Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Craft Heating Co Inc

Phone: (412) 921-6995 Fax: (412) 921-0991 31 Noble Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15205 http://www.craftheating.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Craft Heating Offers:
Residential Sales, Service and Installation of HVAC equipment
Light Commercial Sales, Service and Installation of HVAC equipment
Installation of Air Cleaners and Humidifiers
Professional Duct Cleaning
Written Estimates on Replacement Units/Systems
Maintenance Agreements
Sheet Metal Fabrication


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Craft Heating Co Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Craft Heating Co Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Craft Heating Co Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1973 Business started: 01/01/1947 in PA Business incorporated 10/01/1981 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA010105.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Diminno, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Diminno, President
Business Category

HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING HEAT EXCHANGERS SHEET METAL WORK THERMOSTATS AIR CONDITIONING REPAIR DUCT CLEANING HEATING EQUIPMENT & SYSTEMS CLEANING & REPAIR AIR PURIFYING & CLEANING SYSTEMS & EQUIPMENT AIR CONDITIONING SUPPLIES & PARTS BOILERS-NEW & USED BOILERS-SUPPLIES & PARTS HEATING EQUIPMENT HUMIDIFYING APPARATUS AIR DUCT CLEANING FURNACE SALES & SERVICE AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS & SYSTEMS BOILERS-REPAIR & CLEANING HEAT PUMPS HEATING CONTRACTORS

Products & Services

Craft Heating Co Inc sells the following brand(s): Craft Heating Company Inc. is a Trane Comfort Specialist

Craft Heating Co Inc offers the following product(s): Service all brand equipment.

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Personal Checks
Visa Card
Master Card
Discover Card
Alternate Business Names
Craft Heating & Cooling Co Inc
Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Heating & Cooling Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 31 Noble Ave

    Pittsburgh, PA 15205 (412) 921-6995

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Craft heating serviced my heating system in November and there was an issue with the service tech then. That issue was resolved with the condition that they would not send that specific tech again. On February 23 I came home from work to find that the heating system was not working properly. I called craft heating and spoke with who advised me just to bleed the system. He told me to wait so the system could work out the air. By 10 p.m I only had heat left in once baseboard heater. I called craft and spoke to an answering service person. Ten minutes a tech called me and it was the prior service tech ******. Due to the urgency of situation and ****** telling me he would have the heat on in no time. ****** arrived at my home at approximately 1125 due to the fact he wrote down the wrong address. ****** looked at the heating system and told me everything was fine with it and that it had low water pressure. He proceeded to hook up a hose to my water heater and the heating system. After approximately 5 minutes he told me that I would have heat in ten minutes. I gave him a check for $164. I signed the receipt and he left. It is now 643 and I still do not have heat.

Desired Settlement: I want my $164 check returned, reimbursed a day's salary, I had to take the day off of work to find another contractor and a letter of apology.

Business Response:

First off, let me say I’m a bit confused by this complaint in regard to the service performed on February 23rd. The customer contacted our office at approximately 6:00 pm, she stated she had a hydronic system with baseboard radiators and that the first floor was heating but the second floor was not, she also stated she could hear air noises on the second floor. We let her know that it sounded like air in the system and asked if she tried to bleed the radiators, she said she would and would call back. She called back and said she bled the radiators but still, had no heat on the second floor, we suggested that she may have a pressure issue and we agreed on having a technician come out the following morning, At approximately 10:15 pm our emergency on call technician received a call of no heat from the same customer and she wanted service that evening. She agreed to the after hour rates and our technician arrived at approximately 11:20 pm. The technician diagnosed low water pressure and that the automatic water feeder was inoperative. He proceeded to fill the boiler with a hose and brought the water pressure up to an acceptable level, he also noted the system had a leak and recommended that the system be replaced due to the age, condition and needed repairs. His actions were taken in the hope of restoring heat, we surmise that the system lost pressure due to the leak once again. We understand the dispute over paying after hour rates and still not having heat, but we cannot always guarantee results especially at such a late hour. We feel our technician did all he could do at that time. The following morning we dispatched another technician to the customers home, he also explained to the customer that the system was in need of extensive repairs and or replacement. He contacted our office from the customers home and recommended an estimator be dispatched. We contacted the customer and left several messages but never received a return call. Our after hour technicians are paid overtime rates from the time they leave their homes, to the time they return home, Wo are open to discussing a concession on needed repairs or replacement to offset the customers expense of having to pay for after hour service. We always strive to do what is right for the customer.

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** *******

1/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Craft Heating and Cooling company for service to my furnace complaining of a loud boom when the furnace starts. After service and having paid 117$ diagnostic fee + labor, problem persists one day later.

Desired Settlement: Request refund of the payment as problem was not resolved.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

In response to the claim filed against our service department on 12-4-14, our technician was dispatched to the customers home for a booming noise at the hot water boiler. Typically this situation is caused by delayed ignition of the gas burners. Anyone in the service business knows that this problem can be difficult at times to remedy. Our technician took the necessary steps to attempt to rectify the problem. As noted on the service invoice, screws were missing from the burner manifold which was not aligned properly, he installed the screws, cleaned the burners off, and repeatedly cycled the boiler in an attempt to reproduce the delayed ignition, which he could not, To our concern is that the customer never contacted our office to notify us that the problem still persist. As far as we were concerned the problem was rectified. If he had contacted us, we would have dispatched a technician back to his home at no cost to the customer until the problem was rectified. ( We guarantee our work ) We are sorry the initial repair did not correct the problem, but we were never given the opportunity to return.

We also realize we are paid to fix problems and have been doing so for 65 years. We feel the diagnostic fee of $79.00 and the labor charge of $ 38.00 is justified, but are willing to refund some or all of this amount in order to settle this dispute in good faith. We ask that any effort on our part to settle this dispute is not seen as an admission of incompetence but a desire to come to a mutual resolution.

Sincerely,                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    ***** *******                                                                                                                                                                                                                       President


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Craft Heating Co Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)