Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides a full line of residential and commercial services in foundation repair, foundation waterproofing, and HVAC sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Matthews Wall Anchor Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Matthews Wall Anchor Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Matthews Wall Anchor Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 22, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA062644.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Joseph Norton, Owner Ms. Stephanie Cole, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Terry Brennan, Managing Director
Principal: Mr. Joseph Norton, Owner
Business Category

CONTRACTORS-GENERAL DRAINAGE CONTRACTORS FOUNDATION CONTRACTORS WATERPROOFING CONTRACTORS HOME IMPROVEMENTS CONCRETE REPAIR/LEVELING CONTRACTOR - COMMERCIAL SUMP PUMP CONTRACTORS FOUNDATION REPAIR & HOUSE LEVELING RAINWATER HARVESTING SYSTEMS AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - RESIDENTIAL AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - COMMERCIAL CONTRACTORS - RETAINING WALL FOUNDATION INSPECTION BASEMENT WATERPROOFING HOME REPAIR & MAINTENANCE

Products & Services

Matthews Wall Anchor Service sells the following brand(s): Earth Contact Products

Matthews Wall Anchor Service offers the following product(s): Earth Contact Products

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, credit cards, checks, and in house financing are accepted.
Alternate Business Names
Matthews Commercial Structural Matthews Mechanical Services Matthews Wall Anchor & Waterproofing Services MWA Acquisition LLC
Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Basement Waterproofing Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 7250 Big Beaver Blvd

    Beaver Falls, PA 15010 (724) 846-0440

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Matthews installed wall anchors at the residence. The walls moved so they installed a second anchor. The walls are still moving. Called Matthews to report movement. They said they would "monitor" movement. Monitoring is not solving the problem. The porch above the anchored wall is beginning to get fratures in the brick mortar. This needs to be resolved to stop further damages. The work is guaranteed, but the company is not taking action. Thank you for your assistance!

Desired Settlement: Repair the walls to stop movement as guaranteed. Otherwise anchors were installed to serve no purpose.

Business Response: We are aware of the issue with this customer and we have talked with her on several occasions.

We always strive for complete satisfaction with our clients and we will be calling her again shortly to see how we may be of further assistance.

We do warrant our products and services and we take any concerns very seriously.

We have performed over 16,000 foundation repairs since 1980 so we fully understand the processes.

When anchor work is installed it may change the mortor joints as the wall assumes it's correct position.

We will post a response once we see how we will be resolving her issues.

Sincerely,


***** *******
Managing Director




8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Warranty work from contractor was not thorough. 50 Year Transferrable Warranty not all cracked up to what it means.13 anchors were installed and residence continued to settle so I called for review and was told to keep an eye on the gap between the block. After several months the gap grew so I called contractor back.They dug up and exposed only a few of the piers that were installed disrupting the water service and gas service neglecting to call PA 1 and having the lines marked. They precariously worked in a 13 foot hole without proper safety measures. And improperly backfilled the hole with the same material (heavy clay) even though I volunteered to pay for gravel substitute claiming there was no way to dispose of the bad material. There are a few other issues.Why were the other piers ignored?They back filled on a day was not there to observe if the down spouts were damaged. I was working.The foundation continues to show signs of settling.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have this professionally repaired but I don't know what is best. I don't trust them to come out and rework everything under the circumstances as I am the second warranty owner. If a refund is possible I can use the money towards having another company work at raising the foundation properly.Sincerely,******* *****

Business Response:

We welcome the opportunity to respond to the letter that was tendered to you. 

We researched the given project and we are confident that we not only performed the work well, but that we also made ever attempt to rectify the owners concerns. 

The main points are as follows... 

The person that is requesting the refund (******* *****) IS NOT the customer that we performed the installation for in 2006. We did resolve the original owner’s issues and it was a closed matter. We recall ***** ******* and his wife because we actually put them up in a hotel the weekend that we did the redo work. We also paid for their meals. We did that as they didn't want to hear the work being done (can be noisy). We do have a transferable warranty, but the work was corrected and accepted by the *******'s.  

In fact, the project ended up costing us more than what we were paid. We accepted the responsibility of their needs and we were more than happy to provide a safe and thorough piering job.  

We have over 32 years as one of the country's finest structural repair companies. Our reputation is sterling and we take great care to meet the expectations and requirements of our customers. We have no outstanding complaints within our vast scope of clients over these many years. This is not a fly by night company that does poor work and then goes out of business. 

The accuser is refusing through the BBB to allow us to come back to inspect the alleged problem. We will always return as per the warranty. If the current owner wants us to come back to inspect the work, we will do that within our given schedule. 

The home is now permanently stabilized. Piering is a specialty that requires a lot of detail and we are certain that that home is now safe as per our modifications of the initial installation. 

We are always available to answer any questions or concerns of our customers. They can contact us directly if they want us to come back out. To dismiss us without the opportunity to address their concerns while asking for a refund is not something that we would consider. 

Please feel free to call me directly if there is anything else that I can assist the BBB with. 

  

Thank you, 


***** *******
Matthews Wall Anchor Service
 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Matthews Wall Anchor Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart