Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

J J Agnello Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (814) 453-5096 Fax: (814) 455-7000 1602 Liberty St, Erie, PA 16502

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This corporation offers heating & air conditioning, preventative maintenance, residential service & duct cleaning.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J J Agnello Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J J Agnello Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 21, 2002 Business started: 09/01/1952
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA029362.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Thomas Agnello, Vice President Mr. Anthony Agnello, President Mr. Phillip Agnello, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Agnello, Vice President
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Agnello Heating & Air Conditioning Inc
Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Heating & Cooling Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 1602 Liberty St

    Erie, PA 16502 (814) 453-5096


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a new furnace and a/c from J. J. Agnello in the fall 2010 with a 10 year wrty. First problem was a water leak 1-25-11. Then 3-11-11 there was a bad pressure switch, which was replaced free of any charge. Since then, 4-10-12, 11-8-13, 3-12-14 and 12/2014 there has been bad pressure switches with no heat. My aging mother lives here and she needs heat. I have talked to Mr. Agnello about this problem and my husband has talked to Mr. Agnello about this problem. Mr. Agnello admitted to my husband that there has been a rash of bad pressure switches and he is working with his supplier. After the 12/2014 no heat / bad pressure switch, Mr. Agnello and my husband had words on the phone. My husband thought it unfair that we are paying a service call for a known problem, Mr. Agnello replied you should have bought the gold protection package. At this time, 1-14-2015, the company had come out for the no heat / bad pressure switch and did a temporary wire to jump the switch, the bill for that part has been paid but no one has been back to fix the problem. My husband has spoken to other heating and a/c people and was informed that most of the problems with the high energy efficient heating units are improper installation.

Desired Settlement: Would like the unit removed from the house, purchase price refunded along with the repair costs that have been paid to J. J. Agnello Company on this mess.

Business Response:


This is regards to case ID ********, ******** ********. We installed the furnace for **** ******, Mrs. *********s mother-in-law 10/29/2010. The furnace was an Aire-Flo CG95TB060D12B-1 A. The calls in question: 11/8/13 for $80.00, 3/12/14 for $80.00, and 12/20/14 for $89.00, was all pressure switch problems. As identified by the manufacturer, these were a problem from the manufacturer’s supplier. The problem pressure switches have since been rectified from the supplier to the manufacture.

It was discovered, in researching Mrs. *******s archive file, that she had also purchased an extended warranty for her furnace. This was TOTALLY missed by our billing employee.

Mrs. ****** should NOT have received three invoices in question. We should have been billed those invoices to the warranty company from which she purchased the extended warranty. We apologize for this error. The total amount of those invoices was $249.00.

These is invoices should NOT have been billed to Mrs. ******. Mrs. ******’s original warranty covered; lifetime warranty on heat exchanger, five-year parts warranty and a one- year labor warranty. The extended warranty she has on the furnace extends the parts and labor warranty to ten years. It expires 10/29/2020. I have also issued a reimbursement check for $249.00 to her. We sincerely apologize for our error and hope if Mrs. ****** has any problems in the future, we will certainly help her and subsequently bill the warranty company.


****** ** *******


Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


******* ********

12/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on J J Agnello Heating & Air Conditioning
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)