BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Online Stores Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Online Stores Inc.

Phone: (724) 925-5600 Fax: (412) 774-2445 View Additional Phone Numbers 1000 Westinghouse Dr  Ste 1, New Stanton, PA 15672 http://www.onlinestores.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This corporation is an online vendor of flags & all their accessories, teas & teapots, & gift baskets.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Online Stores Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Online Stores Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 16
Total Closed Complaints 22

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 29, 2002 Business started: 07/29/2002 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Lisa Hickey, President Ms. Michael Hunt, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Lisa Hickey, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Michael Hunt, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

FLAGS & BANNERS GIFT BASKETS & PARCELS INTERNET SHOPPING WHOLESALERS & DISTRIBUTORS BABY CARRIAGES & STROLLERS COFFEE & TEA FLAG POLES

Alternate Business Names
Construction Gear Store Designer Gift Store Discount Safety Gear Store English Tea Store Kitchen Store Power Tool Store United States Flag Store

Additional Locations

  • 1000 Westinghouse Dr  Ste 1

    New Stanton, PA 15672 (877) 734-2458 (724) 925-5600

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 734-2458(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 29th, 2014 I placed an order for 12 Valley Forge cotton US flags from united-states-flag.com (a division of Online Stores Inc.) On June 30th, I received an e-mail telling me that the flags were out of stock. I checked their website, and it was still showing them as in stock. I called the company and spoke with their representative (after 30 minutes on hold). She told me it was out of stock and the estimate was weeks until it would be in stock again. I opted to have her change the order to cheaper, Chinese made flags instead which were in stock. I asked her to quote me the new price and to send me a copy of the new bill. The next day I got a notice that my new order had shipped but the address it shipped to had a typo in it, and was not the one I had submitted with my original order. The representative must have made a mistake when she resubmitted the order. I then checked my credit card account online and found that I had been overcharged for the cheaper Chinese flags (no bulk discount, no military discount, both of which I was supposed to get). I then e-mailed the customer service explaining all of this. Their response was that the flags were shipped and if I wanted them to go to a different address, I would have to place a new order and that no credit was due.

Desired Settlement: At this point, even if Online Sales Inc. were to ship me the flags today it would be too late. I needed them here by next week and have had to order them from a different (more reliable) company. The flags that were shipped to the wrong address will hopefully be returned to sender. I am requesting a full refund since I submitted my shipping address correctly, their representative/system changed it to the wrong address (I have all of the documentation to demonstrate that).

Business Response:

The customer placed an online order on  6/29 late  and address is showing  as  

**** **** *** **** ***** ****** ******* ********** ****** ****** 

Our system did change it some to read

 

**** **** *** *  

The order came in and the item was out of stock the auto email was sent  out on 6/30 and the customer called in on  6/30 asking to sub.    The rep put the request in on 6/30 and the sub was done on  7/1 and the order was shipped out on 7/2.     The order would not have even been delivered at this point it was still in transit. I do show a military discount of $30.84 was applied at the time the order was placed. However the quantity discount did not apply. This was our error. I will be more than happy to correct this mistake. The problem is the customer has already filed a charge back with ******** *******. This would have to be reversed in order for me to issue a credit. Otherwise he would be refunded twice.

Thanks

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ordered flag pennants. arrived red is more maroon, don't like them. called after return form online showed return amount to be less than half the expense for the product. contacted costumer service by phone. stated a restocking fee was deducted and that it was stated in return policy. I stated that the flags were maroon not red. she stated that "they look different than in the pictures due to different vendors producing the product." to me that's false advertising and I should receive a complete refund. The agent stated I could exchange for another product at the full value. I stated this product is bad why would trust that a replacement would be any better. I declined to accept the less than 50% refund offered. I want a complete refund.

Desired Settlement: Each pennant cost 7.95, I would like a refund for the total cost of the two pennants, 15.90.

Business Response: Our return policy is clearly stated on our web site for any customer to read prior to ordering merchandise through our site. We will gladly take an exchange for other merchandise within a 30 day period if the customer would like at no charge. It is not a problem. I have also had inventory pulled from stock and  is red. Please keep in mind that different computer screens will vary depending on resolution. I have no way of telling what a customer is viewing in regards to color on their screen. I have copied our return policy below. It is by no means meant to "scam".

Most products sold by Onlinestores.com qualify for free exchange or replacement within 30 days from the date your order ships. Please visit our Online Returns Center to process your return. The product must be in its original condition, unused and in its original packaging. If we do not receive your return in its original condition, a service charge of $6.99 will be deducted from your refund. Returns other than for exchange or replacement will be assessed a fee of $6.99 which will be deducted from your refund. We do not refund any shipping charges. This policy applies for domestic orders only.

Consumer Response: I do not accept there response. Item does not resemble image shown on website. I will not return item so they can resell it to another unsuspecting buyer. I have been scammed and will have to suffer the loss. I will share my experience with others so they won't be taken as I have been. 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

5/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am very disappointed with my experience. I ordered the Safety Girl Steel Toe Waterproof Womens Work Boots twice and have paid shipping twice because I really need the boots asap so I cant wait for the replacement process. I ordered Tan in size 7M but it was too big so I ordered the Pink one in size 6.5M. When I received the Pink boots, they were not in the shoe box. The shoe information tab showing the size of the boots was erased with a black marker. I can see through it and it says size 7.5. I thought that was very deceiving. I compared both the Size 7M Tan and the Pink one and they are the same size. It was frustrating. I had to send the Size 7M Tan back and I received my refund for the price of the boots but not the shipping cost. I sent the Pink one for replacement and just now (5/6/14), I asked for the status and the customer support representative mentioned that the size I am ordering IS NOT AVAILABLE UNTIL SEPTEMBER. It is currently showing in their website that size 6.5M is available but the customer support said that "I realize it shows it is available, however I have checked the inventory and the website has not been updated yet. The item is out of stock. We cannot hold the order until September. You will have to substitute or cancel". I'm guessing that the item was not actually in stock when I ordered them back in April so they sent the wrong size, did not include the shoe box, then erased the size. I want this resolved but it looks like no one from their company wants to take action so I am filing a formal complaint.

Desired Settlement: I can't wait until September so please refund my payment in FULL (e.g., including shipping costs that I paid twice).

Business Response: I spoke to the customer and have refunded her the disputed amount. I also told her to keep the merchandise. She was happy with the outcome.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a beautiful satin commercial grade sectional 25ft flag pole from United States Flag Store (Online Stores Inc.) in May of 2012 and it was installed right around Memorial Day to honor the men and women who died while in military service to our country. A few months after, I came home and was disheartened to find the pole and American flag on the ground. Upon inspection, I discovered the retaining screws that hold a sleeve between the 1st and 2nd sections had come loose causing the sleeve to fall into the base of the pole. With nothing connecting the two sections, the flag pole fell over.I called Online Stores and spoke to a customer service rep who then spoke to someone familiar with the flagpole. After a few back and forth calls, they decided to send me new retaining screws with instructions to use Loctite to keep them in place. So I re-assembled everything with the new screws and Loctite.In November of 2013, I arrived home to find the flag and pole on the ground again. In reviewing security camera footage, I found the 2nd section had dented itself when it landed on a bench installed next to the pole. I tried reassembling, but the dent made it impossible for the 2nd section to slip onto the sleeve. The pole CAN NOT go back together. I spoke to a rep who advised that I send an email with pictures of the damage and details. I received a prompt response that the part I requested (the 2nd section) would be shipped. However a phone message I received two weeks later said that the pole was no longer under warranty and I would have to purchase a new pole. I left a message for the rep and sent another email in the proceeding weeks, but she has yet to follow up to my request to discuss the absurdity of purchasing an entirely new (and possibly flawed) flag pole, and the convenience of allowing me to obtain the section so I can put my American flag proudly back up on my lawn. It is advertised as a commercial grade pole, made in the U.S.A. It should not fall down when the wind blows.

Desired Settlement: I would like a replacement 2nd section for this flag pole. I am willing to discuss a reasonable cost for either an exchange or replacement part purchase.

Business Response: I spoke with ***** this afternoon. He will be receiving a new pole and we are going to split the cost of the pole. I am setting up a reship and we agreed that once I have all of the information I will get in touch with him in a few days and settle the payment. The customer thought that this was a fair compromise.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am incredibly disappointed with both your product and customer service.I purchased 4 of the same pair of work overalls and each of them has been faulty in that they have come apart/tore at the seams. I proceeded to call the customer service line, upon which time the female customer service rep was not only rude, but extremely short with me. She put me on hold more than once and cut me off repeatedly. I supplied her with my order number right off the bat so I don't understand why she was asking for my credit card information, as you should have that stored in my order/file. I have NEVER had this problem with other companies product of the same nature. I fully expect them to contact me and give me the appropriate refund. I have no problem sending back the merchandise if they need it to review but at this point I am ready to spread the word both in my trade and to family/friends to NEVER purchase from this company again. I expect to hear from someone soon, otherwise I will take other actions to have this handled.

Desired Settlement: I expect an appropriate refund for the 4 items purchased.

Business Response: I spoke with ***** **** and went over his concerns. Mr **** was issued a credit for one pair of overalls on 12/16 for $24.95. He said that he was unaware of it because he was upset and hung up when he called. In addition to that credit I offered to credit his card for an additional $100. He asked that I just give him store credit because he would be ordering again soon. So I gave him a store credit he was very happy with the outcome of the conversation and he was given more than what he requested. he said that he would be giving us a positive feedback response.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I spoke with there manager **** and he was overly helpful with this situation! 

 

Regards,

 

 

***** ****

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/1/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dishonest, My purchased promised 100% satisfaction,it was not clearly described, product was garbage so I sent it back, they kept the product an my money. I tried to get it resolved but ended up loosing my money and the product(which was junk).

Desired Settlement: They should not ask for returns if they are not going to send the money back, then keep the product. And, they should not promise 100% Satisfaction - 100% of the time, it should say not returns allowed. And, I would like to get my money back just on principle, even though it was not much.

Business Response:

I have received the above referenced complaint that you received from Mr. **** ******** regarding and order he placed on our Discount Safety Gear Store for Prescription Safety Glasses.   

 

The customer placed the order on Apr. 6, 2013 and faxed in a copy of his prescription for customized inserts.  The order shipped out on Apr 15th, was delivered to the customer and then received back in our warehouse as a return on Apr. 25th.   

 

We tried contacting the customer several times by phone and email to determine the reason for the return as nothing was included in the package.  Our website indicates that prescription inserts are Non-returnable.  However, we followed up with the customer because wanted to know if there was an issue with the prescription that needed to be addressed with the optometrist, if the lenses were damaged or what the issue was so we could resolve any issues.   

 

The customer called in on Apr. 26th and spoke to one of our reps who offered to re-do the lenses or issue a credit for the order (less the cost of the prescription inserts, as they are not returnable) but the customer hung up before a resolution was reached and then filed a chargeback with his credit card company. 

 

We sell quality merchandise and provide outstanding service to our customers.  We sell hundreds of pairs of prescription safety glasses every day.  If the customer is unsatisfied with his order, we would like the opportunity to make it right. 

 

We have again reached out to the customer in an attempt to offer a refund but we have not received a return call. 

 

We will continue to try and reach the customer to reach a resolution.  Any help you are able to provide would be appreciated.  Please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any additional questions or information.  I thank you for your time and attention to this matter.  I appreciate your efforts and wish you a pleasant day.   

 

Respectfully, 

 

**** *******

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

Their statement is not entirely accurate, I did return the glasses to them, at the time of the order was place the information for the product lead me to believe the inserts were the lenses, not another frame that clipped inside the safety glasses. The view was distorted and the design would not work for the type of work I do. I did return the Item, and fallowed up with a call to receive a refund. They advertise the safety glasses by themselves at $54.99, plus the insert, plus the Frame for the insert, but wanted to only refund about $20.00. I told them that was not right. I felt I should have gotten a refund on the unused safety glasses plus the frame for the insert. 

So, since I was not getting anywhere with them, I contacted my credit Card Company to dispute the charges. They Told my credit card company they could not give me a refund because I never returned the merchandise. So, my credit card company sent me a letter that the dispute could not be resolved because I had not returned the merchandise. I immediately called my credit card company and told them that that was not true. They had me send in all the documentation (the mail confirmation with delivery confirmation, and copies of the emails from Onlinestores.com showing they had received the product long before the credit card dispute ever took place).  

My Credit Card company again disputed the charge, and were told flat out according to the letter I got from them that there would be no refund.  

 

After receiving that letter from my Credit Card Company, I felt I had not been treated fairly by Discount Safety Gear (Onlinestores.com) so I felt justified in placing poor reviews of their company. Maybe next time they will be a little more honorable in the way they deal with their customers. 

They have tried calling me, but as far as I am concerned, they chose not to refund. I do not have anything further to say to them.

Regards,

**** ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/19/2013 Delivery Issues
4/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/19/2013 Delivery Issues
3/27/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/7/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1