BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Catholic Match LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Catholic Match LLC

Phone: (800) 960-6057 Fax: (412) 253-0649 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 154, Zelienople, PA 16063 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.catholicmatch.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Dating Service

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Catholic Match LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Catholic Match LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 23

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 06, 2001 Business started: 02/01/1998
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian Barcaro, Partner Mr. Jason LaFosse, Partner Mr. Michael W Lloyd, Partner Ms. Louise Stashak, Principle Ms. Sandy Zauher, Customer Service
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Barcaro, Partner
Principal: Mr. Jason LaFosse, Partner
Principal: Mr. Michael W Lloyd, Partner
Customer Contact: Ms. Sandy Zauher, Customer Service
Business Category

DATING SERVICE INTERNET SERVICES COMPUTERS SOFTWARE & SERVICES

Alternate Business Names
Acolyte LLC CatholicMatch.com
Industry Tips
Dating Services

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 154

    Zelienople, PA 16063

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (724) 630-8303(Phone)
  • (888) 267-8885(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up on the Catholic Dating site to meet men in my area. This company did not send me prospective dates in my area but several hundred miles away. None of the men I was sent a profile of contacted me nor wanted to meet me. The two men that they sent to me that were somewhat close to my home were divorced which is a vilation of the Catholic church to date a divorced man without an annulment. My credit card was automatically billed without my agreement to cancel prior to the automatic renewal. I cnotacted the company to cancel and refund my money and they refused. The customer service dept advised that I could cancel buth they would not return any refunds even if it had been less than a month since the renewal was processed. I have been since locked out of the website and computer advised that I can rejoin to enter the website.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of all of my payments since this company did not advise that I nay never find anyone in my geographical area to meet. The did not hestiate to take my money and to satisfy me sent me possible contacts of 100 miles or more.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this complaint.

After reviewing our records, I see that Ms. *****  first purchased our 6 month subscription on 10/4/2012 for $74.95 and that she used our subscription-only features to read and send messages to other members from that date. On 4/8/2013, her 6 month subscription automatically renewed at a discounted price of $49.95 for another 6 months. During that time, Ms. ***** continued to use our subscription-only features to read and send messages to other members from that date through 8/21/13. After that date there was a lull in using her account, but her subscription again automatically renewed on 10/11/2013 for another 6 months, since she didn’t turn off her automatic renewal feature beforehand. Then , beginning on 1/17/14 through 2/2/14, Ms. ***** once again used her subscription to read and reply to messages she received. Finally, her subscription once again automatically renewed on 4/15/14 for another 6 months at the discounted price of $49.95, because her automatic renewal was still turned on, however she hasn't read or sent any messages.

Having shared these facts, I also wish to note that during this same timeframe,  Ms. ***** didn’t send us any help ticket disputing these charges, or did she contact us; it wasn’t until June 16, 2014 that Ms. ***** left us a voice mail message that she wanted to cancel her service. Once we received her message, we removed her account as she requested, and sent her a Help ticket with directions to recover her account so that she could use her subscription if she changed her mind; there was no mention in her message about wanting a refund.

Regarding her concern about the matches she received,  we provide matches who live up to 500 miles away; she does not have to accept the match if they live too far away. In addition, she could have used her Search feature to look for members who live closer, are in a certain age range, and who have a particular marital status. I see from our records, that Ms. ***** did not have her Search set to exclude Divorced members.

It would appear that Ms. ***** had questions about her account and subscription, but didn’t use our Help system to request guidance or answers to her questions, which we would have been happy to provide. That being said, since she did use our communication-only features to correspond with other members, we can only offer to refund her most recent renewal charge of $49.95. In addition, we are willing to give her a 6 month free subscription so that she can use our features as they are intended;  also, we are more than willing to answer any question she may have through our Help ticket system, and offer suggestions to use our features to her best advantage. Currently, although her account was removed per her request, she can re-activate it at any time by logging in to her account and clicking on the button to re-activate it. Or, we can re-activate it for her if she wishes.

In summary, we are very willing to refund Ms. ***** for her most recent subscription charge of $49.95, plus give her a full 6 month subscription at no charge, including any technical support or customer service support she requires in order to use our features to her best advantage.


Sincerely,

*****
CatholicMatch Customer Support

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After having a conversation with one person and being sent an indication of interest by two people I gave them my email address because my subscription was up for renewal and I didn't wish to renew it. The purpose of giving my email address was to continue the conversation offline.The next day I received an email that said the following: "As a reminder, the CatholicMatch messaging system is not to be used to send offsite contact information in mass amounts or without the prior consent of the receiving member. Your attempts to bypass the website security features is alarming not only to us but also to those who you are contacting. I recommend taking the time to review our Safety Page, which contains further information on safety as it relates to Online Dating to ensure that you can identify suspicious behavior and that you do not continue to exhibit the initial red flags so that you can move on to become successful in your search. To continue to use CatholicMatch without interruptions, please ensure that your future correspondence exhibits safe online dating practices by waiting until you and your contacts have had a chance to build a comfortable level of trust with each other before sharing offsite contact information."It was clear that the company had been reading the messages I had been sending, a clear violation of privacy, so I replied and called them out on it, stating: I paid for the service, I can give my email address to who I please, and my speech is protected by the First Amendment, and they don't want me communicating off the site because it is bad for their business. I told them not to warn me again or I'd get a lawyer and file a complaint with BBB. ****** in Customer Service responded with "Because you have indicated that you are not willing to follow the website's Terms of Service, your account has been removed and your subscription has been refunded in full. We wish you all of the best and are sorry that we could not serve you."

Desired Settlement: I want to be able to sign back up for the website.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mr. ******’s complaint.

After reviewing our records, I see that we did warn ****** on 6/9/2014 that he was not using our messaging system properly. Specifically, there were 4 members, each to whom he sent a message which included his e-mail address. This was before any indication by the member that she was interested in communicating with him further. To explain, many members send basic emotigrams just to acknowledge appreciation that someone sent them a message, or because they haven’t yet purchased a subscription. If they choose to communicate further, they will sent a more detailed message or purchase a subscription to continue corresponding.  Here are the details:

5/5/2014 - Mr. ****** sent ********** a message including his e-mail address without having received any notice of interest from the member

5/5/2014 - Mr. ****** sent ************ a message including his e-mail address without having received any notice of interest from the member

4/7/2014- ************ sent an emotigram without a message to Mr. ******, who then replied to her with an emotigram without a message. Then on 5/7/14, he sent ***** a message asking her a question, to which she never responded. Then on 6/8/2014, he sent her another message including his e-mail address.

5/5/2014 - Mr. ****** sent member *********** a message asking her a question, and she sent him an emotigram on 5/16/14 without any message included.  Then on 6/8/14, Mr. ****** sent **** another message which included his e-mail address.

Because of these incidents, along with a mass messaging on 6/8/14 of his e-mail address to other members he had already been in contact with, our security processes were triggered and Mr. ****** was sent this warning via our Help ticket system:

“Dear ***,

As a reminder, the CatholicMatch messaging system is not to be used to send offsite contact information in mass amounts or without the prior consent of the receiving member. Your attempts to bypass the website security features is alarming not only to us but also to those who you are contacting. I recommend taking the time to review our Safety Page, which contains further information on safety as it relates to Online Dating to ensure that you can identify suspicious behavior and that you do not continue to exhibit the initial red flags so that you can move on to become successful in your search. 

To continue to use CatholicMatch without interruptions, please ensure that your future correspondence exhibits safe online dating practices by waiting until you and your contacts have had a chance to build a comfortable level of trust with each other before sharing offsite contact information.

Customer Support”

On the same date, 6/9/2014, Mr. ****** replied to this warning with the following:

Dear Customer Support,

First, I'll send my email address to whoever I please. It's a free country, I paid for this service, and I believe sending an email is probably protected by First Amendment Rights. Second, as a 30 year old man, I'm not exactly in fear of any of the women on this Christian dating site, so I don't need a safety reminder. If they don't want to talk to me they don't have to email me. Third, I already had conversations of varying degrees going with everyone I sent an email address to last night, and I only sent three of them.

Last, it's now abundantly clear to me that you've been reading my messages to other members, which is a huge privacy violation and undermines a network such as this. You really only sent this message because it's bad for your business model if people exchange information instead renewing their membership, allowing you to collect another $30/month. Since you advertise that you've been rated by the Better Business Bureau and since there are so many online reviews of this site, I'll be sure to file a complaint on those platforms about this email. And if you warn me again I might just go engage an attorney.

***”

Since it was clear that Mr. ****** did not intend to comply with our policy and replied with a hostile and threatening tone, for the safety of our members we removed his account and refunded his purchase of $29.95 in full on 6/9/2014.

We make our Terms of Use readily available to all of our members, and by creating an account on CatholicMatch, members agree to abide by those Terms. Specific to this situation, our Terms of Use state:

1. Agreement of Terms

We are excited to have you as part of CatholicMatch. Your account with CatholicMatch is governed by the Terms of Service below. These terms may be updated, with the account holder receiving notification by any of the following means: a) communication to the e-mail address registered with CatholicMatch b) postal mail c) Notification in a public area of the site.

When using different services provided by the CatholicMatch network you shall be further subject to any additional terms that may govern these particular services. The terms of these particular services are melded into the overall TOS described here. Examples of particular services include, but are not limited to, CatholicMatch Singles (CatholicMatch), CatholicMatch Events and CatholicMatch Forums.

6. Member Conduct

You understand that all content on the Service-including, but not limited to text, photographs, video or other materials, whether posted publicly or communicated in private is the sole responsibility of the person transmitting the content and the company cannot be held responsible if you are exposed to content that is offensive or objectionable in any way.

You agree that you are responsible for all content you communicate on the service, be it public or private, and further agree to the following terms:

6.5 You agree not to send offsite contact information in mass amounts or without first receiving consent from the receiving party.

6.12 You agree not to contact a member of CatholicMatch in any manner other than the CatholicMatch messaging system without the prior consent of the other member.

You acknowledge that CatholicMatch has the right to edit or delete any and all member-submitted content and to monitor the private messaging system where it is deemed necessary to the security of the company or another member. You agree that you bear all risks that come with relying on the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of all content found on the CatholicMatch network.

Mr. ******’s reference to the First Amendment and his right to free speech is very appropriate when preventing the government from making laws that prohibit him from saying what he thinks. This is not at issue here. Once Mr. ****** created his account, he agreed to abide by our Terms of Use; since he was not willing to comply with them, he was removed.

Now that we have explained the Terms that govern our site security, as well as what is required of our members, we are willing to re-evaluate the security process we used in this particular situation.  We have corresponded with Mr. ****** via our help ticket system with the following message:

“Dear ***,

I apologize on behalf of our customer support team for the way that you previous inquiry was handled. As a part of our website security processed, all communication is electronically scanned for suspicious or malicious content during transport. When our system found that you sent contact information in bulk, it created a security alert. When following up with the security alert, it was found that your communication was in violation of the website's Terms of Service and a warning was issued.

While it is policy to refuse services to any person who state that they are not willing to abide by the website's Terms of Service, if you are willing to abide by the website guidelines, including not sending contacting information in bulk or without the prior consent of the other member for your safety and the safety of other members, we are willing to reactivate your account.

Please contact us to let us know if you would like to give CatholicMatch another try and that you will abide by the safety guidelines set forth by the Terms of Service and we will be happy to reactivate your account.

Sincerely,
******
Customer Support”

As soon as we receive Mr. ******’s response, we will be happy to follow up with the appropriate action.

 

Sincerely,

*****

CatholicMatch Customer Support

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from Catholic Match cites the following actions on my part, which is what caused them to warn me about sending an email address to other members.  My member name is replaced with 'Complaining Customer' and the other members' names are replaced with Customer 1, 2, 3, etc.:


5/5/2014 - Complaining Customer sent Customer 1 a message including his e-mail address without having received any notice of interest from the member

5/5/2014 - Complaining Customer sent Customer 2 a message including his e-mail address without having received any notice of interest from the member

4/7/2014- Customer 3 sent an emotigram without a message to Complaining Customer, who then replied to her with an emotigram without a message. Then on 5/7/14, he sent Customer 3 a message asking her a question, to which she never responded. Then on 6/8/2014, he sent her another message including his e-mail address.

5/5/2014 - Complaining Customer sent Customer 4 a message asking her a question, and she sent him an emotigram on 5/16/14 without any message included.  Then on 6/8/14, Mr. ****** sent Customer 4 another message which included his e-mail address.

I understand if Catholic Match doesn't want you to include your email address in the first message you send to a person and am willing to accept that rule.   However, two of the examples cited here show either a) an initiation of contact by another person to the complaining customer or b) a response after the complaining customer initiated contact, but before the complaining customer sent the person his email address.  Messages get lost in the shuffle and responses can be slow, so if you have mutual contact with another person and you are comfortable with sending your contact information to do them, then you should be able to do so.  There is no delineation in the terms and conditions as to whether you have had prior contact with the individual or not.  

Secondly, it isn't part of natural conversation to say 'Would it be ok with you if I sent you my email address?".  Who talks like that?  Catholic Match's terms and conditions, as they are currently written, would require that you have to get prior consent from someone before sending them an email address, as if an email address was somehow offensive information.  That's a bit foolish.  

Lastly, and most importantly, the level of detail you can see in the excerpt of Catholic Match's response shows just exactly how much information they were able to read in my messages to other people - they were able to read all of it.  The fact that they knew I had sent a question to another user means that they read the message.  If the people running the company were smart, they would have just send an automated message to me saying 'Your last message didn't go through because you included your email address and it requires X number of back and forth messages for you to send an email address to someone.'  Instead, after their arbitrary threshold for 'mass messaging' was reached, they sent me a message indicating they had been reading my messages, and further confirmed it by their response through the Better Business Bureau.  This is the crux of my complaint to the BBB - not that I have to follow Catholic Match's rules as a user, but that it's incredibly concerning that they would be reading conversations between members.  The US government, Facebook, and other companies are under fire for tapping the phone calls of US citizens and governments, collecting data on users, and a general suspicion of the public that these entities are collectively spying on the American people.  One would think Catholic Match wouldn't be so tone deaf on those issues and would use software developers to code a better solution rather than having a Customer Support email users to notify them that they can see the content of the messages you have sent and don't like it.

Another point is that Catholic Match said I responded with a threatening tone and I wholly reject that assertion.  There are no threats in my response.

I am willing to accept the terms and conditions to use this service in the future, but those terms and conditions need to be more thoroughly explained under 6.5 and the company needs to come up with an automated system that notifies users they violated a condition when it happens instead of after the fact in an Orwellian Customer Service message.  I've never been scolded in such a way before for giving someone my email address than the following message, which is the original I had received:  "Your attempts to bypass the website security features is alarming not only to us but also to those who you are contacting."  No complaint by another user was cited in the response by Catholic Match to BBB that indicates anything I did was specifically 'alarming' to an individual.

In total, Catholic Match needs to improve its customer service approach.

   

Regards,

****** ****** 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Forgot my password and have been requesting it from the site for 6 weeks, they say they will email me my password, but never do. Have filled out several help tickets and even called and left messages on their toll free number with mo response. I am paying for something I can't use and am afraid they automaticly renew it if you don't cancel the renewal, can't get into the site to even do that. I really need your help. thank you ***** ****

Desired Settlement: I just want them to email me my password I forgot so I can get back into the site.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Ms. **** complaint.

Actually, I’ve already had the pleasure of speaking with ***** concerning her log in difficulty. I noticed on 6/5/2014 that we were not able to resolve her issue since it began happening on 5/8/2014. Upon further review, I noticed that although we were responding to each of her Help tickets, as well as sending her our password reset e-mail, she wasn’t opening any of our e-mails.

Since it appeared that there was a problem with either her e-mail address or her e-mail provider, I called ***** at her home number since this was the only other way to contact her. After verifying her e-mail address on her account, I gave her password to her, and stayed on the phone with her until she was able to log in to her account successfully. In addition, I encouraged her to contact her e-mail provider to stop blocking our e-mails to her. Finally as a courtesy given the situation, I applied 4 weeks to her subscription term at no charge.

At this time, Ms. **** has been able to log in to her account several times since I spoke with her on 6/5/2014, so this issue has been resolved.

Sincerely,

*****

Customer Support

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged on my credit card, asked for a refund within 24 hours with a help ticket, told that charges would not be refunded, never contacted by phone, there is no way to speak with a live person whatsoever only through a help ticket or a machine.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $106 and cancellation of subscription

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Ms. **********’s complaint.

After reviewing our records, I see that Ms. ********** purchased a 6 month subscription on 4/2/2014 for $74.95. I also see that the first time she contacted CatholicMatch was on 4/30/2014, when she sent a Help ticket that stated:

“This is not a charge that I accepted and I need it refunded. This is for a charge to a card ending in 7005, and made on 4/3/14, in the amount of $75!  Please call me back at **********”

We then responded on 5/1/2014 with the following, which was sent to the e-mail address on her account, which is the same e-mail address she used to log into her account to send us her initial Help ticket on 4/30/2014:

“Dear ***,

Thank you for contacting our help service. I'm not sure that I understand your message. I see that you purchased a six-month subscription on April 2nd from the same location in which you wrote this help ticket. To allow me to assist you further, can you explain why you entered your credit card information into your account to purchase a six month subscription without intending to do so?
Please don't hesitate to let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.
Sincerely,
******
Customer Support”

Ms. ********** never responded to our question, and sent us another help ticket on 6/2/2014 with the following:

“Pls refund amount and discontinue subscription. To answer question, I did not authorize use of my credit card. My card was used by an unknown person. This was very cruel and I would like a refund and pls end this subscription. Pls call me by phone. Thank you”

About an hour later on 6/2/14, we replied with the following:

“Dear ***,

I would be happy to help you. 
Since you used the subscribing features for over a month, our system will not allow us to issue you a full refund. If you would like, I can reduce your subscription to our one month subscription and refund you $45 for the difference. Please let me know if you would like this option. 

Please don't hesitate to let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.
Sincerely,
******
Customer Support”

Our records indicate that although Ms. ********** did open and read our response, she never replied. Then finally, on 6/4/14, she sent us a final ticket stating:

“I need someone to call me at **********. This is a horrible horrible system of contacting. I leave a message and get no response whatsoever”.

At this point, we gave our standard response that we were still waiting for her to respond to our previous reply.


As you can see, we have replied to Ms. **********’s requests, however, she has not responded, even though we have a record that she did open and read our replies that were sent to her e-mail, which again, is the same e-mail address she used to log in to her Catholic Match account and send her Help tickets.

All throughout the time she was sending tickets requesting a refund and we were responding, she continued to use our subscription-only services to read and send messages to other members, the latest date being 6/8/2014, when she read a message sent to her by member **************.

At this point, we can’t reconcile the amount of $106.00 Ms. ********** is claiming to be refunded, nor can we agree that she wasn’t aware of the charge to her credit card, especially when she continued to use the same computer  to access her account and subscription services, as well as our Help ticket process.  In addition, she waited almost one month after the charge went through before contacting us. Concerning not calling her, we state in our Help ticket page and in our FAQs that we only provide support through our Help ticket process.

Having explained this, even though she has used over 2 months of her 6 month subscription, we are still willing to only charge her $29.95 for a one month subscription and refund her the difference from the $74.95 that she paid, which would be $45.00.

As soon as we receive her reply, we will be happy to assist her further.

Sincerely,

 

*****

Customer Support

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I do think that it is poor business practice to have no communication by phone

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my membership was renewed, and my credit card charged, with NO notification to me. When I attempted to contact the company about this, there is - no phone number- my online 'ticket' was replied to with an automated response there was and is still no resolution to my inquiry. All I want is for my profile to be closed down/deleted, and, for Catholic Match to refund me for the unauthorized charge. Horrible customer service and poor business practice.

Desired Settlement: refund for $49.95 charged without permission in October 2013 and $49.95 charged without permission in April 2014

Business Response:

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to this complaint.

According to our records, Miss ******* purchased a six month subscription for $74.95 on 04/16/2013. Right above the button where she placed her order, we very clearly stated,

 By continuing you agree to the Terms and Conditions of Purchase and understand that your credit card will be charged each billing period until you decide to cancel."

We also stated the automatic renewal policy on the order confirmation receipt, and provided a button on her account page if she decided that she didn’t want to continue her subscription after the 6 months were over. However, our records show that she allowed her subscription to automatically renew again on 10/19/2013, and again on 4/23/2014, being charged the discounted renewal  rate of $49.95 each time.

Miss ******* states that she didn’t receive any notification that she would be charged. However, we did send an e-mail notification to her e-mail address on file ***************** within one week before each of the renewal dates, as well as provided a large blue button that could be easily seen on her account page, that would have disabled the renewal feature at any time she wished. If she didn’t receive it in her e-mail, it could have been because her e-mail provider delivered it to her SPAM folder instead, however, we did send it to her.

In addition to Miss ******* allowing her subscription to automatically renew, our records also show that she used her subscription-only features to read and reply to messages with other members such as ***** *** ******** ****** ******** *** ***** throughout the first subscription renewal period that began on 10/19/2013 and ended on 4/22/2014; she would not have been able to do this if her subscription had not renewed.

Finally, since we are an internet service, we provide our members the convenience of our Help ticket support process instead of phone support; since we serve members from all over the world, this process provides timely and cost efficient support. Members can always find our phone number from their statement if they need to leave a phone message for us, to which we will reply via help ticket, as we did in her case.

In conclusion, a member of our Customer Support team responded to Miss ******* on Monday, April 28, 2014 at 11:54am EST, informing her that we did remove her account from CatholicMatch and that we did refund one of her renewal charges for $49.95. We also explained that because she used our subscription-only features, we were not able to refund her for the other subscription renewal.

At this time, no other action is being considered.

 

Sincerely,

*****

CatholicMatch Customer Support

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unlawful advertising. Billed for several months of service instead of only one. Company refusing to provide refund.

Desired Settlement: I expect to my Bill for the month of February to be refunded in full.

Business Response:

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to this complaint.

According to our records, Miss ******  purchased a one month subscription for $29.95 on 10/31/2013. Right above the button where she placed her order, we very clearly state “By continuing you agree to the Terms and Conditions of Purchase and understand that your credit card will be charged each billing period until you decide to cancel."

We also provided a button on her account page if she decided that she didn’t want to continue her subscription after that month was over. However, our records show that she allowed her subscription to automatically renew again on 12/1/2013, and again on 1/1/2014, and again on 2/1/2014, being charged $29.95 each time.

In addition to her allowing her subscription to automatically renew, our records also show that she used her subscription-only features to read and reply to messages with other members throughout each subscription renewal period.  Her last subscription automatically renewed on 2/1/2014 for $29.95, and the last message she read from a member was on 2/10/2014, which she would not have been able to do if her subscription had not renewed. Because of this, we refused a full refund.

Miss ****** didn’t contact us about her last automatic renewal that occurred on 2/1/2014 until 2/24/2014, and once she did, we replied less than 2 hours later explaining our automatic renewal policy and asking her for feedback as to why she no longer wanted to use her subscription.  She then replied three days later on 2/24/14 demanding a refund for the month of February and threatening us to contact the Better Business Bureau as well as take legal action. We then explained why we couldn’t process a full refund.  Please see the attached document with our correspondence.

At this point, as a gesture of good will, we are willing to only charge Miss ****** $9.95 for the 10 days that she used her subscription and refund the difference which would be $20.00.

Upon her acceptance of our offer by her reply through your complaint procedure, we will be happy to process the refund right away.

 

Sincerely,

*****

CatholicMatch Customer Support

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this complaint.

After reviewing our records, I see that Mr. ***** left us a voice mail message about his son *****’ account, explaining his son’s disability and that he wanted a refund for the subscription renewal charge of $49.95. Because we serve members from all over the world, we only provide very limited phone support to our members; we provide our Help ticket system which gives the fastest response times.

I'm not able to comment on the conversation Mr. ***** had with a customer service person previously because there are no notes on the account about a verbal conversation and we don't provide phone support. However, after reviewing Mr. *****’s message, we immediately sent his son a Help ticket on 1/9/2014 at 3:09pm EST explaining that we refunded his $49.95 charge and from that point he had only a free account with limited access to our features.  It was recorded on that same ticket that he read our message and he closed the ticket the same day at 5:38pm EST (see attached).

At this time, I have now removed *****’ account as Mr. ***** has requested in this complaint. I believe that this issue has now been adequately resolved.

Sincerely,

*****

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have repeatedly asked that there be no more e-mails sent to me and have been ignored. I left a message on their phone in Zelienople, Pa and my phone call was ignored. There is no way to "unsubscribe" from their mailings. None of their mailings have an "unsubscribe" option. I believe this is in violation of some law.

Desired Settlement: Take me off your e-mail list and notify me that you are doing so.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this complaint.

To explain, we don’t provide an “unsubscribe” option to our e-mails because we aren’t required to because of the nature of our business. We only send e-mail notifications to our members who have created an account with us, and therefore receive our e-mail notifications as part of their service. If a member no longer wants to receive our e-mail notifications, they are required to remove their account per our Terms of Service.

After reviewing our records, I see that Mr. ****** sent us a Help ticket on 10/3/2013 asking to be removed from our mailing list; on that same day we responded giving him directions so that he could remove his account, see attachment. It would appear that he never read our reply. In addition, since we serve members from all over the world, we only provide very limited phone support to our members; we provide our Help ticket system which give the fastest response times.

That having been said, we do review our phone messages and if enough information is given in the message to find the member in our database, we will respond via Help ticket to that member. It would appear that Mr. ****** did not leave enough information or didn’t spell out his last name in the message for us to be able to locate him and resolve the issue.

At this time, I have now removed Mr. ******’s account, which will also remove him from our e-mail list.  By removing him, he will receive one final e-mail from us letting him know that his account has been removed.

I believe that this issue has now been adequately resolved.

Sincerely,

*****

Consumer Response:

The company "Catholic Match" repeatedly did not respond to my requests for being unsubscribed. They indicate that they recorded only one request from me  This is not true; I made many requests over a period of several months.  Furthermore, why didn't they take my name off their mailing list as requested with the request they admitted to having received from me last October, instead of sending me another e-mail (as they now claim) to follow their additional instructions to complete the unsubscribe with them.  This is a form of harassment.

Their response was that they are not required to have an "unsubscribe" feature on their mailings.  For the record, I never subscribed to their service as they have now implied.  Also, when I finally found their phone number through intensive search, I left a message on their telephone with my name and phone number pronounced very clearly and repeated twice.  It appears to me that this is a company who disregards the public unless their is a complaint filed against them. They must have an "unsubscribe" feature on their e-mails to make me satisfied.  I will not be happy until they have an "unsubscribe" feature because I don"t want others to go through what I did for a very, very simple request.

Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Part of the service offered by CatholicMatch is participation in various discussion forums. The staff does not seem to actively police what happens there very much; the site users are forced to fend for themselves, although you can submit specific complaints. Unfortunately, the way they handle those complaints is apparently completely arbitrary without any particular eye for justice.In one particular instance, there was a user who was well known for posting inflammatory and insulting thing just to get people angry. (Keep in mind this website advertises itself as a Catholic one, which rather implies that this sort of thing should not be tolerated.) I called him on it on a number of occasions and pointed that he was being a "troll." It was abundantly clear that I was using it in the common internet sense of somebody who was being outrageous to get a rise out of people. I offered no personal insults to the individual, I just often warned others who were getting sucked into his rants that he was a troll.The individual openly admitted that he was trying to upset people ("poking the hive" as he put it), and proceeded launch into a series of personal insults. For instance he wrote about me: "You are a rude mean racist ugly (in a character sense) LITTLE man of the worst sort, a true troglodite living in your cave and coming to light only to be nasty and mean." (in the original he also put this sentence in bold and underlined it.) He also complained to site management that I engaged in name calling by labeling him a "troll."Site management suspended my posting ability for a week. Since his posting did not pause, obviously he received no such suspension.I attempted to point the whole story out to site management, but this did not seem to matter to them. My suspension was not lifted, I received no refund or extension for the period where I was deprived of the ability to use the service that I paid for. No apology was offered. There appeared to be no action taken against the other person.

Desired Settlement: First, I'd like an apology and an acknowledgement that the way they handled the situation was completely unjust.Second, I'd like a subscription refund. I still have screenshots of some of the exchanges.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention.

After reviewing our records, I see that Mr. ****** has been an active member on CatholicMatch since May, 2008 and still has an active account with us.

On January 28, 2013, we sent a Help ticket to Mr. ****** concerning the fact that he called one of our members a “troll” in a forum discussion. Regardless of whether the term was used properly to describe the other member’s actions, our forum policy which is displayed on our forum page states:

#2  No personal inflammatory comments. This includes, but is not limited to the following:

  • You may not question a person's Catholicity. You may only question the Catholicity of their ideas, so long as it is backed up with approved Church documentation.
  • Telling someone you will pray for them and doing it in a snide context. If you have prayers to offer, do them in private, and not as a weapon to win an argument.
  • Implying that a disagreement with your position makes a debate opponent hard-hearted or otherwise short of character.
  • Telling those who disagree that they are mentally ill or otherwise unstable.
  • Name calling

With any discussion forum, we realize that conflicts can arise between members with differing opinions. Even if opinions are contrary to Catholic teaching, we believe that people can be corrected in their understanding through charitable responses, which can lead to a change of opinion when a doctrine is properly understood. Whenever members behave contrary to our forum rules, it is our standard procedure to issue a warning and if necessary suspend access to the forums to allow for a “cooling off” period, as well as to allow the ability for administration to conduct more in depth research. While we do have “moderators”, who are other members who monitor discussions for compliance, any of our members can file a report when they see someone not following our forum rules. Once we receive a report, we act swiftly.

In Mr. *****’s case, we issued our standard warning and a suspension to him as well as to the other member involved. To protect the privacy of our members, we don’t divulge what action was taken against the other member involved, which is why it appeared to Mr. ****** that no action was taken against the other member. At the end of Mr. *****’s 7 day suspension on 2/4/2013, his forum privileges were re-instated; please be aware that during those 7 days, Mr. ****** had full access to all of our other features. While we do offer forum discussions as feature, they are only an added bonus for our subscribers and not essential for the purpose of our site, which is to find a member with whom to start a relationship leading to marriage. Mr. *****’s suspension did not affect his ability to communicate with other members for the purpose of finding his match.

In conclusion, Mr. ****** did violate our forum rules, to which we responded using our standard process as we've done for other similar forum issues. Also, Mr. *****’s suspension was lifted after 7 days during which time he had full access to all of the features necessary for the purpose of our site, which is finding a relationship leading to marriage. Based on these factors, we believe that no apology is required, nor any refund of his subscription price of $49.95.

Consumer Response:

Unfortunately, the response given was rather disingenuous. 

While it is true that they do not divulge actions taken against members transgressing against the rules, this has nothing to do with my sure and certain knowledge that the other person did not receive a similar suspension.  There was no one week gap in the other person's posting, ergo it is impossible for him to have gotten a week's suspension.  There was a gap of a few days (4) during that period.  Whether that was simply due to the other person not logging in for a few days or because there was a lesser suspension given, I can not say for certain.  I can say for certain that it was not a week.  As can be seen from the attached documents containing screen shots of the conversation, I was not the one driving the nastiness.  Yet I was unquestionably the one whom site management chose to arbitrarily suspend for the longer period (assuming we believe the claim they suspended the other person at all). 


It is also possible that the suspension site management is referring to was an earlier one, unrelated to the exchange in question.  This earlier suspension can reasonably be asserted to have happened because there was a significant gap in his posting history, and when he resumed, he flatly stated that he had been suspended.  In this instance he was making hateful comments towards a woman on the site and making general anti-American commentary.

In their response to the present complaint, site management has claimed to you that "Whenever members behave contrary to our forum rules, it is our standard procedure to issue a warning and if necessary suspend access to the forums to allow for a “cooling off” period,"  This goes to my contention that disciplinary matters are handled in an arbitrary and capricious manner.  Reading this "procedure," one might get the (false) impression that they attempt to issue an warning, and then "if necessary" issue a suspension if the warning fails.  This is not the case.  They made no effort to resolve the situation with a warning.

I do not deny that site management has the right to make rules for behavior.  However, as this is a paid service, they absolutely have an obligation to enforce those rules consistently and across the board.  Catholic Match flatly fails to do this. Consider that in this instance the other individual has a long history of widely attacking other posters, has a disciplinary history of at least one known suspension, and can not be argued that he was doing anything other than launching personal attacks on other people (I still maintain that I was complaining about his disruptive behavior, not name-calling per se.  I will concede that the point can be argued.  It can not be argued that what I was doing was anything but much tamer than the other person).  Despite that I had never been suspended or even given a formal warning prior to this, I somehow drew the harsher penalty.  This is completely arbitrary and capricious on the part of site management, especially when you look at the exchange that occurred (see attached document).

Site management tries to minimizes what they did by claiming that the forums are merely a "bonus."  As a paying customer, I arguably get to decide what part of the service I am paying for constitutes the mere bonus and what is the part I'm interested in.  Furthermore, site management frequently sells itself as more than just a dating service.  They openly state that they are trying to "build a community."  The following quotes are from the co-founder:

"I can tell you as a co-founder my vision has always been one in where CM was intended to stand firmly in support of our Faith but to be inclusive to all who who were seeking to grow in their faith and to find their spouse. This is why from day one we have always tried to encourage community interaction and not exclusively focus on only the "matchmaking" part. As proud as I am of all the marriage and families that have begun as a result of being introduced on CatholicMatch I am as if not more proud about the fact that so many single found a place where they could find hope and an opportunity to grow closer to God through our members and our content."

"While we wish we could help every person who signs up meet their spouse we know that is not possible. But we still want to provide a service that offers them personal growth and a positive experience."

Since in their response they choose ignore this and take the line that they are simply a dating site and I don't need to expect anything else from them, that raises the question of how ethical are business practices that include "matches" from other countries well outside the distance where it is practical to date?  I don't know if it is appropriate to start that line of complaint here and now, so I will file that as a separate complaint.  Should the current one get resolved to my satisfaction, I will not have any objection to wrapping the other up as well.


Along a similar line, site management claims I "still ha[ve] an active account"  with them. I'm sure that claiming I (and others like me) have an "active" account boosts the numbers they claim in their advertising, but I will point out that I have not renewed my subscription since this incident, I cannot communicate with any other members, and I do not log in on anything that could be remotely called a regular basis. 

Again, I do not deny the site the right (or arguably the obligation) to establish rules.  But they have an obligation to enforce those rules in an equitable manner.  That manner in which I was conducting my conversations was well within the bounds of what they had been tolerating.  If they wanted to tighten the standard, so be it, but some kind of notification was in order.  It is especially galling that they chose to be more tolerant of somebody who was consistently far more out of line than I. 

In conclusion, I was denied access to a service for which I had paid in an arbitrary and capricious manner.  As a paying member, I was absolutely entitled to be treated in a fair and equitable manner vis-a-vis other members.  Site management failed to at all take into the account the behavior they regularly tolerated in others, nor did they take into account the established history of misbehavior of others when they chose to hand out their disciplinary measures. 

Regards,

**** ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

12/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My profile was removed from the Catholicmatch site, because I have shared my e-mail contacts with a few members on this site. Nowhere in the Terms of Service says that I am not allowed to do that. I received a warning from a CM customer service member and when I submitted a help ticket asking to challenge this my profile was removed. They told me that they will remove my profile if I continue to share my e-mail and I followed these instructions, but wanted to challenge this warning and the CM support staff removed my profile.

Desired Settlement: Reinstate my profile + the remaining days of paid membership I had. I request a written apology from the CM staff for the unfair treatment.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this complaint.

After reviewing our records, I see that On November 30th 2013, Ms. ******* contacted 11 members in a row with whom no prior message was sent by the other member to her. In those messages the content was very similar, if not exact:

"Hi (member name), I liked your profile very much, would you review mine to establish if you are interested, too? I have actually decided not to renew my subscription here (because there are very few people, who I find suitable even from a first sight), so if you would like to please write me to ********************* . God bless, *****”

This is considered “spamming” activity and our Terms of Service prohibit this type of activity:

6.4 You agree not to transmit "junk mail", "spam", "chain letters", or unsolicited mass distribution of e-mail, or to use the Service for any commercial purposes

Because this type of activity is prohibited, our security processes were engaged. We immediately sent her a Help ticket asking her to refrain from this activity not only because it violated our Terms of Service, but also because it placed her own safety at risk:

“Dear *****,

It has come to our attention that you have been sharing offsite contact information in your first message to them. Not only does this put you in a potentially unsafe situation, it is also a violation of our site's Terms of Service.

Please know that there are a number of security checkpoints in place on the site, however, we are unable to afford any level of safety to you if you choose to bypass these security features by sending offsite contact information too soon. I recommend that you take the time to review our Safety page, which contains further information on safety as it relates to Online Dating. 

In order to continue using the site, make sure that you exchange a number of messages with a member and have built a level of trust with that person before sharing your offsite contact information.

Please don't hesitate to let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Customer Support”

On the same date, November 30th,  Ms. ******* responded :

“Would you highlight to me the line in the Terms of Service, where it is stated, that I am not allowed to share my e-mails with other members and it says exactly on which message exchange I can do that? I thought I am reading such things very carefully and I have not omitted anything. If it actually violates the terms of service I would of course not do that - would you refer to me to the place where I can read those terms of service?”

Since this occurred over a weekend, we were not able to respond to her question until December 2nd. However, during that period of time, she continued to send her information to 6 more members who had not messaged her before:

“Hi (member name), I am taking some time off this site. If you find my profile interesting you can write me on ********************* in the meantime.”

By continuing to send  the same message to additional members, Ms. ******* displayed disregard for our initial warning to her, instead of complying with our request until we could answer her question.

We determined that for the protection of our members and the security of our site, Ms. *******’s actions warranted termination without refund; her subscription was due to expire on December 3rd  and we removed her account on December 2nd  according to our Terms of Service:

You agree to indemnity and hold CatholicMatch and all subsidiaries, partners, agents and employees harmless from any claim or demand, including reasonable attorney's fees, made by any third party due to content you submitted in either a public or private area of the CatholicMatch network, or due to your violation of the terms of service or of the rights of another CatholicMatch member.

At this time, we consider this issue resolved; we warned Ms. ******* to stop her activity which she chose not to do. We treated her fairly as we do others whom we have had to remove for not complying with our warning messages, both for the security of our site as well as the safety of our members. Regretfully, due to the serious nature of this incident, we are not offering her any refund or reinstatement of her account.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Dear BBB and CatholicMatch Site,

First of all I would like to highlight that according to the terms of this site revealing personal identifiable information is prohibited, the CM staff members have included both my first name, surname and e-mail address in their response and I would like to ask you to get all of that removed from the public areas of this site, because it also violates also EU regulations for privacy protection.

The business is not representing the picture in its completeness. After they sent me the initial warning, I asked for additional information which of the terms of service is violated by my behavior and why because in my best conscience I was not doing anything which this site is not meant to perform as a service (connect members and allow to initiate communication with members). They were incompetent to respond to my question, but assured me that my query is being reviewed and I was left with the impression that their initial response is not a final statement. Only on Dec. 2 I was warned that my account would be removed if I continue sharing my e-mail address, I still did not receive a clarification why, but I stopped sharing my e-mail address from the receipt of that message in order to stay on the safe side. After receiving this response without any additional details included I wanted to challenge this and sent several more support tickets, which were closed without further explanation one after the other, with the comment that this was a duplicate of the previous ticket and my account was closed after I opened these further support tickets as some kind of punishment, that I am bothering the customer support team with my questions. 

Today for the first time I received the requested clarification about the business' interpretation of the terms of service, because for me sharing my offline contacts and initiating correspondence in the context of a dating site! is considered a normal practice.

I am getting the impression, that the business is putting additional unnecessary pressure on members and the oblique plan is that they stay longer on this site as paying members (each time when in chatting we exchange e-mails there is a warning message advising us not to) instead of taking the communication offline; by doing so they are preventing members from utilizing the site for the very purpose it is designed to serve and namely as a platform to connect members and enable them to develop a relationship (outside the virtual world).

I am attaching a proof below that the business has intentionally not included all of the information in their response to my complaint to BBB.

On Mon, Dec 2, 2013 (10:24 AM), Customer Service wrote:

Dear ...,

By choosing to include your personal contact information in every message that you send, you compromising your own safety in addition to the safety of other members. If continued, your account will be removed.

Please don't hesitate to let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

Customer Support

On Mon, Dec 2, 2013 (3:53 AM), You wrote:

Hi ...,



Thank you for the response in further investigating this case, I would be happy to get more directions from the second level support team and get corrected if I have omitted anything or have the wrong interpretation, but so far I have acted with a clear conscience, believing that I am not doing anything, which can be considered as wrong.



Thanks in advance!



On Sun, Dec 1, 2013 (10:16 PM), Customer Service wrote:

Dear ...,


At this time, I've escalated this issue to our next level of customer support; they will respond back to you after they review this further.

Please don't hesitate to let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Customer Support

 

Regards,

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

12/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON November 4,2013 I received a charge on my credit card of $49.95. On November 11,2010 when I received the invoice on my online banking I immediately contacted Catholic Match.org, on their help line, and provided them with all the information they required. I also explained that I was a 69 year old married woman and never applied for their services. I received a message back from them that I must have been a victim of fraud and I should cancel my credit card. However, my card was never used for anything else. I emailed them back with this info and asked to hear from somebody in their organization. I have not received any correspondence from them since and the charge still remains

Desired Settlement: I would expect that Catholic Match .org would refund my credit card. They have all the information to do that, as I included it in my e-mail.

Business Response: Thank you for this reminder; I apologize for my late response.

After reviewing our records, I see that we have been in contact with Ms. **** since November 15, 2013, the date she filed the complaint. She had forgotten that she allowed her son *******, to use her credit card to purchase a 6 month subscription on CatholicMatch on April 28, 2013. *******'s subscription then automatically renewed on 10/31/2013 for another 6 months at $49.95. but he did not inform his mother about this.

We refunded *******'s credit card in the amount of $49.95 on 11/18/2013 and removed her credit card information from her son's account; ******* seemed satisfied with this resolution.

At this time, we consider this issue satisfactorily resolved.

Sincerely,

*****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I joined Catholic Match and another user on the site in the forums accused me of being someone from a while back who used the site. Without any proof she attacked me in an open forum and I replied nicely stating that I didn't appreciate it. Minutes later my account was deleted with no prior warning whatsoever or explanation and they kept my money. I was signed up for only six hours. Terrible immature bullying on this site and the website's owners /management couldn't care less.

Desired Settlement: My account reinstated as I did absolutely nothing wrong. Furthermore I will also go to the *** news along with channel ***** *** * news stations if my account is not reinstated.

Business Response:

Thank you for allowing us to respond to this complaint.

After reviewing our records, Mr. ***** ******* first opened an account with CatholicMatch on February 3, 2009, and was active on and off until he removed it on April 18, 2013. However, during the April 14-17th time frame, we received numerous complaints concerning Mr. *******'s use of antagonistic verbiage in our Forum discussions, where he insulted specific members and caused disruption to the discussion. As an example, he responded directly to a female member's post with:

Oooo a "back handed compliment coming from fatty" "LOL "”

Before our members are able to post in our Forum discussion, they are required to read and agree to abide by our rules, one of which states:

#2. ·  No personal inflammatory comments. This includes, but is not limited to the following:

  • You may not question a person's Catholicity. You may only question the Catholicity of their ideas, so long as it is backed up with approved Church documentation.
  • Telling someone you will pray for them and doing it in a snide context. If you have prayers to offer, do them in private, and not as a weapon to win an argument.
  • Implying that a disagreement with your position makes a debate opponent hard-hearted or otherwise short of character.
  • Telling those who disagree that they are mentally ill or otherwise unstable.
  • Name calling

Clearly, Mr. ******* violated this rule with his specific comment as mentioned, as well as other comments he made. Our Forum rules also state:

“The intent of the forums is to facilitate Catholic community. By enabling members to encounter each other in a group setting, the forums can facilitate friendships, relationships and marriages. The following terms of use are designed to protect the community atmosphere. In several of the points we have included examples of behavior that violate the spirit of the rules. If CatholicMatch administration determines a member to have violated the terms-in either letter or spirit-forum privileges can be removed and the member's account may be removed without refund.”

Since Mr. ******* already removed his account after this incident, we considered the issue closed. However, on 7/28/2013, Mr. ******* created a new account, and began participating in the forum discussions again. At that time, we were alerted that he had created a new account and we quickly removed him because of his prior Forum violations, refunded his subscription purchase of $29.95 and removed his account from CatholicMatch.

After reviewing this matter further, our team has decided that we will not offer Mr. ******* service on CatholicMatch. Since his subscription was refunded on August 5th  he should be receiving his refund of $29.95 soon, depending on the processing time of his bank or credit card company.

 

Sincerely,

*****

CatholicMatch Customer Support

Consumer Response:

What Catholic Match isn't telling or showing you, is the provocative verbal attack from a certain user ( we'll call her ****** for example ) in the forums who is a longtime member.  The response they posted was just my reply to her "shorty" comment regarding my height. So if this other can use the term "shorty", why can't I use the term "fatty"?.  You see, Catholic Match is a website that thrives on double standards and hypocrisy. They show favoritism to older members because they have paid more money over the years.  That's all CM cares about. They don't care about what's right and what's wrong. They themselves are guilty of greed.  As you can see, there is no violation to making a new profile months later and entering into the forums. Especially when I deleted my own profile of my own volition. This one certain long-time member saw me and immediately reported me for no reason. 

In closing, Catholic Match doesn't even deserve my money or me as a member at this point with how they conduct business.
 

 

Regards,

***** ******* 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for a 1 month period in April 2013 to see if I liked this service. I did not and closed my account that same month. I took out my picture, my information and wrote to them closing my account and why as it was asked of me through there prompts. In July of this year 2013, had not noticed they were pulling monthly hits on my bank account of $29.00. That same day, I went back on to my account, saw all my information was there in a different format and wrote to them that same day, you can see, I had not ever been on my account since I put it in writing to cancel, they wrote back the next week stating they would not refund me back even the new month? I cannot find on any web searches a phone number to contact customer service. The site stated in another area you need to check a box to remove future fund with draws and they never stated to me when canceling about this. This is a scam. I contacted my bank and had to cancel my card as so in the future they could not keep hitting my account. I want my money back of services I did not receive. I also want to warn others of this issue.

Desired Settlement: Refund, I was charged for services I did not receive. I cancelled in writing. They need to post a phone number for the company some where in this big wide web for customers to contact instead of only in writing.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

After reviewing Ms. *****’s account, I see that she did purchase a one month subscription on 3/1/2013, but that she never turned off her automatic renewal. As a result, we continued to automatically renew her subscription an additional 4 times at $29.95 each time.

On July 4th Ms. ***** contacted us through our Help ticket process with the following request:

Thu, Jul 4, 2013 (3:33 AM)


I cancelled my membership months ago and just found out from my bank statements you have been taking monies out for services I did not permit. I want my money back!”

 A few hours later that same day, we replied with the following:

“Thu, Jul 4, 2013 (7:30 AM)


Dear *******,

I am sorry to hear that you were not aware of our renewal policy in the Terms of Use. 

Please understand that in order to keep our customers as informed as possible about their renewal, we take several steps:

  1. Notification is included during the order process, payment confirmation and in your last order receipt.
  2. We provide easy directions for turning off auto-renewal in the FAQs.
  3. At any time you can see your subscription status and make changes by going to your Account page.
  4. Just above the button to submit your order, it clearly states, "By continuing you agree to the Terms and Conditions of Purchase and understand that your credit card will be charged each billing period until you decide to cancel."

CatholicMatch is charged hefty fees from the banks and credit card companies for each refund that is processed. As a smaller company, these fees add up and result in higher subscription costs for all our members which is why we act in good faith and try to make it easy for our subscribers to be aware of and understand our policies.

We provide subscribers with automatic renewal to ensure uninterrupted service, and most of our subscribers are thankful for this convenience.

As we consider your request for a refund, we would like to better understand why you no longer wish to continue as a subscribing member. Perhaps there is something we could have done better, or a question or concern we could have addressed?

We would appreciate any feedback you can give us.

Please don't hesitate to let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
******
Customer Support”

 

As you can see, we were very willing to consider Ms. *****’s request for a refund, and asked if she would provide a reason for not wanting to continue. We ask this of all of our members requesting a refund. Not only do we use the feedback we receive to improve our service, but during the interim we are able to review the account activity thoroughly to make sure our subscription services weren’t used during the period the refund was requested. However, I see that Ms. ***** chose not to respond, but instead write to you.

At this time, I have refunded Ms. *****’s credit card in the 4 amounts of $29.95 each, totaling $119.80. She should see these post to her account within 48 hours, depending on the processing time of her bank or credit card company.

Ms. ***** now has a free account and profile on CatholicMatch with limited access to our features.  While she is welcome to keep her free account for as long as she would like, if she wishes to remove it, instructions can be found on CatholicMatch in the Account and Billing section of the Help FAQs.

As always, we are available to assist her through our Help ticket process if she has any difficulty with those instructions.

 

Sincerely,

*****

CatholicMatch Customer Support

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After being a member of Catholic Match for a year and a half, I recently feel that I was treated unfairly and that customer service avoided my complaints. Before posting a topic in the public forums, I did a search for the same topic and found several. In fact, one of the founders of this website had participated in one of these thread, and a staff member had initiated a similar thread. I saw no problem in starting another thread concerning this same question. I posted and saw that my post disappeared. Because the site has glitches and this has happened to other members, I reposted. Well, that post also disappeared. In all, THREE posts were removed prior to contacting me. In most cases, a thread would be "locked," but they all just disappeared. Because these topics were allowed previously, I do not know why I was treated unfairly. When I contacted customer service, I was told that I would hear back shortly. The auto-message stated 24-48 hours. It was 4 days before I heard a response, and in the meantime, my help tickets were closed (so that I could not update) and at one time, I was banned from sending help tickets. This left me NO way to contact Catholic Match, which I thought was highly unprofessional.Customer service should treat members fairly and according to how Christians SHOULD treat others. I was disheartened by being ignored and mistreated. Catholic Match definitely could have handled this in a better way instead of banning me from sending help tickets and taking so long to proceed in dealing with my issue. Because these others topics had existed, I knew I could post this. Keep in mind, like I mentioned previously, that a staff member STARTED a similar topic and a founded had replied to another similar topic. There is no reason why I should have been treated in this manner. I was not offered any consolation, and I deleted my account because I cannot support this organization anymore. I feel it would conflict with my beliefs.

Desired Settlement: I feel a refund is appropriate. I should not have to force customer service to speak to me and handle issues. That is their job. Founders and customer service should always communicate with patrons and members; they would not exist without their customers. I received NO communication from customer service prior to them deleting my posts, and I should not have had to go through all of this unnecessary stress in order to deal with professionalism. However, I believe in being treated fairly.

Business Response:

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to respond to this complaint.

After reviewing Ms. ********’s records, I see that she sent 3 help tickets on the same day, Saturday, June 1st, 2013, within a short time of each other. The first one was sent at 9:40am, the second at 10:01am and the third at 10:35am. I also see that we responded to her concerns starting at 10:02am, which had she read would have eliminated the need for her send the third help ticket and may have de-escalated the issue.

In our response to her 9:40am ticket time stamped Sat, Jun 1, 2013 (10:02 AM), we stated:

Dear ****,

I apologise for any inconvenience. This was brought to my attention earlier this morning and at the time I contacted the moderator who removed your threads to request the reason why. As soon as I receive a response, I will respond to let you know.
Please don't hesitate to let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
******Customer Support

On 10:03am, we replied to her 10:01am ticket about the same issue with our response time stamped Sat, Jun 1, 2013 (10:03 AM) stating:

Dear ****,

This topic is being discussed in another help ticket. Please avoid creating multiple tickets on the same topic. The original can be accessed by clicking *****
At this time I am closing this duplicate ticket.
Customer Support

In Ms. ********’s Help ticket time stamped Sat, Jun 1, 2013 (10:35 AM) she stated at the beginning:

I see that my 2 help tickets were merged but are now closed without any resolution or explanation. Wow, this infuriates me further.

As you can see, we had already responded to her and explained why we had closed 2 of her tickets. We also stated that we would get back to her with the results of our research. At that point we met our service obligation, which is stated after our members end their ticket: “Subscribed members can expect a response in 1-2 business days”.  In reality, we responded within 30 minutes and described in detail the action we would take.

Concerning the issue that precipitated her sending a Help ticket, it involved post a topic in our Forum mentioning that she is leaving our site, and then using her subscription to solicit our community of members to figure out which competitor’s dating site she should use next. While we understand that members of one dating site often use other dating sites to find a match, it is in poor taste to actively solicit our members in the way Ms ******** did because she was leaving our site and stated that.

In her ticket time stamped Sat, Jun 1, 2013 (10:35 AM) Ms ******** also stated:

Below are several links of similar forum posts that were NOT deleted or locked. One was actually started by a staff member, and I saw ***** reply in one, at least.

********************************************************************* ********************************************************************* ********************************************************************* *********************************************************************

After reviewing these posts, I see that they are all dated from previous years, in 2010 and 2011, prior to us having forum moderators. That being said, one topic was started by our Blog editor who was garnering feedback from our members for her Blog article for our site; as you can see her reason for gathering the information was for a totally different purpose. The other posts didn’t mention that they were leaving our site to go to another dating site, just asking others opinions about the way these other sites worked. We don’t eliminate discussions about other sites, however, again, Ms ********* approach was different enough to be removed per our forum rules.

Finally, after Ms ********’s ticket with the above listings, we responded to her yet again, time stamped Sat, Jun 1, 2013 (11:30 AM) with the following:

Dear ****,
I'm sorry to hear of your frustration.

Upon review, I see that your duplicate help ticket was closed and that you were notified that we would contact you as soon as we receive response from the moderator who removed your posts. We are aware that the matter is not yet resolved and cannot provide a resolution until we have received word from the moderator.

No member is ever discriminated against and we are saddened to hear that you feel this way. In regards to your forum posts, please, please be patient until we receive the information needed to assist you further and refrain from creating additional help tickets. We cannot do anything further until we hear back from the moderator.
We promise that the matter will be addressed.
Customer Support

After our response on Saturday, we then received a follow-up reply from Ms ******** on the same ticket that we replied to on Saturday, June 1st, so we do know that she read our replies. In her follow up response time stamped Mon, Jun 3, 2013 (12:59 PM)  she stated:

It's been 48 hours, and I have yet to receive a proper explanation on why I have been treated in this manner. I have documented everything, and it's frustrating to know that CM does not care. I expected this to be taken care of and for me to be compensated. I was let down many times, despite my tedious efforts to remedy these situations. It's been disheartening and definitely a letdown.

In addition, on the next day, she sent yet another follow-up response time stamped Tue, Jun 4, 2013 (6:58 PM) which stated:

I wish I could thank you for handling this, but, of course, this has not been acknowledged. I can't say I'm surprised. I will be notifying proper contacts to proceed. This has all been documented. I tried to have this situation remedied, but I haven't received further contact. I do not wish to continue being a member and I have explained that to the hundreds that I stay in touch with. I am disheartened by this. If you change your mind and wish to contact me, my email is **************************. I hope that you do the right thing as we have been instructed to do as being Christians. This is such a shame.

On June 5th, time stamped Wed, Jun 5, 2013 (1:41 PM) we responded:

I apologise for the delay in my response. I had food poisoning which unfortunately kept me out of the office on Monday and Tuesday, however, I have returned to the office feeling much better today. I apologise if this seemed as though CatholicMatch does not care and if this was the reason you chose to leave.

After speaking with both ***** and *****, clear guidelines have been given for threads that discuss other dating sites. Threads that appear to promote products or other dating sites are not permitted, however, general discussions about products other dating sites are permitted.

Your second thread on the topic was removed because duplicate threads on the same topic are not permitted.
Please don't hesitate to let us know if you have any other questions or concerns.
Sincerely,
******
Customer Support

One that same day, time stamped  Wed, Jun 5, 2013 (2:49 PM) Ms ******** replied:

That's fine. I've already sent in the complaint. I checked previous threads on the exact same topics (links that I posted to you), so I have all the proof that I needed to justify why I was treated unfairly. I already saw other issues people have had with Catholic Match and have reported to the BBB, as well.

If others had been reprimanded as well, I could understand, but since I had already seen previous posts on these same topics that WERE allowed, this is obviously personal. I did not dsobey any rules. If so, others disobeyed as well. Why am I singled out? Other Catholic Match members don't understand, either.

Communication needs to be much better, as I explained in my formal complaint. I should've been told something originally, instead of the unprofessional way in which this was handled. How this was handled, or the lack thereof, has definitely left a bad taste in my mouth regarding Catholic Match, as I've explained to other members. Since other members are leaving as well, I know Catholic Match has take a turn for the worst. Many are dissatisfied and deleting their posts and ignoring their comments is not an honest, not Catholic/Christian approach. How disheartening.

At that point we believed Ms ******** was being unreasonable and uncooperative. Since her subscription had already ended on 6/4/2013, we permanently removed her from our site. In our final response time stamped Wed, Jun 5, 2013 (3:16 PM) we stated:

Dear ****,

We are sorry that we were unable to serve you to your satisfaction. Your complaint with the Better Business Bureau will be addressed. We wish you all of the best.

Customer Support

In conclusion, we believe that we did everything we could to work with Ms ******** to resolve the issue as it was happening, in a fair, courteous and professional manner. At this time, no refund is due and since we feel that we cannot provide the service that Ms ******** will find acceptable, we do not intend to re-activate her account.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

3/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service