BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Online Stores Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Online Stores Inc.

Phone: (724) 925-5600 Fax: (412) 774-2445 View Additional Phone Numbers 1000 Westinghouse Drive  Suite 1, New Stanton, PA 15672 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This corporation is an online vendor of flags & all their accessories, teas & teapots, & gift baskets.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Online Stores Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Online Stores Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 16
Total Closed Complaints 23

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 29, 2002 Business started: 12/01/2002
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Lisa Hickey, President Ms. Michael Hunt, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Lisa Hickey, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Michael Hunt, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

FLAGS & BANNERS GIFT BASKETS & PARCELS INTERNET SHOPPING WHOLESALERS & DISTRIBUTORS BABY CARRIAGES & STROLLERS COFFEE & TEA FLAG POLES

Alternate Business Names
Construction Gear Store Designer Gift Store Discount Safety Gear Store English Tea Store Kitchen Store Power Tool Store Stroller Store United States Flag Store

Additional Locations

  • 1000 Westinghouse Drive  Suite 1

    New Stanton, PA 15672 (724) 925-5600

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 734-2458(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a beautiful satin commercial grade sectional 25ft flag pole from United States Flag Store (Online Stores Inc.) in May of 2012 and it was installed right around Memorial Day to honor the men and women who died while in military service to our country. A few months after, I came home and was disheartened to find the pole and American flag on the ground. Upon inspection, I discovered the retaining screws that hold a sleeve between the 1st and 2nd sections had come loose causing the sleeve to fall into the base of the pole. With nothing connecting the two sections, the flag pole fell over.I called Online Stores and spoke to a customer service rep who then spoke to someone familiar with the flagpole. After a few back and forth calls, they decided to send me new retaining screws with instructions to use Loctite to keep them in place. So I re-assembled everything with the new screws and Loctite.In November of 2013, I arrived home to find the flag and pole on the ground again. In reviewing security camera footage, I found the 2nd section had dented itself when it landed on a bench installed next to the pole. I tried reassembling, but the dent made it impossible for the 2nd section to slip onto the sleeve. The pole CAN NOT go back together. I spoke to a rep who advised that I send an email with pictures of the damage and details. I received a prompt response that the part I requested (the 2nd section) would be shipped. However a phone message I received two weeks later said that the pole was no longer under warranty and I would have to purchase a new pole. I left a message for the rep and sent another email in the proceeding weeks, but she has yet to follow up to my request to discuss the absurdity of purchasing an entirely new (and possibly flawed) flag pole, and the convenience of allowing me to obtain the section so I can put my American flag proudly back up on my lawn. It is advertised as a commercial grade pole, made in the U.S.A. It should not fall down when the wind blows.

Desired Settlement: I would like a replacement 2nd section for this flag pole. I am willing to discuss a reasonable cost for either an exchange or replacement part purchase.

Business Response: I spoke with ***** this afternoon. He will be receiving a new pole and we are going to split the cost of the pole. I am setting up a reship and we agreed that once I have all of the information I will get in touch with him in a few days and settle the payment. The customer thought that this was a fair compromise.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am incredibly disappointed with both your product and customer service.I purchased 4 of the same pair of work overalls and each of them has been faulty in that they have come apart/tore at the seams. I proceeded to call the customer service line, upon which time the female customer service rep was not only rude, but extremely short with me. She put me on hold more than once and cut me off repeatedly. I supplied her with my order number right off the bat so I don't understand why she was asking for my credit card information, as you should have that stored in my order/file. I have NEVER had this problem with other companies product of the same nature. I fully expect them to contact me and give me the appropriate refund. I have no problem sending back the merchandise if they need it to review but at this point I am ready to spread the word both in my trade and to family/friends to NEVER purchase from this company again. I expect to hear from someone soon, otherwise I will take other actions to have this handled.

Desired Settlement: I expect an appropriate refund for the 4 items purchased.

Business Response: I spoke with ***** **** and went over his concerns. Mr **** was issued a credit for one pair of overalls on 12/16 for $24.95. He said that he was unaware of it because he was upset and hung up when he called. In addition to that credit I offered to credit his card for an additional $100. He asked that I just give him store credit because he would be ordering again soon. So I gave him a store credit he was very happy with the outcome of the conversation and he was given more than what he requested. he said that he would be giving us a positive feedback response.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I spoke with there manager **** and he was overly helpful with this situation! 

 

Regards,

 

 

***** ****

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/1/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dishonest, My purchased promised 100% satisfaction,it was not clearly described, product was garbage so I sent it back, they kept the product an my money. I tried to get it resolved but ended up loosing my money and the product(which was junk).

Desired Settlement: They should not ask for returns if they are not going to send the money back, then keep the product. And, they should not promise 100% Satisfaction - 100% of the time, it should say not returns allowed. And, I would like to get my money back just on principle, even though it was not much.

Business Response:

I have received the above referenced complaint that you received from Mr. **** ******** regarding and order he placed on our Discount Safety Gear Store for Prescription Safety Glasses.   

 

The customer placed the order on Apr. 6, 2013 and faxed in a copy of his prescription for customized inserts.  The order shipped out on Apr 15th, was delivered to the customer and then received back in our warehouse as a return on Apr. 25th.   

 

We tried contacting the customer several times by phone and email to determine the reason for the return as nothing was included in the package.  Our website indicates that prescription inserts are Non-returnable.  However, we followed up with the customer because wanted to know if there was an issue with the prescription that needed to be addressed with the optometrist, if the lenses were damaged or what the issue was so we could resolve any issues.   

 

The customer called in on Apr. 26th and spoke to one of our reps who offered to re-do the lenses or issue a credit for the order (less the cost of the prescription inserts, as they are not returnable) but the customer hung up before a resolution was reached and then filed a chargeback with his credit card company. 

 

We sell quality merchandise and provide outstanding service to our customers.  We sell hundreds of pairs of prescription safety glasses every day.  If the customer is unsatisfied with his order, we would like the opportunity to make it right. 

 

We have again reached out to the customer in an attempt to offer a refund but we have not received a return call. 

 

We will continue to try and reach the customer to reach a resolution.  Any help you are able to provide would be appreciated.  Please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any additional questions or information.  I thank you for your time and attention to this matter.  I appreciate your efforts and wish you a pleasant day.   

 

Respectfully, 

 

**** *******

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

Their statement is not entirely accurate, I did return the glasses to them, at the time of the order was place the information for the product lead me to believe the inserts were the lenses, not another frame that clipped inside the safety glasses. The view was distorted and the design would not work for the type of work I do. I did return the Item, and fallowed up with a call to receive a refund. They advertise the safety glasses by themselves at $54.99, plus the insert, plus the Frame for the insert, but wanted to only refund about $20.00. I told them that was not right. I felt I should have gotten a refund on the unused safety glasses plus the frame for the insert. 

So, since I was not getting anywhere with them, I contacted my credit Card Company to dispute the charges. They Told my credit card company they could not give me a refund because I never returned the merchandise. So, my credit card company sent me a letter that the dispute could not be resolved because I had not returned the merchandise. I immediately called my credit card company and told them that that was not true. They had me send in all the documentation (the mail confirmation with delivery confirmation, and copies of the emails from Onlinestores.com showing they had received the product long before the credit card dispute ever took place).  

My Credit Card company again disputed the charge, and were told flat out according to the letter I got from them that there would be no refund.  

 

After receiving that letter from my Credit Card Company, I felt I had not been treated fairly by Discount Safety Gear (Onlinestores.com) so I felt justified in placing poor reviews of their company. Maybe next time they will be a little more honorable in the way they deal with their customers. 

They have tried calling me, but as far as I am concerned, they chose not to refund. I do not have anything further to say to them.

Regards,

**** ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/19/2013 Delivery Issues
4/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/19/2013 Delivery Issues
3/27/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/7/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/26/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/29/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/10/2011 Problems with Product/Service
5/10/2011 Problems with Product/Service
5/10/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1