Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Service Line Warranties of America?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Service Line Warranties of America

Phone: (888) 442-7349 Fax: (724) 229-4520 View Additional Phone Numbers 11 Grandview Cir  Ste 100, Canonsburg, PA 15317 http://www.slwofa.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential utility service line warranties.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Service Line Warranties of America meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Service Line Warranties of America include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 28 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 16 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 5
Problems with Product/Service 16
Total Closed Complaints 28

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Service Line Warranties of America
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1997 Business started: 12/01/1997 in PA Business under new ownership as of: 09/01/2003
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Philip E. Riley Jr., C.E.O. Mr. Brad H. Carmichael, Vice President, Operations Ms. Marlene Sacco, Assistant Vice President, Administration and Customer Service
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Philip E. Riley Jr., C.E.O.
Customer Contact: Ms. Marlene Sacco, Assistant Vice President, Administration and Customer Service
Business Category

EXTENDED WARRANTY CONTRACT SERVICE COMPANIES UTILITY CONTRACTORS

Alternate Business Names
Columbia Service Partners Columbia Service Partners of West Virginia Columbia Service Partners, Inc. Service Line Warranties of Canada Service Line Warranties of Georgia Service Line Warranties of South Carolina Utility Service Partners

Additional Locations

  • 11 Grandview Cir  Ste 100

    Canonsburg, PA 15317 (724) 229-4510 (888) 442-7349 (724) 749-1003 (800) 223-2233 (866) 922-9004

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My agreement with Service Line Warrenties of America was to fix the external sewer line that leads to the main sewer line. I pay a monthly maintenance fee to maintain the line. In March 2015 I had a leakage in the bathroom from the toilet seals. I called the service line warranty company and they sent a contracted plummer out. They ran the water in the faucets and flushed the toilet and no leaks appeared. They did't run a camera down the line to see if it was clogged. Instead they suggested I change the tolet seals. I had them changed and it still leaked. I called again and a contracted plummer was sent and still found no leak again. I explained to the plummer that the line backed up when I ran the washer. He did not not want to wait for me to run a load of laundry so he left my situation unresolved. After this I had another plummer come out and run the external sewer line with a camera and found the clog. He dug up and replaced the complete sewer line costing me $4,125.

Business Response:

 

Service Line Warranties of America sincerely apologies for any inconvenience or frustration that may have been caused to Mr. ******** ***** as a result of his contact with our company to file an external sewer line claim earlier this month.

 

On February 3, 2015, SLWA filed a sewer line warranty claim for Mr. ******** when he reported to us that he had water backing up into his laundry tub and toilet. Our contracted plumber, **** ****** Plumbing, was dispatched to the customer’s residence.

 

As per SLWA’s 48 hour follow up process, Mr. ******** was contacted on February 5, 2015. A voicemail message was left with instructions to contact us to advise of the status on the service provided by the contractor, if work was completed and if it was to his satisfaction.

 

February 6, 2015, **** ****** Plumbing was dispatched back to Mr. *****’s residence as he informed us that his sewer line was still backing up and he requested it to be snaked again.

 

SLWA received confirmation from **** ****** Plumbing on February 12, 2015, that service had been provided to Mr. *****. The next day, February 13, 2015, the customer contacted SLWA again to inform us that he still had a clogged sewer line. On Monday, February 16, 2015, SLWA followed up with **** ****** Plumbing in regards to the customer’s sewer line claim. **** ****** Plumbing advised us that the line had been camera-d, the sewer line was clear and flowing, and nothing further was to be done at that time.

 

Secondary contractor ****** Plumbing was then dispatched to the customer’s residence on February 26, 2015, as the initial contractor, **** ****** Plumbing, did not assure Mr. ***** that he was free of a sewer line clog. ****** Plumbing made the effort to camera the customer’s line; however, rain created a situation wherein the contractor could not safely work on Mr* *****’s roof. The contractor was to reschedule the service for the sewer line camera.

 

On March 19, 2015, Mr* ***** was contacted by SLWA in response to his Better Business Bureau claim. He advised us that he enlisted the services of his own contractor, *** ******** ******** * ****** ***, to repair his sewer line in the amount of $4,125.00.

 

Service Line Warranties of America is committed to act with the highest level of integrity and ethics in our relationships with our clients, customers, employees, contractors, and shareholders. It is with this in mind that a reimbursement in the amount of $4,125.00 will be made to Mr* ***** for the repair completed by his own contractor. **** ****** Plumbing made three service calls to his residence without diagnosing the appropriate issue and ****** Plumbing and SLWA did not provide adequate follow up to Mr* *****. Based on these circumstances, the decision was made to accommodate him for our shortcomings in addressing his sewer line warranty claim.

 

SLWA, working in conjunction with our contractors, is diligently implementing updates and improvements for our claims, dispatch, and follow-up process to prevent these types of situations from occurring in the future as it is our mission to be the leading provider of solutions to our North American municipal and utility clients.

 

Very truly yours,

 

**** ******

Customer Care Manager

4/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried for 4 days to get through to this company only to be placed on hold for over an hour each time that I have call ( I have called 4-5 times each day). I have never been able to get to talk to a person in the past 4 days that I have tried. I understand that being on hold is a matter of doing businss, but 45 minutes to an hour per call without talking to anyone is outrages.The issue at hand is a simple one if I could talk to someone.

Desired Settlement: Please call me so we can resolve this issue.

Business Response:

Service Line Warranties of America sincerely apologizes for any inconvenience or frustration that may have been caused to Mr. ****** ******* as a result of his attempt to contact our company to file an external sewer line claim on April 8, 2015.

 

On April 8, 2015, Mr. ******* called in to the Customer Care department of Service Line Warranties of America to advise that he was unsuccessful in his attempts to speak to an agent in reference to filing an external sewer line claim. He also informed us that he was in the call queue for an extended period of time before he actually was able to speak to a live agent. Due to this situation, Mr. ******* rented a sewer machine and opened the flow to his sewer line himself.

 

On April 10, 2015, I spoke to Mr. ******* in reference to his concerns. During our conversation, I explained to him that our callback feature was not performing to our standards. As a result, the decision was made to deactivate the option and make the necessary repairs to have this feature available to our customers. We are working diligently to have this option up and running as soon as possible. SLWA has also experienced much higher than normal inbound call volumes during the week and our billing cycle occurred during the same time. The combination of these factors proved challenging with our efforts to answer the inbound call volume at the levels and speed that our customers have come to expect.

 

Service Line Warranties of America is committed to act with the highest level of integrity and ethics in our relationships with our clients, customers, employees, contractors, and shareholders. With this, the decision was made to reimburse Mr. ******* in the amount of $250.00 ($70.00 for equipment rental and $180.00 for the inconvenience of time and personal labor). He was also provided instruction on how to set up a web-based account so that he can file claims online, a self-serve option that has proven to be a favorable alternative for our customers. Mr. ******* was provided with direct contact information from my Team Lead and myself for any further questions, concerns, or residual issues.

 

Very truly yours,

 
**** ******

Customer Care Manager

 

 
 

 


 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *******

3/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had a Service Line Warranty for 2 years. On 02/13/15 late in the evening I noticed a leak in my front yard. I turned off the water and immediately filed a claim on the website. I spoke to someone with the company the next morning. This was the only positive contact. After not hearing from the contractor, I placed a second call only to get a quick call from the contractor stating he should be out the next morning. 2 days passed so I called the contractor who said he would be by shortly. The contractor stopped by for a few minutes and said he coundnt even start without a locator and that the leak detector would call the same day. 2 days passed and the leak detector finally called and came out to locate the leak. 2 more days and 2 phone calls later the contractor showed up unannounced, took 2 shovelfulls of dirt out and said the locate wasnt right and they would have the leak detector out later that day. That was 9 days ago and nothing else has happened. I have made more calls to Service Line Warranties and all that happens is I get transfered to the contractor who promises same day service then 2 days later I call Service line again. I have made multiple calls demanding another contractor because this one obviously does not care and all they want to do is send me back to the contractor again. My only hope is that the company at lease cares what the BBB thinks about them enough to come fix my leak that has now more than tripled in size. PS. The leak has gotten so bad that I can only turn the water on for 5 minutes at a time when needed or the entire yard floods. Today is day 16 without water.

Desired Settlement: Pretty Simple I want the service I pay for and I want it today. Some compensation for my time and the lost water would be nice as well considering how long this has dragged on.

Business Response:

******** ****

Better Business Bureau

Serving Western Pennsylvania

*** ******* ****** ***** ***

*********** ** *****

 

Claim ID:                             ********
?

Customer Information:   ******* *******

            **** **** *** ***             *********** ** *****                     ******* ****** ************             ******* ****** ************             ******* ******************

 

Dear *** ****,

 

Service Line Warranties of America sincerely extends our apologies for the frustration and inconvenience that Mr. ******* ******* has experienced with our company in filing his water line warranty claim last month, February 2015.

 

On February 14, 2015, *** ******* contacted Service Line Warranties of America to report a water line issue (leak and/or break). His claim was filed and dispatched the same day to our contractor ***** *** ******** ******** ***.

 

As part of our claims process, we are required follow up with the customer to confirm that service has been completed to their satisfaction and to contact the plumber for additional service if warranted. In this case, *** ******* was called on February 17, 2015, by SLWA to follow up on his water line warranty claim. He advised that ***** *** ******** ******** ***. had been to his residence; however, a leak locater was needed as they were unsuccessful in determining where the actual leak was occurring. *** ******* called SLWA again on February 18, 2015, to advise that he was still waiting for a return call from ***** *** ******** ******** ***. At this point, a conference call was set up between *** *******, SLWA, and the contractor and the customer was assured that the leak locator service would contact him that day.

 

On February 21, 2015, we received another call from *** ******* to inform us that the leak locator had been to his residence; however, ***** *** ******** ******** ***. had not. Again a conference call was set up with the customer, SLWA, and the contractor to make arrangements for the service call by ***** *** ******** ********* ***.

 

February 24, 2015, *** ******* called back to SLWA to advise us that ***** *** ******** ******** ***. had not made the appropriate repairs and continued to cancel

appointments that had been made. The contractor was emailed when SLWA attempted to contact them by phone and was unsuccessful. When *** ******* called again later that same day, the contractor was contacted. ***** *** ******** ******** ***. informed us that he had to schedule a different leak locator as the initial company could not locate the leak. When SLWA called *** ******* back to confirm if the leak locator was rescheduled, we received voicemail and left a message to contact us. ***** *** ******** ********* ***. informed us that they would contact us in reference to the reschedule (leak locator). An individual (not *** *******) contacted us very upset that they did not have water.

 

On March 3, 2015, I received the BBB claim #******** for *** *******. I coordinated an agent to contact him in reference to the information on the claim. The agent contacted him on March 4, 2015, to verify service, which was done that morning, had been completed.

 

March 6, 2015, I spoke to *** ******* to ensure that his water line issue was resolved, and he confirmed that it was. I have also discussed with him his desired settlement as stated in his BBB claim:

 

Desired Settlement:                       
Pretty Simple I want the service I pay for and I want it today. Some compensation for my time and the lost water would be nice as well considering how long this has dragged on.

 

He advised that $375.OO was adequate compensation for his time and that his electric water heater may have been damaged as a result of the water line issue taking some time to resolve.

 

Service Line Warranties of America is committed to act with the highest level of integrity and ethics in our relationships with our clients, customers, employees, contractors, and shareholders. It is with this in mind that the accommodation was made to *** ******* in the amount of $500.00 (above his suggestion of $375.00). Additionally, on March 13, we arranged a service call for his electric water heater that the customer was concerned had been affected by the water line issue. The contractor made slight adjustments and the electric water heater is working successfully.

 

SLWA, working in conjunction with our contractors, is diligently implementing updates and improvements for our claims, dispatch, and follow-up process to prevent these types of situations from occurring in the future as it is our mission to be the leading provider of solutions to our North American municipal and utility clients.

 

Very truly yours,

 

**** ******

Customer Care Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *******

3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SLWofA has not been repeatedly unsucccessful in securing a contractor to come over and complete the service issue claim that I have filed with them. outside sewer drainage appears to be clogged and needs immediate attention to avoid expensive inside house damage. the service claim was filed on 2/10/15 and every time i speak to them on the status about getting a contractor to come over they say someone will contact in 1 hr but nothing so far. Repeated conversations with their customer service representative only gets me the same message "someone will contact in 1 hr".

Desired Settlement: Immediate resolution and any resulting repairs to be handled by them at their expense.

Business Response:

Service Line Warranties of America sincerely apologies for any inconvenience or frustration that may have been caused to Mr. ***** ******* as a result of his contact with our company to file an external sewer line claim earlier this month.
 
On February 10, 2015 Mr. ******* called our Customer Care call center to inform us of an external sewer line issue. As a result a claim was filed (#********) and a contractor was dispatched, ***** *** ******** Service, to contact ***** so that a service call could be scheduled for the customer. It is a requirement for our contractors to contact the customer no later than an hour after the dispatch to schedule the service call. As the contractor, ***** *** ********, did not meet this requirement and Mr. ******* was unsuccessful in his attempt to speak to the contractor, he called back to SLWA on February 12, 2015 to have an alternate plumber assigned, ******* plumbing, which was done. The contractor provided service to ***** early the following week however he (Mr. *******) contacted us on February 20, 2015 to advise that he is still experiencing sewer back up issues. I called Mr. ******* on the same day, he told me that the contractor was scheduled to return to provide service for the issue. I assured Mr. ******* that I will contact him the following week to ensure that all necessary service and repair has been completed to address his BBB claim. When I returned the call on February 25, 2015 Mr. ******* advised that the sewer was again draining slowly, at which point we dispatched the contractor back to address the issue. I called Mr. ******* on February 26, 2015 and left a voicemail and called again on February 27, 2015 to speak to him and confirm that the work was completed. Mr. ******* did verify work was completed and sewer is draining appropriately.
 
Service Line Warranties of America’s mission is to act with the highest level of integrity and ethics in our relationships with our clients, customers, employees, contractors, and shareholders. It is with this that Mr. ******** issue was reviewed by our Customer Care and Contractor Services departments as well as Senior Management to ensure that all aspects of claim, dispatch, and contractor processes were applied appropriately while addressing any issues that have negatively impacted the customer’s experience.   I will follow up with ***** this week to ensure that no reoccurrence of the issue has taken place.
 
Very truly yours,
 
**** ******
Customer Care Manager

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  It appears that **** personally ensured that the issue was resolved satisfactorily.

Regards,

***** *******

3/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sewer drain problem between our house and the city line at the street- checked with the city and they sent 2 men and they checked the problem, measured the blockage and found it to be on our property, SLWOA sent a man who attempted to clear the blockage and failed; SLWOA sent a man who worked 3-4 hours by digging a hole in our yard, 3ft X 5ft X 5ft deep, on Wed. Feb 17-18, without finding the blockage, placed plastic signs around the structure and left, telling us/me, they would call then return to finish the job. We've called, and attempted to call, numerous times with no results !!!

Business Response:

Service Line Warranties of America (SLWA) sincerely apologizes for any inconvenience or frustration that may have been caused to Mr. and Mrs. ******* as a result of their contact with our company to file an external sewer line claim this month. Mr. ******* was unsuccessful in multiple attempts to contact the contracted plumber to get information on when they may return to complete service on the job that was started.
 
On February 17 and 18, 2015, work was performed at the residence of Mr. and Mrs. ***** ******* by our contracted plumber, ***** *** ********, to repair their external sewer line (claim #********* under the External Sewer Line Warranty provided through Service Line Warranties of America. To find the issue and make the necessary repairs, a 3’x5’x5’-deep hole was dug. When the cause of the blockage was not determined, ***** *** ******** informed Mr. ******* that they would call to schedule a date and time so that they could return to finish the job. An open, unfilled hole was left at the worksite with the appropriate signs posted around the work area. On February 23, 2015, Mr. ******* contacted our Customer Care department twice by phone to notify us that his attempts to contact ***** *** ******** for the follow-up service was unsuccessful. SLWA then attempted to contact the plumber and left a voicemail to advise them to call the *******s [DP1] and communicate when they will return to complete the service. On February 24, 2015, ***** *** ******** returned to perform the necessary repair work to the sewer line much to the delight of ***** ******* as referenced in his email:
 
From: ***** ******* [mailto:********************]
Sent: Tuesday, February 24, 2015 2:48 PM
To: SLWofA Service; ***** *******
Cc: ***************
Subject: ***** * ******** ********* ****** **
 
I simply must explain and declare to you about your contractor in ****** **- and their employee "***" who is the finest employee a company could have.
*** came to my house, **** ******* ** ***** ** and had the problem with my drain system fixed within an hour. What a dedicated employee!!!
I thank you for your services!!!
 ***** *******
**** ******* ***
****** ** **********
 
I called to follow up the next day, Wednesday, February 25, 2015, and spoke to Mr. ******* who advised that the contractor called earlier in the day to inform him that he would be back to fill in the excavated area, at which time I told him that I would follow up to ensure all work has been completed. In speaking with ******** ******* today, March 2, 2105, she has informed me that ***** *** ******** arrived this morning to fill in the excavated area. Ms. ******* has also advised that there has been inclement weather in ****** *****, over the last week, which delayed the work until today.
 
Service Line Warranties of America’s mission is to act with the highest level of integrity and ethics in our relationships with our clients, customers, employees, contractors, and shareholders.

Very truly yours,
**** ******
Customer Care Manager





Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** * * ******** *******

2/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for a year of coverage in October. The check cleared in mid-November. I received a bill at the end of November for $79. I called at the beginning of December when I received the first bill and was informed we were not covered and was told I would be called back to advise of the resolution. I was never called. I got another bill for $79 at the end of December, again showing no coverage for our address so I asked for a refund of the $79. I was told by the rep that they would have to talk to a supervisor and I would be called back. That was earlier this month in the first week. I finally got a call this morning saying that we would be getting a refund for $58-something, prorated for the amount of time we were covered in November, December, and part of January instead of the full $79, when each time I called in about the bills I was receiving for the amount of the check that had cleared, I was told there was no coverage at my address. Now that a refund is being issued, suddenly we had coverage for this whole time we were being billed for something I had already paid.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of $79. That is all.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *******,

 

Service Line Warranties of America sincerely apologizes for the misapplied payment in regards to ***** ****’s check to establish sewer line warranty service in November 2014. The payment was found, applied and resulted in a refund check (minus administration fee and a pro-rated charge for service). We are sorry for any frustration or inconvenience this may have caused her.

 

In November 2014, ***** **** was activated as a customer for the sewer line warranty program through Service Line Warranties of America. She submitted her Business Reply Card (application) with a check payment for an annual fee of $79.00. In December 2014, Ms. **** contacted SLWA to advise that the check had cleared at her bank the previous month however the payment was not applied to her account. A research ticket for the application of payment was submitted at this point to locate the check and apply it to her account. In January 2015, she contacted SLWA to advise that she no longer wanted to continue service. Ms. ****’s account was deactivated and a refund check in the amount of $58.72 was mailed.

 

Service Line Warranties of America’s mission is to act with the highest level of integrity and ethics in our relationships with our clients, customers, employees, contractors and shareholders. During my phone call with Ms. **** today, I have explained that the amount of the refund check did not total $79.00 as she is requesting, but rather $58.72 as a $6.00 administration fee and a $14.28 pro-rated service charge was systematically generated and deducted from the refund check. SLWA will refund an additional $20.28 (the combined total of the administration fee and pro-rated service charge) to Ms. **** to accommodate her desired resolution. She has also informed me that she received less than adequate assistance from our Customer Care department. I have assured Ms. **** that I will review the call records and ensure that appropriate coaching is implemented to address her concerns.

Very truly yours,

**** ******

Customer Care Manager

Service Line Warranties of America

 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I still have not received the payment that was assured to me by Mr. ******. Additionally, his statement regarding the reason for my calls into their customer service department is inaccurate. I ONLY called them because they were billing me for the amount I had paid and I was told each time I called that I had no service which is why I was being billed; to start service. If service had been activated as he said it was, I would have had no reason to complain or cancel service due to my dissatisfaction over how they took my money and did not apply it to the year of service I paid for.

Regards,

***** ****

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *******,

 

I am writing in response to the most recent message from ***** **** to the Better Business Bureau in which she has rejected the response to your agency for the following reasons: Ms. **** has not received her refund check from Service Line Warranties of America totaling $20.28 which was mailed on 01/23/2015. Additionally, based on her message, I have not accurately communicated the events of Ms. ****’s warranty/payment issue with SLWA.

 

Today, Friday 01/30/2015, I have contacted Ms. **** by phone in hopes of addressing these most recent concerns. The refund check (#19349) in the amount of $20.28 was mailed from SLWA on Friday 01/23/2015. I have contacted my Accounting department after my call with Ms. ****. Accounting has confirmed that the check would be under the Post Office’s responsibility at this point. I have verified with Ms. **** that she has retained my email address and contact numbers from previous emails and to contact me if she does not receive the check within the next few days. I have also forwarded an email to her this afternoon with the information.

 

In regards to my reference to an account being activated for Ms. ****: this was not correct. The account was created however it was not activated. As SLWA misapplied the payment the account was not activated as it should have been. I sincerely apologize for the miscommunication in my initial letter and any frustration this may have caused Ms. ****.

 

On February 5, 2015, in a conversation with Ms. ****, receipt of the refund check has been confirmed.

 

Very truly yours,

 

 

**** ******

Customer Care Manager

Service Line Warranties of America

2/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our household property had coverage through Columbia Service Partners ( CSP )** ********* ****** ********** * ** **********for External Sewer Line Repair .We were not aware of this coverage and had the sewer repair done through ******* *** **** ***. The original call to a CSP Customer Service Representative resulted in a request for a letter showing the invoice for the repair done and a copy of the check from our personal account to pay for the services and our account number. The letter stated that we were not aware of the sewer line protection. The service rep told us we could send a letter stating that we could request a reimbursement even though it was not according to the terms of the agreement that we should have contacted them and used their contractors.We were also told that repairs were covered up to $4000.00 .We are asking for the reimbursement amount of $ 1900.00. They are willing to pay approximately 1/3 of that amount. The company that did the repair work is a very reputable company, and the repair was a difficult job under adverse conditions(bitter cold weather). We feel that their work was very professional and their fee was very fair. One national company ***** ******* quoted us a fee of over $6000.00. We have paid for this service for 5 years and were not aware of the necessity of utilizing specific contractors. This service is billed in our monthly invoice for Columbia Gas. Calls to the *********** Water Dept did not provide any information about any possible coverage by way of our Gas bill, only that the location of the sewer problem was not their responsibility .e The sidewalk had to be removed to reach the full blockage and repair the tiles.The sidewalk also had to be replaced.

Desired Settlement: A reimbursement of $ 1900.00 and a refund for the coverage paid monthly .after the sewer problem was resolved with replacement . $4.25 X 24 months for $ 102.00The payment for this is included in my monthly bill from Columbia Gas but they cannot refund the payment that are not needed since the sewer has been replaced. They said CSP must refund that fee.

Business Response: Columbia Service Partners (CSP) received correspondence in regards to a complaint filed by ****** ******* Mr. ****** filed a complaint against CSP due to a reimbursement request for services provided to him by a non-participating contractor.

 

In exchange for a monthly fee CSP will provide repair and replacement services for external sewer and water line warranties for those consumers that are enrolled in our warranty programs provided the repair and contractor are participating components of our terms and conditions. 

 
On August 25, 2014 Mrs. ****** called into our Customer Care center to inquire about the warranty service on her sewer line: she did not recall enrolling in the program and advised that she had work done on her sewer line on November 11, 2012 totaling $1900.00. Once it was established that the ******’s were enrolled in the warranty program we then instructed her to provide CSP with documentation and invoice so that we may review for a potential reimbursement. CSP did receive the requested documentation from Mr. ****** ****** including a letter, cancelled check, copy of invoice, and bill containing monthly warranty charge. On October 17, 2014 a reimbursement to the customer was approved in the amount of $569.71. As the customer enlisted the services of a contractor that did not participate in our warranty program CSP made the decision to accommodate the ******’s with an amount that was based on an average for work done in the area. On December 2, 2014 Mr. ****** ****** sent another letter to CSP to advise that the reimbursement amount was not to his satisfaction given the amount of labor, time, and
materials that were used as well as a $4000.00 limit of liability that is stated in our terms and conditions. He asked us to reconsider the amount of the reimbursement. 

 
On December 4, 2014 Mrs. ****** was contacted by ***** ****** CSP Assistant VP Contractor Management and myself **** ****** CSP Customer Care Manager. A conference call was made during this time between the plumber that performed the labor in 2012, Mrs. ******, and *****. The purpose of this conference call was to inquire if the contractor, ******* * **** of ************** ** took video of the sewer line to verify the work/repairs that needed to be completed. The contractor did not have the video, if there were we would then validate the request to reimburse the full amount, $1900.00. 

 

It was communicated to Mrs. ****** during the conversation that it is our mission to ensure that we fulfill the needs of customers while coming together to reach an amicable agreement. The fact that the work was completed and paid for outside of the warranty agreement was made apparent to the customer as well as not being able to obtain video of the sewer line. Based on these factors a final reimbursement amount of $1500.00 was negotiated
with the customer. Mrs. ****** was very pleased with our willingness to listen to their situation and to make an accommodation in the best interest of the customer. She informed us that she will contact the Better Business Bureau to
register her satisfaction in regards to the outcome and also to maintain her warranty service with CSP. 

 
Columbia Service Partners is committed to act with the highest level of integrity and ethics in our relationships with our clients, customers, employees, contractors, and shareholders. 

 
Very truly yours,



**** ******
Customer Care Manager

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ******

11/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I continue to receive notices from this company that appear to come from the City of ****** ***** They use the ****** **** Logo and everything. They make every attempt to appear this is an official City document. This constitutes fraud in my opinion. Elderly or disabled people may not be able to tell that this is a dishonest and unethical company and not the City of ****** *****

Desired Settlement: They need to be forced not to use the **** logo and not indicate that the offer comes from the "Office of the City Manager".

Business Response: Service Line Warranties of America (“SLWA”) received your correspondence regarding the complaint referenced above. The complaint references Mr. ********* frustration with SLWA mailing multiple campaign letters for different product offerings, and a concern over improper use of the City of ****** ***** ** (“****** ****” or the “City”) logo. 
 
For a monthly fee, SLWA provides repair or replacement services for external sewer and water lines for consumers enrolled in our Warranty Programs, provided the nature of the problem is covered under the corresponding Terms & Conditions.
 
SLWA and ****** **** entered into a marketing agreement to provide the ****** **** homeowners the option to enroll in the External Water Line Warranty Program. ****** **** homeowners are responsible for the maintenance and repair of the buried outside service lines that run between their home and the utility connection.  The agreement authorized the use of the City logo and required City approval of all marketing materials.  Campaign letters offering the opportunity to enroll in SLWA’s External Sewer and Water Line Warranties are mailed twice a year, each offering an individual product, to homeowners not currently enrolled in the campaign product.   Mr. ******* expressed his concern over the receipt of receiving multiple campaign letters; to avoid this from happening in the future, Mr. *******’s account has been changed to “Do Not Solicit.” This will prevent any future campaign mailings. Mr. *******’s concern regarding SLWA’s use  of the ****** **** logo is totally misplaced.  As noted previously, the City expressly authorized SLWA’s use the city logo and approved the marketing letters, which were signed by Mr. *** *******, the City Manager. (Campaign Letter enclosed) 
 
SLWA apologizes to Mr. ******* for any confusion, our Vision, Mission and Values embrace respect, honesty, trustworthiness, and a commitment to ethical behavior.  We believe this complaint is the result of unfortunate misunderstanding, and remain available to Mr. *******, should he wish further conversation. Please do not hesitate to have Mr. ******* contact me at ###-###-####.  
 
Very truly yours,
******* ******
Manager, Customer Care
Service Line Warranties of America
###-###-####
 
 

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For months we have been receiving unsolicited advertising from Service Line Warranties, warning us that we are responsible for the repair of the sewer line on our property. The advertisement encourages us to purchase a policy from Service Line Warranties to protect us in case of sewer line damage. We have ignored the unsolicited mailings. Today, we received yet another mailing. Our insurance carrier advised us to ignore the possible scam. The mailing starts out with "The City of San Diego ..." next to an official-looking seal. It is not from a government agency. It looks intentionally misleading. We have tried to get removed from the mailing list, unsuccessfully.

Desired Settlement: please stop mailing this nonsense to our home

Business Response: Service Line Warranties of America (“SLWA”) received your correspondence regarding the complaint referenced above.  The complaint references Mr. ****’s frustration with SLWA mailing multiple campaign letters for different product offerings.  For a monthly fee, SLWA provides repair or replacement services for external sewer and water lines for consumers enrolled in our Warranty Programs, provided the nature of the problem is covered under the corresponding Terms & Conditions.
 
In 2013, SLWA and the City of San Diego, CA partnered to provide San Diego homeowners the option to enroll in the External Water and Sewer Line Warranty Programs, as San Diego homeowners are responsible for the maintenance and repair of the buried outside service lines that run between their home and the utility connection.  Campaign letters offering the opportunity to enroll in SLWA’s External Sewer and External Water Line Warranties are mailed twice a year, each offering an individual product, to homeowners not currently enrolled in the campaign product.   SLWA purchases a mail list from a third party vendor,  in accordance with all applicable Federal, State and local regulations.  Mr. ****’s contact information was contained in this list.  
 
SLWA received Mr. ****’s signed business reply card (BRC) October 21, 2013, and processed an enrollment in an External Water Line Warranty, with an effective date of October 21, 2013.  SLWA mails annual reminder statements as a courtesy to our customers.  Mr. ****’s received his on or around September 19, 2014, this may have contributed to Mr. ****’s frustration over receiving multiple SLWA solicitations.  To avoid any further confusion, Mr. ****’s account is now marked “Do Not Solicit, “preventing any further mailings.
 
I apologize for the inconvenience that this may have caused to you.  SLWA’s Vision, Mission and Values embrace respect, honesty, trustworthiness and a commitment to ethical behavior.  We believe this complaint is the result of unfortunate misunderstanding, and remain available to Mr. ****s should he wish further conversation.  Please do not hesitate to contact me at ###-###-####.     
 
Very truly yours,
 
 
******* ******
Manager, Customer Service
Service Line Warranties of America
###-###-####
 
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I appreciate that I will not receive future mailings from this company; however, I have no memory of signing any form to receive correspondence from the company. I totally dispute that. I will consider this matter resolved, but, again, I contest that I signed anything requesting to stay on their mailing list or receive further solicitations.  I was advised by my insurance company that these services were not necessary.  Many thanks for your assistance.

Regards,

******** *****

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/7/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried calling a few times, left messages and have sent two e-mails, May 30th and June 3rd, and have not gotten a response from any of them.I never received any terms and conditions on how to file a claim, just a statement for enrolling into the warranty program. It wasn't until after I had my sewer main replaced thay i looked it up on the website because I had found the biil for the warranty. I understand that they have your own network of Licensed and Insured Contractors, which I would have liked to have used. When I had two different contractors out because of the sewer backing up and the old clay tile had collapsed something needed done and I did not know how to file a claim with SLWA. thier offer to only pay $500.00 of the $7200.00 bill that I had to pay is ridicules when on thier website they state that, Coverage caps listed in the Terms & Conditions are per occurrence as follows:Sewer - $4,000. I understand that they will not pay the full amount, but only paying approx. 6% is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I would like SLWA to pay the $4,000.00 sewer cap and to pay for basic restoration to the site, like thier warranty claims to do.

Business Response:  

Service Line Warranties of America (SLWA) received correspondence regarding the complaint referenced above on June 25, 2014.  The complaint pertains to Mr. ******’s dissatisfaction with SLWA decision to reimburse $500 towards his out-of-network contractor’s invoice totaling $7,200.

 

Mr. ****** enrolled by business reply card with Service Line Warranties on May 28, 2013, for an External Sewer Line Warranty.  On June 6, 2013, SLWA mailed Mr. ****** a copy of his Terms and Conditions which includes the following language: To initiate a service call under this Service Program, you must call SLWA, toll free at ###-###-#### (assistance is available 24 hours per day, 7 days a week) before any work is performed.  All work must be performed by an authorized SLWA contractor.  Any exceptions to this are at the sole discretion of SLWA’s liability for reimbursement on work performed for a non-SLWA contractor exceed $500.

 

On May 12, 2014, Mr. ****** called into SLWA to report he experienced a back-up with his sewer line, and he contacted his own plumber for repair.  Mr. ****** stated that he failed to remember he enrolled in the External Sewer Line Warranty.  The agent explained to Mr. ****** that SLWA does not reimburse residents who hire their own plumbers, based on SLWA’s Terms and Conditions.  Mr. ****** was instructed to send in his contractor’s invoice and a letter explaining why he did not follow the Terms and Conditions and management will review.

 

The paperwork from Mr. ****** was received by SLWA on May 15, 2014.  Mr. ******’s letter (dated May 12, 2014) stated he was going through papers and found the warranty papers that he forgotten he had enrolled.  Mr. ****** letter states he had sewer problems back in January and had *** ****** come out and replace the main line. 

 

On May 19, 2014, SLWA Contractor Management Services reviewed Mr. ******’s request for reimbursement.  Based on Mr. ******’s letter dated May 12, 2014, the management team stated Mr. ****** events did not follow the SLWA Terms and Conditions, and the date of the invoice Mr. ****** submitted dated back to January 2014.  SLWA questioned why Mr. ****** did not contact SLWA in January, 2014, and now are now in May 2014.

 

On May 21, 2014, a letter was sent to Mr. ****** explaining the total amount of reimbursement ($500), Terms and Conditions, and a request for him to sign a Release of Liability since the External Sewer Line was not repaired by SLWA. The letter explained upon receiving the Release of Liability, the check for $500 would be sent to him.

 

On June 3, 2014, Mr. ****** emailed SLWA Customer Service and expressed his displeasure of the $500 reimbursement, stating he never received a copy of the Terms and Conditions.  He did not know how to file a claim; he understood that SLWA contracts with a network of licensed and insured contractors, which he would have liked to use.  Mr. ****** stated he needed to contact a contractor due to the urgency of his sewer backing up, because he did not know how to file a claim.  He spoke about the landscaping that was needed and how SLWA would have also taken care of this responsibility. 

 

On June 9, 2014, SLWA responded to Mr. ****** inquiry on the reimbursement for the External Sewer Line warranty expressing apology that we would not be able to reimburse the total requested amount, but only $500.  Another copy of the Terms and Conditions were provided.

 

SLWA wants to be able to provide service for all customers associated with the warranty programs, but in Mr. ******’s request for reimbursement was not authorized under SLWA Terms and Conditions; there is question why Mr. ****** is seeking reimbursement in May, 2014 for a January, 2014 invoice.

 

We apologize for all the inconveniences Mr. ****** experienced, and hope the reimbursement of $500 will be considered as a good will offer on our behalf.  If there are any further questions, I will be happy to answer.  I can be reached at ###-###-####.

 

Best regards,

 

 

 

******* ******

Manager, Customer Service

 

 

Consumer Response: On June 17, 2013 I received a statement for $52.00 annually that I can have external sewer line warranty and that the payment can be automatically deducted from my checking or savings account. I never received a copy of the Terms and Conditions telling me how to file a claim that SLWA supposedly mailed out June 6, 2013. I wrote a check and sent it in on July 5, 2013 thinking that’s when I enrolled, the check cleared on July 10, 2013. I never got anything else from SLWA. On May 12, 2014, I called SLWA to report that I had a back-up with my sewer line, and contacted a plumber for repair. The agent never explained to me that SLWA does not reimburse residents who hire their own plumbers, based on SLWA’s Terms and Conditions. The agent instructed me to send in my contractor’s invoice and a letter explaining what had happened and that SLWA would review it for reimbursement. I looked up SLWA on the internet and found out that they would only pay up to $4,000.00, I wasn’t happy with the fact that they would not cover the whole amount but could except that. Never did I see anything about SLWA would only reimbursement $500.00 for the External Sewer Line work performed by out-of-network contractor. I called in May 2014 about a January 2014 invoice because I had been talking to some neighbors who brought up that they had purchased a sewer line warranty and that jogged my memory and that’s when I looked for my invoice and found it but nothing else from SLWA stating how to file a claim. I only want what I had purchased and if SLWA contractors would have replaced my sewer line for $4000 and I paid $7200 then I have no problem paying the difference. As I stated I would have preferred to use one of SLWA licensed and insured contractors, but never receiving the term and conditions and how to file a claim I did not know what to do.

7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service Line Warranties of America (SLWA) is supposed to provide me with timely sewer line service (cleaning, repair, replacement). I had a clogged sewer. Called SLWA. They sent someone out two days later. After ramming the plumbing snake down my main line for an hour, they came up with mud. No surprise, a fragile line can be broken when you have a large metal snake pounding on it continuously. The contractor explained that the snake had probably created a huge hole in my line from spinning around in the mud. SLWA scheduled an inspection for the following Tuesday (5 days later). I called SLWA and asked for a different contractor who could come sooner. I was told to continue using my water as normal and that there were no other contractors in my area. I did not use my water and tried to explain to SLWA that my line was broken and not useable. Due to rain in the area, the saturated ground started pumping up water into my basement on Monday night. Called SLWA to tell them I was flooded. Still sent the same guy to scope my line on Tuesday morning. No surprise- he can't do anything with all the water. Tuesday morning I now have 6-12 inches in my basement with wet/damaged appliances and property including hot water heater, air conditioner, washer, dryer. SLWA tells me to call my fire dept. to pump out the water bc the contractor who's supposed to scope my line can't work with all the water. Duh. Through multiple phone calls I hear that SLWA does have other contractors that they could send. I can't speak with a manager but am told every time that they're looking into the problem. Yet it keeps raining and raining, pushing water through my broken pipe into my basement ruining more and more property. Poor scheduling, misinformation over the phone about contractors and scheduling, unresponsiveness and negligence, the inability to speak with a manager, and a lack of understanding of this situation has left me very frustrated with this company.

Desired Settlement: Water pumped from basement.Woodwork and drywall restored.Maintenance to Washer (4 yr old), Dryer (4 yr old), Hot Water Heater (1 yr old), Air Conditioner (6? yr old) unless replacement is needed due to water damage.Compensation for damaged property due to flooding from a line broken by SLWA contractor and neglected by SLWA for a scheduled 2 weeks, and one week in effect.New Replacement Sewer Line per contract - this was the original claim that was to be remedied. Negligence led to the rest.

Business Response:

Service Line Warranties of America (SLWA) received your correspondence regarding the complaint referenced above.  The complaint pertains to Mr. ******’ assertion that he did not receive timely service from the SLWA contractor for his External Sewer Line Warranty Program. 

 

Mr. ****** called to file a claim on June 3, 2014 due to a sewer line back up in the basement floor drain of his house. SLWA dispatched our network plumber, to provide service to Mr. ******’ sewer line.  The contractor was not able to clear the line, but discovered that a repair would need to be made, but due to continuous rain events in the customer’s area, a repair was not able to be scheduled until approximately a week after filing the initial claim.

 

On June 9, 2014, Mr. ****** contacted SLWA to explain that due to the rain, the sewer line is backing up in his basement. The contractor attempted to clear the line again, but they were unsuccessful. They scheduled a time to run a camera through the sewer line on June 11, 2014, at 7:30 a.m. After the camera was completed, the contractor identified a blockage in the line and made arrangements to do a spot repair on the line on either June 12, or June 13, 2014, depending on weather and utility lines being marked.  Mr. ****** requested to use a contractor that would perform a trenchless method to repair his sewer line.   After Contractor Management review, SLWA was not able to accommodate Mr. ******’ request, but a solution was offer to Mr. ****** and he agreed to receive the $4,000 Coverage Cap as stated in the Terms and Conditions MO-SLWA SF & MF Version 2.0 (attached), and SLWA agreed to reimburse an additional $920 for damages caused by the delay of action (receipts attached).  These payments were delivered and signed by Mr. ****** on June 27, 2014 (receipt attached).

 

******* ****** spoke to Mr. ****** on June 25, 2014, of his satisfaction from the decision made by SLWA since we received a Better Business Bueau complaint on June 10, 2014.  Mr. ****** stated he was satisfied with the decision and would sign the complaint as such when he received his check.  The check was signed received on June 27, 2014.

 

On a final note, it is important to SLWA to provide timely service to our customers, and this particular claim was not completed in a timely fashion. Our Contractor Services Management Team discussed the unsatisfactory service level Mr. ****** received, and how to avoid this situation from occurring again in the future.  The Contractor Services Department has communicated the importance of scheduling with the contractor, and the contractor has agreed to improve his scheduling and communication to better service the customers of SLWA.

 

SLWA sincerely apologizes for the frustrations and inconveniences this situation has caused Mr. ******.  Our intention is to provide customers with excellent Customer Service at all times.   Thank you for allowing us to service you. If there are any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at ###-###-####.

 

Very truly yours,

 

 

 

******* ******

Manager, Customer Service

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********. While there is no middle-ground (because responses must either be accepted or rejected) I will add some clarification to SLWA's response. That said, I find the final resolution satisfactory.

7/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a letter today from service line warranties of America in an official municipal looking envelope. It had a letter from the city manager trying to sell me sewer line insurance. It is not from the government, it's a shady way of selling insurance. How can a company that uses such low, shady practices have a A+ rating. It shows that the BBB is money motivated and not a representation of the people.

Desired Settlement: They should contact everyone they sent letters to and tell them that it was not the municipality or the city manager that sent the letter. They need to do this in every city that they sent letters to. Phoenix, Greenport... the list goes on. You need to down rate this company for this practice.

Business Response:

I am writing in response to your complaint through the Better Business Bureau for Service Line Warranties of America’s (SLWA) recent mailing to the City of ********** and the use of the city logo and City Manager, ****** *****, signature.  

 

Service Line Warranties of America (SLWA) operates through a partnership with nearly 200 cities across the nation, including the City of **********. Together, your city officials and SLWA work together to craft the educational marketing letters we mail to the cities. Your city leaders are offering this voluntary program to you as an option to protect your home from the high costs of water and sewer line repairs. The City announced the program to residents on May 30, 2014 on the city website, ************ and their Facebook page.

 

As an accredited Better Business Bureau company, we operate within BBB guidelines for all business practices, including our communications. Our commitment to these standards is evidenced by Service Line Warranties of America’s selection as the 2013 Winner of the Western Pennsylvania Better Business Bureau Torch Award for Marketplace Ethics. 

 

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to me directly at************ ** ***********************


Sincerely

 

***** *******

Assistant Vice President, Marketing

4/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This organization sends an advertisement letter with the City of Phoenix Logo, and I understand how and why they can do that. Not the problem. Their paragraph at the top of the letter: "The City of Phoenix partners with Service Line Warranties of America, through the National League of Cities, to inform residents of an optional WATER AND SEWER LINE WARRANTY PROGRAM. . . .It "sounds" like water line AND sewer line are covered in the offer. They are not. Even though the wording names two services with a singular word "program," the offer is only for Outside Water Line Service.Although the body of the letter talks only about buried water line, outside water service line, outside water line, it could be easily misunderstood as both utility lines.The annual fee for water line TO THE HOUSE, is $49.00. But if you want both water line and sewer line coverage, the cost is $116. They never mention the sewer line warranty program and its cost, or at least who to contact to find out more about BOTH programs.I think they should mention sewer line option or take the word out of the top paragraph. I also think they should make it clear that this is only for the line for clean water from the city to the house water main.

Desired Settlement: I have not contracted with this organization. My complaint is about the misleading language on their advertisement letter.

Business Response:

I am writing in response to Complaint Number ******* made by Ms. ***** ** ****** to the Better Business Bureau for Service Line Warranties of America’s (SLWA) recent mailing to the City of Phoenix.  

 

Service Line Warranties of America (SLWA) operates through a partnership with nearly 200 cities across the nation, including the City of Phoenix. Together your city officials and SLWA work together to craft the educational marketing letters we mail to city residents such as yourself. As part of that letter, we opted to include a box at the top informing residents that two optional warranty programs are available to homeowners at any time.

 

Both water and sewer line warranty programs are offered in Phoenix, AZ, each with unique cost and coverage indications. Previous customer feedback indicated that providing the details about multiple products in one letter at the same time was confusing, and as such, we communicate the details about one product in the letter. 

 

SLWA thanks Ms. Hewitt for sharing your comments with us. If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to me directly at ###-###-#### or **********************


Sincerely

 

******* ******

Manager, Customer Service

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/28/2013 we contacted this business to file for a sewer line problem. Three days later we had a contractor that was from a neighboring city come to our home and check the line. We didn't like their attitude or their demeanor. We called SLWOA and they said that this person was their contractor for this area. The contractor then tried to tell us that it would be $1400 over what the warranty covers. We told them that we would hire someone else to do the cement work. We asked repeatedly for a new contractor and was refused by SLWOA. They never returned any e-mails. It's now 11/20/2013 and we have not heard from anyone. We do NOT trust the person that they sent to our home. We do NOT want them tearing up our yard and home.

Desired Settlement: We want a reputable contractor from OUR city to come and check our sewer line and to give us something in writing explaining the work to be done and what part that the insurance doesn't cover. If we do not receive the service that we paid for we will be forced to take other actions with our city to not endorse this company for the citizens of our city.

Business Response:

Service Line Warranties of America (“SLWA”) received Complaint Number 9810469 filed by Ms. ****** ******.  Firstly, SLWA apologizes to Ms. ****** for any inconveniences caused by the service failures.  The Complaint states the service provided by the contractor assigned was unsatisfactory: the contractor was late, missed scheduled appointments, and the job is not completed.  Also, Ms. ****** was notified by the contractor that she was responsibility for the concrete remediation charges totaling $1,400, which she states should not be her financial responsibility. 

 

In exchange for a monthly fee, SLWA provides repair or replacement services for external sewer lines for those consumers enrolled in our Warranty Program (provided the nature of the problem falls under the corresponding Terms & Conditions).

 

Several phone attempts have been made to reach Ms. ****** regarding this complaint. Two voicemails were left at her home residence on November 26, 2013, as well as another call on Monday, December 2, 2013, where Mr. ****** ****** advised to contact Ms. ****** after 6 pm.  A returned call was made after 6 pm, where a voicemail was received and a message was left.  SLWA takes great care to ensure that important matters such as this are properly managed and processed, although due to the contractor’s service level failure, as well as the communication breakdown between our internal staff and the contractor regarding who is responsible for the concrete repair costs, we have not succeeded in meeting Ms. ******’s expectations. In light of this, SLWA made the decision to have our original contractor (or another local contractor if requested by Ms. ******) make the sewer repairs necessary including the concrete work associated with the disturbance of the repair.  There would be no out of pocket expense for the customer. We hope this will be acceptable to Ms. ****** The Manager of Customer Service will be in contact with Ms. ****** the week of December 9, 2013 to discuss the arrangements.

 

At SLWA, we take our customer complaints seriously, and appreciate that Ms. ****** brought this issue to our attention. Our contractor interaction and internal processes will be re-evaluated for process improvement and training based on this complaint ultimately striving for customer satisfaction.

 

SLWA appreciates the opportunity to review and respond accordingly. If you have any questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to contact me.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

******* ******

Manager, Consumer Service

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me if they allow me to choose a contractor. I am awaiting a call back today 12/13/2013 from the Manager of customer service. 

 

 

9/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sewage backed up into my basement 6/26/2013 covering the entire basement in 4-5 inches of sewage and water. I filed homeowners claim for damages which covered sanitation and removal of sewage ruined property. ******* (###-###-#### ******** *** Sewer Line Guarantee Service Provider) approved* * ***** Plumbing to camera the sewer line. Camera verified numerous breaks and separations in the sewer line. This analysis was provided by camera technician to ******** *** Sewer Line Guarantee Service Provider.Called Columbia Service Provider for repair of sewer line under the Sewer Line Guarantee. Despite this information, coverage has been denied. I informed them drain water is abnormally high. Claim number *********2.

Desired Settlement: Repair of all breaks and separations in the sewer line on my property.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the complaint from Ms. ********** ********.   

Ms. ******** states she received less than perfect service, and her claim was denied by Service Line Warranties of America (SLWA). 

 

Upon investigation, on June 27, 2013, Ms. ******** called SLWA due to a sewer line backup in her basement from heavy rains.  The agent explained to Ms. ******** that the water in her basement would need to subside before we could contract a plumber.  June 28, 2013, an agent filed a claim with a contractor to review the sewer line back up.  The contractor confirmed customer had 4-5” of sewage in the basement, as well as stating the city line is clogged and she needed to contact them for service to clear the line.  The customer was instructed to call SLWA if the line does not improve and the contractor would then camera the line to further research the problem.   

 

On July 1, 2013, Ms. ******** called SLWA to report the line was not free and flowing.  Contractor was dispatched to return, investigate and to camera line.  July 2, 2013, Ms. ******** called SLWA to report her line was not free and flowing, and she did not receive a call from a contractor.   The SLWA agent placed a call into contractor to obtain the camera report.  July 3, 2013, contractor advised line was clear, but needed a spot repair and root clearing.  July 5, 2013, contractor missed the scheduled service call for clearing. 

 

July 8, 2013, an agent received a call from Ms. ******** regarding her claim.  The agent escalated to the supervisor by email.  The supervisor failed to respond properly to this escalated agent’s request to contact Ms. ******** and her claim.  July 10, 2013, management reviewed claim and Ms. ********’s complaint. 

 

July 10, 2013, a decision was made by SLWA to reassign a new contractor for a second opinion.   Contractor was able to service Ms. B*******’s sewer line. The line is free and flowing.  The contractor found Ms. ******** very pleased with the service she received when leaving the property.  

 

A re-training of agents and supervisors on claim processing and customer escalations took place on July 23, 2013 to avoid unsatisfactory service to our customers.   

 

I believe all questions have been addressed.  If there are any additional questions, please do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist any further. 

 

Regards, 

 

 

******* ******

Manager, Customer Service 

7/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have been trying to get Service Line Warranties (hereinafter SLW) to repair a water leak since March 29 with no results. Their contractor (whose business is over 100 miles from my home) wanted to dig up my concrete floor (since the leak is under the concrete) and my den is located on this concrete slab. I was told I would be responsible for removing the hardwood flooring and then replacing it once the leak was repaired. I checked with a local plumbing contractor and it was decided it would be more economical and less invasive to relocate the water meter so the lines would not need to go underneath any concrete but would come directing into the crawl space of the house. I was given a quoted about and, after talking with the contractor sent by SLW, that contractor said he would check with SLW to see if they would pay the portion which they were going to pay to repair the leak and we could pay the remainder. The leak is creating a problem with water standing in my yard. SLW will not call to inform me how they intend to handle this. I have taken it upon myself to have the leak repaired. I have had this service for several years and had a problem a couple of years ago at Christmas but SLW was "too busy" to handle the problem and I had to get it repaired myself. Why do I need to pay the premiums for this service when I can't get anything repaired? It is not like this is something that can wait. Water leakage and pipe rupturing is a serious problem.

Desired Settlement: Since the contractor for Service Line Warranties told us they would pay the amount which they would have had to pay for the repair ($1200), I would like them to reimburse me for this amount. I am not asking that they pay the entire amount of $2100, but, because of their lack of response and damages which I am incurring from the water leak, I would really like to see them pay the entire $2100.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the complaint from *** ***** **** regarding her reimbursement for her water leak located at:  *** ****** ***** ********** ** ******   

 

In exchange for a monthly fee, SLWA provides repair or replacement services for water lines for those consumers enrolled in our warranty program (provided the nature of the problem falls under the corresponding Terms & Conditions).   

 

*** **** states she had been trying to reach Service Line Warranties (hereinafter SLW) to repair a water leak since March 29, 2013 with no results.   SLW does show a claim was filed and dispatched to an in-network contractor on March 30, 2013.  The in-network contractor met with *** **** to review her claim on April 3, 2013, and reported the results to the Contracts Service Manager for review.  A leak was detected under *** ****’s slab of a former carport.   *** **** elected not to reconstruct the flooring overtop the slab and wanted the water line rerouted.  *** **** contacted her own contractor to reroute from under the floor.   The Contracts Service Manager evaluated *** **** claim and discussed with her payment options based on SLW’s Terms and Conditions.  An email was received from *** **** to the SLW email box on April 17, 2003, and a communication was returned back to *** **** on April 18, 2003 confirming the Contracts Service Manager’s decision to reimburse her for the repair cost of $2,150.   

 

As a result, SLWA has come to an agreement with *** **** regarding the reimbursement of her repairs.  Check Number **** was mailed on April 30, 2013 in the amount of $2,150 for the total costs incurred from the water leak.  

 

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or need more information. 

 

 

Regards, 

 

******* ******

Manager, Customer Service 

Consumer Response:  The company did send a check in the amount of $2,100 for the repairs which had been made.  This resolution is satisfactory to me. 

4/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/31/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/25/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service