Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Nick Scotti Concrete Contractor

Phone: (412) 486-1962 3041 Canterbury Dr, Allison Park, PA 15101 http://www.nickscotticoncrete.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a cement and concrete contractor.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Nick Scotti Concrete Contractor meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Nick Scotti Concrete Contractor include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Nick Scotti Concrete Contractor include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Nick Scotti Concrete Contractor
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 27, 1993 Business started: 03/01/1982
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA025176.

Business Management
Mr. Nick Scotti, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nick Scotti, Owner
Business Category

CONCRETE CONTRACTORS MASON CONTRACTORS PATIO & DECK BUILDERS CONCRETE - STAMPED & DECORATIVE FLOORS - GARAGE CONTRACTORS - RETAINING WALL DRIVEWAY INSTALLATION, PAVING & REPAIR

Alternate Business Names
Scotti, Nick Concrete Contractor
Industry Tips
Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 3041 Canterbury Dr

    Allison Park, PA 15101 (412) 486-1962

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr. ****** installed a very expensive stone patio for us 7 years ago. Every since the installation I have tried to get in touch with Mr ******. I think maybe I had one conversation seeing him on a job at ***** **** ******* and he said he would come by and look at the patio. At that point and time my problems were not as major as today. But needless to say he should have returned my phone calls. That is just poor customer service. I paid him $40,000.00 to install our patio, I think he could at least provide some customer service. I have tried to call his establishment many, many times in the past few years, not return calls. Tried to email him no response. I just recently spoke with a neighbor that said he did the same thing to her. Provided the work then she could never get in touch with him again. The stone patio he installed we have run into several issues that Mr. ****** needs to address. The stone is not level in various place and water is laying in those area causing water underneath in a room. He also did not bring the stone out over the brick on the edges of the patio which is causing major water in a room below. At this point a lot of the stones and mortar is crack with is causing water in the room below. I have sealed this patio every year, this should not be happening.

Desired Settlement: I think Mr. ****** needs to address the problems we have run into because of the installation of the stone patio. He needs to come out and reevaluate what he can do to solve the water problem we are having because he did not design parts of the patio the way it should have been. If he cannot provide us with the service he needs to financially pay for a 3rd party, which I will provide to cover the expense of his mistake. I really enjoyed working with Mr. ****** at the time. I am so disappointed that it has come to this but when you have customers spending this type of money you have to provide some type of customer service.

Business Response: First of all let’s start and say this patio is 8 years
old.  Within the first year of our
installation (2007 and 2008) we did return phone calls and met with customer
and did our best to satisfy customer.   We have just recently heard back from her
within the last 2 worst winters that ********** has not experienced in 30
years. Of course you will have some stones and cracking of mortar joints come
up after that type of cold and severe temperatures. And 8 winters gone by.  This is routine maintenance that a home owner
will have with a stone patio.

We believe that the issue of water coming in a room
underneath is happening for two reasons the concrete base and brick walls which
where not installed by our company.  We
placed the stones on the existing concrete base.  The base was not sloped (for water to drain
off) at ALL and we tried to slope as much as possible with the mortar bed that
our stones were laid in.  Also the bricks
that were used again installed by another contractor were very porous and
require a certain type of sealer to prevent water being absorbed through the
brick.   This customer needs to complain


with the general contractor that installed the addition and laid the patio base
and outside brick walls. As far as the uneven areas, its natural stone and you
will have that.

We went into detail with Mrs. **** about keeping up with a
proper stone stealer every year to try and maintain water from coming in.  The numerous times we did return to visit the
situation the owner omitted it had not been re- sealed.  Our company sealed the first winter and after
that it was the customer’s responsibility.

We feel that we did supply customer’s service to Mrs. ****
to the best of our ability for the work that was performed by our company and
gave her a quality job.  Are excellent
rating with BBB reflects that

4/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My driveway was replaced in August of 2009. In March of 2010 (7 months later) I discovered that it was spalling. (flaking/chipping/falling apart)I contacted the contractor, Nick Scotti Concrete, who told me that there was nothing wrong with the driveway. I then contacted both Mr. Scotti and **** ****** concrete. Both Mr. Scotti and the owner of **** ****** concrete came to my house and looked at the driveway.They both told me that nothing was wrong with the drive way. Mr. **** ****** told me that it was spalling because I drove on it with my salty car. I only use half of my driveway in the winter, but both halves had the issue. He had no explanation.They both told me that there was nothing wrong and it was normal. I look at my neighbors cement driveways that have been there for 20+ years and they do not have any of the issues of my driveway.I am literally watching my $10,000 driveway crumble away. I thought that this would be a once in a lifetime replacement. That it would add re-sale value to the property. Now, it will detract from the future value of the house.I would like them to admit that it was a bad load of concrete and refund my money or replace the driveway.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my money or to have the driveway replaced.

Business Response: I have been back to inspect this property since the complaint was made with the gentlemen from **** and we both have come to the conclusion that this spalling has occurred from the road salts that are used during the winter months and also from customer driving her car on it.  The bulk of the spalling is occurring on the pads closest to the street. Obvious spalling from the plows throwing snow and salt when they are plowing the streets. Mr. ***** from **** was at the premises on March 26, 2014 and have taken pictures of salt laying on the driveway.  Pictures were also taken of the rest of the concrete including the steps and in front of garage where there is NO spalling.  These areas were poured at the same time. Therefore not supporting the claim that it was a bad load of concrete.  If that was the case you would see spalling throughout the project. I will be sending out a 21 page packet supporting all of our findings. We can recommend that the customer applies a Heavy Linseed Oil application to the driveway this fall to help protect the driveway from future extensive pop ups. 

Consumer Response:

I completely disagree with the assessment made by Nick Scotti and Mr. *****. 

First of all, they should have had the courtesy to let me know that they were going to visit my home and have had the courage to face me.  Obviously, they do not want to confront me face-to-face because they are embarrassed by the poor quality of my driveway.


Second, it is true that there are more popouts toward the street, but there are popouts all over the driveway.  This includes the pad on the steps, which he says have no popouts.  There are also popouts on the pads in front of the garage doors.  I do not drive on the left side of my driveway in the winter and there are popouts all over that side as well.


Third, "from the customer driving her car in it"  It is after all a driveway.  The expectation when I hired Nick Scotti was that I was replacing my driveway on which I would drive, daily, in all weather conditions.


Fourth, why is my 4.5 year old driveway covered with popout/spalling marks - which started within 6 months of the driveway being poured - while my 45 year old  cement garage floor does not have a spot on it.  My  salt-coved car drives into the garage and all of the snow and salt melt onto the floor.  If I follow Nick Scotti's logic, my garage floor should be ruble.


Fifth, it cannot be helped that salt from the road makes it way onto my driveway.  I regularly shovel and sweep the snow from my driveway.  At the most, the salt and snow are on the end of my driveway for a matter of hours, not days.


If Nick Scotti and Mr. ***** are in agreement that the cement is not at fault, then they should not have been reluctant to have the concrete tested when I asked 4 years ago.  At that time they assured me that the popouts/spalling would not get any worse, that the damage was the result of a bad winter and me putting salt on the driveway.   I do not use salt.  I have a 1 gallon jug of calcium chloride the I bought in 2010 and still have not used the entire jug.


When the driveway was finished, I jokingly commented to Nick Scotti that he did not put is company seal on the driveway.  Now  I know why.  He must have know that the cement was inferior from the beginning and is probably glad that his name is not permanently marked on my driveway.


Personally, I think that Nick Scotti did an OK job replacing my driveway.  I feel that the problem is due to a poor aggregate mix in the concrete causing spalling/popouts.  It is unfortunate for Nick Scotti to bear the burden of the poor concrete provided by **** ****** ********.  It is unfortunate for me that neither of these companies will stand behind their work.

Regards,

***** **********

 

 

Consumer Response:

I have received the packet of information explaining popouts and why they occur.  If the guidelines suggested were followed, then my driveway would not have the problems it is having.. To me it is obvious that there was poor aggregate in the cement on my driveway.

The pictures provided are of poor quality and I cannot determine what most of them are.  Page 15 clearly shows my steps and a large popout on the top pad.  This is were Nick Scotti said that there were no popouts.  Page 13 shows my whole driveway which clearly has more popouts on the end near the street.  He did not include any close up pictures of the pads near the house, I have attached those.  You can see that there are popouts on ALL of the pads, even those closest to the house.

Using Nick Scotti's logic, I examined several other driveways on my street, two of which were installed by Nick Scotti.  These driveways are subject to the same weather and salt conditions and have more cars drive on them than my driveway.  None of them have popouts like mine.  And one of them is over 30 years old.

My $9,500 driveway started to fall apart after 6 months and neither Nick Scotti nor **** ****** ******** will step up and admit that it was either poor workmanship or poor concrete.  The saying thick as thieves comes to mind.  Blaming me for driving on my driveway is INSANE!!!  I didn't read the small print that stated that I had to wash my car prior to driving on my driveway. 


Regards,

***** **********

 

 

Business Response:   If Ms. ********** would like to prove that she received a faulty material she can proceed with having the concrete tested herself. We stand behind our workmanship and material.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

If you look at my driveway you can see that something is wrong.  Either it was poor quality concrete or poor quality workmanship.  There is no way that a new driveway from a reputable contractor would be falling apart like this.  If they won't stand behind their work, I guess there is nothing that I can do but to continue to complain about them.


They understand that it would be several thousand dollars for me personally to have the driveway tested.  At that point, I am better off having the driveway replaced by another contract who will stand behind their work.

Regards,

***** **********

 

 

10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nick Scotti's quote was the most expensive of five quotes we obtained. He came with the self-confidence of being in the business for 30 years and knowing everything. We hired him for the price he asked. By the time he was finished we realized that not only there were things he did not know, but he did damages that caused us a lot of problems and money. He replaced a rainwater pipe under the driveway with a thin pipe not designed for this purpose. Moreover, instead of replacing the entire pipe under the driveway, he kept half of the existing one that is close to 50 years old and very brittle. He did not glue the connection and deformed the pipe. He left mud and gravel inside the pipe. We realized all this when water started backing up from the gutter and checked the pipe with a camera. We also found out that there was water leaking from the bad connection. When we informed him about the problem, he came at home unannounced with a friend plumber, refused to accept responsibility, and was rude and offensive. This is what we got after providing complementary coffee, doughnuts, bagels, pizza for five days for him and his five workers, as well as having him and his wife for dinner at our house. Now we have to take care of fixing the pipe under the driveway by ourselves, which is very expensive. Moreover, after 30 years in the business he doesn't know how to dye concrete. Our whole driveway has white spots from efflorescence. He had no clue what the white spots were and said that they will go away after sealing. Of course they didn't and now we have to remove the sealer and take care of the spots ourselves. Also, he mixes the sealer with xylene to increase the quantity at a reduced cost. We are still waiting for the sealer in the joints to dry.

Desired Settlement: N/A

Business Response:

On May 7th, 2013 Mr. and Mrs. ***** signed a contract with our company to do a concrete driveway, concrete steps, concrete walkway and new French Drain. French Drain to be dug out by hand. Work was scheduled to start in August of 2013.  Mrs. ***** stated that see hired our firm instead of the other contractors because we were the only company to do the French Drain by hand. The others wanted to bring in heavy equipment, possibly causes damage to her patio. If our price was higher as she states it might have reflected all the digging out by hand. Total money owed was $21,600.00.  The *****’s refused to give us the last payment, still owing us $3,100.00 As far as the rainwater pipe mentioned in her complaint we were only contracted to connect downspout to existing pipe work.  At the time of excavation we notice that pipe work under the driveway was broken and agreed with the owners that we would replace it only to where it was damaged (never charging them additional for this additional work). We went out about 12-15 feet until we made a connection using 4” Solid pipe (standard material used for this purpose) and glued the old to the new.  Mr. ***** was present when we made the connection. The owners where constantly supervising our work.  If she wasn’t there he was. When we were notified that there was an issue with the downspout backing up we came out and dug out into her side yard and found that the pipe was collapsed there causing the water to back up (not under the driveway).  When the water backed up at that point causing hydraulic pressure it may have blown out the connection we made under the driveway.  Also what may have cause an issue with the connection was the fact that Mrs. ***** had a company come out and use a high-pressure hose to clear the blockage that was out in the yard.  Not at any point did we not accept some responsibility for the issue.  When we came out with our own plumber to evaluate the situation, She came out very defensive and screaming we used wrong materials and threw us off the property.  I then texted her husband stating that I would replace the concrete section and the pipe work underneath that driveway area and he would be responsible for the pipe work beyond that point. He too asked me not to call or contact him again.  Mrs. ***** mentions how hospitable she was to my crew. We never asked for her to do all that, but greatly appreciated it.  I too did several things above and beyond the contract and did not charge her.  Such as re-mortaring stone in back wall; Widening driveway (after it was already formed up) to 18 inches by approx. 20 feet; used black dye at street because curb was in bad shape and also installing conduit under sidewalk for future electrical work.  All this at NO extra charge.  We value this at approx. $1800.00.  And then this is how we get treated. Not paying us in full and not allowing us to resolve the issue even thought we do not feel that it entirely was our company’s fault. There were NO DAMAGES caused from our company. As far as the efflorescence issue. All concrete has efflorescence you just don’t see it in regular concrete.  When you dye concrete especially reds as we did here, you see the contrast more because it’s a darker color.  We discussed the issue of variation in chosen. a dark color with the ******. They still insisted on chosen red.  The efflorescence became more obvious when the sealer was installed because when you put on a sealer it draws moisture to the surface and gets in between the sealer and concrete creating an air pocket and forming white spots (it’s called blushing). The xylene was put on the sealer to open the surface up to allow the air pocket to dissipate. If anything doing this was an additional expense not us trying to stretch out the sealer and cut costs.  Experts feel that weathering would cause the blushing not to be as noticeable. The only other way to remove these spots would be to put acid on the concrete creating even more of a variation of color.  But once again there was no reasoning with the ******.   I found out after the ****** had signed the contract with our firm through their own admission that they had major renovations done in their home and had issues with everyone from the general contractor, electrician, plumber, even the hardwood floor people they hired from *****.  Can ALL these contractors including myself no nothing about our professions. I’m sure if you look into this, my company is not the first Mrs. ***** has complained about.  If I would of known prior to this I would of not even bid on the work.  Mrs ***** does research on line and overnight becomes an expert on all aspects of construction. I feel that my reputation with the BBB speaks for itself.  I’ve been in business for 30 years and have never received a complaint such as this.  Our work is 90% referral and or repeat customers.  My rating with BBB reflects that.  Yes, unforeseen issues come up on job-sites, but I feel I go above and beyond most contractors to make sure the customer is always satisfied. I take it very offensive when she states we don’t know what we are doing.  I would not have the rating that I do with the BBB if my company is as incompetent as Mrs. ***** states.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.   

We received a quote from Nick Scotti on May 1, 2013 – attached. We chose option I and paid a deposit of $500 with agreement for the work to start on or after August 15. The work was eventually scheduled to begin on August 26. On August 22 Nick Scotti told my husband that french drain along the house was not included in Option I and we needed to pay extra for this. My husband was shocked and pointed out that it was clearly stated in the quote that the french drain was included at which point Nick Scotti agreed. This experience four days before the start of the job after having the quote and having paid a deposit for several months was highly disturbing. We seriously considered discontinuing the contract and forfeiting the deposit. On the next day he came to our house with his wife and was very nice and agreeable, so we decided to go ahead with the project. We discussed the project in details with him and I specifically said no shortcuts and he agreed. There were some shortcuts, however. He was supposed to wash the house wall after digging the hole for the french drain and before covering it with tar but he did not. I personally helped one of the workers to remove the clay from the wall, but Nick Scotti said that this was not necessary. He was in a hurry to start filling the hole with gravel and did not want to take the time to properly prepare the wall. Instead of filling the entire french drain hole with gravel, he used pieces of the old concrete to fill it and tried to convince me that this is how it should be done. Even though he said that he would use no machines on our concrete patio, he used machines for carrying the gravel and now the concrete edge is chipped on two places. He also used a backhoe to dig a portion of the hole for the french drain (even though he said the hole would be dug by hand) and in the process he broke a piece of my wooden balcony. Everything was rushed. He covered with gravel very quickly the part with the rainwater pipe under the driveway and I did not see the connection they installed (I was in the back watching the installation of a gutter pipe). Later when I questioned him about this connection he told me that my husband saw it, when in fact my husband was at work at that time. He did not tell me that he had not replaced the entire pipe under the driveway and had left half of the 50 years old brittle and useless pipe. Anybody with experience and professionalism would have replaced the entire pipe. After all, you are putting a $20,000 driveway on top of that pipe that becomes unaccessible once the concrete is poured. Not to mention that even the new pipe he put is thin, not schedule 40 as required. The first inspection of the pipe under the driveway with a camera showed lots of gravel and mud. After cleaning the pipe with hydro jet, the second inspection revealed that the connection is bent and not glued – picture attached. My husband informed Nick Scotti about the problem and sent him the picture. He was supposed to come on Saturday October 12 to discuss how to fix it. Instead, he came unannounced with a plumber on Friday October 11 while my husband was at work. I came out and said hello. Nick Scotti said this is **** ***** and I said that I knew him. He asked me for two bottles of water, which I provided. He tried to convince me by pushing the two bottles into each other that it was impossible for the pipes to bend when pushing them into each other. I said that I hold him responsible for the broken connection. He got upset and started asking for the rest of the money we owed him. I said that he should be ashamed of himself to ask for more money after the problem with the color and the problem with the pipe for which we had a quote for $9000 to fix. I mentioned that the plumber that had inspected the pipe had said that I could sue him for this, at which point he lost his temper and started yelling at me and called me crazy. He turned to **** ***** and said: “****, she is crazy, she has fired six contractors before me”. I told them to leave my property. I had shared with Nick Scotti in a friendly conversation my bad experience with contractors in my house. In fact, **** ***** himself was involved – the plumbing inspector made him come back to my house and fix a problem with incorrectly installed connection. But **** ***** always behaved professionally. In another occasion an electrician had left live wires hanging freely under the plywood on the floor, which we discovered. An electric inspector was involved. The electrician admitted his mistake but never behaved in a rude and obnoxious manner. The hardwood floor contractor from Lowes made mistakes but was always responsible and fixed them. He ended up working in our house for a year and did an excellent job. I wrote a letter of appreciation to ***** about him. Yes, I have had bad experience with contractors, but nobody was rude and obnoxious to me as Nick Scotti was. I never kicked any contractor out of my house until him. Lying and using people's personal stories is not a way to defend oneself.

At 8:49 pm the same evening my husband sent the following email to Nick Scotti followed by a text message with a similar content:

Nick,

You should not have come today to my house unannounced and been rude and offensive to my wife. Do not come to my house ever again and do not call me or my wife.

You will not be receiving the balance of $3100 from me due to the white spots in the color of the driveway and the broken pipe connection you installed under the driveway.

You will be receiving a bill from me for the cost of fixing these two problems.”


The next morning at 8:52 am Nick Scotti replied to my husband's text message with the following text message:

“**** this is my last message, if you want I will take the section of driveway and have a Plummer fix the pipe under driveway and if you want to fix beyond that you pay him I was not mean to your wife I had a Plummer asset the pipe she came out screaming at me”

This was the first time he admitted he was responsible for the problem with the pipe.

It is under question why part of the driveway has no efflorescence and the rest of it does. Neighbors up the street have a driveway with a similar dark color installed by ***** Concrete and their color is perfectly uniform with no white spots. Nick Scotti did not mention the word efflorescence until we researched the problem online and mentioned this to him as a possible explanation of the white spots. He didn't have a clue how to fix the problem. He came one day and poured xylene over one section of the driveway, which is now worse than the rest. After doing our own research on efflorescence my husband sent an e-mail to Nick Scotti on September 25 with links to web sites with directions how to fix the problem. He came the following Saturday with acid and instead of using 1:10 solution as directed he used 1:2 solution, which washed the color on the tested area. He did not use the correct product for removing the sealer and insisted on using xylene.

These are all the facts. From all the bad experience, the shortcuts, the bad color, and the broken pipe, the most disturbing for me was Nick Scotti's rude and obnoxious behavior on October 11.  

Regards,

***** *****

 

 

10/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service