Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Central Heating & Plumbing Company Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (724) 658-7111 Fax: (724) 658-2820 View Additional Phone Numbers 925 Moravia St, New Castle, PA 16101 http://www.centralheatingandplumbing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company does heating, air conditioning and plumbing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Central Heating & Plumbing Company Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Central Heating & Plumbing Company Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Central Heating & Plumbing Company Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 21, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1967
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA010156.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Deb Lynch, President Mr. Tom Onestak, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Deb Lynch, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Tom Onestak, Controller
Business Category

HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING HEAT EXCHANGERS THERMOSTATS AIR CONDITIONING REPAIR HEATING EQUIPMENT & SYSTEMS CLEANING & REPAIR AIR CONDITIONING SUPPLIES & PARTS BOILERS-NEW & USED BOILERS-SUPPLIES & PARTS HEATING EQUIPMENT HUMIDIFYING APPARATUS FURNACE SALES & SERVICE AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS & SYSTEMS BOILERS-REPAIR & CLEANING HEAT PUMPS HEATING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING CONTRACTORS

Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Heating & Cooling Home Improvements - Plumbing Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 1010 E State St

    Sharon, PA 16146 (724) 347-4411

  • 804 W Main St

    Grove City, PA 16127 (724) 458-6980

  • 925 Moravia St

    New Castle, PA 16101 (724) 658-7111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: March, 2015 the furnace stopped working, called them to repair it. The first tech came out and replaced a few parts and charged $93.00. The next day the furnace stopped working again. A different tech came out and messed around for several hours until quitting time, said he would be back the next day to check a few other things. He never came back but the office called the next day and said the fuel line needed replaced, around $700.00. Sounded like a scam to me, so I called someone else. The other repairman knew what the problem was as soon as I explained the situation with the furnace. The control box was bad, neither of their techs checked it. They sent me a bill last year, I called them a few times and complained about them trying to scam me. They said they would take care of it and I wouldn't owe anything. Now a year later I receive another bill for $252.00.

Desired Settlement: I feel that I'm entitled to a refund of the $93.00 paid to Central Heating & Plumbing and the cost of the new control box and repair fee of $155.00 that I had to pay someone else. The furnace was installed by Central Heating & Plumbing and still under warranty. It should have been diagnosed and repaired on the first service call without a fee. I certainly shouldn't be charged the $252.00 for their tech messing around for hours to pad the bill.

Business Response:

March 9, 2016

RE: ID# ********

Dear Ms. ****,

This letter is in response to your letter dated March 7, 2016 regarding a customer complainant from ***** ******* ** ********* ***** ******* ** *****. The orginal contract was completed , billed and and paid for by ******** County Community Action Partnership through the Healthy Homes Program on May 10, 2010, We retruned to the residence on May 17, 2011 to do a backarach test on the unit which is standard procedure. We were dispatched on December 31,2011 for a no heat call of which we did not charge as the unit was still under warranty. We were not dispatched to this residence again until March 25, 2015 ( 4 years later) at which time we were told by the customer that they replaced the oil filter the day before , we serviced the unit, installed a new oil nozzle and charged $ 93.00 for this call which was paid by a credit card. We were again called on March 23, 2015 of which our service technician arrived at the residence and the customer was not home. After reaching the customer we dispatched out to complete this call on March 26, 2015 and serviced the entire unit. It was our service technicians recommendation that the buried line had a leak, need to run oil line from tank to furnace. This work was quoted. Our charge was for the labor only to evaluate the situation March 26, 2015 was for $ 252.00. This is the outstanding invoice for payment on the account.. We sent the invoice and statements for payment with no response. We had our salesman that originally sold the furnace in 2011 contact the ***** ***** and she at that time told him that another company had serviced the unit and she was told it was not the underground lines. It was requested that she send us the bill from the other company showing the determination so in review of the other company's findings we would credit her account the $ 252.00. We never heard back from ***** ****** by telephone or mail with the documentation requested. This account has been turned over to our Bad Debt Account system until notification and documentation is received by Central Heating & Plumbing.

 Sincerely,

  Debbie L****

  COB 

 

Consumer Response: Here is the copy of the receipt from ********** Heating & Cooling. He did not replace the fuel line, which Central Heating & Plumbing said needed replaced. The furnace has been working fine since the primary control box was replaced by ********** Heating & Cooling.

Business Response:

04/08/2016

Re: ID# ********

***** ******* ** ********* ***** ******* **

Dear Ms. ****:

I have received your letter dated April 6, 2016 in which you have included the billing from *********s Heating & Cooling in the amount of $ 155.00 for work completed at ** ********* ***** ******* *** This invoice is not marked paid in full. Originally we had requested this billing from ***** ****** of which she never provided to us. It is unfortunate as her furnace carried a five (5) year manufacturers warranty on parts and if she did pay for the replacement primary control, she should not of.

Central Heating & Plumbing stands by our recommendation to run a new oil line as the buried line most likely has a leak. Central Heating & Plumbing Co.Inc. has been in business for over 40 years and is extremely cognitive as it relates to replacing parts on equipment that are unnecessary to be replaced.

We have at this time updated ***** ******** account processing this information that we requested originally and has been received as of your April 6, 2016 documentation to us.

 

Sincerely,

Debbie L****

COB

Consumer Response: I accept as long as the account has been credited in full and the balance is zero. I do not want to receive any correspondence from them again.

2/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the morning of February 4, 2015, our tenants occupying property owned by my husband and I called Central Heating and Plumbing regarding an issue with the furnace, which had apparently shut off sometime during the night. After the service professional evaluated and fixed the problem (he replaced batteries in the thermostat) he contacted me to warn me of possible carbon monoxide poisoning to our tenants due to a small carbon monoxide leak he said was detected near the furnace. The service tech said that he "smelled carbon monoxide" as he came into proximity with the furnace, which prompted him to investigate further. The service professional then contacted a parts salesman, who contacted me with a quote for a new furnace including installation. Both the service and parts professionals reiterated the importance of immediate replacement of our current furnace due to the dangers of continuing its operation due to the detected toxicity. My husband and I had reservations about the service tech "smelling the carbon dioxide" which prompted us to seek a second opinion from another service professional. Upon second inspection, it was determined that our furnace is fine, is fully functioning, and is emitting no traces of carbon monoxide.

Desired Settlement: I am agreeable to paying the $186 service fee for services rendered. Our purpose for issuing complaint is in hopes of making other consumers aware of this fraudulent and deceptive business's practices. It is disgusting that this business can and will continue to operate by taking advantage in this small community where businesses should be trusted. It's a small town to try to **** someone in and karmas a *****, *******.

Business Response:

The purpose of this letter is to provide information regarding the above claim.

We looked into the situation as follows. The customer called in for a no heat call.

Our Tech arrived and took care of the problem, see the attached work order. When he got it running he noticed soot in the burners, he cleaned them (this is a Luxaire gas furnace) best he could. He then using a Bacharach II, carbon Monoxide detector he checked the area around the furnace and advised the owner and then we followed up with a sales call concerning the furnace.

We do issue CO Detectors to our techs and they are advised to use them during the service calls and since this was a first time customer and a rental we wanted to document our call.

The CO detected was not enough to shut down the furnace, however we wanted the landlord to be aware that he should start planning to upgrade his system. The customer did pay for the call.

The customer did call back to complain about the CO situation and that he had another company ook at the furnace and they did not find any CO. Our service coordinator offered to double ' check the unit or at least look at the service order from the other company to see what they found At that point the owner hung up on him.

In closing to be sure that the systems are operating properly we will continue the use of combustion analyzers during our service.

If you have any additional questions, I can be reached at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

*** ********

Service Manager

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *********

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It appears to me that business relationships are workable until the time comes that a question is asked. This is definitely the case for this compliant. The only question I had posed and still havent received an answer is why other parts were installed without our knowledge.10/22/13 (First Visit) First tech arrived could not find the problem second tech arrived it was then decided the heat exchanger was to be replaced. A part they did not have on hand and would have to order. We asked how much the tech answered around $600. We questioned the cost, and he advised us to call his Parts Manager. Called the Parts Manager we were told the part is under warranty but we would have to pay to have it shipped. We questioned this amount and it was agreed the shipping cost would be dropped. Tech left no work order received.1026/13 (Second Visit) Heat exchanger arrived installed work order received we signed the work order which indicated no charge for the heat exchanger - tech left.11/11/13 (Third Visit) Two weeks later we had to call them back the furnace wasnt working. Tech arrived, got the furnace working tech apologized tech left no work order received. We then received their invoice for $590. On this invoice was not only the heat exchanger, but unknown to us a pressure switch was installed during their first visit and a control board installed doing their third visit. Was this invoice correct? Were the adjustments made from the Parts Manager? I actually thought the invoice was wrong remembering the trouble the first tech had. But when the second invoice arrived it was the same! We questioned all.This is when the problem started - we asked the following questions; why did the cost stayed at their original estimate of $600; why we were not advised a pressure switch and a control board were installed; and why did the furnace quit running after two weeks.Their answers we should have told them we could not afford the $600 (I believe we did during their first visit). Secondly, the reason the furnace quit running after two weeks it was just a coincidence that something else went wrong!Therefore, my total cost is based on parts I didnt know were being installed and a visit that was based on a coincidence. We offered an agreed upon cash settlement to settle the account or to make monthly payments to pay off the $590 their answer to both was no. We then offered to pay just for the labor they said no.I have attached the only paperwork received before receiving their invoice for $590.Please help.

Desired Settlement: We are willing to pay for the labor shown on their invoice for $234.00 for installing the heat exchanger.

Business Response:

The purpose of this letter is to follow-up the recent complaint against us with the *******’s. The attached documents are for your review.

We had two initial calls because our tech was not sure and wanted a second opinion. We where able to include the heat exchanger on a stock order truck from Lennox and not have to pay freight. When the heat exchanger came in it was installed ASAP so that they had heat. Two weeks later the board in the ten year furnace did fail and was promptly replaced to keep them in heat. At that time a billing was put together to include unwarranted parts and labor. There where conversations between the *******’s and our service department regarding the completed work and the billing.

We tried our best to keep them in heat and do a fair billing for the completed work. In January no attempts to pay even a partial amount of the bill was done by the *******’s and at that time ****** ***** our owner got involved.

Enclosed is her response to them concerning payments. To date the ********'s furnace is operational and we have not received even a partial payment for the completed work.

If you have any questions, I can be reached at ************.

Sincerely,

*** ******** Service Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The biggest difference in comparing my compliant with Central Heating & Plumbing’s response is the number of work orders in question, which was my complaint from the beginning.  They invoiced us for three and responded to you with four, but we only were given one? 

 

  • Why were we only given a work order for the heat exchanger? 
  • Why were we asked to only sign the work order for the heat exchanger? 
  • Why were we NOT given a work order for the pressure switch?
  • Why were we NOT given a work order for the control board?

 I am still surprised why we were not made aware of the additional parts installed as I feel they should have made it very clear - as we questioned the costs from the very beginning.

 

It’s our offer to pay for the labor on the only work order we received - 3 hours @ $78 totaling $234.00 (see attached).

 

Regards,

***** *******

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Central Heating & Plumbing Company Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)