BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of South Hills Electric LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

South Hills Electric LLC

Phone: (412) 341-4328 View Additional Phone Numbers 951 Killarney Dr Ste 1, Pittsburgh, PA 15234 http://southhillselectric.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in residential and commercial services as a full-service electrical and HVAC company providing sales and service in all heating, air-conditioning and electrical work.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that South Hills Electric LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for South Hills Electric LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 12, 2008 Business started: 05/21/1993 in PA Business incorporated: 10/10/2008 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA012126.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Pat Cray, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Pat Cray, Owner
Business Category

ELECTRIC CONTRACTORS FIRE & SMOKE ALARM SYSTEMS HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING CIRCUIT BREAKERS SWITCHES-ELECTRIC FUSES-ELECTRIC ELECTRICAL POWER SYSTEMS MAINTENANCE AIR PURIFYING & CLEANING SYSTEMS & EQUIPMENT BOILERS-NEW & USED HUMIDIFYING APPARATUS WIRE & CABLE-ELECTRIC SMOKE DETECTORS & ALARMS AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS & SYSTEMS

Products & Services

South Hills Electric LLC sells the following brand(s): Amana, American Standard, Aprilaire, Bradford White, Crown Boilers, Goodman, Seaman's

South Hills Electric LLC offers the following product(s): Air Conditioning Units, Boilers, Electrical Generators, Electrical Panels, Emergency Lighting, Furnaces, Hot Water Tanks, Humidifiers

Method(s) of Payment
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
American Express
Financing available
Alternate Business Names
Pittsburgh Heating and Cooling Electric South Hills Electric Heating Cooling
Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Heating & Cooling Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 951 Killarney Dr Ste 1

    Pittsburgh, PA 15234

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (412) 884-9500 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 7/19 South Hills Electric (SHE) sent an electrician, ***, to look at a flickering lights when the washer ran & dimming lights when an appliance started. I mentioned the main circuit breaker had been replaced during the winter. He looked at the box & said it needed upgraded from 100 to 150 amps. He looked at nothing else to diagnose the problems. He explained that the draw of the electricity by the appliances was causing the lights to dim. He said with AC you should have 150 amps. I said we don't have AC. He said we would save on electricity as the lights/appliances wouldn't have to draw so hard to get power. He gave me an quote of $2395. I had gotten an estimate from an HVAC company that was lower but went with SHE based on the BBB rating & accreditation.Work completed on 7/23 & the lights still flickered & dimmed as before. Based on what *** said I expected the problem to be resolved. I called SHE on 7/29 to explain to the owner, *** ****, the situation & also to complain that the hole in the side of the house where the wire enters from the outside wasn't sealed. I could see daylight inside the basement. Lead electrician, ***** *****, came 7/30 to the house on Tuesday to look at the work. ***** saw the lights dim when the dehumidifier come on. He told my wife it the house could need rewired or the appliances need to be on different circuits. He would send a quote for the additional work.On 8/1 I sent an email to Mr. **** explaining the non-resolution of the problem & that I felt I was sold a service I didn't need, wasting $2395. He called me that evening at 10:30 to talk about it. He said it could be a ******** ***** problem. Twice he mentioned the need of 150 amps due to having AC & twice I had to correct him that we don't have AC. He said he would send ***** again to diagnose the problem at no cost. ***** came on 8/8 & determined the flickering lights was due to the washing machine. The dimming lights was a wiring problem. This confirms I was misled into replacing/upgrading the box.

Desired Settlement: I feel I was misled & sold the replacing/upgrading of the breaker box which cost $2395. Since this is not something that can be returned I would like either 50% of the cost be refunded or the cost of labor be refunded depending on which is higher. I would like an itemized list of the parts used with cost so I know the cost of the parts.FYI: ***** said he would have Mr. **** call me after returning from vacation. He returned on 8/12. I emailed on 8/14 asking for an email response but no reply.

Business Response: Dear Mr. *******,


In response to your complaint, I would like to let you know that I've investigated the matter and found that our technician, ***, did make a mistake when he stated that you needed a 150 amp service when a new 100 amp service would have been fine. As far as any other problems you may have had with our services, I can tell you that everything was done by the book. 
Regarding the need to update the service: The service was older and the grounding was found to be bad. In order to diagnose any other problems, you have to start with good power coming into the home.
We sent ***** out to do further diagnostic work at no charge in good faith and found a multitude of problems with your home's wiring which we strongly suggest you have addressed ASAP for your safety.
I would like to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. *** has been terminated for his error.  Our customers deserve the best technicians in the industry and we have fallen short in this case. 
In regards to the new service, we feel that the update was needed but a 100 amp service would have been fine. So we will be sending you out a check for $500 dollars in an effort to resolve this matter.

Respectfully, 
******* * ****
South Hills Electric LLC 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

First, I am sorry to read that *** lost his job.  I hope this one mistake wasn’t the only factor in his termination.  Regarding the company’s response, further diagnostic work should have been done at no charge as I don’t believe correct diagnostic work was done initially.  *** never told me the grounding was bad.  He went straight to needing a new breaker box just by me stating the symptoms and seeing I had 100 amp service.  Regarding the ‘multitude of problems’  I was told by ***** the older washer was causing the flickering lights problem and the wiring may be causing the dimming lights when an appliance started.  I am requesting a detailed list of the specific problems besides the washer and wiring. 

I would also like to relate my disappointment in the lack of response by South Hills Electric after ***** did his additional diagnostic work.  He said he would have ***, the owner, call me the following week.  *** never called nor replied to my email sent mid-week. 

Regarding the $500 check, when I had my furnace service I asked about having the breaker box replace and was given an estimate of $1800 for a new 100 amp service in writing.  I would like the refund from South Hills Electric to match the difference between this estimate and the cost of ***** ***** work which would be $600.  

Regards,

******* ****** *******

 

 

7/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 06/22/2013 I had a ceiling fan catch fire in my kitchen. I only had power to some of my rooms in my home. The fire department recommended leaving the electric off until I have an electrician come in and check everything out. ****, the owner, stated that his company could provide the service I needed. I was informed of a $55 half hour diagnostic fee. I was not informed of a trip fee of $80.**** reported he would call me back with a technicians name and time of arrival. That DID NOT occur.The technician arrived and was very annoyed in posture and tone. He did not introduce himself nor his "helper" ***. ***,the technician, returned from garage to tell me that my electric is working because my central air kicked on.I informed the tech that I knew this, I still has no power in half the house. I had to point out no power to TV, Phone, lights, refrigerator. He then went back down stairs and "checked the breakers" and found a bad breaker.The fee was astronomical for less than half hours work. So either I pay him to complete the service or I was still out an $80 trip fee and $55 diagnostic fee. I agreed to the work. the $80 trip fee was dropped.Work was completed. I had asked the technician to look at a ceiling fan that was not working. He told me, "it is 3 o'clock in the afternoon and he is not getting into that." I telephoned **** the next morning. I explained to **** his technician's behavior and how he wasn't even in my home for a full half hour. **** replied a minimum half hour fee. I asked about the steep pricing for replacing a breaker. He replied, "Standard fee.**** stated that I called for an emergency and Duquesne light was at my home. I told **** that I di d not call for emergency service nor was Duquesne Light at my home.**** repeated several times that the fire department was at my home and this constitutes and emergency. I said, I am the customer, I did not call for an emergency this happened several days ago. **** said I was hostile on the phone and hung up.

Desired Settlement: I am very displeased with the professionalism of the technician and owner. Communication was extremely poor. ***,the technician was very rude, abrasive and uncaring. ****, the owner/manager, phone etiquette was even worse. Start to finish was approximately 15 minutes. The technician failed to follow through with my request to look at another ceiling fan and the manger offered no resolution to my complaint. I am requesting a refund of half the job total.

Business Response: This is in response to customer complaint ID# ******* on 6/26/2013.

Customer contacted us on 06/24/2013 at approx 230 pm.   She stated that the fire dept was at her house because her ceiling fan caught on fire and that she only had 1/2 power in her house.  She requested an estimate for the repairs and I explained to her that we couldn't provide an estimate until we diagnosed the problem.  I informed her of the $80 trip charge + the $55 per 1/2 hr diagnostic fee to dispatch a technician to her residence ASAP which she agreed to.  This is our standard nonemergency price I gave her even though we dispatched a service tech to her house immediately.

At 305pm *** & *** arrived at her house to diagnose problem to restore electric.  I did state to ******** that we would contact her with an arrival time unfortunately the techs arrived prior to that call being made in which I do apoligize for that.  *** went into the basement to begin diagnostic and her air conditioner kicked on.  This confused *** because as stated in her complaint "The fire department recommended leaving the electric off until I have an electrician come in and check everything out."  At no time during her initial call did she state that the fire department was there 2 days prior to calling us.

*** found a bad braker in her service panel.  He informed ******* of his findings and gave her the price for replacement.  She agreed to the price of $388.33 for the replacement. The $80 trip fee was waived and the braker was replaced and tested.

******* requested at this time to look at another ceiling fan that she was having problems with.  *** explained to her that we could come out another day and look at fan with no trip charge.

******* contacted me the following day and said she was now not happy with the price she was charged.  I explained to her that she received standard flat rate pricing and she signed for the repairs.

Customer posted a review on ****** **** stating that she contacted 4 other electricians and we were the only ones to respond yet she gave us an F rating for punctuality and responsiveness.

In conclusion we responded to customer in a timely manner,  gave her upfront pricing which she agreed to and signed for.  Offered to revisit property another day to take corrective actions on other issues in house.  Customer was upset and emotional from initial call and became hostile and unreceptive after call.

We will not refund any of the customers money as she agreed to all charges to correct loss of power in her house.

Sincerely,

**** **********
Operations Manager
South Hills Electric LLC

Consumer Response:

I did contact South Hills Electric (SHE) LLC for a non-emergent evaluation of electrical problem in my home. I would like to reference inaccuracies in Operations manager, **** response. I was not informed of $80 trip fee which was eventually waived. “He quoted me for a non-emergent price and dispatched a technician immediately.” This is incorrect. I telephoned SHE at approximately 0900 on 06/24/2013. I informed **** that my kitchen ceiling fan caught fire on Saturday. I specifically waited until Monday morning to contact an electrical company to avoid weekend fees and/or emergency fees. The service technician arrived approximately 6 hours after speaking with ****.

Inconsistency number two, **** reports, “*** went into the basement to begin diagnostic and her air conditioner kicked on.  This confused *** because as stated in her complaint "The fire department recommended leaving the electric off until I have an electrician come in and check everything out."’ I did not have electricity running in my home. I was running two heavy duty electrical extension cords from my neighbor’s house to provide power to my refrigerator and freezer. I had a box fan blowing on me while I was sleeping on the couch waiting for the technician’s arrival. I have text messages to my neighbor confirming agreement to run extension cords and also my neighbor *****  agrees to provide a statement if required.  

Next, my circuit breakers are located in my garage, not my basement. *** went into my garage and flipped the main breaker without checking wiring or connections prior to the re-initiation of electricity into my home. My central air kicked on after *** flipped the main breaker back on. I educated *** that I was ***** that I had electricity in my home, but I am without power to half my rooms and pointed out no power areas. *** then returned to the garage to ‘diagnosis’ problem and found a bad breaker.

I agreed to the price of $388.33 for the replacement simply because no matter what I would have been without money and time. Trip fee and diagnostic fee with no work done verses trip fee waived with work done. This was going on the third day of borrowing electricity from my neighbor. It was later in the afternoon, which meant it would be too late to have another company out.
Yes, I did request at this time for the technician to look at another ceiling fan that I was having problems with since the fire. This did not transpire, “*** explained to her that we could come out another day and look at fan with no trip charge.” I signed a form that consisted of trip fee agreement, Payment due upon completion of job, initialed job #1 and completion of the above work. I was not informed of the “terms and conditions” portion on the back of the form. I did not acknowledge nor sign this section.
Yes, I did post a review on ******* **** that is completely factual and accurate of my experience with SHE. . My family and I are fortunate survivors of a previous house fire in which everything was lost. Again this is incorrect, “Customer was upset and emotional from initial call and became hostile.” This statement confirms ****’s inept abilities to professionally deal with customers during times of crisis and his non empathetic human nature. I would have great reason to be upset and emotional if I were at that time.

As a professional in the work force, I am constantly surrounded by consumer complaints and attempt to rectify all situations. Some consumers refuse to negotiate or cannot be helped. I believe this event could have been handled at the manager’s level, but **** refused to acknowledge my concerns and complaints as a consumer. I questioned the behavior, attitude and rudeness conduct of the service technician, ***. After my interaction with ****, I can clearly see that this type of behavior is acceptable and the values and mission of the company are solely based on monetary reward.

In conclusion, South Hills Electric LLC is not standing by the BBB Accreditation standards of, “a commitment to make good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints” per www.bbb.org. Also according to BBB Code of Business Practices, SHE is risking compliance with section 1D (D. Be free of an unsatisfactory rating and maintain at least a B rating at the accrediting BBB and the BBB where it is headquartered, if different) per www.bbb.org. Requesting a partial refund is not obscene considering I still have wires hanging, a nonfunctional fan after an electrical fire, a breaker that trips off despite no change in electric use and fear of an electrical fire that may consume my family, my-self or my home. The partial refund is necessary so that I can retain a morally right and reputable electrician’s service to fix the electrical problems in my home and ease my fears and worries.

Sincerely,

******* *****

 

 

 

8/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service