Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

A & B Heating & Sheet Metal Company Inc

Phone: (814) 723-5670 111 Market St, Warren, PA 16365 http://www.abheating.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

his company is a heating and air conditioning contractor.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A & B Heating & Sheet Metal Company Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A & B Heating & Sheet Metal Company Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A & B Heating & Sheet Metal Company Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 07, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1953 in PA Business incorporated 04/09/1994 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA001672.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David C Papalia, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David C Papalia, President
Business Category

HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING HEAT EXCHANGERS SHEET METAL WORK THERMOSTATS AIR CONDITIONING REPAIR HEATING EQUIPMENT & SYSTEMS CLEANING & REPAIR AIR CONDITIONING SUPPLIES & PARTS BOILERS-NEW & USED BOILERS-SUPPLIES & PARTS HEATING EQUIPMENT HUMIDIFYING APPARATUS FURNACE SALES & SERVICE AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS & SYSTEMS BOILERS-REPAIR & CLEANING HEAT PUMPS HEATING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING CONTRACTORS

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, check, credit card
Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Heating & Cooling Home Improvements - Plumbing Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 111 Market St

    Warren, PA 16365 (814) 723-5670

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Lennox Aire-Flo Furnace from A&B Heating . It was installed March 28, 2013. Two days after installation the squirrel cage was not working. They fixed it free of charge due to the age of the furnace. On December 24, 2015, the squirrel cage was not working again. The serviceman came and fixed it and we were told it was covered under warranty and there would be no charge. Three weeks later we were sent a bill for $288.00 for labor and told the part was $155.00 and covered under warranty. We have made 2 payment toward the bill totaling $192.00; we still owe $96.00. On or about February 25, 2016 we called again. A&B Heating sent a repairman to check the entire furnace. We were told the furnace was not properly installed and it will cost $800.00 to be installed properly. We feel it is not our fault that they did not properly install the furnace when we purchased it, and that we should not have to pay anything more toward repair.

Desired Settlement: repair without further cost to us.

Business Response:

3/18/16

Re: ******** ****

Attn: ******** *****

We were contracted to replace the furnace only in March of 2013. The current problem and our estimate has to do with the house duct system 'Much is an extension of the furnace but not always contracted to address.

I will waive their remaining balance and withdraw our estimate.

Please advise if you need additional information.

David C. ******* Owner

A&B Heating

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** ****

IN RESPONSE TO THE ANSWER OF OUR COMPLAINT AS YOU CAN TELL BY OUR ORIGINAL RECEIPT THE DUCT WORK WAS INCLUDED IN OUR AGREEMENT.  SINCE THE FURNACE WAS NOT PROPERLY INSTALLED BY THEIR ADMISSION I DO NOT SEE HOW WE CAN BE HELD LIABLE.  THEY RESPONDED TO 2 CALLS TO REPAIR THE FURNACE.  NOW ALMOST 3 YEARS LATER THEY TELL US IT WASN'T INSTALLED PROPERLY AND IT IS OUR PROBLEM TO THE ADDITIONAL COST OF $800.00.  WE DID NOT ASK FOR FORGIVENESS OF OUR BALANCE OIWED, WHICH IS $96.OO.  WE HAVE ALREADY MADE PAYMENT OF $192.00, OF THE $288.00 CHARGE. WE NEED OUR FURNACE PROPERLY INSTALLED AND BECAUSE OF OUR AGES AND HEALTH CONDITIONS ARE UNABLE TO DO THIS OURSELF AND FEEL IT IS A&B HEATING RESPONSIBILITY.

Business Response:

We were contracted to replace the furnace. The only ductwork included with this type of project is the duct adapters at the furnace connecting points. We do not address downstream ductwork unless requested by the customer. Our estimate to address those downstream problems at this time is $800. It would have been $800 then as well. This is not something that would have been free then and should not be free now.

However, to close this account we will do the improvements at no charge to the customer.

Sincerely,

David C. P******

Owner

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ****

3/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A&B Heating would not give a detailed Itemized bill after many requests both Phone calls and emails.A&B also sent another bill stating it is past due.

Desired Settlement: I would like my bill itemized so I can review it before I pay it.I would also like the past due removed.

Business Response:

We were called to this residence to resolve a ’no heat' issue. We found a faulty Induced Draft Blower Assembly and replaced it The total cost of the repair is $921.82.

This customer has repeatedly asked for a breakdown of the charges which I provided several times via email. Here they are again -

Cost of the part is $411.82.

Cost of service and travel is $510.00.

There are no other charges and nothing else to break down - no tax, no shipping, no other parts. I'm not sure what else they want other than to delay payment.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

  The breakdown of costs was incomplete. I listed in my email as to what was needed. 

                        Hours Worked              :       
 

                        Rate per Hour             :

                        Travel Time                 :

                        Rate for Travel Time  :

                        Part(s) Cost                 :

                        Shipping Cost              :

                        Any Additional Costs     :

   I still want this breakdown. I want to know exactly what I am being billed for.I believe I have that right.

**** ******

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on A & B Heating & Sheet Metal Company Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)