Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Day's Home Furnishings & Appliances

Phone: (814) 827-2731 Fax: (814) 827-3167 315 S Franklin St, Titusville, PA 16354 http://dayshomefurn.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Furniture - Retail 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Day's Home Furnishings & Appliances meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Day's Home Furnishings & Appliances include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Day's Home Furnishings & Appliances
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 23, 2011 Business started: 01/01/1932 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Day, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Day, Owner
Business Category

FURNITURE-RETAIL FURNITURE-USED MATTRESSES FURNITURE RENT & LEASE APPLIANCES-MAJOR-DEALERS APPLIANCES-SMALL-DEALERS BEDDING BEDS-RETAIL BUNK BEDS COMPUTERS-FURNITURE FURNITURE-CHILDRENS FURNITURE-OUTDOOR

Alternate Business Names
Ellis Carload Day Inc

Additional Locations

  • 315 S Franklin St

    Titusville, PA 16354 (814) 827-2731

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Days advertized price for Whirlpool 3.4cu. ft. washer with energy star qualifications was advertized on their webpage****************************************************************** (I printed out the page to prove price and date) It was advertized for $305.96. Luckily we got our hard earned state income tax return and we went to the store to purchase this washer. After two checks of his web page(where he found that advertized price)he called the owner. He then informed us that the advertized price was wrong and that price is 90dollars below what they pay for the washer. He said he could not sell it to us for that price(the tag on it in the store was 499.00!)**** proceeded in acting like a total ********* sales man and litterally tried to shove a washer at me that only had half of the features the one i wanted had. I told him i wasnt paying that kind of price for some think cheeper made, i want the one advertized. He told me they were basically the same on the inside. I told him it has half the features. His reply is who needs the new fangled weight sencer(a bowling ball in the washer lots of water - light weighing load not enough water) And then said the reason for price diffrence on washers is because you pay more for a grey knob panel opposed to a white one! I am insulted to think you underestimate my intelligence to think i would buy such lame excuses for not honoring YOUR advertised price. I walked out very disappointed that you could treat people that way. I feel you bate people in with your advertisements and then try to really push them into cheeper more expensive purchases. It Is Wrong!

Desired Settlement: Honor your Advertized Prices

Business Response:

This all happened on Saturday @ 12:40 PM just before we were closing @ 1 PM.  I was contacted by Mr **** ******* (my sale person) on my cell phone about the problem.  I  was traveling at the time and could look online to see this glitch, but when I came in on Monday morning and looked up the model in dispute, the price had already been changed by the site automatically.  I was not able to contact the administrator of the website on  Saturday, so I hadn't tried to call them with this problem. Until now I hadn't though any thing more about this, so I have emailed to the site admin. person I need to contact.
I have not been able to find out why this price showed up on the website (dayshomefurn.com) This is my business website and it is controlled by an outside source. The company's name is ********* and is driven by a web product ********** that looks at costs of all the products in our Buying groups warehouses,  then  uses the  percentages that I assign to the product. Unlike the large box stores,  I am the only person in my business to do the work on my site, the very limited changes that I can make from my end, and I am very busy with all the day to day activities here at the store. So I have set on percentage to all appliances listed on my site, I don't have time to change each unit and we just don't do the things like I am being accused of by Low Low pricing on some items and when the customer comes in try to switch them up to a higher margin item. We run a very clean operation here an sell what we thing is in demand and try to give a very competitive price for all our products.
When a customer comes in and we have to match price a competitor we do what we can and if we can't we simple apologize and tell them what we are able to do. Then we let the consumer decide if the want to drive to Erie or elsewhere and get it there.  When something like this happens ( which this is the first time for us) and its $90 under my cost and the problem stems from a computer glitch, that is out of my control,  I can't afford to loose this amount of money. 
 
There have been other situations like this on the web, if you remember the one with the airlines selling tickets for $5 and all this happens automatically, when they caught this problem they stopped it immediately. They didn't honor it to all that call and wanted this deal. Well my website isn't automatic for purchasing and our customers have to come in and buy from us, we saw the problem and couldn't honor this price glitch, so we said no to the customer and would not honor a website computer glitch. This isn't anything different from the airline situation.  This was not a bate and switch sales tactic on our behave. So this is why we would give this consumer this product at this price.    
I have contacted ******** and am in the process of trying to find how this price came up on the site.
 
As soon as I have an answer for this I will notify you on what they find on how this happened.
 
Please inform me of how I can respond to you again when I do find out the answer.
 
******* ***
Owner
Days Home Furn & Appl
 
  

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have attached proof of advertised price, reguardless of how this happened I believe it is the business responcibility to honor their advertized price. How is this not a bate and switch? That is exactly what it is. If it werent they would honor their word. I will be telling everyone who will listen how this company is doing people wrong. I would think $90 is a small price to pay to honor your word and reputation.