Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Presque Isle Concrete Contractors

Phone: (814) 838-1053 3011 Colonial Ave, Erie, PA 16506

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Concrete Contractor

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Presque Isle Concrete Contractors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Presque Isle Concrete Contractors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 31, 2012 Business started: 09/19/1992 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA066994.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mike Anthony, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Anthony, Owner
Business Category


Industry Tips
Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 3011 Colonial Ave

    Erie, PA 16506 (814) 838-1053


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received service from Presque Isle Concrete back in July 2014. Approximately 6-7 months after service was completed at my residence I noticed large cracks and pitting occurring throughout my driveway. I called Mike that owns the company and expressed my concerns with how the driveway matured over winter. I explained to Mike that I was unhappy with the pitting and cracking that occurred in numerous areas throughout the driveway. I asked Mike to come out to my residence to take a look at what I was talking about and he did. Mike advised me that the cracking was because of the cold weather and the pitting was because of the salt. Mike was able to apply a joint compound over the cracks which I understand but am not truly happy with the way it looks. Mike stated there was nothing he could do for the pitting and left it at that. I called make again approximately one month later about the pitting because the driveway is still chipping away. He again stated there was nothing he could do. I have had two different contractors out to my house. Both contractors separately stated the pitting (creators) in the driveways is due to improper sealant during install. I spent a lot of money on this project and I feel that the job was poorly done and rushed. The job was completed on day that rained and I feel that shotcuts were taken. Before I decided to go with Mike at Presque Isle Concrete I had numerous quotes from other companies. All businesses that I spoke to stated they were going to bring in stone to allow for proper drainage. Mike decided not to do this and I think this is why I have excessive cracking. I also have in two different areas concrete that is heaving up to one inches in areas. This has casued concern to my man door that I couldn't even open at one point. I also remember the day during install that they were running low on concrete and remember the contractors talking about it. They decided to continue to finish and now since they streached it I have water build up and low spots at the end of my driveway. I am very unhappy with the service.

Desired Settlement: I feel the concrete should either be repaired or refunded.

Business Response:

 John let me begin by saying we are sorry you aren't happy. We always to try our best on every job, unfortunately we are unable to control the weather and what mother nature does to our products after we place them.  In which I might add the winter of 2014 2015 was if not the worst winter on record for **** Pennsylvania. The frost had reached a point that it had never reach before and they ran out of the deicers in the middle of February according to the news . So let me address what you relate to me one more time, the cracks that we seen visibly which was not throughout the whole driveway but overbuy your bouquet and one in front of the door which I believe we chased it and caulked it with a polyurethane caulking to prevent the water from getting in freezing the following  winter in making them any worse. A service for which I may add we do not have to do because we did not cause your driveway to he and crack . And we did it for you at no charge .

 As far as the pitting from what I saw when I went out to look the first time it was exactly where you parked your truck and car, so the whole driveway was not pitting I didn't see one pit on the boat pad and walkway or anywhere near the driveway by the road  or driveway apron I also believe I mentioned to you about excessive Road salt dripping off your truck and the cars that winter I think you should reseal the areas that you park. I have been out several times since I look at it  in the spring of 2015 and have not noticed it getting any worse. Even after winter this spring 2016. 

 As far is running short on concrete I believe we ordered 2 1/2 yards extra (10%) and sent back a half a yard on that day which we did not need.   After we finished I believe we cured and sealed your job the sealer had ample time to cure before the rain came later on that night henceforth there were no visible damage from rain the next day when we came to cut it

 The day you paid us you had nothing to say but good things and how hard we worked but now because we worked hard you claimed we rushed it,  we don't believe in dillydally when it comes to work we come to work I'm sorry that you missed translated that as rushing it. We use nothing but the best products in our manufacturing of our product we use the best Concrete, the best steel reinforcement, and also we use the best curing seals possible to do  to do the best job that we can . In the past 40 years of pouring concrete in **** Pennsylvania I have never done anything but the best I can do as far as talking to other homeowners who called us and try to throw their concrete contractors under the bus, I can only say that winter of 2014 was a very bad winter And I am sure  The gentleman who put their job down was trying to do their best, you just can't compete against mother nature in a winter like that .


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Presque Isle Concrete Contractors
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)