Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Restano Plumbing Heating & Cooling Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (412) 793-3190 Fax: (412) 793-3226 View Additional Phone Numbers 130 Anderson Ln, Pittsburgh, PA 15239 http://www.restano.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers service & installation of heating and air conditioning systems.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Restano Plumbing Heating & Cooling Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Restano Plumbing Heating & Cooling Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Restano Plumbing Heating & Cooling Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 06, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA023798.

Business Management
Ms. Stacy Kitsko, Office Manager Mr. Michael Restano, Owner Mrs. Lynn Restano, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Stacy Kitsko, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Michael Restano, Owner
Business Category

HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING HEAT EXCHANGERS THERMOSTATS AIR CONDITIONING REPAIR HEATING EQUIPMENT & SYSTEMS CLEANING & REPAIR AIR CONDITIONING SUPPLIES & PARTS BOILERS-NEW & USED BOILERS-SUPPLIES & PARTS HEATING EQUIPMENT HUMIDIFYING APPARATUS FURNACE SALES & SERVICE AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS & SYSTEMS BOILERS-REPAIR & CLEANING HEAT PUMPS HEATING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING CONTRACTORS

Alternate Business Names
Michael Restano Heating & Cooling Inc Restano, Michael Heating & Cooling Inc
Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Heating & Cooling Home Improvements - Plumbing Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 130 Anderson Ln

    Pittsburgh, PA 15239 (412) 793-3190

  • 1328 Lebanon Church Rd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15236 (412) 653-2150

  • 3880 Route 8

    Allison Park, PA 15101 (412) 487-5232

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This series of events is in regard to my Weil-McClain gas-fired boiler, CGM-5-PI, Series 10, Serial #CP2191566. December 19 – Technician cleaned and serviced the furnace in the morning and indicated that the “pilot sensor” fell apart in his hands and a new one would be required for a cost of $345. The furnace worked properly. Prior to the service, the furnace had been working properly for the entire fall season. I understand, however, that sometimes this happens and I have no issue with it. December 27 – The furnace was working properly when we left for the Christmas holiday on December 23. When we returned the afternoon of December 27, our home was cold. I went downstairs and opened the door to the furnace room. The furnace was making a clicking noise about every half second and the smell of natural gas was profound. I immediately turned off the furnace, opened the windows and called the Restano office and requested emergency service. Technician arrived and inspected the furnace. Technician indicated it would require a new “spark box” and that he didn’t have one on the truck. He returned to his shop and called me to inform me that the part was not in stock and it would have to be ordered Monday. The cost for the emergency service call was $41. I needed to purchase two oil filled space heaters at ***** for a total cost of $149.76 to make areas of the home at least livable until the furnace could be repaired. December 29 – Technician arrived and inspected the furnace, he indicated that some type of ceramic device was broken causing an electrical arcing which prevented the furnace from lighting. Essentially, he would need an “ignition kit” rather than a spark box. He returned some hours later and installed the kit for $310. The ceramic device which failed is right next to the new device which was installed on December 19. December 30 – I called the Restano office to indicate that the technician indicated to me that the $41 charged for the emergency service call on December 27 should be deducted from $310. She said she would take care of it. It wasn’t and my credit card was charged in the amounts of $310 and $41. Sometime during this period, I called the Restano office and requested the part number of the pilot sensor purchased on December 19. One of the female office staff persons (not the answering service) indicated she would reach out and get that information. To date, that request is still outstanding. Restano has cleaned and serviced this furnace regularly since 2007. Therefore, my main concern is that I find it difficult to believe that an additional component failed, on its own and caused a potentially dangerous fire situation and an additional $310 in repairs, within 8 days of a neighboring device being replaced and the furnace cleaned and serviced.

Desired Settlement: I want the following: 1) I want a refund of the emergency service call charges of $41 as I was told this would be refunded. 2) I want the "ignition kit", installed on December 29, at Restano's cost 3) I want to reimbursed for the $149.76 for emergency hear sources I needed to purchase. If Restano would like to take ownership of these devices at that cost, I am OK with that. 4) I want the manufacturer and part number of every component which Restano has installed on my furnace during this period. 5) I would like a response to the certified, return receipt letter I sent to Mr. Restano (received at 130 Anderson Lane on January 12 at 11am) requesting resolution of this situation.

Business Response:

Mr. ******, After reviewing over all the details of your complaint I have come to the following conclusion.

First you were billed an additional $41.00 from the visit on 12/27/14. This amount will be reimbursed to you.

Second, after speaking with the owner of the business he is happy to purchase the space heaters off of you for the amount of $149.76.

Third, I found that the part you paid for on 12/19/14 was also replaced when the ignition kit was replaced. Being that the part was only 8 days old at the time of the ignition failure which required the new kit, we feel it’s only right to reimburse you for the labor and mark up on the part.

I will be reimbursing your credit card for the amount of $346.76. I’m sorry for this inconvenience. After speaking with you on the phone I would like to state once again how thankful I am to you for bringing this matter to my attention. Thank you.

***** *********

Restano Inc.

Sales/Service Manager

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ******

12/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/14/14 I called Restano Heating when my furnace was not producing heat. Technician **** arrived about 7 hrs later complaining the company sent him to ***** ***** from **** at 5pm on a Friday. He took cover off furnace and said he would not be able to repair because Restano only deals in Carrier equipment. Regardless, technician took apart and located 1 dead bird in the inducer and put back together. Furnace still did not work. Retano tech stated I needed a new inducer and pressure switch and his company could not get the parts. Restano technician charged me $69 and said to call another Heating company. Next day I called **** *******. **** tech found 2 additional dead birds in the inducer and put back together. Furnace worked fine. I then had to pay **** heating. On 11/22/14 I called Restano to file a complaint. I was assured that a supervisor would return my call. Not one response from Restano. I encourage everyone to avoid this company.

Desired Settlement: Refund my $69 and better train employees.

Business Response:

After reviewing over all the details of your complaint I have come to the following conclusion.

Our technician should not have arrived at your house with a poor attitude on November 14, 2014. Poor attitudes lead to bad service and letters such as this one. The technician has been informed of this wrong doing.

Most times if there is a bird in the inducer assembly it is only one. Still *** should have seen the other two birds and had your heat up and running that evening. I’m certain if that was the case the service provided would have been okay.

I’m not sure who you spoke to on Saturday November 22, 2014 to file the complaint. I checked all of our records for the incoming calls that day and have not been able to locate your call. Had I received it I would have resolved the issue immediately.

I will be sending you a reimbursement payment of $69.00.I’m sorry for this inconvenience and hope this will settle any dispute you have with our Company. Thank you.

***** ********* Restano Inc. Sales/Service Manager

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** ****

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 8, 2013 this company installed a brand new furnace in my rental property. On October 7, 2014, the furnace blower would not work and the house filled with smoke. My tenant call Restano. The service tech would not come out that evening. He showed up at 2:30 the next afternoon. He found the problem which was a loose wire, fixed it and then took it upon himself to do a service. They then billed me for $159.00. I did not ask to have the service done. They were called to get the furnace running again, which as far as I'm concerned, it never should have stopped being it was only used for about 7 months. Anything above and beyond fixing it should have involved a phone call to me and my authorization. I feel I have been taken advantage of. I did call the company when I got the bill. Thats when they explained that I was not paying for the repair to the furnace, but a service I never requested.

Desired Settlement: I do not feel I should pay this bill, which as of now I have not done yet.

Business Response: After reviewing over all the details of your complaint I have come to the following
conclusion.
Our technician should have been available for the service call on October 7, 2014 with
our 24 hour emergency service. The technician has been informed of his mistake.
The loose wire that was the cause of the problem can unfortunately happen over the
course of a heating season from the vibration of the unit as it operates. We do recommend
routine maintenance to avoid these issues.
The technician should not have done any extra work or changed any parts without first
quoting you a price and then getting your approval.
Please disregard the bill for the amount of $159.00 that was sent to you. If you have
already mailed in the payment then you will be reimbursed the amount upon receiving the
payment.
I’m sorry for this inconvenience and hope you will continue to use our services. Thank
you.