Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Caporuscio Plumbing & Heating Inc

Phone: (814) 944-3128 Fax: (814) 941-7973 307 S Kettle St, Altoona, PA 16602 http://www.caporuscioplumbingandheating.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This contractor provides plumbing, heating and air conditioning services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Caporuscio Plumbing & Heating Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Caporuscio Plumbing & Heating Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Caporuscio Plumbing & Heating Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 06, 1998 Business started: 07/01/1976 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA050169.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Patsy Caporuscio, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Patsy Caporuscio, President
Business Category

HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING HEAT EXCHANGERS THERMOSTATS AIR CONDITIONING REPAIR HEATING EQUIPMENT & SYSTEMS CLEANING & REPAIR AIR CONDITIONING SUPPLIES & PARTS BOILERS-NEW & USED BOILERS-SUPPLIES & PARTS HEATING EQUIPMENT HUMIDIFYING APPARATUS FURNACE SALES & SERVICE AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS & SYSTEMS BOILERS-REPAIR & CLEANING HEAT PUMPS HEATING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING CONTRACTORS

Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Heating & Cooling Home Improvements - Plumbing Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 307 S Kettle St

    Altoona, PA 16602 (814) 944-3128

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The folks from this establishment were to install a tub with 8 jets at my owned residence at *** ******** *** ** ************* *** Once the project began (a week and a few days after the promised date), I had to involve a contractor to finish the job, which was not verbally agreed upon, and the tub they installed is still not a working tub with the use of the 8 jets. I had another plumber come for a different situation and he said that should've been completed by your contractor who installed the tub. I do not like to make complaints, but I'm not willing to pay nearly $2,000 for an installation that was awry from the very beginning of the installation that was to begin early in November of 2015. After my last call to their office in mid December, I was promised that someone would go & make sure the tub was operational...and still no one showed up or called to schedule to complete the work.

Desired Settlement: No further contact from the business....as I've already put out additional monies; from a contractor to do the finish work to make my bathroom functional again, and I have no intentions of paying nearly a $2,000 bill for approx 10 hrs of service....and still an incomplete job, as my Sons reside at my residence; even though I'm in AZ for Winter. I still do not have a working hot tub, so I'll have to pay another plumber yet to have the tub functional. The attitudes (total unprofessionalism of the employees of said business in my home were totally inappropriate and the language was extremely distasteful according to both of my Sons).

Business Response: First, this job was completed by our plumber except for the drywall.  The customer was having her contractor finish the drywall, since that normally is a contractor job, and he was there working.  A week later, the customer called and stated that the hot tub would not work.  We told her that she had to plug it in, the same way as the tub that we removed.  We ended up sending our maintenance man out to show her son how to plug it in the wall.  After about a month of the customer stating that the hot tub would not work still, we had sent the plumbing supervisor out on numerous occasions, and no one had answered the door, and he could hear people inside.  Second, the material used for the job was $409.12.  The labor was $1,515.00, in which at the beginning we had to send 4 guys to carry out the hot tub being removed.  The customer was in Arizona at the time the work was being performed, and she was being told things from the contractor that our plumbers were doing, which is all hear say.  We have worked for this customer in the past, and she has had a complaint every time, either regarding the bill or the job.  She has never paid an original bill.  Obviously, after what we have went through with this last job, we were not going to be working for her any longer.  This complaint is no surprise to us.  We strive to make our customers 100% happy.        

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* *nd have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* ******

2/9/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Caporuscio install a new furnace in October sins then, I have to call them about the Furnace shouting down and having alarms going off. They have send out two tech, the first one had never worked on the type of furnace that i had in stalled. The second tech didn't find an issue. I have still been having issue with the unit and have come home from work to find my house at 40 with the alarm going off. As the tech could not find an issue the are Billing me for the call even thou the Furnace is still under warranty. Because they are unable to hand this issue i have contacted the manufacture of the Furnace to ask about what company the would recomand that i have work on the unit.

Desired Settlement: As this should be under warranty i would like the bill to go a way.

Business Response: There will be no charge for going out, as it is still under warranty.  We were unaware that the alarm was still going off, because we had not heard from the customer since the last time we were called out, so we assumed that the problem was resolved.

Business Response: On Fri, Feb 5, 2016 at 8:30 AM, ***** ********** <*********************> wrote:

******

As per our phone conversation yesterday, please add this to our response to the complaint we received.

The electric boiler that was installed, was provided by the customer, and not by our company.  

Thanks

Tanya C******
Caporuscio Plumbing & Heating, Inc.
307 S. Kettle Street
Altoona, PA 16602
Phone #:  ###-###-####
Fax #:  ###-###-####

Consumer Response:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *****

10/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Caporuscio Plumbing & Heating Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart