, my coworker, ***** ******, purchased me a $75.00 ******** ******* Gift Card, Invoice #1186803.According to GiftCards.com, the card shipped on April 24, however, I never received the gift card and am the only person to receive mail at this address.The gift card was activated and used fraudulently, and after filing a "Customer Statement of Disputed Transaction" with GiftCards.com, they are offering no solutions to right this wrong. They also have no record, (either signature or tracking number), of delivery, so, as a customer I am being unfairly punished due to their poor policies and procedures.

Desired Settlement: I would have originally been fine with a replacement gift card for the issued amount--and, in fact--even asked for that. They said "no," so at this point I would like a refund as I have no desire to do business with a company so willing to waste both my money and time.

Business Response: I received the following response from the Director of Customer Service

I exchanged emails with this cardholder on 6/3 and explained in very great detail the process for resolving this issue. The cardholder’s suggestion that we are “offering no solutions to right this wrong” is wildly inaccurate. This order processed and delivered exactly as the purchaser ordered. The cardholder also indicated in our email exchange yesterday that we “cheaped out” by sending the order via USPS First Class mail as opposed to a trackable method when in fact it was the decision of the purchaser by which shipping method the order was sent, not us. During the ordering process, the purchaser agreed to the terms and conditions of the card prior to checking out. Without acknowledging those terms and conditions, we would not have completed the customer’s order. The terms and conditions very clearly state that in the event of disputed transactions “For errors involving new Cards, POS transactions, or foreign-initiated transactions, we may take up to ninety (90) days to investigate your complaint or question. We will tell you the results within three (3) business days after completing the investigation. If we decide that there was no error, we will send you a written explanation. Copies of the documents used in the investigation may be obtained by contacting us at the phone number or address listed at the beginning of this section.” We clearly and repeatedly explained the process to the cardholder. The cardholder has expressed an expectation that we are to accept their word that the card was not received by them and used by someone else. We clearly can not just reverse payments made to merchants based on the cardholders word that they did not use the card. The charges, as clearly outlined in the terms and conditions, must be researched before a determination can be made as to whether or not the charges are deemed as legitimate or fraudulent. We have provided the proper documentation to the cardholder but they have refused to submit the requested information in writing.

As outlined in the original complaint, the appropriate form was forwarded to the cardholder along with explicit instructions on how to file a disputed.  Again, as outlined in our response to the original complaint, we are, as is clearly outlined in the terms and conditions to which the purchaser agreed to when placing their order, in no way involved with the dispute process. We have no say whatsoever in the dispute process. The dispute process, again, as clearly outlined in the terms and conditions to which the purchaser agreed prior to completing their order, is strictly between the cardholder and the issuing bank. The cardholder needs to follow the directions provided to them in following up with the bank regarding their dispute.

We are very sorry to hear you aren’t completely satisfied with your experience. The card is a virtual Visa gift card and can absolutely be used anywhere that Visa is accepted. There are zero attempted transactions. Your gift was not denied by any merchant. When the gift was sent to you, the terms and conditions were sent as well. Absolutely all information relating to the card is included in the order you received. Having said that, our goal is always to “make ‘em smile”. We have suspended the card and approved a refund for the full purchase amount of $54.95. That amount should show back to the purchasing credit card as a credit within the next few business days.

Thanks for sharing your feedback. GiftCards.com has sold more than 5 million prepaid gift cards and discounted merchant cards. We are a Google Trusted Merchant and maintain an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau. We are sincerely sorry that you aren’t completely satisfied with your experience. We have added you to our opt out list and have removed you from our notification system. We try to be helpful in all of our communications with our customers and certainly strive to provide the highest level of communication and assistance 100% of the time. We most assuredly are not, as suggested, attempting “bait and switch”. Thanks again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate the opportunity to get better every day and we are sorry you aren’t completely satisfied with your experience.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First of all, I asked for written confirmation that my personal and financial information (credit card) was no longer available in any form in any of their systems or databases.  The response to take me off of their mailing list doesn't even come close to that.  "We have added you to our opt out list and have removed you from our notification system".   This request is important, since the information was provided under the auspices that the product they offer for sale was available - which clearly it is not apparently.


Secondly, I note that the gift card in question (which is not available) STILL appears on their website as available - EVEN after their response to my BBB complaint and the fact that I have pointed this out to them now 2 times.


Finally, offering some third party designation of their performance (Google+) doesn't exempt them from the fact that they have a responsibility not to offer products for sale which aren't available - then capture personal and financial information from the customer - and then decline those transactions.  And then worst of all, accept no responsibility for that nor remove the product from their website when the issue is pointed out. 

I have no idea how this company can possibly have a A+ BBB rating if the BBB rating is to have any credibility.  Just do a simple internet search and review previous BBB complaints.


Regards,

Business Response:

We apologize for any confusion relating to our original response. You information has been removed from our system. Our Tech team is currently investigating the issue with an unavailable card appearing on our site.  We appreciate your feedback.

We are sorry to hear you aren’t completely satisfied with your experience. We are also sorry that you were given incorrect information by our processor. The information we provided you is absolutely correct as it relates to the proper channels by which disputed transactions must be handled. We are in no way involved in disputed transactions as there would be a distinct conflict of interest for us to be involved. Having said that, it is clear that all three contributors to your group gift as well as the intended recipient live in Pennsylvania and the card was clearly used in Florida. I can say definitively that the card was shipped from our facility to the address provided when the order was placed. Given the distance between where the card was to be delivered and where the card was used, GiftCards.com has opted to go ahead and refund in full all contributors for the full purchase amount of the group gift. Our Accounting team processed those refunds today and they should show back up to the purchasing credit card(s) within 3-5 business days. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

This customer created a transaction to sell us a $100 ****** card. Once we received the card and attempted verification, we found the card to not be as represented in the original transaction. Typically, when we receive a card that is not as represented, or violates one of our other guidelines, we do require that the seller sends us a self addressed stamped envelope in which we may return the card. We advised this seller of this, and the result is this BBB complaint. As a one time courtesy, we have decided to incur the cost of shipping the card back to the customer. It will ship from our office via USPS First Class mail today (6/11/2014). Our responses to the seller have been factual and accurate.

We have a very detailed and thorough fraud prevention screening process. We simply do not release the details as to what we review or how those determinations are made. In essence, to do so would be giving people a road map by which to undermine our process. We do have the right to reject the purchase of any card at any time. We have not, nor do we ever, “strip” a card of it’s balance. The card has not been used by us or by anyone else. The card has been in our possession at all times. The card has already been shipped back to the purchaser at our cost.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10058882, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I thank the business for their response and I would not be pursuing this actively if I did not think there was merit in my case. 


I did in fact go to ******** **** on 5/14/14 and tried to redeem it in the ******* store and at that time was told the card had a zero balance.


I contacted ******* on 5/15/14 and was initially told the same thing that the business was told - that the card was usaed in ********* ** on 5/14 and $480 was redeemed.

I explained that I did in fact try to make a purchase and was declined they asked me to hold while they investigated further.

They returned after the hold and responded that the card was originally a $500 gift card and $420 was redeemed and then the card was reported lost and reissued in 11/1/12.


I would be happy to get on a call with ******* and the business and get the facts clear on this.

I was very happy with Giftcards.com and purchased at least 2 other giftcards previously and had no issues but I did not expect this kind of response - I do not appreciate any hint of being accused of making a fraudulent claim.



 


Regards,

***** *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

5/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The web site offered a JCPenney gift card at 20% discount. After I went through the whole registration and checkout procedure where I provided my address as well as my credit card information, it told me that the card is not available. After I went back to the listed gift cards, it still showed up there, so I tried to buy it again and it let me go through the whole procedure again until the end where it then would inform me that the card is not available.

Desired Settlement: Please remove all my personal information (name, address and credit card information) from your system and correct your web site that it does not show very attractive gift cards that you don't have in stock.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product never virtually honored or delivered. I ordered a gift card online and my daughter never received it. I called many times and was hung up on.

Desired Settlement: Refund of 104.95 for entire agreement.

Business Response: I received the following response from our Director of Customer Service:
This virtual gift was processed and electronically delivered to *********************** at 4:30 pm EST on 5/8/2014 (2 hours and 41 minutes after the order was placed). In addition, the recipient activated the card at 5:18 pm EST on 5/8/2014 (48 minutes after the product was delivered electronically).

 

The card has been activated but has not been used. Despite the fact that the product was delivered and received exactly as promised, a refund for the full purchase amount of $104.95 is being processed and will show up on the purchasing credit card in 3-5 business days.

 

We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Your order was impacted by a technical issue that affected your ability to use this card. We have, as of this morning, processed a refund for the full purchase amount of $356.72, which includes all card fees as well as all shipping costs. Again, we do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

This order was cancelled prior to processing. Typically, when an order is cancelled no funds are captured from the purchasing credit card. It does appear as though funds were captured on your order. A Refund for the full purchase amount of $105.96 was processed today and should show up as a credit on the purchasing credit card in 3-5 business days. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

"Ms. *****,

 

We received a notification from the BBB from you.

 

Unfortunately, there is no information provided in the complaint that allows me to access the account to which you refer.

 

If you would, please reply to this email with the last 8 digits of the affected cards and I will be happy to look into this and get back with you promptly.

 

I look forward to hearing from you.

 

Thanks."

This customer submitted a**** **** Gift Code with a stated value of $120.00 for us to purchase. As always, prior to providing payment to the customer, we verified the balance of the gift code and found the code to have a zero balance. The code had no value. We then sent a note to the customer immediately advising them that there was an issue with the code they sent in and could not offer payment. Again, the code that the customer submitted to us has a zero balance. There is no payment forthcoming.

Invoices ******* * ******* have both been shipped and received. The other 2 outstanding invoices for this customer are both open and still accepting donations. All of this customer’s orders are either completed and delivered, or still open and active.

 

Our refund policy is and always has been to refund the customer via the method that they paid for their order (i.e. the purchasing credit card). If a customer were to return an item to any other retailer, they would refund them via the same method that they purchased the item with. They wouldn’t refund the customer with cash or a check. We processed a full refund for this customer immediately upon being notified that he was having an issue with his card. To attempt to satisfy the customer, we had our accounting team attempt to reverse the refund to the purchasing card and issue a check. The company that issued the customer’s card would not allow us to reverse the refund. In addition, our Accounting team verified this morning that the money has already been withdrawn from our bank account. The customer would need to contact the company that issued his card and have them reissue the card to him.  We have refunded this customer in full.

We did verify there was an issue with the original check that this customer deposited. We have been in regular communication with this customer since this issue occurred. The customer was able to redeposit the initial check. In addition, we have also sent a second check, which the customer has acknowledged receiving. This customer is whole and is satisfied with the end result of this situation. In addition, we also provided the customer with a gift card to thank her for her patience.

 

This customer did place transaction # ****** to sell us her **** *** gift code on 2/1/2014. We issued check # 26110 for $45.89 and shipped it via USPS 1st Class mail on 2/4/2014. The customer reached out to us on 2/14/2014 and we responded via email to ************************* 1 hour and 5 minutes after she contacted us and advised that the check had been mailed. We did ask that the customer allow up to 15 days for the check to arrive. That check was never cashed. We stopped payment on that check on 2/20/2014 and reissued check # ***** the same day. That check was also sent via USPS First Class Mail. That check was cashed on 2/24/2014. This customer has been paid in full.

There was a delay in getting this customer paid. The customer has now been paid the full agreed upon amount of $74.08 via PayPal. The PayPal confirmation number is *****************.

This customer attempted to use the card several times prior to activating the card. That is why her attempted transactions were denied. Once the customer activated her card, she used the card successfully at a merchant called******* ***** and at a merchant called * ***** ** **********. There are pending transactions that has been entered 3 times by a merchant called *********. We have forwarded a disputed transaction form to the customer along with instructions on how to file her dispute. Since that transaction, the cardholder has successfully used the card on 3/15 at *** **** ***** in Los Angeles and on 3/17 at ********* in Los Angeles. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this card. The customer has used it successfully on multiple occasions since activating. Her dispute is with the one merchant that swiped her transaction 3 times.

We have issued a full refund in the amount of $51.70.  The refund has been submitted on 2/14 and will appear on your purchasing credit card in 3-5 business days.

The check for the payment of $112.50 has been issued to the customer and a member of our team has reached out to this customer.


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sold a **** *** gift code to this website. I submitted required information in order to sell my **** *** gift code for a paypal payment. I received an email from them containing some of the following information: "Below is the receipt for your Gift Card or Gift Code sale to GiftCards.comOnce all your cards have been validated, your PayPal payment will be sent to the email address you provided." Note that immediately prior to entering the gift code and relevant information to giftcards.com, I had called the # on the back of the gift card and confirmed the exact balance which was $80.64. The calculated payment was to be %72.58. I then received an email: "Hello ****, Here is an update on what we verified. We have received and verified: **** *** $80.64 gift code. Our team will send your payment and confirm by email to you." Embedded in the email was also an order summary with the Estimated Value($80.64), Actual Value($80.64), Purchase Price($72.58), Status(Verified), and Transaction ID(******).An identical email several days later stated: "Hello ****, Here is an update on what we verified. We have received and verified: (blank) Our team will send your payment and confirm by email to you." The order summary now shown the following: Estimated Value($80.64). Under Actual Value, Purchase Price, Status, and Transaction ID, there was a sentence reading the following: "Unfortunately, we are unable to accept this gift card as we found the balance did not meet our accepted balance amounts." The min bal is $20, and cannot exceed $300.I logged a ticket on thier site 'Ticket # *************.I called customer service (imcompetent) and was assured payment receival. E-mail immediately after phone call: "************ has been resolved." E-mail this morning: "************ has been resolved." "****, Thank you for reaching out to us. The gift card you attempted to sell us does not meet our requirements."I'm extremely upset and feel violated and scammed. Have been unable to reach them since.

Desired Settlement: I just want the money that is owed to me ($72.58). This is completely unacceptable, if this problem is not addressed and resolved, I will be logging a complaint with fbi.gov

Business Response:
I've received the following response from our Director of Customer Service:

The payment of $72.8 has been released to the customer and a member of our team has reached out to let the customer know.


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a $100 GiftCards ****** **** as a gift in April 2011, with an expiration date of April 2018. Recently, I tried to activate the card, but was told that it has no balance on it any more, because a monthly service fee of $4.95 was deducted after one year of inactivity. I was very surprised by this, since the service charge was not clearly indicated in the letter, card, or the helpful tips I received with the card. I found later that there are three lines of small prints indicating this service charge on the back of the letter I received, among a page of small prints of Terms and Conditions.I found it very misleading that GiftCards makes the expiration date so clear but the service charges almost hidden. I called the customer service phone number around 7:50pm on 2/8/14, and was told that this happens frequently to many people, but there is nothing that can be done except for refunding me three months of service charge (i.e. $14.85 out of $100). Given that this happens to many people, and GiftCards is aware of this fact but still does not indicate the service charge prominently at all in the information provided to card recipients, it seems that GiftCards is exploiting people's trust of expiration date and most people's failure to read a long page of small prints in a gift they receive. I find it an unfair and unreasonable way for a business to makes profit this way.Therefore, I am writing to Better Business Bureau and asking the following.(1) GiftCards.com refunds me the full $100 in my original gift card.(2) GiftCards.com makes it clear in the future that a service charge will be deducted either on the Helpful Tips page in fonts of similar sizes to the other tips on the FRONT of the letter sent to card recipients, or GiftCards.com prints the service charge information next to the expiration date on the card.Thank you for your attention to this complaint, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Desired Settlement: I am writing to ask the following.(1) GiftCards.com refunds me the full $100 in my original gift card.(2) GiftCards.com makes it clear in the future that a service charge will be deducted either on the Helpful Tips page in fonts of similar sizes to the other tips on the FRONT of the letter sent to card recipients, or GiftCards.com prints the service charge information next to the expiration date on the card.

Business Response:

I received the following response from our Director of Customer Service:


This card was purchased on 4/8/2011. The inactivity fee is very clearly outlined in the terms and conditions. It is in no way hidden and the purchaser had to acknowledge the terms and conditions prior to continuing in the ordering process. As a courtesy, we did offer to refund 3 months of inactivity fees ($14.85). That refund was processed on 2/12/2014 and has already been returned to the card. Our goal is always to completely satisfy our customers, so we have processed another refund in the amount of $85.15 today (2/18/2014) as a courtesy.

 

To clarify, this is strictly a courtesy we are providing. The inactivity fees are clearly outlined in the terms and conditions.

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is overall satisfactory to me.  I appreciate the full refund by GiftCards.com and appreciate the facilitation by BBB.

I think it would be much nicer if GiftCards.com could consider displaying the inactivity fee in a more prominent place than the present though.  I think this is important if a business cares about retaining customers.

 

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a gift code valued at $25 to the **** ***** for a purchase price of $22.50 Invoice ******** and upon receipt of this card it was valued at $1.46. I called their customer service whom just told me they would take care of it later, however no refund was offered or given and i am still out $22.50 and cannot even use this $1.46 for fear of loosing my entire $25 card that is owed to me.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $22.50, I no longer want the card because it was going to be for the purchase of a gift i need to buy today.

Business Response:

A full refund in the amount of $22.50 was processed on 2/17/2014 and should appear back on the purchasing credit card within 3-5 business days.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placed order on 1/16 for a lowes gift card. Realized I didn't need the card within 5-10 minutes of ordering so I called to cancel the order. They said it's still open, so cancellation is not a problem. I got an email stating my order was cancelled and that my card will not be charged. It states specifically: "No charges have been applied to your credit or debit card. You may see a pending charge on your account from GiftCards.com that your bank is waiting for us to authorize. This charge is usually lifted within 3 business days by your financial institution." Happened to check my card on the 18th and sure enough, a charge for 118 dollars posted to my card. I called and they said it wasn't supposed to and that they would issue a refund which I would see by 1/24. Checked on 1/24, no refund. I called again and they said I'd see it by 1/27. Checked on 1/27, no refund. I called my credit card to dispute the charge, I am done dealing with giftcards.com.

Desired Settlement: Refund my money

Business Response:

Your order on 1/16/2014 was properly cancelled by the agent when you called in at 9:54.  When an order is cancelled before it processes funds are not captured and a pending authorization appears on your credit card.  In this instance  due to a system error funds were captured from your credit card in the amount of $117.28.  We are refunding you the full amount of $117.28 for your purchase.  The refund was submitted on 1/31 and will appear on your purchasing credit card in 3-5 business days.  We apologize for the inconvenience.

Consumer Response:

So, in other words, this company had no intention of refunding my money. This order was placed on 1/16 and the charge posted on 1/18. As I mentioned I called on 1/18 and they told me it would be 3-5 business days for the refund to take place, which should have never been charged in the first place. I called back on 1/24 when there was no refund, and they said it's in process and to check on 1/27. I called on 1/27, and they said it's still in process. This is when I contacted the BBB. Now, the response I get is that the refund was submitted on 1/31. So, in reality, the refund was never issued even though I called 3 times, got a cancellation email, and was assured that everything would be processed accordingly.

This is very sneaky and shady business and I will never purchase an item from here again. I have already cancelled my credit card number and requested a new number because I have no trust for this company whatsoever. I called this company a total of 4 times to cancel my order, all of which I was told the cancellation was processed, but it took filing a formal complaint to the BBB and a call to my credit card company to get my money back, which I still don't even have. While obviously I accept this solution, as it gets me my money back, the method that I used shouldn't have been necessary, and if I hadn't followed up closely on this, I am sure my refund would've never come. I have put way too much time and effort into this and would never recommend this website to anyone.

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 11, I tried to use my **** Virtual gift card for $300 to place an order on ****** website. Initial order was $8.00 over the card amount due to taxes, despite my effort to keep in at $300, and declined. Using ****** website, I "backed up" and removed a $10.00 item to get the order back under the card amount of $300 and re-submitted the order. The order "confirmed" from ******.Today, on January 13, I arrived to work to find an e-mail from ****** that my order was not processed and cancelled.Upon calling ****** customer service line, and a 3-way conference call with ****** at Giftcards.com, I have learned that Giftcards.com will take 6 to 10 business days to "put the funds back on my card". My question is.....put what funds back? I have an e-mail from ****** that my order did not process and no charges were put on my account. The first order to ****** did not confirm. No charges were ever put on the card...and I never spent any of the money.And now...I have to wait another 6 to 10 days (Giftcards.com estimates January 21) before I may use the $300 on the card.When I asked for their bank name to try to explain this...and expedite it, I was told they could not release the bank name.I just want my card "reinstated". I spent none of the money...and have received nothing. The items I was trying to purchase were sale and clearance items, which will most likely be unavailable by the time this is resolved.This is a terrible way to do business.And by the way...upon my last call to ****** at Giftcards.com.....we were "disconnected" when I questioned why I could not have the bank information.I am reading very bad reviews about the company. I want this resolved...and I should not have to wait 10 days.

Desired Settlement: I want the $300 reinstated on my gift card immediately. It is ridiculous to wait 6 to 10 business days. No funds were removed from the card.

Business Response: I received the following response from our Director of Customer Service:

This customer attempted to use her virtual card for a purchase that exceeded the available balance of her virtual card. When that happened, a preauthorization for the amount exceeding the available balance of her virtual card to the bank. The bank, as is normal procedure for all transactions, placed a hold on those funds. The cardholder realized her mistake and just a few moments later attempted a purchase for an amount that was less than the total available amount of her virtual gift. But due to the fact that the full amount of the previously attempted transaction had place a hold on the funds, the transaction could not process to what the system deemed as an “overdraft”. Unfortunately, we have no ability to expedite removal of the preauthorization hold. Typically, these preauthorizations fall off within a few business days. I spoke with the cardholder today and explained the situation and provided her with my personal phone number as well as my email address with assurances that I will watch for the preauthorization to fall off and her full balance to become available. I will notify her directly one that has happened. The cardholder seems satisfied.


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As holidays were around the corner, I found giftcards.com and I was able to place photos on the card for use. My order included (3) different cards for (3) different people living in the same household. The payment was made, the shipping included (for a steep price, but I figured to send 3 gifts in time for the holidays it was worth it). The next day I went back to the website to see the progress and noticed that everything went through but on the receipt it showed only (1) card on the order as the other (2) were cancelled. I know I didn't cancel it and there was no reason for the discard. I called in and was told that my photos were unacceptable so they processed the order without the 2 cards. No contact was ever made to inform me that my order was to be processed incompletely. I was thinking of ordering another 2 cards to get it out at the same time but while on the phone with the CSR, I asked about a remedy..would I need to place ANOTHER order and pay ANOTHER shipping fee if I was to complete it or could Giftcards.com just add it to the previous order I had already submitted. The CSR said No and I would need to place another order and pay an additional $88.00 for shipping. MAJOR CONCERN: 1. My order was NOT right but yet Giftcards.com processed it incompletely and sent out the order without gaining approval for processing my credit card for a DIFFERENT amount other than what was agreed to during the initial transaction. -Last I checked, if an amount has to be changed, customer approval/notification must be completed otherwise it's considered fraudulent-2. Wanted to cancel but the CSR Supervisor said NOT only would I get charged a credit card fee but I would also be charged for shipping. -Why should I be penalized for failure to communicate clearly with customers?-Wanted to speak with a director, informed that they would get back to me when office opened on Monday Dec.23. No call received yet.

Desired Settlement: Compensation: $ 50.00 for the shipping price....as I would've CANCELLED the order if I had KNOWN the COMPLETE ORDER wouldn't have been fulfilled. I'll pay for the card as it has already be delivered as a gift but I should have been consulted to complete my purchase properly AND asked to process my credit card for the different amount other than what was stated on my original receipt. Please contact me if any additional questions arise or if more details are required.

Business Response: I received the following response from our Director of Customer Service:

We certainly apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused the customer. However,  in the past, customers have been upset when we cancelled their entire order due to one image not meeting our image guidelines. According to our General Counsel, so long as we charge the card for a lesser amount than originally approved, not a greater amount, we would be violating no rules. At the time the images were denied, an email was sent to the purchaser at the email address they provided in their order within a matter of minutes. We absolutely did notify the purchaser that their images were not approved. That email also contained a link that could be followed to add subsequent cards to the same shipped package. I am sorry if the customer was advised that there would be additional shipping charges, aside from USPS First Class Mail, we can always add multiple cards to the same shipment at no extra charge.  In addition, during the process of uploading an image to be used to customize a gift card, we provide a link to our image guidelines which would have specifically shown that the images being uploaded would not be able to be approved.


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with giftcards.com on 01/09/2014. I cancelled the order SEVEN minutes after creating it. Today 01/16/2014 is 5 business day since the cancellation and I have not received my refund. After having ****** contact the company, I found out that the rep lied to me and the refund was NEVER processed. Now they want me to wait ANOTHER 3-5 business days.

Desired Settlement: I want an IMMEDIATE refund!

Business Response:

I received the following response from our Director of Customer Service:


This customer did place an order (invoice # *******). That order was cancelled at the request of the purchaser a few moments later. Typically, when an order is cancelled prior to processing, as this order was, no funds are captured. We realized that the funds were captured and submitted a refund request. That refund was processed by our accounting team yesterday (1/16/2014). The full purchase amount has been refunded back to the purchasers credit card and should show up on that account within 3-5 business days. We regret any inconvenience this may have caused.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I cancelled the order on 01/09/2014. Why was my refund not immediately processed? Why was it only processed when I called on 01/16/2014? Why was I told by the business that my refund was on its way when it had not yet even been processed? Why did I not receive a message from the business to notify me that THEY had made a MISTAKE and had not issued the refund? Why did I not receive an apology or an attempt to make things right? Why do I have to wait ANOTHER 3-5 business days to receive my money?!

Regards,

******* *****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

1/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold Giftcards.com a ****** GC on 12/24. On 12/25 GC.com verified the funds and the next day issued me the credit. Smooth transaction.(I thought) On 12/30 GC.com sends me an e-mail and charges my credit card the sales amount and a 10.00 transaction charge saying the gift card I sold to them was used on Target.com. I spoke to them on multiple occasions and told them I was the sole person who had the card and scratched off the pin number to enter on the giftcard.com site and did not use the card. They accused ME of fraud. All this over a lousy 50 dollar gift card. They have washed their hands of the situation and refuse to do anything about it. Either they have a system issue, or some associate there is dishonest.

Desired Settlement: The 55 dollar charge needs to be refunded. I sold them the gift card and they verified the funds. I never used that gift card.

Business Response: I received the following response from our Director of Customer Service:

This customer sold us a ****** card as stated in the BBB complaint. At the time the balance on the card was verified, a payment was issued to the customer in the amount of $45.00 via PayPal. At the time that the card sold to us by this customer was purchased, as part of our normal process, we attempted to re-verify the balance. At that time, the balance on the card was shown to be compromised and again, per our normal process, this customer’s credit card was charged for the amount of the PayPal payment. After research, we have surmised that the customer was not responsible for the compromised balance on the ****** Gift Card. A full refund of the amount charged to his credit card has been submitted and the customer will be receiving a check to make him whole. That check should arrive within 7 -10 business days at the address the customer provided when selling us the card originally.


Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent 3 brand new gift cards to giftcards.com. They agreed to purchase each $25 card for $18. I then received an email from them that there is a "problem" with one of the cards and that they would be in touch. I received a check for $36 and never heard from them again. I tried to contact them numerous times. It is almost impossible to try to find a way to send an email to their customer service dept. I finally figured out how to send one and they sent my a claim number and said they'd be in touch. They were once again never in touch. I sent another email claim to customer service and never heard from them again. Finally, today, I received an email from them saying they have no record of my claim with the claim number they assigned to me and that as a result, they closed my claim. They have a link where they say you can reply to the email. Of course I have tried the link for weeks and it does not work. I believe giftcards.com reimburses sellers a portion of the amount they should and then say there is a "problem" with the sellers gift cards. I believe giftcards.com thinks this makes them look legitimate as they are dispensing some of the money. However, if they do not contact customers when there is a "problem" and a customer has no actual way to reach a customer service person, this does not appear to be a legitimate business. I would advise anyone thinking of selling gift cards to giftcards.com not to send their gift cards in expecting the full reimbursement promised or any assistance whatsoever.

Desired Settlement: I would like the remaining money I am owed by giftcards.com

Business Response: I received the following response from our Director of Customer Service:

This customer sold us 3 merchant gift cards and agreed to a payout amount for those 3 cards in the amount of $54.00 for all three cards. Due to a misinformation provided to our accounting team, the customer was only sent a check for $36.00. Once this was brought to our attention by the customer. We researched the issue and immediately cut an additional check in the amount of $18.00 which was mailed to the customer on 1/9/2014. This customer has been made whole and we certainly apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.


Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   I received the check from giftcards.com today.  Thank you for your assistance.

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a $100 gift card to be sent to my 21 year old son for Christmas. I personalized it with a picture that was later deemed inappropriate (cleavage). At the time of checkout, I read the mandatory terms to continue processing my order. At no time did those terms state that if GiftCards.com finds the image inappropriate, that they may cancel my order and charge me for the cancellation, which is what happened.I placed my order, invoice #*******, on Saturday 12-22-13 at 2:48pm EST for a total of $112.40 (100.00 card, 4.95 card fee, 7.45 shipping and handling). At 3:09pm EST, I received an email stating that my order had been cancelled due to: Violence, blood, dead animals, indecency, nudity or semi-nudity. It was also stated in the same email that "We reviewed the images submitted and had to decline the cards listed below. Please review the refunded images and resubmit if you wish to try with another photo." I thought, "no problem, I'll simply update the image to a more appropriate one and the order will continue to process."I found out that my bank had been charged the $112.40 immediately and that my order had been cancelled and a refund of $104.95 would be issued - eventually. I called and spoke to ***** about this who told me the difference $7.45 was the cancellation fee (although it is the same amount as the shipping...) I explained that I would like to simply change the image and continue with the order but ***** informed me that that was not possible, that a refund had already been issued.I explained that the refund was not the total price and that if they wanted to cancel the order, then they should refund the total amount, especially since there was nothing in the terms that said they could cancel my order at any time and charge ME the cancellation fee. Besides, the email made it sound like I could simply resubmit the image and the order would continue on its merry way, which is incorrect.I now have to wait to see WHEN I will get a refund and for how much.

Desired Settlement: Total refund of $112.40, an apology letter sent to my son for him not receiving a gift card before Christmas and all available funds accessible to Giftcards.com held for X amount of days (the same amount of days it takes for the money to reappear in my account that it was taken from).

Business Response: I received the following response from our Director of Customer Service:

During the ordering process, at the point which the customer would have uploaded the image to be used to customize their card, a link to our Image Guidelines was provided. Had the customer referenced those guidelines, it would have been clear that the image submitted could not be approved according to those guidelines. At the time the image was deemed inappropriate and the order cancelled, an email was sent to the email address provided by the purchaser to advise them that their order was cancelled due to a violation of our image guidelines. In addition, given that the order never processed, no funds were ever captured by us. The “charge” the customer saw on their credit card was simply a preauthorization. Again, no funds were ever captured by us. The full amount of the preauthorization would have fallen off in 3-5 business days.


Consumer Response:

I have submitted a copy of the screen shot taken from the website where the Image Guidelines appear.  As you can see for yourself, it blends in with the rest of the jargon and does not appear to be a link, as most links in email, on websites, etc., have an underscore and appear in blue.  This "link" does not have any of those attributes.  The main focus of the page is to upload photo and to select how many cards.  There was no disclaimer that I had to read and one was not presented to me prior going through this process.  Had there been a pop up or a mandatory page that I had to agree to, this could have been avoided.  The current tactic is blatantly clear to me that the company knows it is off the beaten path, so to speak, so no one will think to read it, therefore they will continue this same practice on their customers.

Secondly, the image that was uploaded was not obscene or inappropriate.  It was a picture of a woman's blouse.   There was nothing inappropriate about it.  No undergarments could be seen, no inappropriate flesh, it was simply a blouse.  Besides, your version of inappropriate and mine are obviously way different and with this picture being inappropriate, I'm sure the company's dress code policy must be full overcoats and mask so that there is no visible skin showing or blouses.

Lastly, The funds were captured.  My bank balance reflected the deduction and reduced the available funds I could use for 4 days.  It left that account with less than the amount needed to purchase another gift card of the same value, thus making it impossible to give my son his Christmas gift on time because of it.  The funds were returned 4 days later, but by then, Christmas had passed and I was left looking like a bad father because I was unable to send my son a gift card that I promised him.

This company's policy on inappropriate pictures should be changed to give the customer the option of changing the image if it is deemed inappropriate.  Simply canceling the transaction and leaving the customer with no way to purchase the card elsewhere, where the same photo may be deemed appropriate, is low.  It takes the customers funds and locks them up for 3 or 4 days so that they are unable to use them and they can do it on a whim and for whomever they choose.  It's at their discretion who they choose to screw over and the customer doesn't have a say in it or an opportunity to correct any mistake this company deems is worthy of canceling the transaction.

I stand by my demand that this company write my son an appology letter explaining why he did not receive his Christmas gift on time as well as placing all of their funds on hold for 4 days so that they are unable to pay bills, payroll, material costs, etc., just like I was unable to do because of their actions.  Eye for an eye, since we're sticking to what's "appropriate" and not according to Bible guidelines.  See how they like being treated like one of their own customers.

Regards,

***** ******

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold my *** **** gift card worth $200.00 to giftcards.com on Saturday, November 16, 2013. They pulled $1.00 out of my bank account and then verified that there was indeed $200.00 on the gift card. My husband received an email stating that everything was verified and our check would be mailed soon. The next morning, we received another email saying that there were no funds on the gift card. The customer service agent then said that the funds were drained sometime between Saturday the 16th and Sunday the 17th by an online TRANSFER in the amount of $200.00. They are now refusing to refund the money they took off of my gift card and also refusing to issue me the promised $164.00 check in exchange for my $200.00 gift card. Keep in mind that I received this gift card in the mail from my employer Friday November 15th. I verified that there was indeed the $200.00 loaded onto the card. Giftcards.com ran numerous inquiries on the cards balance as well. We wanted to sell them this gift card because we do not shop at *** **** and wanted some extra cash for Christmas for our 2 year old boy.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $200.00 gift card refunded or the promised $164.00 check in exchange for the funds stolen from me. Also, reporting gift card as stolen by giftcards.com

Business Response:

We received the customers *** **** card through our GiftCards.com sell process on Saturday 11/16/2013.  According to *** **** the funds of this card were depleted at *** **** ** ****, which is identified as an online purchase.  Our representative ****** spoke to ******** ******* ******** husband on 11/19/2013.   Customer stated to our representative that the gift card was received as a bonus card from employer that was received on 11/15/2013.  When we checked to verify the balance of the card we were informed the card was used for a purchase online on Saturday 11/16/2013.   Customer did a conference call with ****** to *** **** and placed a claim that the card was not used by them.  The claim was acknowledged by *** **** and *** **** stated they would respond in 3-5 business days with a response.  Our representative spoke with ******** on 11/22 and he stated that he had spoken to *** **** and was filling a claim with employer to have the amount of the gift card reimbursed to them.   ******** also stated he would remove this BBB compliant as a result of these findings.  We have not heard back from the customer since 11/22.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

 

****** ******

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company owns giftcards.com CEO ***** ***** also owns giftly.com I found this website one day searching my own small business on google and up pops giftly.com with my business info and it says buy a gift card for my business. Good for anything.. I don't know the company.. I didn't give them permission. They're trying to steal my customers money online. I spoke with them and asked for it to be removed and gave them months with nothing done. Beware of this scam company with multiple websites.

Desired Settlement: I would like this person just to drop my business name and info off their website ASAP .. I tried to ask nice. Now I'm thinking of a possible action course to take next until the problem is resolved.

Business Response: The company name has been removed, we apologize for any inconvenience.

Consumer Response:

It's still online 
 

 

Not removed as told 
Shut the guy site down

 

 

 

Business Response: I received a response back from our Chief Operating Officer that stated they were unaware of a second business, it has now been removed.  We hope this resolves this matter.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wanted a to purchase a gift card to send to a family member. On their website it is VERY unclear what you are purchasing. I ended up purchasing a gift code that I could not use readily or that I could send as a gift. When I called to dispute what I had purchased and have them turn it into a physical card that I could send, they would not do so. I asked for my money back and they refused to do so as well.I feel that I was "conned" into buying something I could not use readily and when I was dissatisfied with the product or in the way in which my purhcase was handled, I was rudely treated and was not given the option of my money being returned.NOWHERE does it state that a customer can't get their money back after a purchase has been made and even if it did, I believe this is highly irregular and unfair.This company must have tons of complaints due to their inability to work with customers dissatisfied with their purchases. My credit card company is having me wait to dispute the charges.I certainly do not want ANYONE else to have their money taken in a way that mine was just taken.Is there anyone at the Better Business Bureau that could assist me in getting my money back from this purchase?******* ************

Desired Settlement: I would like my 48.50 returned to my credit card immediately.

Consumer Response: Although, they say they will refund your money if it is a card.....it is very "sneaky" that a customer does NOT know what they are buying when they are on their site. It is NOT clear at all. I had no idea I was purchasing a gift code that would ultimately not be refunded if I purchased it as such. My problem is how a customer is easily misled by their website in order to make a mistake to buy an inconvenient product such as a code. Customers are being misled....period.

 
I also DO NOT believe it fair that a company of this sort should advertise that they are a selling gift cards when they also sell gift "codes" that are inconvenient and useless in my opinion since you can only use them for online purchases and they can't be refunded.
 
I asked for the refund before the purchase had cleared my credit card and they still would not oblige as their refund policy states.
 
If I spent money to purchase a card and get refunded....I should be able to be refunded money for a gift code. Money is money.
 
They claim that once they send a customer a gift code, there is no way of refunding their money.
 
However, I have not received the code to activate what I purchased and furthermore.....I know they can track who uses the activation codes and who does not.
 
I believe I was misled as a customer/consumer and I also believe that when I called in good faith for a refund, I was treated unfairly and was not refunded the money I should be refunded due to dissatisfaction with their product and how it was sold to me in the first place.
 
Though I appreciate your response to send me the link to their refund policy that I can clearly read on my own, I believe you would feel quite differently if you had bought the code in the manner it was presented and you were losing the money that I have lost.
 
I think more can be done to get my money refunded as I have asked.
 
**

Business Response: I received the following response from the Director of Customer Service:

Customer purchased a ******* gift code on October 24th at 2:14 am.  GiftCards.com sent the gift code to the customer on October 24th at 3:01 am.  When customer purchases a discounted merchant gift code our web site states the following information when selecting merchant codes:  There is a field stating the value, amount you pay, the percentage you save, and card or code option.   Once a customer has chosen the card they wanted they would click on add to cart.   Before you proceed to checkout the following message is clearly stated before you can move forward “One of the items in your cart is able to be purchased as a gift code. Gift codes can only be used online or for phone purchases.”  This statement must be acknowledged before a customer can proceed with the purchase.  We are not able to refund gift codes because once the customer receives the code the code has now been compromised and can not be sent back to us. 


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a **** gift card from giftcards.com. Later I found out that the card was originally purchased in NJ in 2008, and after 5 years **** removed the remaining balance and sent it to NJ. Giftcards.com did not warn me about this, and I did not discover it during their 100-day guarantee period. I called to ask for their help and spoke with customer service director *** ******. I could barely get a word in edgewise to explain the issue, while Mr. ****** kept repeating "100 days, 100 days" like a broken record. He also claimed that he had never heard about the NJ 5-year problem. I can't decide which is worse, if he was telling the truth or not. This is an important issue in their industry. Obviously, Mr. ****** did not offer to help.This was disappointing since I have bought gift cards from this company in the past, and any time there was any issue, they always took care of it promptly. For many years I felt like when I bought gift cards from other companies, I was taking my chances, but if I bought from giftcards.com, I wouldn't have any issues. I wonder what happened to them. I left a message about this at the office of CEO ***** *****, but no one called back.If someone responds to this query here, I urge you to read about the issue very carefully and respond to it specifically. If all you can say is "100 days" then your future customers will understand that your business is now selling defective products and hope the customers don't discover it in time.

Desired Settlement: 1. Acknowledge that you sold me a card with a defect without warning me, and sometimes defects don't become known during the first 100 days.2. Make a good-faith effort to contact **** and/or NJ, and try to restore the value, even if this effort is ultimately unsuccessful. This is all your area of expertise, not mine.3. Describe how you plan to warn future customers about cards originally purchased in NJ.

Business Response: I received the following response back from out Director of Customer Service:

This customer placed this order on 1/31/2013. At the time the order was placed, the customer had to acknowledge the terms and conditions which specifically outlined the 100 day guarantee. The customer called in on 10/9/2013 (251 days after the date of purchase) to advise that the balance on the card had been compromised. It was explained to the customer that unfortunately, we are not able to guarantee the balances in perpetuity. The customer suggests that he was told the Customer Service Director wasn’t aware of the situation with New Jersey. That is simply not the case, the customer was advised not that they were unaware, but that it was not relevant to the current situation. Had the customer contacted us to notify us that the balance of the discounted merchant card was compromised within the 100 day guaranteed period, we would have unconditionally refunded the customer in full, regardless of the reason that the code had been compromised. This is our standing policy and we honor it 100% of the time. In addition, the customer indicates that we sold him a “defective” gift card. Again, this is simply not the case. We verified the balance of the gift card prior to sending it out to the customer. At the time of purchase, the card was valid and the balance intact as advertised. We value our customers and always strive for 100 % customer satisfaction.


Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

My card was not "compromised", which implies that some unknown person unexpectedly did something fraudulent.  In this case, it was known with 100% certainty when the card was sold to me that the card was originally purchased in NJ in 2008 and that later in 2013 the balance would disappear.  And if giftcards.com didn't know it, it's because they didn't check, but should have. 

 

I asked pointblank whether the director of customer service had ever heard of the NJ problem before my call.  He said no.  If they now deny that, they're not telling the truth.  In any case, they now seem to be admitting that they do in fact know about this issue.  It is unfortunate that they do not consider this to be a defect of the card, and it does not appear that they plan to warn future customers about selling them such cards.  I wonder why not.

 

I would like to note that I did not at any time ask giftcards.com for a refund.  I merely asked for advice and assistance in recovering my value from Hess or NJ.  They certainly have expended a remarkable amount of effort to not help me one bit.  Perhaps if they spent their time making a few calls on my behalf rather than calculating how many days it had been since my purchase, they might achieve that 100% customer satisfaction that they supposedly always strive for.

Regards,

**** ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

10/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called in 5 mins aftermaking my order to cancel and they told me they had to put in a ticket for the CSR to do it on Monday. I called in Monday and they told me that cancellation will be done on Tuesday 8/13/2013. I called my bank on 8/12/2013 and they told me the charge should drop off and if not call to dispute. Today I called in to see what happened with my cancellation and they told me the cards shipped on 8/12/2013. Why I didnt get a tracking number for my shipment and the fact that no one told me on Monday 8/12/2013 that the cards were shipped beats me. I asked for a coutesy credit as the cards will not get her until AFTER I leave for vacation and they said they will give me a credit of everything including shipping to send them back once I am back. So for two weeks I am out of the money I spent along with the fact that I have to go through hoops to get my money back when someone at their company dropped the ball.I was very diligent in trying to avoid the cards from being shipped. However, they were shipped and I didnt receive an email notification with the tracking number nor was I told that the shipment was sent when I called into confirm the cancellation. I have to delay my vacation to either make sure that I get the cards before I leave, or I have to figure out how to get additional money to cover the funds that are sitting with Giftcards.com.

Desired Settlement: A courtesy credit of $30.00 would be greatly appreciated because of all the time spent trying to get this issue resolved.

Business Response:

I received the following response back from our Director of Customer Service:


Our customer placed their order (Invoice # ******) at 12:36 pm EST on 8/11/2013. At the time the order was placed, information was provided that indicated “For all shipping options, please add 1 – 3 business days for gift card processing”. The shipping method chosen at the time of purchase was ***** 2 day. At the time that shipping method was chosen, information was provided that indicated “Your package will arrive in 3-4 business days”. The order shipped from our facility on 8/12/2013. According to tracking information provided by *****, the package was delivered at 8:45 am on 8/14/2013 (3rd business day after order was placed). The customer did call in on 8/12 to cancel the order, but due to heavy volume, the cancellation did not get processed and the order shipped. We spoke with the customer at 4:25 pm on 8/13 and advised her the order had shipped, but we would be glad to refund the full amount including shipping and processing. The customer at that time indicated that they would rather just go ahead and wait for the package to be delivered and would keep the order. The customer received their entire order well within the stated guidelines established at the time the order was created. In addition, we offered the option, well in advance of the order being delivered, a full refund and the customer refused indicating she still wanted the order. In addition, the customer filed a dispute with their bank and we received a chargeback for this purchase from the customer’s bank in the amount of $285.42 (the full purchase amount) on 8/16/2013 (2 days after the package was delivered). At this point, the customer has all of the cards they ordered and the payment for those cards has been reversed. The customer needs to return the cards to us immediately.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased two ******* gift cards (ending in **** and ****) from Giftcards.com, and in Aug 2012 went to ******* trying to buy a necklace, it was a pity that two cards did not go through. I promptly contacted Giftcards.com, and asked for a replacement. I was told that this sometimes happened due to system error, and asked me to try later. I purchased one more ******* giftcard (ending in ****) and in Oct 2012 I went to buy a necklace at another ******* store trying to use three gift cards (ending in ****, **** and ****). Unfortunately only one giftcard ending in **** went through, and the gift cards ending in **** and **** still could Not been processed. On the same day I promptly contacted Giftcards.com, and asked for assistance. For the following months I made many contacts with Giftcards.com and asked them to investigate, both by online contact through giftcards.com and by phone. It is a pity that the problem has never been resolved, and Giftcards.com did not even reply me any more. For this reason, my two cards ending in **** and **** could NOT be used for a long time. I feel so disappointed.Most recently, I was upset to see that gift card ending in **** became invalid in ********* system. According to Tiffany, the card ending in **** has been apparently replaced by the person who sold the card to Giftcards.com. I talked with Giftcards.com, and asked for their assistance for further investigation. However, I was rudely rejected. To sum up, Giftcards.com should be responsible for my loss. Obviously, if the gift cards worked well last year, the gift cards ending in **** and **** should have been used, and we will NOT have the trouble followed. Further, if Giftcards.com helped resolve the problems in a timely manner, the problems will not last for such a long time.

Desired Settlement: The giftcard ending in **** I purchased has been replaced, and my loss is apparent. Also, the gift card ending in **** has continued to be an issue for almost a year. For this reason, I am writing to file a complaint towards Giftcards.com, and ask for a full refund for the the gift cards ending in **** and **** and a reasonable compensation for my time and energy spent for almost a year.

Business Response:

I received the following response from our Director of Customer Service:

The customer placed this order on 6/20/2012. The purchaser did not reach out to us regarding difficulties she was having utilizing the ******* gift codes until 2/18/2013. We checked the balance of the gift codes with Tiffany’s that day and verified that the balances of $58.30 and $92.43 were intact. The customer then ask that the codes be replaced with the cards. Unfortunately, we did not have the plastic and were unable to provide those to her. She had originally specifically purchased codes. At the time the codes were purchased, the customer was advised, as are all of our customers, that there is a 100 day money back guarantee on discounted merchant cards. Despite that, when the customer reached out to us on 8/19/2013, and we verified that the balances at that time were indeed compromised, we still offered the customer the full refund amount of $132.64, which is the amount she specified as disputed in this complaint. We contacted her and advised that despite the fact that we were well outside of the guaranteed period, we would still like to offer her that full amount. She advised she would not accept the amount and insisted that we give her “more”. When we explained that we were offering the full amount she requested, she again insisted that we give her more. We have reached out to the customer numerous times since then and have not had any of our calls returned.

Consumer Response:


 
Because of the invalid merchandise purchased from Giftcards.com, I ask for a full refund to my original payment method.
I accept Giftcards.com LLC refunding me at the amount of  $132.64 back to my credit card or check.
 I do not accept refunds at any forms of gift cards or prepaid cards. 

Your assistance is appreciated.

thanks,
******** *

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I accidentally missed my ********** incentive card expiration date by two months and was told by supervisor ***** that my funds are gone and that they have the right by law to keep them as they are a " reward" card that is under different rules and laws than credit, debit and gift certificates. They led me to believe that the issuer who used this card to reimburse me for services and work completed, kept all or part of the funds when I fact I found out their agreement was that they could solely keep the funds. I understand service fees or a small penalty for reissuing the card but keeping approximately $295 of someone's earned incentive does not seem ethical. I am requesting again that they re-issue or reinstate the majority (90%)(if not all) of my monies in order to be satisfied.I have no contract with them and the money I believe is mine alone.

Desired Settlement: above. $295 re-issued or reinstated on the card.

Business Response:

After review of the account to which the complainant refers, we were able to reissue this card with the balance of $295.00. this card will expire at midnight EST on 08/31/2015. This card was shipped to the customer via USPS First Class mail on 8/22/2013. The cardholder has been made whole.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Thank you. 

Regards,

 

***** *********

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a gift card in 2006 from www.giftcards.com for $150.00. The card was misplaced by the recipient and later found. The card has an "expiration date" of November 2008. I made a phone call inquiring and was told that there would be a $4.95 charge to reissue. I concurred and was asked to provide my mailing address. I was told that I'd get a confirming phone call when the card had been mailed.A few days later I had not heard back from anyone. I phoned again and was told that the entire $150.00 card had "expired" and they would not reissue. I read a bit on the California Department of Consumer Affairs, and I don't think this is legal. I, the consumer, am out $150.00. This doesn't seem legal.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $150.00 or replacement gift card.

Business Response: I received the following response from our Director of Customer Service:

The purchaser placed the order for this giftcard on 11/13/2006. At the time the customer placed the order, the information indicating that the card would expire in 24 months was presented. The card shipped to the customer on 11/15/2006 along with a copy of the terms and conditions that outlined all terms relating to this card. The card expired at midnight EST on 11/30/2008. The customer contacted us initially on 8/5/2013 and was given incorrect information indicating that the card would be reissued, when in fact it could not. The second contact from the customer occurred on 8/12/2013 wherein they were advised correctly that the card could not be reissued. Despite the fact that the card legitimately expired, given that the customer was given incorrect information in their initial contact with us, thus setting incorrect expectations, we would like to offer the customer, as a courtesy a $50 prepaid Visa gift card.


Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is not satisfactory to me.  I paid a full $150.00 for the certificate -- it was misplaced and this company is basically profiting $100.00 from this transaction.  It is my understanding that in California, this is illegal.

I do not want to lose $100.00 but fear if I don't take the $50.00, I will get nothing from them.  They have a lot of other complaints similar to mine posted online.  Why are companies allowed to do this even though we're told it's illegal?

 

Regards,

 

******** ******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The website's "shipping calculator" misquoted the shipping price. When I placed the order, shipping was %5.46 more than the calculator had stated it to cost. I chose to place the order anyway, in order to avoid the extra $7 cancellation fee I would be facing since the processing had begun.Also, the website states the order is typically processed within 24 hours from the time the order is placed, or if placed on the weekend, up to 72 hours. My order, placed on a Wednesday morning, took 7 days to process. This time frame is unacceptable because, had i known it would take so long to process, I would not have ordered the card. I now face a return fee if I choose to return the card.

Desired Settlement: I would like all credit cards that were charged related to this group gift card to be refunded in full, including the processing and shipping charge. Additionally, I wish to have the return fee waived. I will happily return the card and pay for the return shipping.

Business Response: I received the following response from our Director of Customer Service:

This customer created the group gift account at 7:30:21 pm EST on 7/18/2013.

 

In the process of creating the group gift account, the customer is asked to set a goal amount for the group gift. This customer set the goal amount at $200.00. The next step of creating the account asks the customer to set a “last date to contribute” to the group gift. This customer set that date at 7/25/2013.

 

This group gift processed and shipped from our facility on 7/25/2013. The order processed the business day after the “last date to contribute” set by the customer at the time the order was placed.

 

We met all established time lines in the processing of this order.


Consumer Response:

Giftcards.com states in their response that the card was processed and left their facility on 7/25/13. The US Postal Service, the agreed upon carrier, received electronic notice to expect this delivery on the same date.  One would reasonable expect that, once the card has been processed by giftcards.com, it would be given to the carrier for delivery.  However, according to the USPS tracking information, the gift card was not received by the Postal Service until 8 days later. To say the card will be processed within 24-48 hours with the "processing" not including delivery of the gift to a carrier is an extremely misleading way to conduct business. I feel my wedding gift was late because I thought it safe to assume the company would ship the gift in 48 hours.


The business did not respond to my other complaint. I used their website's "shipping calculator" tool before I started an order with them. Upon typing in my shipping zip code, the calculator gave me a shipping price of $1.99. After funds were placed on the card online and I went to place the final order, the shipping charge increased to $7.49. Phone customer service told me the reason was that it was a "group gift card" whereas the regular "gift card" costs $1.99, as given by the shipping calculator. However, shipping prices based upon which product ordered was not specified on the shipping calculator page. I had no way of knowing the shipping price would increase. Further, now that I had placed funds on the gift card I was facing a fee for cancelling the order. I had little choice but to continue with the order.


I chose to take the time to write this complaint so that others may not be tricked into spending more money than reasonable expected for a lesser-than-advertised service. This business is running a dishonest trap. Thank you for reading my complaint. 

Regards,

****** *****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sold a gift card to this company, and my tracking information states that the item was delivered on 4/25/13. I have been trying to work with the business to resolve the issue, as I never have received payment for the gift card I sold to them. I received an email today stating that they never received the card.

Desired Settlement: As they have recevied the gift card, I would like the payment I am owed in the amount of $77.16.

Business Response: I received the following response from the Director of Swapagift:

I received the rest of the information regarding the card and have spoken to the customer. It was a very positive conversation and the customer was satisfied that the situation was resolved.

The gift code that the customer sold to us was an older ****** *** ****** and didn’t require a PIN for verification.

However, the records indicated it was rejected due to missing PIN.

The customer was asked to send the card into us to complete the transaction, which arrived on 4/25/2013 and put into inventory. Apparently, the reference to the customers issue were not associated with *********** when it arrived and it was put into inventory.

When I spoke to the customer I let her know that a check would be cut on Monday.


I hope this resolves the matter,

*****

Consumer Response:

There was apparently a processing issue on the part of giftcards.com.  I have been able to work with them and have received payment for the card I sent in. 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have made two orders for discounted ***** gift cards. But the balance of three ***** cards ($100 for each) in the two orders is zero. They only refunded me one card in one order. They don't want to refund me the other two cards in the other order for unacceptable reason. I contacted them many times and asked them to investigate, but they don't reply me any more. I feel so disappointed.

Desired Settlement: Refund me the money I paid for the zero balance gift cards.

Business Response: Good afternoon, I received the following response from *** ******** ** *********:

The card buyer purchased cards on multiple invoices and when used found the some of the cards were blocked or had $0.00 balance.

All credits have been issued and customer is seemed pleased with resolution.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/19/2013 Delivery Issues
4/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
2/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/15/2013 Delivery Issues
2/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
2/4/2013 Delivery Issues
2/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/31/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/19/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2012 Delivery Issues
10/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/14/2012 Delivery Issues
5/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/18/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/9/2012 Delivery Issues
3/27/2012 Delivery Issues
3/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/18/2012 Delivery Issues
1/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/2/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1