Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Carl Garrett & Son Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (724) 226-3030 Fax: (724) 226-0504 View Additional Phone Numbers 121 5th Ave, Tarentum, PA 15084

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company provides plumbing, heating and air conditioning services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carl Garrett & Son Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carl Garrett & Son Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Carl Garrett & Son Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 23, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1960 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA009812.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Loy D Garrett, President Mr. Don Garrett, VP Mr. Mike Thimons, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Loy D Garrett, President
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Garrett, Carl & Son
Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Heating & Cooling Home Improvements - Plumbing Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 121 5th Ave

    Tarentum, PA 15084 (724) 226-2544 (724) 226-3030


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/20/15 about 4 AM I received a call from my tenant, ***, at *** ** *** ***** ********* **, that the furnace was blowing cold air and the OAT was below zero. He informed me that he had called Carl Garrett & Son, Inc. to repair the problem. Shortly thereafter *** called back and told me the service tech had determined that the inducer fan motor was inoperable.I then spoke with ***** and he told me the motor had to be replaced but they were not ****** dealers, didn't have a replacement motor and they were unable to restore the furnace to an operable condition till sometime the following week. I told him that was unacceptable as the pipes would freeze, I couldn't have my tenants without heat for that period of time and I would take care of the repair. I gathered some supplemental heat sources and went to ********* I then removed the inducer and found it was fully functional and again only the supply fan would operate no mater where the thermostat was set. After methodically jumping out the safeties no difference was observed till the fusible link was jumped and immediately the furnace returned to normal functionality. The less than $10 fusible link was the problem and the furnace has functioned perfectly ever since.

Desired Settlement: The inducer and supply fan running indicates an open in the over temperature safety circuit but the furnace was cold, therefore, either the limit switch or the fusible link in the heat exchanger was open. The limit switch resets when the exchanger cools off, but the fusible link is one shot. Simply metering or jumping those two safeties would have determined if one or both of the safeties in series would have pinpointed the problem.

Business Response:

In response to Complaint ID ********, filed on 02/25/15:

1) The $148.50 is the minimum night service charge.

2) The repair call was phoned in to us at 4:00 AM on 02/20/15, and the Service Tech, *****, diagnosed the exhaust inducer was probably in need of repair or replacement.

3) We handle a large inventory of parts for most brands, but for a 25 - 30 year old furnace most parts are obsolete and may not be available.

4) As per previous letter by Mr. ********, to repair equipment, he by-passed a fusible link. The link is a one-time break high temperature flame roll out/fume roll out device installed by the manufacturer to disable furnace if temperature exceeds fuse link rating. Replacing or by-passing fuse link does not safely repair equipment without determining what caused the failure.

5) At 8:00 AM on 02/20/15, the tenant was called to come back up to repair equipment after locating probable repair part needs, we were told that the furnace was taken care of.

6) Carl Garrett & Son, Inc. does not permit our techs to by-pass safety on any furnace.

7) I fear the potential of a possible major safety issue still exists, the phrase "Knowing just enough to be dangerous" may apply.


******* * *******

Service Manager/Vice President

*** ** *******


Consumer Response:

Rejection to the response by Carl Garrett and Son, Inc., sent on March 3, 2015 regarding Complaint ID ********, filed on 02/25/15:

Perhaps I wasn’t clear on the trouble shooting technique used by me to determine the cause for the furnace malfunction on 2/20/15, so let me explain.

Since the Service Tech, *****, determined the exhaust inducer was in need of repair or replacement, I removed the inducer, checked it’s condition then applied 120 VAC to it and found It to function perfectly, therefore, the inducer was NOT IN NEED OF REPAIR OR REPLACEMENT. It was then reinstalled in the furnace and didn’t run due to the design of the safety controls built into the furnace.

To locate the problem, safeties were bypassed individually, only to determine their condition. As safeties were jumped and found functioning properly, the jumper was removed so their function was restored. When I touched the fusible link to check it, the spade connection fell off. The furnace is 28 years old and it appeared that due to age, that component had reached it’s useful life. When the jumper was in place, the furnace again functioned perfectly, the supply fan didn’t operate till the heat exchanger was heated. The fusible link was replaced with a new one, then the furnace was completely checked and was found to be totally safe and serviceable, EVEN the inducer functioned and continues to function. There are NO safety issues whatsoever with this furnace and the safeties functioned as designed.

Normal sequence of operation is:                

1)     Call for heat by the thermostat.?

2)     Inducer fan comes on to clear any residual gas from the furnace.

3)     After a delay and signal indicating positive flow of air through the hot side of the heat exchanger, the igniter is energized and verified, the gas valve opens.

4)     If the flame is verified, the heat exchanger is allowed to heat. If the flame is not verified, the gas valve will close and the furnace shuts down. It may attempt several starts before locking out or continue this cycle.

5)     After the heat exchanger warms up for a certain time or to a certain temperature, the supply fan is energized and allowed to run supplying warm air to the structure till the thermostat is satisfied.

6)     When the thermostat Is satisfied, the gas valve is closed and shortly thereafter the Inducer is shut off. The supply fan runs for a specified time or till the heat exchanger is sufficiently cooled. The furnace is dormant till the next call for heat from the thermostat and as the structure cools the cycle repeats.

The fact that the supply fan operated whether or not there was a call for heat indicates the safety controls determined the heat exchanger was in an over temperature state and the controls locked out all functions of the furnace except the supply fan to reduce the temperature of the heat exchanger. The supply fan, in heat mode, is switched on only when the heat exchanger is hot enough to supply heat. If the inducer fan were bad, the supply fan would NOT have been on, as the safeties would not have permitted the igniter to fire or the gas valve to open thereby NOT heating the heat exchanger to the point where the supply fan would operate.

I absolutely agree with Carl Garrett & Son, Inc.’s policy not to operate a furnace with safeties by-passed, but, by-passing safeties to trouble shoot a unit is one to the techniques employed to locate faulty components only, and I'm willing to bet even Carl Garrett & Son, Inc. techs use this method.

It appears to me that Service Tech, *****, ignored the fact that the supply fan was on when it shouldn’t have been. He then called the first component, the exhaust inducer, that didn’t operate during a normal operation cycle “faulty”, even though the supply fan was on, whether or not there was a call for heat and the heat exchanger was cold. NOT A NORMAL CONDITION. He wanted to change parts in hopes that would remedy the no heat condition without thoroughly diagnosing the problem.

I do NOT believe the proper method to repair anything is to replace components till the faulty one is finally replaced.